DETAILED ACTION
The reply filed 6/23/26 canceled claims 1-2, issued new claims 21-34 and argued rejection of claims.
New prior art search performed resulting in a new prior art reference.
Claim Objections
CLAIM 34
34. (New) The linking module of claim 33, configured to: electrically connect to the first inverter power station via a first power output receptacle of the first inverter power station, the first current rating being a current rating of the first power output receptacle; and
Ends with and, and what??? This claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21,23,24,27,33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KROLAK et al. US 8345454B1.
CLAIM 21
KROLAK et al. discloses:
(Fig. 3, stage 1) a first inverter configured to provide a first power output;
(Fig. 3, stage 2) a second inverter configured to provide a second power output; and
(processor 304, bus 324, output sensors 312) a linking module configured to:
electrically connect to the first inverter to receive the first power output therefrom;
electrically connect to the second inverter to receive the second power output therefrom; combine the first power output and the second power output into a combined power output; and provide the combined power output to a load, wherein a current of the combined power output is a combination of a current of the first power output and a current of the second power output.
KROLAK et al. does not discloses a power station assembly, however the Architecture And Control Method For Dynamically Conditioning Multiple DC Sources To Driven An AC Load does disclose the circuit architecture of the claimed power station.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a power station wherein in each stage was a separate power station and wherein multiple power stations would be configured to increase the driven AC power to an AC load.
CLAIM 23
KROLAK et al. discloses the power station assembly of claim 21, wherein the first power output and the second power output are each AC power outputs at a common AC voltage (Fig. 3, first power output and second power output are connected to an AC bus making the output voltages common), and wherein the linking module (Fig. 3, processor 304, bus 324, output sensors 312) combines the first power output and the second power output into a combined AC power output at the common AC voltage (Fig. 3, bus 324).
(47) As explained above, adjustable AC output on each of the AC outputs 316/318/320 can be synchronized by the common processor 304 to a common output 322. The adjustable AC output on the AC outputs 316/318/320 can be synchronized to the common output 322 by matching the voltage, frequency and phase of the adjustable AC outputs on the AC outputs 316/318/320 to the AC measured on the AC power bus 324 by the AC output sensor 312.
CLAIM 24
KROLAK et al. discloses the power station assembly of claim 23, (43) The common processor 304 is configured to set a DC output power at the DC electrical output 348 of each of the DC power sources 306 by controlling the DC output power of each of the controllable DC-to-AC inverters 310. The common processor 304 determines a power sharing ratio to set how much is power drawn from each of the N stages and delivered to the load 314. The system 300 allows power sharing between different DC power sources 306, where appropriate power partitioning is necessary to operate within specifications of specific sources used.
KROLAK ET AL. does not disclose current ratings, but discloses power sharing and power partitioning that obviously implies controlling current to operate within specifications.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the current of the first power output is at or below a first AC current rating, the current of the second power output is at or below a second AC current rating, and the current of the combined power output is at or below a third AC current rating, the third AC current rating that is greater than each of the first AC current rating and the second AC current rating (the third current rating being greater than the first and the second current ratings is obvious being that the first and second current ratings are combined to form the third current rating).
CLAIM 27
KROLAK et al. discloses the power station assembly of claim 21, Fig. 3 discloses a signal flow schematic showing the interconnections for the Architecture And Control Method For Dynamically Conditioning Multiple DC Sources To Driven An AC Load.
KROLAK et al. does not disclose wherein: the first inverter power station comprises a first ground terminal; the second inverter power station comprises a second ground terminal; and the linking module comprises:
a first ground wire electrically connectable to the first ground terminal and the second ground terminal and configured to electrically connect to one of the first ground terminal or the second ground terminal at a time; and a second ground wire electrically connectable to the first ground terminal and the second ground terminal and configured to electrically connect to one of the first ground terminal or the second ground terminal at a time.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to refer to figure 3 and to the teachings within the reference and determine what the grounding architecture should be for the system, since this is consider to be within the skill level one of ordinary skill would have.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KROLAK et al. US 8345454B1 in view of KIYOTO JP20022134080.
CLAIM 22
KROLAK et al. discloses the power station assembly of claim 21.
