Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed 09/09/2026. Claims are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed 09/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-6 under Atohira US 20190329405 A1 (“Atohira”) in combination with Asato et al. US 20250042018 A1 (“Asato”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Atohira US 20190329405 A1 (“Atohira”) in combination with Asato et al. US 20250042018 A1 (“Asato”) and Wang et al. US 20210316449 A1 (“Wang”).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a teaching data storage unit that stores teaching data”, “a teaching point storage unit that stores teaching point data”, “a display device that…displays an image”, “a positional relationship acquisition unit that acquires a relative positional relationship”, “an image generation unit that generates a display image”, “an output unit that outputs the display image”, “a detection unit that detects an aerial operation” in claim 1, “a model storage unit that stores a three-dimensional model”, “a teaching data storage unit that stores teaching data”, “a display device that…displays an image”, “a positional relationship acquisition unit that acquires a relative positional relationship”, “an image generation unit that generates a display image”, “an output unit that outputs the display image”, and “a detection unit that detects an aerial operation” in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atohira US 20190329405 A1 (“Atohira”) in combination with Asato et al. US 20250042018 A1 (“Asato”).
Regarding Claim 1. Atohira teaches a robot teaching system comprising:
a teaching data storage unit that stores teaching data for a robot existing in an actual environment (A simulation execution unit that performs simulation operation, wherein the simulation operation means that a model is operated in a simulated manner according to an operation program or instruction input of teaching points performed by an operator [paragraph 26], wherein the simulation program may be stored in various types of computer-readable recording media [FIG. 3, paragraph 24]);
a teaching point storage unit that stores teaching point data corresponding to a teaching point used to display the teaching data (FIG. 2 shows the hardware of the simulation device, which has a storage device at 94, as well as ROM and RAM at 92 and 93, respectively);
a display device that is mountable to a worker and displays an image to be superimposed on an image of the actual environment or the actual environment itself (the operator can check input of the teaching points and operation of the robot 30 and the like while viewing the models of the robot system displayed in three dimensions with superimposed display in the image of the real space where the operator wearing the head-mounted display at 80 is present [FIG. 1, paragraph 26]);
a positional relationship acquisition unit that acquires a relative positional relationship between the actual environment and the display device (FIG. 2 shows that the display unit features a camera at 81, and can include a camera-position-orientation estimating function of estimating a position and an orientation of the camera using a sensor (such as a gyro or acceleration sensor) [paragraph 48]. Further, a second aspect of the present disclosure is the robot simulation device (90) of the first aspect in which the image display unit (101) includes a detecting unit (80) that detects a position and an orientation of a head of an operator, the image display unit (101) changing position of a viewpoint for displaying the three-dimensional model, according to the detected position and orientation of the head of the operator [paragraph 55]);
an image generation unit that generates a display image for displaying the teaching point so as to have a predetermined positional relationship with respect to the display device based on the relative positional relationship and the teaching point data (FIG. 5 goes through steps for displaying an image of the operation state. Step S105 involves displaying the teaching point of the operation program while superimposing it on an image of real space. In the configuration example of FIG. 11, a simulation device 90A causes a projector 280 to display, as a three-dimensional stereoscopic image, a three-dimensional model of a robot system in a real space viewed from an operator. For example, the projector 280 may display a three-dimensional stereoscopic image by using a hologram at a predetermined position in a place where an operator is present [paragraph 50]);
an output unit that outputs the display image to the display device (When the operation state is acquired, the operation-state display unit 132 displays the operation state of the robot system so as to be superimposed on the image of the real space displayed in the head-mounted display 80 [FIG. 5, S113, and paragraph 44]); and
a detection unit that detects an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by the worker in an air separated from the display device (A workpiece is shown at W of FIG. 1. The simulation device 90 receives a signal indicating a state of the hand 39 of the robot 30 to cause a hand portion of the robot model 30M to hold the workpiece model WM when the robot 30 holds the workpiece W with the hand 39 [paragraph 29]. The simulation device can have a sensor for tracking movement of hands of an operator (a camera, a sensor worn in a hand of an operator, or the like) connected as an external apparatus [paragraph 27]. When the simulation device 90 has a function of tracking movement of hands of an operator as described above, the operator can instruct input of the teaching points, or the like, with a gesture. Various types of operation input described below (touch operation, drag operation, and the like) may be each achieved by a function of tracking movement of hands of an operator).
