DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0039], the passage "or no more than about 45 °C, or no more than about 45 °C" recites the same value twice; one of the two values appears to be a typographical error.
In paragraph [0049], "configured to the expand the condensed refrigerant" should read "configured to expand the condensed refrigerant."
In paragraph [0057], "is a process flow diagram an embodiment" should read "is a process flow diagram of an embodiment."
In paragraph [0076], "to produced chilled water" should read "to produce chilled water."
In paragraph [0077], "through line insulated line 308" should read "through insulated line 308." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informality: "an expander configured to the expand the condensed refrigerant" should read "an expander configured to expand the condensed refrigerant." Appropriate correction is required.
Terms defined in the specification
The specification expressly defines several claim terms, and those definitions govern the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. See MPEP § 2111.01(IV).
"Closed loop mechanical refrigeration cycle" (claims 1 and 15) is interpreted in accordance with paragraph [0016], which defines a closed-loop refrigeration cycle as any combination of conduits and devices that results in a closed circuit in which all or substantially all refrigeration fluid circulates through the circuit.
"Dry" (claims 1-4, 7, 11, 15, and 16) is interpreted in accordance with paragraph [0030], which states that the gas is dry when it is at least substantially free of water before being added to the air.
"Adding" the gas into the air (claims 1 and 15) is interpreted in accordance with paragraph [0031], which defines the term as releasing the gas into the normal airflow that passes through the air-cooled condenser unit so that the gas is entrained within the condenser airflow.
"Air" (claims 1 and 15) is interpreted in accordance with paragraph [0032] as a gas mixture having a composition at least similar to atmospheric air.
"Liquid cryogen" (claims 3-10, 12, 16, and 17) is interpreted in accordance with paragraph [0043] as a liquid having a temperature lower than -70 °C.
No definition of "cold" appears in the specification. That term is addressed in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) below.
"And/or"
The phrase "cold and/or dry gas" (claims 1 and 15) is interpreted as reading on a gas that is cold, a gas that is dry, or a gas that is both cold and dry.
"As required"
For purposes of applying prior art, the step of claim 1 of "as required, adding cold and/or dry gas into the air passing through the air-cooled condenser unit" is treated as a positively recited step that is performed when additional refrigeration duty is needed. The uncertainty in this phrase is addressed in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a unit for supplying liquid cryogen, said unit being in fluid flow communication with the heat exchanger” in claim 17. The term “unit for” is a generic placeholder (MPEP § 2181(I)(A)), it is modified by the functional language “for supplying liquid cryogen,” and the claim recites no structure that performs the supplying function; the recited fluid flow communication with the heat exchanger identifies a connection, not a structure for supplying the cryogen. The corresponding structure is a cryogenic storage tank, including the liquid nitrogen supplying tank that feeds insulated line 302 to heat exchanger 304; a cryogenic air distillation and/or liquefaction unit; or a cryogenic energy storage unit, in fluid flow communication with the heat exchanger (¶¶ 0044, 0055, 0076; fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1 recites "as required, adding cold and/or dry gas into the air passing through the air-cooled condenser unit to provide the additional refrigeration duty for condensing the first refrigerant." Claim 1 recites this language directly; claims 13 and 14 incorporate it through their dependency from claim 1 and do not narrow the gas. The specification addresses the effect of the added gas at paragraphs [0010], [0023], [0026], [0028]-[0030], and [0087], and in Examples 2 and 4 (figs. 5 and 7).
Claims 1, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The specification, while being enabling for adding a cold gas (for example, a gas at the temperatures of paragraph [0029]) into the condenser airflow, does not reasonably provide enablement for adding a dry gas that is not cold so as to provide the claimed additional refrigeration duty. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The factors set out in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737 (Fed. Cir. 1988), and MPEP § 2164.01(a) are considered as follows.
(A) Breadth of the claims. Because of the "and/or" alternative, claim 1 encompasses adding a gas that is dry but at any temperature, including a dry gas at or above the temperature of the ambient air, and requires that the addition "provide the additional refrigeration duty for condensing the first refrigerant."
(B) Nature of the invention. The invention increases the condensing capacity of an air-cooled condenser in a vapor-compression cycle by changing the air entering the condenser coil. In an air-cooled condenser the refrigerant is condensed by sensible heat transfer to the air passing over the coil, and the condensing capacity depends on the temperature and flow rate of the air entering the coil (¶¶ 0017, 0023, 0069). The total condenser airflow is fixed by the condenser fans; in the disclosed embodiment the combined air and nitrogen is vented at the same 123.5 m³/s used without the added gas (¶ 0077; Tables 2, 8, 12).
