DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendments filed on 08/11/2026.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1, 8-14, 16, 17, and 20 have been amended.
Claim 15 has been cancelled.
Claim 21 has been added.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are currently rejected.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding the 101 rejections, in light of the amendments, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with regards to the art rejections have been considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues with respect to claim 1 that Fosters definition of vehicle speed and applies it to the vehicle speed as taught in Madsen. However in paragraph [0055] of Madsen they define vehicle speed as “based on wheel revolutions” meaning that as mapped Madsen teaches determining wheel slip based on engine power and wheel speed as claimed. Regarding claim 16, the scope of the claims are amended to be more specific than the argued comparison to claim 14 and is therefore rejected as shown in the updated rejection below. Claim 20 is argued with respect to its instant amendments and the rejection has been updated as shown below. Therefore the rejections are being maintained as shown in the rejection below.
Claim Objections
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n). The claim numbering will be corrected upon allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et. al. (US 2017/0101103), herein Foster in view of Madsen et. al. (US 2019/0129435), herein Madsen.
Regarding claim 1:
Foster teaches:
A system (A slip control system for an off-road vehicle [abstract]) for an agricultural machine (Off-road vehicles, such as agricultural tractors [0003]), comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 2, microprocessor 48); and
a memory (fig. 2, memory 50) that stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the at least one processor (the memory device 50 may store processor-executable instructions (e.g., firmware or software) for the processor 48 to execute, such as instructions for controlling the off-road vehicle 10 [0030]) to:
acquire input data related to the agricultural machine during an agricultural operation (the sensor assembly 36 may include multiple sensors (e.g., infrared sensors, ultrasonic sensors, magnetic sensors, etc.), each configured to monitor a rotation rate of a respective wheel or track [0025] );
determine, based on the input data, conditions indicative of a potential mired event (the sensor assembly is configured to facilitate determination of the magnitude of slippage and/or the rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle [0025]); and
generate a control signal to at least one component of the agricultural machine (the slip control system may be configured to alert an operator and/or to control the off-road vehicle and/or agricultural implement if a high rate of change of slippage is detected [0021]) to mitigate the potential mired event (the off-road vehicle 10 includes a slip control system configured to substantially reduce or eliminate the possibility of the off-road vehicle becoming stuck in the soil [0015]).
Foster does not explicitly teach, however Madsen teaches:
wherein the input data includes a power output of the agricultural machine (current load (e.g., engine load [0118]) and a wheel speed of the agricultural machine (the speed of the vehicle [0118]; speed/velocity data for a vehicle (e.g., based on wheel revolutions) [0055]);
wherein the conditions indicative of the potential mired event are determined based at least in part on a comparison of the power output to the wheel speed of the agricultural machine (The predicted rate of slippage for a vehicle may be determined from a variety of data sources. For example, the slippage rate may be determined based on data from a camera/sensor or farm management information system along the vehicle path. Prediction values from such data may be calibrated based on actual measured slip for the current given state of the machine (e.g., current tire wear, load, tire pressure, weight distribution etc.) [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster to include the teachings as taught by Madsen with a reasonable expectation of success. Both references are in the same field of endeavor of determining terrain traction for a vehicle. Madsen teaches the benefit of “generation and use of three-dimensional terrain maps in conjunction with vehicle control systems [Madsen, 0004]”.
Regarding claim 2:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the agricultural machine includes an agricultural vehicle (an off-road vehicle 10 [0014]) and an agricultural implement (the agricultural implement 12 may be a tillage tool, a fertilizer application tool, a seeding or planting tool, or a harvesting tool, among others [0014]).
Regarding claim 6:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the control signal is a signal to change a working position of ground engaging features of the agricultural machine (the implement control system 44 may be configured to instruct an implement controller (e.g., via a communication link, such as a CAN bus or ISOBUS) to adjust a penetration depth of at least one ground engaging tool of the agricultural implement [0035]).