Atohira does not teach:
wherein
in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, the image generation unit generates the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece (Atohira does teach detection of an operation with respect to eh actual environment executed as the aerial operation in paragraph 55, but does not teach displaying the virtual axis).
However, Asato teaches:
wherein
in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, the image generation unit generates the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece (The first virtual injection axis P1 also indicates a distance from the virtual end effector 83. Specifically, the type of a line showing the first virtual injection axis P1 is changed in accordance with the distance from the first virtual injection port 83a. In the example of FIG. 3, a portion of the first virtual injection axis P1 corresponding a range in which the distance from the first virtual injection port 83a is appropriate for coating is indicated by a broken line, and the other portion is indicated by a solid line. The user can judge whether the distance between the virtual end effector 83 and the first virtual workpiece 84a is appropriate or not depending on a portion of the first virtual injection axis P1 intersecting with the surface of the first virtual workpiece 84a. The first virtual injection axis P1 is an example of an image indicating the degree of a distance from the virtual tool [paragraph 56]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with wherein in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, the image generation unit generates the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece as taught by Asato so as to allow the display device to depict the virtual axis along the surface of the workpiece and show the axis to the operator, particularly useful in a case where a hole needs to be drilled similar operation as shown in Asato.
Atohira in combination with Asato do not teach:
the aerial operation is an operation performed on a workpiece in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece, wherein
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece.
However, Wang teaches:
the aerial operation is an operation performed on a workpiece in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece, wherein
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece (FIG. 1 shows a human hand used to show a position, direction, and movement of a robot. A camera may be used to provide images of the hand, where the image can then be analyzed to determine the spatial positions of the fingers, thumb, etc. [paragraph 25]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with the aerial operation is an operation performed on a workpiece in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece, wherein the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece as taught by Wang so that the system can be applied to a setup in which the worker directly demonstrates the actions for the robot to follow, allowing for easier teaching of the robot.
Regarding Claim 2. Atohira in combination with Asato teaches the robot teaching system according to Claim 1.
Atohira does not explicitly teach:
wherein the detection unit detects a posture of a finger on the hand of the worker in the air with respect to the workpiece, the image generation unit generates a posture image for displaying a posture of the robot at a position of the intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction based on a posture of the finger and a surface of the workpiece, and the output unit outputs the posture image to the display device.
However, Wang teaches:
wherein the detection unit detects a posture of a finger on the hand of the worker in the air with respect to the workpiece, the image generation unit generates a posture image for displaying a posture of the robot at a position of the intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction based on a posture of the finger and a surface of the workpiece, and the output unit outputs the posture image to the display device (A hand 210 again includes a thumb 212 and a forefinger 216. A point 214 is located where the thumb 212 makes contact with a part 220. A point 218 is located where the forefinger 216 makes contact with the part 220. A point 230 is defined as existing midway between the points 214 and 218, where the point 230 corresponds to a tool center point (TCP) 240 of a surface gripper 250 on a robot 260. In the case of the surface gripper 250 shown in FIG. 2, the plane of the gripper 250 may be defined as the plane containing the line 214-218 and perpendicular to the plane of the thumb 212 and the forefinger 216 based on detection of knuckle joints and fingertips. The tool center point 240 of the gripper 250 corresponds to the point 230, as stated above. This fully defines a location and orientation of the surface gripper 250 corresponding to the position and pose of the hand 210 [paragraph 28]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with wherein the detection unit detects a posture of a finger on the hand of the worker in the air with respect to the workpiece, the image generation unit generates a posture image for displaying a posture of the robot at a position of the intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction based on a posture of the finger and a surface of the workpiece, and the output unit outputs the posture image to the display deviceas taught by Wang so as to allow the specific details about the operator’s finger location to be incorporated in the teaching data, something that is implicit in Atohira but not expressly taught.