(C) State of the prior art. The prior art likewise ties the capacity of an air-cooled condenser to the temperature of the air entering it: as the ambient temperature rises, less heat is transferred from the condenser refrigerant to the outside air because of the reduced temperature differential (Kopko, US 2019/0383538 A1, ¶ 0034), and supplemental cooling of a heat-rejecting heat exchanger is obtained by lowering the temperature of the air flowing through it (Thiele, US 2016/0257411 A1, ¶¶ 0013, 0023). The examiner is aware of no prior art that increases the condensing capacity of an air-cooled condenser by adding a gas that is dry but not colder than the ambient air.
(D) Level of ordinary skill. One of ordinary skill in the art has a degree in mechanical or chemical engineering and experience in the design or operation of vapor-compression refrigeration and HVAC systems, including air-cooled condensers. Such a person understands that the condenser rejects heat as sensible heat to the air passing over the coil, and would therefore recognize that adding a gas no colder than the ambient air does not lower the temperature of the air entering the coil. The level of skill does not supply a mechanism by which such a gas adds condensing duty.
(E) Level of predictability in the art. Because the condenser airflow is fixed, adding a dry gas at or above the ambient air temperature displaces ambient air with gas that is no colder, and so would not lower, and if warmer would raise, the temperature of the air entering the condenser. A substantial portion of the claimed scope would therefore not produce the recited result of providing additional refrigeration duty.
(F) Amount of direction provided by the inventor. The specification identifies a single mechanism by which dryness alone might help, namely reducing condensation on the condenser coils (¶¶ 0026, 0030). That mechanism does not operate under the disclosed conditions. In Example 1, ambient air at 32.5 °C and 77% relative humidity (Table 2) has a water concentration of roughly 26-27 g/m³ (interpolating Table 1), corresponding to a dew point of approximately 28 °C. The condenser coil carries refrigerant at about 58-65 °C and discharges air at about 45 °C (¶ 0080; Table 3). Every coil surface is therefore well above the dew point of the incoming air, so no moisture condenses on the coil whether or not the air is dried.
(G) Existence of working examples. The only examples in which a gas is added to the condenser airflow (Examples 2 and 4) use gaseous nitrogen at -20 °C, which is both cold and dry (¶¶ 0084, 0093; Tables 5, 7, 13). No example isolates the effect of dryness, and paragraph [0087] attributes the added duty to the combination of temperature and dryness.
(H) Quantity of experimentation needed. To practice the full scope of claim 1, one of ordinary skill would have to discover a mechanism, not disclosed in the specification and not operative under its disclosed conditions, by which a dry gas that is not cold provides additional condensing duty. That is undue experimentation.
Weighing these factors, the specification does not enable the full scope of claims 1, 13, and 14. See Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 598 U.S. 594 (2023); MPEP § 2164.08.
Claims 2-10 and 12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites "wherein the cold dry gas provides at least 0.5 MW of additional refrigeration duty." The specification addresses the duty attributable to the added gas at paragraphs [0034]-[0036] and [0086], and the duty of the cryogen heat exchanger at paragraphs [0046] and [0094] (Tables 5-7 and 14; figs. 5 and 7). The claim attributes an open-ended duty of at least 0.5 MW to the cold dry gas itself, and claim 11 depends from claim 2, not from claim 4, so the claim does not require pre-cooling of the coolant by a cryogen heat exchanger. The specification does not reasonably convey that the inventors were in possession of a cold dry gas that, by its addition to the condenser airflow, provides at least 0.5 MW of additional refrigeration duty. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc); MPEP § 2163.
Paragraph [0034] states that adding about 1.2 m³/s of cold and/or dry gas provides 0.5 MW. The only disclosed test of gas addition alone, Example 2, adds gaseous nitrogen at -20 °C at a mass flow of 1.62 kg/s (Tables 5 and 7). At atmospheric pressure and -20 °C, nitrogen has a density of about 1.35 kg/m³, so 1.62 kg/s is about 1.2 m³/s, the very flow that paragraph [0034] associates with 0.5 MW. Example 2 reports that this addition increased the condenser duty by only about 109.4 kW (¶ 0086; Tables 4 and 6). That result matches the sensible heat the nitrogen absorbs in warming from -20 °C to the 45 °C air outlet temperature (about 1.62 kg/s × 1.04 kJ/kg·K × 65 K ≈ 110 kW). The duty of approximately 0.5 MW that appears elsewhere in the specification is the duty of the liquid nitrogen heat exchanger that pre-cools the coolant (about 573.6 kW, ¶ 0094 and Table 14; liquid nitrogen at 1.4 kg/s, ¶¶ 0046, 0076), not the duty provided by the cold dry gas added to the condenser air. In addition, the claim recites an open-ended range, while the specification describes duties attributed to the added gas only within bounded ranges no higher than about 1.2 MW (¶ 0036). See MPEP § 2163.05(III). The specification thus does not support the subject matter of claim 11.
Claims 2-10 and 12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "as required, adding cold and/or dry gas into the air passing through the air-cooled condenser unit to provide the additional refrigeration duty for condensing the first refrigerant" renders the claim indefinite. The specification describes the circumstances under which the supplemental process may be used at paragraphs [0011] and [0023]-[0027] and at paragraphs [0037]-[0038] (figs. 3 and 7).