Regarding claim 7:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 2, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the agricultural implement includes one or more row units (the agricultural implement 12 may be a tillage tool, a fertilizer application tool, a seeding or planting tool, or a harvesting tool, among others [0014]), and wherein the control signal is a signal to the agricultural implement to change a downforce on the one or more row units (examine is interpreting this limitation in the alternative, however Foster inherently teaches this in the process of adjusting depth of the tool.) or to change a depth of tillage points of the one or more row units (the implement control system 44 may be configured to instruct an implement controller (e.g., via a communication link, such as a CAN bus or ISOBUS) to adjust a penetration depth of at least one ground engaging tool of the agricultural implement [0035]).
Regarding claim 9:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the input data further relates to a drive system of the agricultural machine (a speed control system 40 configured to control a speed of the off-road vehicle 10. In addition, the off-road vehicle 10 includes a traction control system 42 configured to control distribution of power from an engine of the off-road vehicle to wheels or tracks of the off-road vehicle [0026]), and wherein the processor is further configured to determine a wheel slip value (the slip control system includes a control system configured to receive a first signal indicative of a magnitude of slippage of the off-road vehicle relative to a soil surface and/or a second signal indicative of a rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle relative to the soil surface [0016]).
Regarding claim 10:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 9, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein at least a potential for the mired event (a high degree of slippage may cause the off-road vehicle 10 to become stuck in the soil (e.g., as the wheels and/or tracks of the off-road vehicle dig into the soil surface) [0015]) is further determined when the wheel slip value exceeds a threshold (a magnitude of slippage greater than 30 percent may represent a high degree of slippage [0019]).
Regarding claim 11:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the input data further includes a machine-indicated speed of the agricultural machine (the controller 46 determines a speed of the ground engaging surface of each wheel or track based on the respective rotation rate and a diameter of the respective tire or a length of the respective track, for example [0042]) and at least one of location data or an externally-indicated speed of the agricultural machine (the ground speed 82 of the off-road vehicle (e.g., provided by the spatial locating device, by a radar speed sensor, etc.) [0042]), and
wherein the conditions indicative of the potential mired event are further determined based on a comparison of the machine-indicated speed and the at least one of the location or externally-indicated speed (The controller 46 then determines a magnitude of slippage for each wheel or track by determining the percentage difference between the speed of the respective ground engaging surface and the ground speed 82 of the off-road vehicle [0042]; Slippage occurs when a ground engaging surface of the wheel or track moves at a higher speed than the ground speed of the off-road vehicle [0019]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et. al. (US 2017/0101103), herein Foster in view of Madsen et. al. (US 2019/0129435), herein Madsen in further view of Kowalchuk et. al. (US 2024/0206363), herein Kowalchuk.
Regarding claim 3:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 2, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster in view of Madsen does not explicitly teach, however Kowalchuk teaches:
wherein the agricultural implement includes a frame weight distribution system (the control system may operate the actuators to adjust the frame (e.g., a position, an orientation, a shape, a configuration), thereby adjusting distribution of a weight of the frame and/or adjusting engagement between the ground engagement tools and the field to adjust the likelihood of slip of the work vehicle tires/tracks [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster in view of Madsen to include the teachings as taught by Kowalchuk with a reasonable expectation of success. Both references are in the same field of endeavor of controlling an agricultural vehicle to reduce wheel slip. Kowalchuk also teaches the benefit of “determine a parameter value associated with slip is outside of a range of values, determine a location on the agricultural implement associated with the parameter value that is outside of the range of values, and output a signal based on the location associated with the parameter value that is outside of the range of values [Kowalchuk, 0005]”.
Regarding claim 4:
Foster in view of Madsen and Kowalchuk teaches all the limitations of claim 3, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kowalchuk further teaches:
wherein the control signal is a signal to the frame weight distribution system to increase a weight distribution to outer portions of the agricultural implement (the parameter value that is outside of the target range of values may be associated with center section(s) of the agricultural implement. In response, a control signal may be output to adjust the operation of the agricultural implement to transfer the weight of the agricultural implement away from the center section(s) [0061]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et. al. (US 2017/0101103), herein Foster in view of Madsen et. al. (US 2019/0129435), herein Madsen in further view of Heindl et. al. (US 2017/0313318), herein Heindl.