Regarding Claim 3. Atohira teaches a robot teaching system comprising:
a model storage unit that stores a three-dimensional model of a workpiece existing in an actual environment (A simulation execution unit that performs simulation operation, wherein the simulation operation means that a model is operated in a simulated manner according to an operation program or instruction input of teaching points performed by an operator [paragraph 26], wherein the simulation program may be stored in various types of computer-readable recording media [FIG. 3, paragraph 24]. FIG. 1 shows that the model stored can include a workpiece “WM”);
a teaching data storage unit that stores teaching data for a robot existing in the actual environment (paragraphs 24-26, FIGS. 1-3);
a teaching point storage unit that stores teaching point data corresponding to a teaching point used to display the teaching data (FIG. 2 shows the hardware of the simulation device, which has a storage device at 94, as well as ROM and RAM at 92 and 93, respectively);
a display device that is mountable to a worker and displays an image to be superimposed on an image of the actual environment or the actual environment itself (the operator can check input of the teaching points and operation of the robot 30 and the like while viewing the models of the robot system displayed in three dimensions with superimposed display in the image of the real space where the operator wearing the head-mounted display at 80 is present [FIG. 1, paragraph 26]);
a positional relationship acquisition unit that acquires a relative positional relationship between the actual environment and the display device (FIG. 2 shows that the display unit features a camera at 81, and can include a camera-position-orientation estimating function of estimating a position and an orientation of the camera using a sensor (such as a gyro or acceleration sensor) [paragraph 48]. Further, a second aspect of the present disclosure is the robot simulation device (90) of the first aspect in which the image display unit (101) includes a detecting unit (80) that detects a position and an orientation of a head of an operator, the image display unit (101) changing position of a viewpoint for displaying the three-dimensional model, according to the detected position and orientation of the head of the operator [paragraph 55]);
an image generation unit that generates a display image for displaying the three- dimensional model and the teaching point so as to have a predetermined positional relationship with respect to the display device based on the relative positional relationship, the three-dimensional model, and the teaching point data (FIG. 5 goes through steps for displaying an image of the operation state. Step S105 involves displaying the teaching point of the operation program while superimposing it on an image of real space. In the configuration example of FIG. 11, a simulation device 90A causes a projector 280 to display, as a three-dimensional stereoscopic image, a three-dimensional model of a robot system in a real space viewed from an operator. For example, the projector 280 may display a three-dimensional stereoscopic image by using a hologram at a predetermined position in a place where an operator is present [paragraph 50]);
an output unit that outputs the display image to the display device (When the operation state is acquired, the operation-state display unit 132 displays the operation state of the robot system so as to be superimposed on the image of the real space displayed in the head-mounted display 80 [FIG. 5, S113, and paragraph 44]); and
a detection unit that detects an aerial operation that is an operation performed on the three-dimensional model displayed in the display device by the worker in an air separated from the display device (A workpiece is shown at W of FIG. 1. The simulation device 90 receives a signal indicating a state of the hand 39 of the robot 30 to cause a hand portion of the robot model 30M to hold the workpiece model WM when the robot 30 holds the workpiece W with the hand 39 [paragraph 29]. The simulation device can have a sensor for tracking movement of hands of an operator (a camera, a sensor worn in a hand of an operator, or the like) connected as an external apparatus [paragraph 27]. When the simulation device 90 has a function of tracking movement of hands of an operator as described above, the operator can instruct input of the teaching points, or the like, with a gesture. Various types of operation input described below (touch operation, drag operation, and the like) may be each achieved by a function of tracking movement of hands of an operator).