The phrase "as required" does not state what requires the addition of gas, what criterion establishes that requirement, or what event ends it. The specification offers several different, non-limiting triggers, each introduced as applying only "in some embodiments": a forecast hot weather event (¶ 0024), a surrounding temperature of at least about 34 °C (¶ 0025), a relative humidity of at least about 60% (¶ 0026), an atmospheric water concentration of at least about 20 g/m³ (¶ 0027), and a coolant temperature T2 exceeding a threshold (¶¶ 0037-0038). These triggers are not equivalent and would call for adding gas under different conditions; none is incorporated into the claim. The phrase also leaves it uncertain whether the adding step is a required step of the claimed process or a conditional step that need never be performed if its unstated condition does not arise. See MPEP § 2111.04(II). One of ordinary skill therefore cannot determine with reasonable certainty which processes fall within the scope of claims 1-14. See MPEP § 2173.02.
Claims 1 and 15 recite "cold and/or dry gas," and claims 2, 3, 4, 7, 11, and 16 recite "cold dry gas." Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 11, 15, and 16 recite the term "cold" directly and are each rejected on that independent basis; claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 14 incorporate the term through their dependency from claim 1, and claims 17, 18, and 19 incorporate it through their dependency from claim 15. The specification discusses the temperature of the gas at paragraph [0029] and paragraph [0043], and in Examples 2 and 4 (¶¶ 0084, 0093; figs. 5 and 7).
"Cold" is a relative term of degree. Neither the claims nor the specification provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree. Paragraph [0029] states only that the temperature of the gas is "typically" equal to or higher than about -35 °C, -30 °C, or -25 °C and "typically" no more than about -5 °C, -10 °C, or -15 °C, and that in "one embodiment" it is about -20 °C. These are exemplary values, not a definition. The claims do not identify the reference against which coldness is measured, such as the ambient air, the air entering the condenser, 0 °C, or the condensing temperature of the refrigerant. Because the claimed gas performs its function by lowering the temperature of the condenser airflow, the reference matters: a gas at 25 °C is cold relative to 35 °C ambient air but not relative to 20 °C ambient air. The specification further leaves uncertain whether gas taken directly from a liquid cryogen at temperatures far below the range of paragraph [0029] (paragraph [0043] defines a liquid cryogen as below -70 °C, and Example 4 uses liquid nitrogen at about -181.7 °C, ¶ 0093) is "cold" within the meaning of the claims or lies outside the disclosed range. One of ordinary skill therefore cannot determine the boundary of the claimed subject matter with reasonable certainty. See MPEP § 2173.05(b). For purposes of applying prior art, "cold" is interpreted as colder than the air into which the gas is added. See MPEP § 2173.06.
Claim 5 recites "wherein the first coolant is at a first temperature (T1) prior to evaporating the first refrigerant and at a second temperature (T2) that is lower than the first temperature (T1) after evaporating the first refrigerant, and wherein the liquid cryogen is used to pre-cool the first coolant when T2 exceeds a predetermined temperature threshold." Claim 6 recites "wherein the liquid cryogen reduces the first temperature (T1) of the first coolant by at least about 3°C to produce a pre-cooled coolant." Claim 5 recites the T1/T2 language directly and is rejected on that independent basis; claim 6 recites "the first temperature (T1)" directly and is also rejected on that independent basis, and further incorporates the language of claim 5 through its dependency. The specification discusses these temperatures at paragraphs [0037]-[0041] (figs. 3 and 7).
First, under claim 4, from which claim 5 depends, the first coolant is pre-cooled by the liquid cryogen before it exchanges heat with the first refrigerant. The coolant therefore has two different temperatures "prior to evaporating the first refrigerant": its temperature before the cryogen heat exchanger (36 °C in the example of ¶ 0076) and its temperature after the cryogen heat exchanger but before the evaporator (31 °C in the same example). Claim 5 does not identify which of these is T1. Claim 6 compounds the uncertainty by reciting that the liquid cryogen "reduces the first temperature (T1)." If T1 is the temperature entering the evaporator, it is already the pre-cooled temperature; if T1 is the temperature upstream of the cryogen heat exchanger, the cryogen does not change it, but rather produces a different, lower temperature downstream.