KROLAK et al. does not disclose wherein the first inverter power station and the second inverter power station are each configured to electrically connect to one or more expansion batteries to receive power therefrom.
KIYOTO discloses (abstract) extension structure for a battery pack by enabling the further installation of the same battery pack to be easily achieved. SOLUTION: An electronic device 1 using the battery pack is provided with a connection terminal 3 connected to a main battery pack 2, and is further provided with a connection terminal 4 for extension, which is to be connected to an extension battery pack 2a. Also, the main battery pack 2 is provided with connection terminals 8, 9 for extension, while the extension battery pack 2a is provided with a connection terminal 7 for extension. Thus the same battery pack 2, which is the extension battery pack 2a, is fitted to existing battery back 2 for the extension of the battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure an electrically connection to one or more expansion batteries to receive power therefrom to increase the DC source capacity of the system.
Claim(s) 25,26,28,30,31,32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KROLAK et al. US 8345454B1 in view of AGIS et al. CN103368222A.
CLAIMS 25,26
KROLAK et al. discloses the power station assembly of claim 21.
KROLAK et al. does not disclose wherein:
the first inverter power station comprises a first power output receptacle configured to
provide the first power output;
the second inverter power station comprises a second power output receptacle configured
to provide the second power output; and
the linking module comprises a third power output receptacle configured to provide the
combined power output.
AGIS et al. discloses Fig. 2, [0055] power system can be compatible with the electrical and electronic equipment. when the AC power connector is used, the user should switch to AC connector or socket to ON position; an inverter in the power system may cost several seconds to power-up. the green LED switching on the good preparing system. the user can take the wall socket installed on the usage rule in a similar manner the electrical appliance or electronic device inserted into an AC receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the first inverter power station with a first power output receptacle configured to
provide the first power output;
the second inverter power station with a second power output receptacle configured
to provide the second power output; and
the linking module with a third power output receptacle configured to provide the
combined power output since merely providing output receptacles for AC outputs is considered well within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
CLAIM 28
KROLAK et al. discloses:
a first inverter (Fig. 3, stage 1, inverter 310) comprising at least one power output configured to provide a first power output at a voltage and a first current;
a second inverter (Fig. 3, stage 2, inverter 310) comprising at least one power output configured to provide a second power output at the voltage and a second current; and a linking kit (Fig. 3, processor 304, bus 324, output sensors 312).
(KROLAR et al. 41) The AC output sensor 312 functions in a similar manner to the AC output sensor 212 explained above in the context of discussion of FIG. 2. The AC output sensor 312 is coupled to the AC power bus 324 and the common processor 304. Since the AC outputs 316/318/320 are coupled to one another by the AC power bus 324, the AC output sensor 312 can measure power on the AC power bus 324. The AC power bus 324 comprises a combined power output from the controllable DC-to-AC inverters 310 in the N stages.
(KROLAR et al. 42) The AC power bus 324 functions in a similar manner to the AC power bus 106 as explained above in the context of discussion of FIG. 2. The AC power bus 324 is coupled to the AC outputs 316/318/320 and the load 314.
(KROLAR et al. 43) The common processor 304 is configured to set a DC output power at the DC electrical output 348 of each of the DC power sources 306 by controlling the DC output power of each of the controllable DC-to-AC inverters 310. The common processor 304 determines a power sharing ratio to set how much is power drawn from each of the N stages and delivered to the load 314. The system 300 allows power sharing between different DC power sources 306, where appropriate power partitioning is necessary to operate within specifications of specific sources used.
KROLAK et al. does not discloses a power station assembly, however the Architecture And Control Method For Dynamically Conditioning Multiple DC Sources To Driven An AC Load does disclose the circuit architecture of the claimed power station.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a power station wherein in each stage was a separate power station and wherein multiple power stations would be configured to increase the driven AC power to an AC load.
KROLAK et al. does not disclose receptacles.