Atohira does not teach:
wherein in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, the image generation unit generates the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece (Atohira does teach detection of an operation with respect to eh actual environment executed as the aerial operation in paragraph 55, but does not teach displaying the virtual axis).
However, Asato teaches:
wherein in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, the image generation unit generates the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece (The first virtual injection axis P1 also indicates a distance from the virtual end effector 83. Specifically, the type of a line showing the first virtual injection axis P1 is changed in accordance with the distance from the first virtual injection port 83a. In the example of FIG. 3, a portion of the first virtual injection axis P1 corresponding a range in which the distance from the first virtual injection port 83a is appropriate for coating is indicated by a broken line, and the other portion is indicated by a solid line. The user can judge whether the distance between the virtual end effector 83 and the first virtual workpiece 84a is appropriate or not depending on a portion of the first virtual injection axis P1 intersecting with the surface of the first virtual workpiece 84a. The first virtual injection axis P1 is an example of an image indicating the degree of a distance from the virtual tool [paragraph 56]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with wherein in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, the image generation unit generates the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece as taught by Asato so as to allow the display device to depict the virtual axis along the surface of the workpiece and show the axis to the operator, particularly useful in a case where a hole needs to be drilled similar operation as shown in Asato.
Atohira in combination with Asato do not teach:
the aerial operation is an operation performed on a workpiece in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece, wherein
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece.
However, Wang teaches:
the aerial operation is an operation performed on a workpiece in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece, wherein
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece (FIG. 1 shows a human hand used to show a position, direction, and movement of a robot. A camera may be used to provide images of the hand, where the image can then be analyzed to determine the spatial positions of the fingers, thumb, etc. [paragraph 25]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with the aerial operation is an operation performed on a workpiece in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece, wherein the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece as taught by Wang so that the system can be applied to a setup in which the worker directly demonstrates the actions for the robot to follow, allowing for easier teaching of the robot.
Regarding Claim 4. Atohira in combination with Asato teaches the robot teaching system according to Claim 3.
Atohira does not explicitly teach:
wherein the detection unit detects a posture of a finger on the hand of the worker in the air with respect to the three-dimensional model, the image generation unit generates a posture image for displaying a posture of the robot at a position of the intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction based on a posture of the finger and a surface of the workpiece, and the output unit outputs the posture image to the display device.
However, Wang teaches:
wherein the detection unit detects a posture of a finger on the hand of the worker in the air with respect to the three-dimensional model, the image generation unit generates a posture image for displaying a posture of the robot at a position of the intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction based on a posture of the finger and a surface of the workpiece, and the output unit outputs the posture image to the display device (A hand 210 again includes a thumb 212 and a forefinger 216. A point 214 is located where the thumb 212 makes contact with a part 220. A point 218 is located where the forefinger 216 makes contact with the part 220. A point 230 is defined as existing midway between the points 214 and 218, where the point 230 corresponds to a tool center point (TCP) 240 of a surface gripper 250 on a robot 260. In the case of the surface gripper 250 shown in FIG. 2, the plane of the gripper 250 may be defined as the plane containing the line 214-218 and perpendicular to the plane of the thumb 212 and the forefinger 216 based on detection of knuckle joints and fingertips. The tool center point 240 of the gripper 250 corresponds to the point 230, as stated above. This fully defines a location and orientation of the surface gripper 250 corresponding to the position and pose of the hand 210 [paragraph 28]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with wherein the detection unit detects a posture of a finger on the hand of the worker in the air with respect to the three-dimensional model, the image generation unit generates a posture image for displaying a posture of the robot at a position of the intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction based on a posture of the finger and a surface of the workpiece, and the output unit outputs the posture image to the display deviceas taught by Wang so as to allow the specific details about the operator’s finger location to be incorporated in the teaching data, something that is implicit in Atohira but not expressly taught.