Second, the claim and the specification are inconsistent as to which temperature is compared with the threshold. Claim 5 requires that T2, the coolant temperature after evaporating the refrigerant, be lower than T1, and that the cryogen be used when T2 exceeds the threshold. The specification, however, gives the T2 threshold as about 36 °C (¶ 0037), or at least about 33 °C, 34 °C, or 35 °C (¶ 0038), which equals or exceeds the values disclosed for T1 (36 °C, ¶¶ 0039, 0071), while the coolant leaving the evaporator in the disclosed examples is about 16-22 °C (¶¶ 0071, 0076, 0089). Under the disclosed values, the claimed comparison would rarely if ever trigger the pre-cooling, and the specification appears instead to apply the threshold to the coolant returning to the chiller. One of ordinary skill cannot determine with reasonable certainty which temperature is compared with the threshold. See MPEP § 2173.03. For purposes of applying prior art, T1 is interpreted as the temperature of the first coolant before it is pre-cooled by the liquid cryogen, and T2 as its temperature on leaving the heat exchange with the first refrigerant. See MPEP § 2173.06.
Claim 7 recites "wherein the cold dry gas is boil-off gas from a stored liquid cryogen." Claim 3, from which claim 7 depends, already introduces "a liquid cryogen" that is vaporized to produce the cold dry gas. It is unclear whether "a stored liquid cryogen" of claim 7 refers to the liquid cryogen of claim 3 or introduces a second, different liquid cryogen, and if the latter, how the gas can be both "produced by vaporizing a liquid cryogen" (claim 3) and "boil-off gas from" a different stored liquid cryogen (claim 7). The specification describes boil-off gas at paragraph [0042]. For purposes of applying prior art, the stored liquid cryogen of claim 7 is interpreted as the liquid cryogen of claim 3. See MPEP § 2173.06.
Claim 16 recites "the source of cold dry gas is a heat exchanger located upstream of the evaporator" renders the claim indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the source of cold dry gas" in the claim. Claim 15 introduces "a source of cold and/or dry gas," not a source of cold dry gas. See MPEP § 2173.05(e). For purposes of examination, the phrase is interpreted as referring to the source of cold and/or dry gas of claim 15.
Claims 2-4, 8-14 and 17-19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko (US 2019/0383538 A1) in view of Thiele (US 2016/0257411 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Kopko teaches a process (operation of air cooled chiller 12) in a closed loop mechanical refrigeration cycle (closed refrigerant loop 27 through evaporator 26, compressor system 30, condenser 38, and expansion valve 42) for cooling a first coolant (cooling fluid, such as chilled water) circulating in a closed loop cooling circuit (cooling fluid loop 23, which returns warm cooling fluid to evaporator 26 and returns the chilled fluid to the cooling load), said process comprising (¶¶ 0015, 0017, 0018, 0020; figs. 1, 2):
cooling the first coolant (cooling fluid) by heat exchange against a first refrigerant (refrigerant, e.g., HFC- or HFO-based) circulating in the closed loop mechanical refrigeration cycle in which the first refrigerant is evaporated by heat exchange against the first coolant (evaporator 26 transfers heat from the cooling fluid to the refrigerant, which is vaporized) (¶ 0018; fig. 2); and
condensing the first refrigerant by heat exchange against air (air directed across the condenser by condenser fans 63) in at least one air-cooled condenser unit (air cooled condenser 38) in the closed loop mechanical refrigeration cycle (¶¶ 0003, 0020, 0022, 0025; fig. 2).
Kopko does not teach providing additional refrigeration duty by, as required, adding cold and/or dry gas into the air passing through the air-cooled condenser unit to provide the additional refrigeration duty for condensing the first refrigerant.
However, Thiele teaches, as required (on demand, when the sensed air inlet temperature exceeds a predetermined maximum such as 32 °C, or when main cooling system 62 does not provide sufficient cooling), adding cold and/or dry gas (nitrogen from liquid nitrogen reservoir 30 at approximately -196 °C, which evaporates and mixes with the air as nitrogen gas) into the air passing through the heat exchanger through which the main cooling system (evaporative cooling system 62) disposes of its heat (injection port 64 upstream of main cooling system 62) to provide additional refrigeration duty for that heat rejection (the air flowing through the heat exchanger is cooled so that the required cooling capacity is achieved) (¶¶ 0013, 0014, 0019, 0023, 0036, 0039, 0043; figs. 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a supplementary cooling system having a liquid nitrogen reservoir, a valve, and an injection port that, on demand, injects nitrogen that evaporates and mixes with the air flowing to the heat exchanger through which the main cooling system disposes of its heat, as taught by Thiele, with the injection port located in the air entering condenser 38, in order to decrease the temperature of the air flowing through the heat-rejecting heat exchanger so that the required cooling capacity is achieved when the ambient temperature exceeds the design case, using a supplementary system that can simply be retrofitted to an existing installation (Thiele ¶¶ 0013, 0016, 0019, 0023). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Kopko recognizes that, as the ambient temperature rises, less heat is transferred from the refrigerant in condenser 38 to the outside air, so that the refrigerant temperature and condenser pressure rise toward levels at which it is undesirable to operate the condenser coils, that its only remedy is to raise condenser fan speed at the cost of added fan power, and Kopko already senses the ambient air temperature with temperature sensor 57 and controls the chiller in response to it (Kopko ¶¶ 0030, 0034), so that Thiele's temperature-triggered injection fits within Kopko's existing control scheme.