Regarding claim 5:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster in view of Madsen does not explicitly teach, however Heindl teaches:
wherein the agricultural machine includes a central tire inflation system (A tyre inflation feed arrangement conveys compressed air from a compressor 44 (driven by prime mover 18) via one or more air control valves 46 mounted on the tractor to the rotating wheel 14 and hence via an air control valve 48 mounted on the wheel to the interior of the tyre 24 via lines 50 and 5 [0029]), and wherein the control signal is a signal to the central tire inflation system to change a tire pressure (As the slippage characteristic indicates that the current driving torque is approaching or has reached the level at which the tyre may begin to slip on the rim, the tyre pressure is increased in order to increase the friction between tyre and rim and thereby prevent slippage [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster in view of Madsen to include the teachings as taught by Heindl with a reasonable expectation of success. Both references are in the same field of endeavor of controlling an agricultural vehicle to reduce wheel slip. Heindl teaches the benefit of “the control system being arranged to control a vehicle operating parameter in dependence on a performance measurement of the vehicle and a slippage characteristic of the ground engaging member; characterised in that the performance measurement is of the driving torque and the slippage characteristic relates the respective driving torque at which the frictional coupling between driven wheel and ground engaging member begins to slip for each of a plurality of vehicle operating parameter values [Heindl, 0011]”.
Claim(s) 8, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et. al. (US 2017/0101103), herein Foster in view of Madsen et. al. (US 2019/0129435), herein Madsen in further view of Birkland et. al. (US 2021/0284171), herein Birkland.
Regarding claim 8:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 2, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster in view of Madsen does not explicitly teach, however Birkland teaches:
wherein the agricultural implement includes an implement propulsion system (the implement (e.g., 500 in FIG. 5) may comprise an auxiliary electric drive system, which has motor controller 522 (e.g., bi-directional inverter or bi-directional, dual inverter) electrically coupled to one or more electric drive motors 524 or actuators (e.g., implement actuators) [0030]), and wherein the control signal is a signal to the implement propulsion system to one of engage or increase speed (control an electric drive motor 524 (e.g. via a motor controller 522) in a motoring mode, a braking mode, or power regeneration mode, or any combination of the above modes, to adjust the estimated ground speed setting for corresponding zones with a surface roughness index ranges for transitions or changes between different zone limits or zone threshold [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster in view of Madsen to include the teachings as taught by Birkland with a reasonable expectation of success. Both references are in the same field of endeavor of controlling an agricultural vehicle. Birkland highlights “a need for a method and system for estimating surface roughness of ground for an off-road vehicle to control ground speed of the vehicle [Birkland, 0004]”.
Regarding claim 12:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 2, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to determine a wheel slip value for the agricultural implement (the slip control system includes a control system configured to receive a first signal indicative of a magnitude of slippage of the off-road vehicle relative to a soil surface and/or a second signal indicative of a rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle relative to the soil surface [0016]), and wherein conditions indicative of the potential mired event are further determined based on the wheel slip value (a high degree of slippage may cause the off-road vehicle 10 to become stuck in the soil (e.g., as the wheels and/or tracks of the off-road vehicle dig into the soil surface) [0015]).
Foster in view of Madsen does not explicitly teach, however Birkland teaches:
wherein the input data further includes an implement wheel speed (A wheel-slip estimator 58 estimates the wheel slip indicator based on numerator of drivetrain-derived wheel speed (e.g., sensor wheel speed) [0049]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster in view of Madsen to include the teachings as taught by Birkland with a reasonable expectation of success. Both references are in the same field of endeavor of controlling an agricultural vehicle. Birkland highlights “a need for a method and system for estimating surface roughness of ground for an off-road vehicle to control ground speed of the vehicle [Birkland, 0004]”. It would be obvious to apply the wheel slip detection methods of Foster with the powered wheels of the implement as taught by Birkland as it is applying a known method to achieve an expected result.
Regarding claim 13:
Foster in view of Madsen and Birkland teaches all the limitations of claim 12, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the input data further includes a vehicle wheel speed (the controller 46 determines a speed of the ground engaging surface of each wheel or track based on the respective rotation rate and a diameter of the respective tire or a length of the respective track, for example [0042]), and wherein conditions indicative of the potential mired event are determined based on a comparison (The controller 46 then determines a magnitude of slippage for each wheel or track by determining the percentage difference between the speed of the respective ground engaging surface and the ground speed 82 of the off-road vehicle [0042]) between the vehicle wheel speed (the controller 46 determines a speed of the ground engaging surface of each wheel [0042]) and
Birkland further teaches:
the implement wheel speed (A wheel-slip estimator 58 estimates the wheel slip indicator based on numerator of drivetrain-derived wheel speed (e.g., sensor wheel speed) [0049]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et. al. (US 2017/0101103), herein Foster in view of Madsen et. al. (US 2019/0129435), herein Madsen in further view of Omohundro et. al. (US 2023/0240168), herein Omohundro.