Regarding Claim 5. Atohira teaches a robot teaching method performed by a system including at least one computer, the method comprising:
storing teaching data of a robot existing in an actual environment and teaching point data corresponding to a teaching point used to display the teaching data (A simulation execution unit that performs simulation operation, wherein the simulation operation means that a model is operated in a simulated manner according to an operation program or instruction input of teaching points performed by an operator [paragraph 26], wherein the simulation program may be stored in various types of computer-readable recording media [FIG. 3, paragraph 24]);
acquiring a relative positional relationship between the actual environment and a display device that is mountable to a worker and displays an image to be superimposed on an image of the actual environment or the actual environment itself (the operator can check input of the teaching points and operation of the robot 30 and the like while viewing the models of the robot system displayed in three dimensions with superimposed display in the image of the real space where the operator wearing the head-mounted display at 80 is present [FIG. 1, paragraph 26]. FIG. 2 shows that the display unit features a camera at 81, and can include a camera-position-orientation estimating function of estimating a position and an orientation of the camera using a sensor (such as a gyro or acceleration sensor) [paragraph 48]. Further, a second aspect of the present disclosure is the robot simulation device (90) of the first aspect in which the image display unit (101) includes a detecting unit (80) that detects a position and an orientation of a head of an operator, the image display unit (101) changing position of a viewpoint for displaying the three-dimensional model, according to the detected position and orientation of the head of the operator [paragraph 55]);
generating a display image for displaying the teaching point so as to have a predetermined positional relationship with respect to the display device based on the relative positional relationship and the teaching point data (FIG. 5 goes through steps for displaying an image of the operation state. Step S105 involves displaying the teaching point of the operation program while superimposing it on an image of real space. In the configuration example of FIG. 11, a simulation device 90A causes a projector 280 to display, as a three-dimensional stereoscopic image, a three-dimensional model of a robot system in a real space viewed from an operator. For example, the projector 280 may display a three-dimensional stereoscopic image by using a hologram at a predetermined position in a place where an operator is present [paragraph 50]), and outputting the display image to the display device (When the operation state is acquired, the operation-state display unit 132 displays the operation state of the robot system so as to be superimposed on the image of the real space displayed in the head-mounted display 80 [FIG. 5, S113, and paragraph 44]).
Atohira does not teach:
in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, generating the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece, and outputting the display image to the display device (Atohira does teach detection of an operation with respect to eh actual environment executed as the aerial operation in paragraph 55, but does not teach displaying the virtual axis).
However, Asato teaches:
in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, generating the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece, and outputting the display image to the display device (The first virtual injection axis P1 also indicates a distance from the virtual end effector 83. Specifically, the type of a line showing the first virtual injection axis P1 is changed in accordance with the distance from the first virtual injection port 83a. In the example of FIG. 3, a portion of the first virtual injection axis P1 corresponding a range in which the distance from the first virtual injection port 83a is appropriate for coating is indicated by a broken line, and the other portion is indicated by a solid line. The user can judge whether the distance between the virtual end effector 83 and the first virtual workpiece 84a is appropriate or not depending on a portion of the first virtual injection axis P1 intersecting with the surface of the first virtual workpiece 84a. The first virtual injection axis P1 is an example of an image indicating the degree of a distance from the virtual tool [paragraph 56]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, generating the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece, and outputting the display image to the display device as taught by Asato so as to allow the display device to depict the virtual axis along the surface of the workpiece and show the axis to the operator, particularly useful in a case where a hole needs to be drilled similar operation as shown in Asato.
Atohira in combination with Asato do not teach:
detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece.
However, Wang teaches:
detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece; and
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece.
However, Wang teaches:
detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece; and
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece (FIG. 1 shows a human hand used to show a position, direction, and movement of a robot. A camera may be used to provide images of the hand, where the image can then be analyzed to determine the spatial positions of the fingers, thumb, etc. [paragraph 25]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece; and the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece as taught by Wang so that the system can be applied to a setup in which the worker directly demonstrates the actions for the robot to follow, allowing for easier teaching of the robot.