In regard to claim 2, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 1, but Kopko does not teach wherein the cold and/or dry gas is a cold dry gas.
However, Thiele teaches wherein the cold and/or dry gas is a cold dry gas (nitrogen evaporated from liquid nitrogen held at approximately -196 °C in reservoir 30, which lowers the temperature of the air with which it mixes) (¶¶ 0013, 0014, 0036). Nitrogen vaporized from liquid nitrogen is necessarily at least substantially free of water, as the instant specification itself acknowledges (¶ 0043), and is therefore dry within the meaning of paragraph [0030]. See MPEP § 2112.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a supplementary cooling system that adds nitrogen evaporated from liquid nitrogen into the air flowing to the heat-rejecting heat exchanger, as taught by Thiele, in order to lower the temperature of the air flowing through that heat exchanger so that the required cooling capacity is achieved when the ambient temperature exceeds the design case.
In regard to claim 3, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 2, but Kopko does not teach wherein the cold dry gas is produced by vaporizing a liquid cryogen.
However, Thiele teaches that the nitrogen added into the air is produced by evaporating liquid nitrogen (a liquid at approximately -196 °C, i.e., below -70 °C) delivered from nitrogen reservoir 30 through valve 36 to injection port 38, 64 (¶¶ 0013, 0014, 0034, 0036, 0043; figs. 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a liquid nitrogen reservoir from which liquid nitrogen is evaporated into the air flowing to the heat-rejecting heat exchanger, as taught by Thiele, in order to provide supplemental cooling from a storable medium, using well-known and reliable storage technology that can be refilled from outside and retrofitted into an existing installation.
In regard to claim 8, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 3, but Kopko does not teach wherein the liquid cryogen is selected from the group consisting of liquid nitrogen, liquid air, liquid argon, and liquid oxygen.
However, Thiele teaches that the liquid cryogen is liquid nitrogen held in nitrogen reservoir 30 (¶¶ 0014, 0034; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a liquid nitrogen reservoir from which liquid nitrogen is evaporated into the air flowing to the heat-rejecting heat exchanger as taught by Thiele, in order to provide supplemental cooling at approximately -196 °C from a storage technology that is well known and highly reliable.
In regard to claim 9, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 3, but Kopko does not teach wherein the liquid cryogen is liquid nitrogen.
However, Thiele teaches that the liquid cryogen is liquid nitrogen held in nitrogen reservoir 30 (¶¶ 0014, 0034; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a liquid nitrogen reservoir from which liquid nitrogen is evaporated into the air flowing to the heat-rejecting heat exchanger, as taught by Thiele, in order to provide supplemental cooling at approximately -196 °C from a storage technology that is well known and highly reliable (Thiele ¶¶ 0014, 0016).
In regard to claim 11, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 2, wherein Kopko further teaches an air cooled chiller that cools a building through air handlers located on individual floors, and refrigeration systems that provide cooling to data centers (¶¶ 0014, 0015; fig. 1).
Kopko does not explicitly teach wherein the cold dry gas provides at least 0.5 MW of additional refrigeration duty.
However, Thiele teaches that the flow rate of nitrogen injected into the air is adjusted by a flow control valve or by the length and diameter of the injection nozzle, depending on the required additional cooling capacity, and that the supplementary system is sized to the requirements of the installation (¶¶ 0018, 0044). Thiele thus teaches that the additional refrigeration duty provided by the injected gas is a result-effective variable that depends on the flow of gas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a supplementary nitrogen injection whose flow rate is set according to the required additional cooling capacity, as taught by Thiele, sized so that the cold dry gas provides at least 0.5 MW of additional refrigeration duty, because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). The modification would match the supplemental duty to the actual cooling requirement of the installation (Thiele ¶¶ 0018, 0044). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Kopko's chiller serves building-scale and data center cooling loads, for which the heat rejected at condenser 38 is correspondingly large (Kopko ¶¶ 0014, 0015, 0034).
In regard to claim 13, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 1, wherein Kopko further teaches wherein the first coolant is selected from the group consisting of water, glycol, and mixtures thereof (cooling fluid such as chilled water or an ethylene glycol-water solution) (¶ 0017).
In regard to claim 14, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 1, wherein Kopko further teaches wherein the closed loop cooling circuit (cooling fluid loop 23) is for cooling at least a section of a data center (the refrigeration system provides cooling to data centers, and cooling fluid loop 23 circulates the cooling fluid to a cooling load such as a computer room) (¶¶ 0014, 0017).