AGIS et al. discloses Fig. 2, [0055] power system can be compatible with the electrical and electronic equipment. when the AC power connector is used, the user should switch to AC connector or socket to ON position; an inverter in the power system may cost several seconds to power-up. the green LED switching on the good preparing system. the user can take the wall socket installed on the usage rule in a similar manner the electrical appliance or electronic device inserted into an AC receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the first inverter power station with a first power output receptacle configured to
provide the first power output;
the second inverter power station with a second power output receptacle configured
to provide the second power output; and
KROLAK et al. does not disclose the linking module with a third power output receptacle configured to provide the combined power output since merely providing output receptacles for AC outputs, assembling old parts into an assembly with connectors to form a linking module is considered well within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to assemble a linking kit of a linking module electrically connectable to the at least one power output receptacle of the first inverter power station and the at least one power output receptacle of the second inverter power station to receive the first power output and the second power output therefrom and combine the first power output and the second power output into a third power output, the linking kit comprising at least one power output receptacle configured to provide the third power output at the voltage and a third current that is greater than each of the first current and the second current, wherein the third current does not exceed a third current rating, the third current rating being greater than each of the first current rating and the second current rating since it is considered that following the Architecture And Control Method disclosed by KROLAR et al and merely configuring an assembly with receptacles is considered to be within the skill level one of ordinary skill in the art.
CLAIM 30
KROLAK et al. in view of AGIS et al. disclose the inverter power station system of claim 28.
The above references do not claim, pair of parallel power output receptacles.
Merely adding receptacles in parallel with an existing receptacle is considered within the general level of skill for one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add to the at least one power output receptacle of the first inverter power station comprises a first pair of parallel power output receptacles;
the at least one power output receptacle of the second inverter power station comprises a second pair of parallel power output receptacles; and
the linking kit comprises two pairs of parallel cables, each pair of parallel cables electrically connectable to the first pair of parallel power output receptacles and the second pair of parallel power output receptacles, the linking kit configured to electrically connect to one of the first pair of parallel power output receptacles or the second pair of parallel power output receptacles at a time to receive the first power output or the second power output, to connect a plurality of loads in parallel.
CLAIM 31
KROLAK et al. in view of AGIS et al. disclose the inverter power station system of claim 28.
KROLAK et al. discloses wherein the third current rating is a combination of the first current rating and the second current rating.
[paragraph 38] Each of the DC power sources 306 may be operated individually or in combinations to provide power for the load 314.
CLAIM 32
KROLAK et al. in view of AGIS et al. disclose the inverter power station system of claim 28.
KROLAK et al. discloses wherein the at least one power output receptacle of the linking kit has a voltage rating equal to a voltage rating of the at least one power output receptacle of the first inverter power station and the second inverter power station (KOLAK et al. discloses the third output is a combination of the first inverter and the second invert outputs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the voltage ratings for the receptacles, since merely selecting voltage ratings for receptacles is consider to be with the level of skill of one having ordinary skill in the art.
CLAIM 33
KROLAK et al. discloses:
(Fig. 3, stage 1) a first inverter configured to provide a first power output;
(Fig. 3, stage 2) a second inverter configured to provide a second power output; and
(processor 304, bus 324, output sensors 312) a linking module configured to:
electrically connect to the first inverter to receive the first power output therefrom;
electrically connect to the second inverter to receive the second power output therefrom; combine the first power output and the second power output into a combined power output; and provide the combined power output to a load, wherein a current of the combined power output is a combination of a current of the first power output and a current of the second power output.
KROLAK et al. does not disclose a linking module.
KROLAK et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the linking module.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made merely to assemble the above circuit components into a module (linking module), since it has been held that making an old device portable or moveable without producing any new and unexpected result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KROLAK et al. US 8345454B1 in view of AGIS et al. CN103368222A in further view of PENG et al. CN214900237U.
CLAIM 29
KROLAK et al. in view of AGIS et al. disclose the inverter power station system of claim 28, wherein the first inverter power station and the second inverter power station are each powered by an onboard battery and are each electrically connectable to one or more expansion batteries.
KROLAK et al. in view of AGIS et al. do not disclose lithium-ion batteries.
PENG et al. discloses portable mobile power supply, wherein it comprises: a shell, an input port, an output port, an inverter, an expandable lithium battery pack (CLAIM 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to supply DC power to an inverter from a lithium battery to supply AC power to an AC load since the applicant does not claim, if any, what the advantage is to use a lithium battery over any other type of battery.
July 14, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836