Regarding claim 14:
Foster in view of Madsen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster in view of Madsen does not explicitly teach, however Omohundro teaches:
wherein the input data includes image data from a vision system (Camera 408 comprises one form of an example sensor configured to capture video or images in front of vehicle 320 [0073]), and wherein conditions indicative of the potential mired event are determined based on the image data (Signals from camera 408 may be used by controller 350 to determine traction conditions for outputting mode suggestions to an operator or for automatically switching between modes [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster in view of Madsen to include the teachings as taught by Omohundro with a reasonable expectation of success. Both references are in the same field of endeavor of controlling an agricultural vehicle. Omohundro teaches the benefit of “Signals from camera 408 may be used by controller 350 to determine traction conditions for outputting mode suggestions to an operator or for automatically switching between modes. [Omohundro, 0073]”.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et. al. (US 2017/0101103), herein Foster in view of Maki (US 2006/0239508), herein Maki.
Regarding claim 16:
Foster teaches:
A method for avoiding a mired event in an agricultural machine (a method 122 for controlling slippage of an off-road vehicle [0065]), comprising:
acquiring, by at least one processor (fig. 2, microprocessor 48), input data related to the agricultural machine while performing an agricultural operation (the sensor assembly 36 may include multiple sensors (e.g., infrared sensors, ultrasonic sensors, magnetic sensors, etc.), each configured to monitor a rotation rate of a respective wheel or track [0025]);
detecting, based on the input data, conditions indicative of a potential mired event (the sensor assembly is configured to facilitate determination of the magnitude of slippage and/or the rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle [0025]); and
generating and communicating a control signal to a component of the agricultural machine (the slip control system may be configured to alert an operator and/or to control the off-road vehicle and/or agricultural implement if a high rate of change of slippage is detected [0021]) that implements an action to mitigate the potential mired event (the off-road vehicle 10 includes a slip control system configured to substantially reduce or eliminate the possibility of the off-road vehicle becoming stuck in the soil [0015]) when the conditions indicative of the potential mired event are detected (the sensor assembly is configured to facilitate determination of the magnitude of slippage and/or the rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle [0025]).
Maki also teaches:
detecting, based on the input data, conditions indicative of a potential mired event (it is necessary to precisely obtain the vehicle body slip angle in order to precisely start and execute the above-mentioned vehicle stabilization control [0004]);
Foster does not explicitly teach, however Maki teaches:
wherein the input data includes at least image data, from a vision system, of portions of an agricultural field trailing the agricultural machine (A vehicle body slip angle detecting apparatus according to the present invention comprises a front camera that is fixed to the front section of the vehicle body of a vehicle for photographing the road surface on which the vehicle is running; a rear camera that is fixed to the rear section of the vehicle body of a vehicle for photographing the road surface on which the vehicle is running; and vehicle body slip angle detecting means that detects the vehicle body slip angle of the vehicle on the basis of the comparison result between the front image that is the image photographed by the front camera and the rear image that is the image photographed by the rear camera);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster to include the teachings as taught by Maki with a reasonable expectation of success. Maki teaches the benefit of “it is necessary to precisely obtain the vehicle body slip angle in order to precisely start and execute the above-mentioned vehicle stabilization control [Maki, 0004]”.