In regard to claim 15, Kopko teaches an apparatus (air cooled chiller 12) for providing refrigeration duty in a closed loop mechanical refrigeration cycle (closed refrigerant loop 27) for cooling a first coolant (cooling fluid, such as chilled water) circulating in a closed loop cooling circuit (cooling fluid loop 23), said apparatus comprising (¶¶ 0017, 0018; fig. 2):
a closed loop mechanical refrigeration cycle (closed refrigerant loop 27) comprising:
an evaporator (evaporator 26) configured to evaporate expanded refrigerant (refrigerant from expansion valve 42, delivered through flash tank 44 and orifice 46) by heat exchange against a first coolant (cooling fluid) circulating in a closed loop cooling circuit (cooling fluid loop 23) to produce evaporated refrigerant (vaporized refrigerant), said evaporator in fluid flow communication with a compressor (compressor system 30, through suction line 28) configured to compress the evaporated refrigerant to produce compressed refrigerant (refrigerant exiting through discharge lines 32), said compressor in fluid flow communication with an air-cooled condenser unit (air cooled condenser 38 with condenser fans 63, through heat recovery heat exchanger 34 and line 36, or through bypass valve 64 and bypass line 65) configured to condense the compressed refrigerant by heat exchange against air (air directed across the condenser by fans 63) to produce condensed refrigerant (liquid refrigerant in liquid line 40), said air-cooled condenser unit in fluid flow communication with an expander (expansion valve 42) configured to expand the condensed refrigerant to produce expanded refrigerant, said expander being in fluid flow communication with the evaporator (through flash tank 44 and orifice 46) (¶¶ 0018-0022, 0025, 0026; fig. 2).
Kopko does not teach a source of cold and/or dry gas; and at least one nozzle in fluid flow communication with the source of cold and/or dry gas for adding cold and/or dry gas into air passing through the air-cooled condenser unit.
However, Thiele teaches a source of cold and/or dry gas (nitrogen reservoir 30 holding liquid nitrogen at approximately -196 °C, which evaporates to cold, dry nitrogen) and at least one nozzle (injection nozzle of injection port 38, 64) in fluid flow communication with the source (through nitrogen outlet 34 and valve 36) for adding the nitrogen into the air flowing to the heat exchanger through which the main cooling system disposes of its heat (¶¶ 0014, 0017, 0023, 0034, 0036, 0043; figs. 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller 12 of Kopko to include a liquid nitrogen reservoir and an injection nozzle, connected to the reservoir through a valve, that sprays nitrogen into the air flowing to the heat exchanger through which the main cooling system disposes of its heat, as taught by Thiele, with the nozzle discharging into the air entering condenser 38, in order to decrease the temperature of the air flowing through the heat-rejecting heat exchanger so that the required cooling capacity is achieved when the ambient temperature exceeds the design case, with spraying giving faster and more even evaporation, using components that can simply be retrofitted into an existing installation.
In regard to claim 18, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein Kopko further teaches wherein the closed loop cooling circuit (cooling fluid loop 23) is configured and located to cool at least a section of a data center (the refrigeration system provides cooling to data centers, and cooling fluid loop 23 circulates the cooling fluid to a cooling load such as a computer room) (¶¶ 0014, 0017).
In regard to claim 19, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein Kopko further teaches a data center comprising computer equipment and that apparatus for air-cooling said computer equipment (the refrigeration system provides cooling to data centers and to a cooling load such as a computer room, the chilled cooling fluid being circulated to air handlers 18 whose fans draw air through their heat exchangers and direct the conditioned air into the cooled spaces) (¶¶ 0014, 0015, 0016, 0017; fig. 1).
Claims 4-6, 12, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko (US 2019/0383538 A1) in view of Thiele (US 2016/0257411 A1), Bowdish (US 2010/0287956 A1), and Miller (US 5,331,824 A).
In regard to claim 4, the modified Kopko teaches the process of claim 2, in which the cold dry gas (nitrogen evaporated from liquid nitrogen) is added into the air passing through condenser 38 (Kopko ¶¶ 0020, 0025; Thiele ¶¶ 0013, 0014, 0036).
The modified Kopko does not teach wherein the cold dry gas is produced by vaporizing a liquid cryogen by heat exchange against the first coolant prior to said cooling the first coolant by heat exchange against the first refrigerant.
However, Bowdish teaches vaporizing a liquid cryogen (LN2 from bulk tank 110, 232) in a vaporizer (vaporizer 130, a multiple pass finned heat exchanger, of expander 20a, 210) by heat exchange against an HVAC coolant (HVAC liquid; warm water entering inlet 200), the energy required to vaporize the cryogen removing heat from the coolant, prior to delivering the coolant to the existing chiller (expander 20a receives the HVAC fluid and cools it before delivering it to the HVAC system; chilled water output 220 is provided to water chiller 240), the vaporized nitrogen being exhausted from the expander as a gas (¶¶ 0014-0017, 0021, 0026, 0028, 0034, 0035; figs. 1, 2A-2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko, as modified by Thiele, to include a vaporizer that vaporizes liquid nitrogen against the HVAC liquid before that liquid is delivered to the existing chiller, as taught by Bowdish, located in cooling fluid loop 23 upstream of evaporator 26, in order to supplement the existing HVAC system during peak load periods without additional electrical service and to take full advantage of both the latent heat of vaporization and the sensible heat of the cryogen (Bowdish ¶¶ 0009, 0028).
