DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuroda et al. (US 6,370,010).
In regards to claim 1, Kuroda ‘010 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (8 – fig. 9; C6:L6-18) including a plurality of dielectric layers (9 – fig. 3; C6:L6-18), a plurality of first inner electrodes (10 – fig. 3; C6:L6-18), and a plurality of second inner electrodes (11 – fig. 3; C6:L6-18) that are laminated;
a first via conductor (16 – fig. 3 & 6; C6:L60-67) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of first inner electrodes;
a second via conductor (17 – fig. 3 & 6; C6:L60-67) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of second inner electrodes;
a first outer electrode (14 – fig. 6 & 9; C6:L35-38) on at least one of a first main surface and a second main surface of the capacitor body facing each other in a lamination direction of the plurality of dielectric layers, the plurality of first inner electrodes, and the plurality of second inner electrodes, and connected to the first via conductor;
a second outer electrode (15 – fig. 6 & 9; C6:L35-38) on the at least one of the first main surface and the second main surface of the capacitor body and connected to the second via conductor; and
a first metal layer (12 – fig. 3 & 9; C6:L35-38) on a side surface of the capacitor body other than the first main surface and the second main surface, and electrically connected to the first via conductor.
In regards to claim 2, Kuroda ‘010 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, further comprising a first connection layer (portion of 10 connected to 12 (i.e. lead tab) – fig. 3) inside the capacitor body to electrically connect the first via conductor and the first metal layer.
In regards to claim 8, Kuroda ‘010 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (8 – fig. 9; C6:L6-18) including a plurality of dielectric layers (9 – fig. 3; C6:L6-18), a plurality of first inner electrodes (10 – fig. 3; C6:L6-18), and a plurality of second inner electrodes (11 – fig. 3; C6:L6-18) that are laminated;
a first via conductor (16 – fig. 3 & 6; C6:L60-67) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of first inner electrodes;
a second via conductor (17 – fig. 3 & 6; C6:L60-67) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of second inner electrodes;
a first outer electrode (14 – fig. 6 & 9; C6:L35-38) on at least one of a first main surface and a second main surface of the capacitor body facing each other in a lamination direction of the plurality of dielectric layers, the plurality of first inner electrodes, and the plurality of second inner electrodes, and connected to the first via conductor;
a second outer electrode (15 – fig. 6 & 9; C6:L35-38) on the at least one of the first main surface and the second main surface of the capacitor body and connected to the second via conductor;
a first metal layer (12 – fig. 3 & 9; C6:L35-38) on a side surface of the capacitor body other than the first main surface and the second main surface, and electrically connected to the first via conductor; and
a second metal layer (13 – fig. 3 & 9; C6:L35-38) on the side surface of the capacitor body and electrically connected to the second via conductor.
In regards to claim 9, Kuroda ‘010 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, further comprising: a first connection layer (portion of 10 connected to 12 (i.e. lead tab) – fig. 3) inside the capacitor body to electrically connect the first via conductor and the first metal layer; and
a second connection layer (portion of 11 connected to 13 (i.e. lead tab) – fig. 3) inside the capacitor body to electrically connect the second via conductor and the second metal layer.
In regards to claim 10, Kuroda ‘010 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, wherein the first metal layer and the second metal layer are each provided at a corner position across two side surfaces of the capacitor body (fig. 9).
In regards to claim 11, Kuroda ‘010 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, wherein the capacitor body includes four side surfaces (fig. 9);
one of the first metal layer and the second metal layer is provided at four corner positions across two side surfaces of the capacitor body (fig. 9); and
another of the first metal layer and the second metal layer is provided at a position between metal layers on each of the four side surfaces (fig. 9).
In regards to claim 14, Kuroda ‘010 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 9, wherein the first connection layer is provided in a layer in which one of the plurality of first inner electrodes is provided (fig. 3); and
the second connection layer is provided in a layer in which one of the plurality of second inner electrodes is provided (fig. 3).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-14, 17, & 19is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN115274300A hereafter referred to as Chizhou.
In regards to claim 1, Chizhou discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (1 – fig. 1; [n0071]) including a plurality of dielectric layers (6 – fig. 3; [n0071]), a plurality of first inner electrodes (4 – fig. 3; [n0071]), and a plurality of second inner electrodes (5 – fig. 3; [n0071]) that are laminated;
a first via conductor (7 – fig. 6; [n0071]) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of first inner electrodes;
a second via conductor (8 – fig. 6; [n0071]) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of second inner electrodes;
a first outer electrode (9 and/or 11 – fig. 6; [n0071]) on at least one of a first main surface and a second main surface of the capacitor body facing each other in a lamination direction of the plurality of dielectric layers, the plurality of first inner electrodes, and the plurality of second inner electrodes, and connected to the first via conductor;
a second outer electrode (10 and/or 12 – fig. 6; [n0071]) on the at least one of the first main surface and the second main surface of the capacitor body and connected to the second via conductor; and
a first metal layer (2 – fig. 6; [n0071]) on a side surface of the capacitor body other than the first main surface and the second main surface, and electrically connected to the first via conductor.
In regards to claim 2, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, further comprising a first connection layer (16 – fig. 11; [n0071] & [n0109]) inside the capacitor body to electrically connect the first via conductor and the first metal layer.