Regarding claim 17:
Foster in view of Maki teaches all the limitations of claim 16, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the input data further includes one or more of:
a vehicle wheel speed (a speed of the ground engaging surface of the wheel [0025]);
an implement wheel speed (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.);
global navigation satellite system (GNSS) derived location (the spatial locating device may include any suitable system configured to determine the position of the off-road vehicle, such as a global positioning system (GPS) [0024]) or speed (the ground speed 82 of the off-road vehicle (e.g., provided by the spatial locating device, by a radar speed sensor, etc.) [0042]);
radar-indicated speed (the ground speed 82 of the off-road vehicle (e.g., provided by the spatial locating device, by a radar speed sensor, etc.) [0042]); or
a vehicle power output (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.);
Regarding claim 18:
Foster in view of Maki teaches all the limitations of claim 16, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein detecting the conditions indicative of the potential mired event (the sensor assembly is configured to facilitate determination of the magnitude of slippage and/or the rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle [0025]) comprises determining the conditions based on one or more of:
a wheel slip value (the slip control system includes a control system configured to receive a first signal indicative of a magnitude of slippage of the off-road vehicle relative to a soil surface and/or a second signal indicative of a rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle relative to the soil surface [0016]);
a comparison between a machine-indicated speed and an externally-indicated speed (The controller 46 then determines a magnitude of slippage for each wheel or track by determining the percentage difference between the speed of the respective ground engaging surface and the ground speed 82 of the off-road vehicle [0042]; Slippage occurs when a ground engaging surface of the wheel or track moves at a higher speed than the ground speed of the off-road vehicle [0019]);
an analysis of image data (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.); or
a comparison of power output to vehicle speed (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.).
Regarding claim 19:
Foster in view of Maki teaches all the limitations of claim 16, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the control signal indicates one or more actions (the slip control system may be configured to alert an operator and/or to control the off-road vehicle and/or agricultural implement if a high rate of change of slippage is detected [0021]), the one or more actions include at least one of:
an increase of a weight distribution to outer portions of an agricultural implement using a frame distribution system (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.);
a change in tire pressure (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.);
changing a working position of ground engaging features (the implement control system 44 may be configured to instruct an implement controller (e.g., via a communication link, such as a CAN bus or ISOBUS) to adjust a penetration depth of at least one ground engaging tool of the agricultural implement [0035]);
a change to a downforce of the agricultural implement (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.);
a depth change (the implement control system 44 may be configured to instruct an implement controller (e.g., via a communication link, such as a CAN bus or ISOBUS) to adjust a penetration depth of at least one ground engaging tool of the agricultural implement [0035]);
an engagement of an implement propulsion system (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.);
a speed increase of the implement propulsion system (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.); or
a halting of all functions of the agricultural machine and sending an alert (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.).
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et. al. (US 2017/0101103), herein Foster in view of Digman (US 2025/0380622), herein Digman.
Regarding claim 20:
Foster teaches:
A system (A slip control system for an off-road vehicle [abstract]), comprising:
an agricultural vehicle (Off-road vehicles, such as agricultural tractors [0003]);
an agricultural implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle to perform an agricultural operation (the agricultural implement 12 may be a tillage tool, a fertilizer application tool, a seeding or planting tool, or a harvesting tool, among others [0014]); and
a controller associated with at least one of the agricultural vehicle or the agricultural implement (the control system 26 includes a controller 46 communicatively coupled to the first transceiver 28, to the spatial locating device 34, to the sensor assembly 36, to the steering control system 38, to the speed control system 40, to the traction control system 42, and to the implement control system 44 [0026]) that receives input data and outputs control signals to control the agricultural machine or the agricultural implement (the sensor assembly 36 may include multiple sensors (e.g., infrared sensors, ultrasonic sensors, magnetic sensors, etc.), each configured to monitor a rotation rate of a respective wheel or track [0025]), wherein the controller includes:
at least one processor (fig. 2, microprocessor 48); and
a memory that stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the at least one processor (the memory device 50 may store processor-executable instructions (e.g., firmware or software) for the processor 48 to execute, such as instructions for controlling the off-road vehicle 10 [0030]) to:
identify conditions indicative of a potential mired event based on the input data (the sensor assembly is configured to facilitate determination of the magnitude of slippage and/or the rate of change of slippage of the off-road vehicle [0025]),