The modified Kopko does not teach that the cold dry gas added into the air passing through condenser 38 is the nitrogen vaporized in that heat exchanger.
However, Miller teaches that the nitrogen leaving a liquid nitrogen heat exchanger of a mechanical refrigeration plant is still cold (about -40 °C to -55 °C), with refrigeration still available in it, and routes that vaporized nitrogen in series to further cooling duty within the same refrigeration plant, including sub-cooling the refrigerant condensed in condenser 102d (sub-cooler 102e), before exhausting it to atmosphere (pipe 132), the liquid nitrogen being admitted only when the refrigeration load rises, for example on a hot day (col. 3, ll. 17-43; col. 5, ll. 43-49, 65-68; col. 6, ll. 9-14, 29-49; fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to route the cold nitrogen leaving the liquid nitrogen heat exchanger to further cooling duty within the refrigeration cycle before exhausting it as taught by Miller, that further duty being the addition of nitrogen into the air entering condenser 38 already taught by Thiele, so that the nitrogen vaporized in the Bowdish heat exchanger is the cold dry gas so added, in order to use the low grade refrigeration remaining in the nitrogen leaving the cryogen heat exchanger rather than exhausting it to atmosphere, reducing the overall work required of the refrigeration cycle (Miller col. 5, ll. 43-49; col. 6, ll. 39-49).
In regard to claim 5, the modified Kopko teaches the process of claim 4, wherein Kopko further teaches wherein the first coolant is at a first temperature (T1) prior to evaporating the first refrigerant (warm cooling fluid entering evaporator 26) and at a second temperature (T2) that is lower than the first temperature (T1) after evaporating the first refrigerant (chilled fluid leaving evaporator 26 for return to the cooling load) (¶ 0018; fig. 2).
The modified Kopko does not teach wherein the liquid cryogen is used to pre-cool the first coolant when T2 exceeds a predetermined temperature threshold.
However, Thiele teaches a control means (first control means 66) positioned downstream of the main cooling system (main cooling system 62) that senses the temperature of the medium leaving the main cooling system and initiates the supplementary liquid nitrogen cooling if the main cooling system does not provide a sufficiently cooled flow, injection being initiated when a sensed temperature exceeds a predetermined maximum (¶¶ 0019, 0039, 0043; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a control means that senses the temperature of the medium leaving the main cooling system and initiates the supplementary liquid nitrogen cooling when that temperature exceeds a predetermined maximum, as taught by Thiele, so that the liquid nitrogen pre-cooling is initiated when the chilled fluid leaving evaporator 26 exceeds a predetermined threshold, in order to initiate the supplementary cooling function only when the main cooling system does not provide sufficient cooling and to ensure that the required cooling capacity is met.
In regard to claim 6, the modified Kopko teaches the process of claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the liquid cryogen reduces the first temperature (T1) of the first coolant by at least about 3 °C to produce a pre-cooled coolant.
However, Bowdish teaches that the flow of liquid cryogen into the vaporizer is proportionally controlled based on the liquid bath temperature and the main HVAC load, and that cryogen consumption is set by the operating conditions and the heat load demand (¶¶ 0018, 0027). Bowdish thus teaches that the amount by which the coolant is pre-cooled is a result-effective variable controlled by the cryogen flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a proportionally controlled cryogen flow to the vaporizer as taught by Bowdish, set so that the liquid cryogen reduces the temperature of the cooling fluid returning to evaporator 26 by at least about 3 °C, because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). The modification would match the pre-cooling duty to the heat load the chiller must remove (Bowdish ¶¶ 0018, 0027). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because the load on Kopko's evaporator 26 is set by the warm cooling fluid returning from the cooling load, and Kopko recognizes that high ambient temperature limits the heat condenser 38 can reject (Kopko ¶¶ 0018, 0034).
In regard to claim 12, the modified Kopko teaches the process of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein the liquid cryogen is used at a rate of at least 5 tonnes/h.
However, Bowdish teaches that liquid cryogen consumption is based on the operating conditions and the heat load demand from the facility, that the system may consume up to 100 gallons of liquid cryogen per hour, and that the bulk tank and transfer lines are sized according to demand, one or more expanders being used in a facility (¶¶ 0018, 0033). Bowdish thus teaches that the cryogen usage rate is a result-effective variable that scales with the cooling load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko to include a cryogen supply whose usage rate is set by the heat load demand as taught by Bowdish, scaled so that the liquid cryogen is used at a rate of at least 5 tonnes/h, because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, and a change in size or scale does not by itself distinguish over the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP §§ 2144.05(II)(A), 2144.04(IV)(A). The modification would supply cryogen in proportion to the load being supplemented (Bowdish ¶ 0018). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Kopko's chiller serves building-scale and data center cooling loads (Kopko ¶¶ 0014, 0015).