Regarding Claim 6. Atohira teaches a robot teaching method performed by a system including at least one computer, the method comprising:
storing a three-dimensional model of a workpiece existing in an actual environment, teaching data of a robot existing in the actual environment, and teaching point data corresponding to a teaching point used to display the teaching data (A simulation execution unit that performs simulation operation, wherein the simulation operation means that a model is operated in a simulated manner according to an operation program or instruction input of teaching points performed by an operator [paragraph 26], wherein the simulation program may be stored in various types of computer-readable recording media [FIG. 3, paragraph 24]. FIG. 1 shows that the model stored can include a workpiece “WM”);
acquiring a relative positional relationship between the actual environment and a display device that is mountable to a worker and displays an image to be superimposed on an image of the actual environment or the actual environment itself (the operator can check input of the teaching points and operation of the robot 30 and the like while viewing the models of the robot system displayed in three dimensions with superimposed display in the image of the real space where the operator wearing the head-mounted display at 80 is present [FIG. 1, paragraph 26]. FIG. 2 shows that the display unit features a camera at 81, and can include a camera-position-orientation estimating function of estimating a position and an orientation of the camera using a sensor (such as a gyro or acceleration sensor) [paragraph 48]. Further, a second aspect of the present disclosure is the robot simulation device (90) of the first aspect in which the image display unit (101) includes a detecting unit (80) that detects a position and an orientation of a head of an operator, the image display unit (101) changing position of a viewpoint for displaying the three-dimensional model, according to the detected position and orientation of the head of the operator [paragraph 55]);
generating a display image for displaying the three-dimensional model and the teaching point so as to have a predetermined positional relationship with respect to the display device based on the relative positional relationship, the three-dimensional model, and the teaching point data (FIG. 5 goes through steps for displaying an image of the operation state. Step S105 involves displaying the teaching point of the operation program while superimposing it on an image of real space. In the configuration example of FIG. 11, a simulation device 90A causes a projector 280 to display, as a three-dimensional stereoscopic image, a three-dimensional model of a robot system in a real space viewed from an operator. For example, the projector 280 may display a three-dimensional stereoscopic image by using a hologram at a predetermined position in a place where an operator is present [paragraph 50]), and outputting the display image to the display device (When the operation state is acquired, the operation-state display unit 132 displays the operation state of the robot system so as to be superimposed on the image of the real space displayed in the head-mounted display 80 [FIG. 5, S113, and paragraph 44]).
Atohira does not teach:
in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, generating the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece.
However, Asato teaches:
in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, generating the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with in a case where an operation indicating a predetermined direction with respect to the actual environment is executed as the aerial operation, generating the display image for displaying the teaching point at a position of an intersection between a virtual axis along the predetermined direction and a surface of the workpiece as taught by Asato so as to allow the display device to depict the virtual axis along the surface of the workpiece and show the axis to the operator, particularly useful in a case where a hole needs to be drilled similar operation as shown in Asato.
Atohira in combination with Asato do not teach:
detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece.
However, Wang teaches:
detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece; and
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece.
However, Wang teaches:
detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece; and
the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece (FIG. 1 shows a human hand used to show a position, direction, and movement of a robot. A camera may be used to provide images of the hand, where the image can then be analyzed to determine the spatial positions of the fingers, thumb, etc. [paragraph 25]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Atohira with detecting an aerial operation that is an operation performed on a workpiece existing in the actual environment by a hand of the worker in an air separated from the display device, the aerial operation indicating a direction from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece; and the operation indicating a predetermined direction is performed from the hand of the worker toward the workpiece as taught by Wang so that the system can be applied to a setup in which the worker directly demonstrates the actions for the robot to follow, allowing for easier teaching of the robot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656