wherein the input data includes at least a wheel speed of the agricultural vehicle (a speed of the ground engaging surface of the wheel [0025]) and [a wheel speed of the agricultural implement], and wherein the conditions indicative of the potential mired event are identified based at least in part on a comparison between the wheel speed of the agricultural vehicle and the wheel speed of the agricultural implement (Slippage occurs when a ground engaging surface of the wheel or track moves at a higher speed than the ground speed of the off-road vehicle. As disclosed herein, “magnitude of slippage” refers to a percentage difference between the speed of the ground engaging surface of the wheel or track and the ground speed of the off-road vehicle. For example, if the speed of the ground engaging surface of the wheel or track is equal to the ground speed of the off-road vehicle, the magnitude of slippage is 0 percent (i.e., no slippage). Conversely, if the speed of the ground engaging surface of the wheel or track is greater than zero (e.g., kilometers per hour), and the ground speed of the off-road vehicle is zero (e.g., kilometers per hour), the magnitude of slippage is 100 percent (i.e., complete slippage) [0019]; examiner notes that having the implement wheels speed data as taught by Digman would allow one to compare implement speed to tractor speed as shown above to determine if there is a speed difference between the two sets of wheels to determine of there is slip occurring either at the vehicle or at the implement.); and
generate control signals (the slip control system may be configured to alert an operator and/or to control the off-road vehicle and/or agricultural implement if a high rate of change of slippage is detected [0021]) indicative of an action to mitigate the potential mired event (the off-road vehicle 10 includes a slip control system configured to substantially reduce or eliminate the possibility of the off-road vehicle becoming stuck in the soil [0015]),
wherein the action includes one or more of changing a tire pressure on the agricultural implement (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.), changing a weight distribution of the agricultural implement with a frame weight distribution system (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.), changing a downforce on row units of the agricultural implement (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.), changing depth of tillage points of the agricultural implement (the implement control system 44 may be configured to instruct an implement controller (e.g., via a communication link, such as a CAN bus or ISOBUS) to adjust a penetration depth of at least one ground engaging tool of the agricultural implement [0035]), changing a working position of ground engaging features of the agricultural implement (the implement control system 44 may be configured to instruct an implement controller (e.g., via a communication link, such as a CAN bus or ISOBUS) to adjust a penetration depth of at least one ground engaging tool of the agricultural implement [0035]), engage or increase speed of the agricultural implement via an implement propulsion system (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.), or halt all activity and send an alert (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.).
Foster does not explicitly teach, however Digman teaches:
wherein the input data includes at least a wheel speed of the agricultural vehicle () and a wheel speed of the agricultural implement (wheel speed of the implement wheels 34, 35 [0072]), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Foster to include the teachings as taught by Digman with a reasonable expectation of success. Digman teaches the benefit of “The tillage implement may drift from an intended or selected position while being towed, such as when it is towed across a hill during operations or when it encounters an otherwise uneven surface in the road or field over which it is moving. During tilling operations, the tillage implement not being in the selected position may negatively impact tilling operations by, for example, leading to under tilling and/or over tilling of portions of the field and/or may result in the tillage implement encountering adverse field conditions, such as wet or muddy soil. Additionally, correction of the implement position may require significant energy consumption. In this respect, systems and methods have been developed to reduce these issues. While such systems and methods work well, further improvements are needed [Digman, 0003]”.
Regarding claim 21:
Foster in view of Digman teaches all the limitations of claim 20, upon which this claim is dependent.
Foster further teaches:
wherein the input data further includes one or more of an externally-indicated speed (the ground speed 82 of the off-road vehicle (e.g., provided by the spatial locating device, by a radar speed sensor, etc.) [0042]), a power output of the agricultural vehicle (the torque vectoring system 56 may differentially apply torque from the engine to wheels and/or tracks on each lateral side of the off-road vehicle [0031]), or image data from a computer vision system (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Greenwood (US 2021/0046827) discloses a controller (7) for controlling an electric machine (6) to drive a wheel (4) of a vehicle (1). The controller (7) includes a processor (15) configured to determine an effective torque (T). A speed demand signal (27) for controlling the wheel speed is output by the processor (15). The processor is configured to detect changes in the effective torque (T) as the wheel speed (S) changes and to modify the speed demand signal (27) in dependence on the detected changes in the effective torque (T). The processor (15) may determine a derivative (dT/dS) of the effective torque (T) with respect to the wheel speed (S). The present disclosure also relates to a method of controlling an electric machine (6) to drive a wheel (4) of a vehicle (1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Scott R Jagolinzer whose telephone number is (571)272-4180. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 8AM - 4PM Eastern.
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665