In regards to claim 4, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a main component ([n0075]).
In regards to claim 6, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first and second inner electrodes includes Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au, or and an alloy including Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au ([n0075]).
In regards to claim 8, Chizhou discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor body (1 – fig. 1; [n0071]) including a plurality of dielectric layers (6 – fig. 3; [n0071]), a plurality of first inner electrodes (4 – fig. 3; [n0071]), and a plurality of second inner electrodes (5 – fig. 3; [n0071]) that are laminated;
a first via conductor (7 – fig. 6; [n0071]) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of first inner electrodes;
a second via conductor (8 – fig. 6; [n0071]) inside the capacitor body and electrically connected to the plurality of second inner electrodes;
a first outer electrode (9 and/or 11 – fig. 6; [n0071]) on at least one of a first main surface and a second main surface of the capacitor body facing each other in a lamination direction of the plurality of dielectric layers, the plurality of first inner electrodes, and the plurality of second inner electrodes, and connected to the first via conductor;
a second outer electrode (10 and/or 12 – fig. 6; [n0071]) on the at least one of the first main surface and the second main surface of the capacitor body and connected to the second via conductor; and
a first metal layer (2 – fig. 6; [n0071]) on a side surface of the capacitor body other than the first main surface and the second main surface, and electrically connected to the first via conductor; and
a second metal layer (3 – fig. 6; [n0071]) on the side surface of the capacitor body and electrically connected to the second via conductor.
In regards to claim 9, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, further comprising: a first connection layer (16 and/or non-overlapping portion of 4 – fig. 11; [n0071] & [n0109]) inside the capacitor body to electrically connect the first via conductor and the first metal layer; and
a second connection layer (15 and/or non-overlapping portion of 5 – fig. 11; [n0071] & [n0109]) inside the capacitor body to electrically connect the second via conductor and the second metal layer.
In regards to claim 10, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, wherein the first metal layer and the second metal layer are each provided at a corner position across two side surfaces of the capacitor body (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 12, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 9, wherein the first connection layer is provided in a layer in which one of the plurality of second inner electrodes is provided (fig. 11); and
the second connection layer is provided in a layer in which one of the plurality of first inner electrodes is provided (fig. 11).
In regards to claim 13, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 9, wherein the first connection layer and the second connection layer are each provided in a layer in which one of the plurality of first inner electrodes is provided and in a layer in which one of the plurality of second inner electrodes is provided (fig. 11).
In regards to claim 14, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 9, wherein the first connection layer is provided in a layer in which one of the plurality of first inner electrodes is provided (fig. 11); and
the second connection layer is provided in a layer in which one of the plurality of second inner electrodes is provided (fig. 11).
In regards to claim 17, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a main component ([n0075]).
In regards to claim 19, Chizhou discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of first and second inner electrodes includes Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au, or and an alloy including Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au ([n0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 & 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda ‘010 in view of Muramatsu (US 2020/0234887).
In regards to claim 3 & 16,
Kuroda ‘010 fails to discloses wherein the first metal layer is a plated layer; and the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode include plated electrodes.
Muramatsu discloses forming external electrodes of an MLCC using a plated layer ([0051-0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first metal layer, the first outer electrode and the second outer electrode of Kuroda ‘010 using a plated layer as taught by Muramatsu to allow for a reduced thickness external electrode system that improves volume efficiency.
In regards to claim 4 & 17,
Kuroda ‘010 fails to discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a main component.
Muramatsu discloses wherein each of the plurality of dielectric layers includes BaTiO3, CaTiO3, SrTiO3, SrZrO3, or CaZrO3 as a main component ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the dielectric layers of Kuroda ‘010 using a material as taught by Muramatsu to obtain a capacitor with a desired capacitance. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 4 & 18,
Kuroda ‘010 as modified by Muramatsu further discloses wherein each of the plurality of the dielectric layers includes a Mn compound, a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, or a Ni compound as a subcomponent ([0032] of Muramatsu).
In regards to claim 6 & 19,
Kuroda ‘010 fails to discloses wherein each of the plurality of first and second inner electrodes includes Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au, or and an alloy including Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au.
Muramatsu discloses wherein each of the plurality of first and second inner electrodes includes Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au, or and an alloy including Ni, Cu, Ag, Pd, Pt, Fe, Ti, Cr, Sn or Au ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the inner electrodes of Kuroda ‘010 using a material as taught by Muramatsu to obtain a capacitor wherein the inner electrodes have good conductivity. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 7 & 20,
Kuroda ‘010 fails to discloses wherein a thickness of each of the plurality of first and second inner electrodes is about 0.3 µm to about 1.0 µm.
Muramatsu discloses wherein a thickness of each of the plurality of first and second inner electrodes is about 0.3 µm to about 1.0 µm ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the inner electrodes of Kuroda ‘010 to have a thickness as taught by Muramatsu to obtain a capacitor that is small in size and has a desired capacitance. Furthermore, it a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the first connection layer is in contact with the first via conductor but not in contact with the first inner electrode; and the second connection layer is in contact with the second via conductor but not in contact with the second inner electrode (claim 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0027312 – fig. 18 US 2022/0230811 – fig. 8
US 2006/0120018 – fig. 3 US 2015/0124371 – fig. 7
US 9,226,401 – fig. 2-3
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847