In regard to claim 16, the modified Kopko teaches the apparatus of claim 15, including a source of cold and/or dry gas (nitrogen reservoir 30) and a nozzle (injection nozzle of injection port 38, 64) for adding the gas into the air passing through condenser 38 (Kopko ¶¶ 0022, 0025; Thiele ¶¶ 0014, 0017, 0034, 0043).
Kopko does not teach wherein the cold and/or dry gas is a cold dry gas.
However, Thiele teaches wherein the cold and/or dry gas is a cold dry gas (nitrogen evaporated from liquid nitrogen held at approximately -196 °C in reservoir 30, which lowers the temperature of the air with which it mixes) (¶¶ 0013, 0014, 0036). Nitrogen vaporized from liquid nitrogen is necessarily at least substantially free of water, as the instant specification itself acknowledges (¶ 0043), and is therefore dry within the meaning of paragraph [0030]. See MPEP § 2112.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller 12 of Kopko to include a supplementary cooling system that adds nitrogen evaporated from liquid nitrogen into the air flowing to the heat-rejecting heat exchanger as taught by Thiele, in order to lower the temperature of the air flowing through that heat exchanger so that the required cooling capacity is achieved when the ambient temperature exceeds the design case.
The modified Kopko does not teach wherein the source of cold dry gas is a heat exchanger located upstream of the evaporator and configured to vaporize a liquid cryogen against the first coolant prior to the first coolant being fed to the evaporator.
However, Bowdish teaches a heat exchanger (vaporizer 130, a multiple pass finned heat exchanger, of expander 20a, 210) located upstream of the existing chiller (expander 20a receives the HVAC fluid and cools it before delivering it to the HVAC system; chilled water output 220 is provided to water chiller 240) and configured to vaporize a liquid cryogen (LN2) against the HVAC coolant (HVAC liquid; warm water entering inlet 200) prior to the coolant being fed to the chiller, the vaporized nitrogen being exhausted from the expander as a gas (¶¶ 0014-0017, 0021, 0026, 0034, 0035; figs. 1, 2A-2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller 12 of Kopko, as modified by Thiele, to include a vaporizer that vaporizes liquid nitrogen against the HVAC liquid before that liquid is delivered to the existing chiller, as taught by Bowdish, located in cooling fluid loop 23 upstream of evaporator 26, in order to supplement the existing HVAC system during peak load periods without additional electrical service and to take full advantage of both the latent heat of vaporization and the sensible heat of the cryogen (Bowdish ¶¶ 0009, 0028).
The modified Kopko does not teach that this heat exchanger is the source of the cold dry gas supplied to the nozzle.
However, Miller teaches that the nitrogen leaving a liquid nitrogen heat exchanger of a mechanical refrigeration plant is still cold (about -40 °C to -55 °C), with refrigeration still available in it, and routes that vaporized nitrogen in series to further cooling duty within the same refrigeration plant, including sub-cooling the refrigerant condensed in condenser 102d (sub-cooler 102e), before exhausting it to atmosphere (pipe 132), the liquid nitrogen being admitted only when the refrigeration load rises, for example on a hot day (col. 3, ll. 17-43; col. 5, ll. 43-49, 65-68; col. 6, ll. 9-14, 29-49; fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the air cooled chiller 12 of Kopko to connect the outlet of the liquid nitrogen heat exchanger to further cooling duty within the refrigeration cycle as taught by Miller, that further duty being the nozzle that adds nitrogen into the air entering condenser 38 already taught by Thiele, so that the Bowdish heat exchanger is the source of the cold dry gas, in order to use the low grade refrigeration remaining in the nitrogen leaving the cryogen heat exchanger rather than exhausting it to atmosphere, reducing the overall work required of the refrigeration cycle.
In regard to claim 17, the modified Kopko teaches the apparatus of claim 16, but does not teach a unit for supplying liquid cryogen, said unit being in fluid flow communication with the heat exchanger.
However, Bowdish teaches a unit for supplying liquid cryogen (cryogenic liquid bulk tank container 110; LN2 bulk tank 232) in fluid flow communication with the heat exchanger (vaporizer 130) through liquid transfer line 116 and valve 120 (¶¶ 0014, 0015, 0018, 0030, 0035; figs. 1, 2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the air cooled chiller 12 of Kopko to include a dedicated liquid bulk tank connected by a vacuum insulated transfer line to the vaporizer as taught by Bowdish, in order to hold enough cryogen for extended peak operation, such as 50 hours from a 5000-gallon tank, while minimizing vaporization of the cryogen during transfer.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko (US 2019/0383538 A1) in view of Thiele (US 2016/0257411 A1) and further in view of Nagimov (US 2023/0395829 A1).
In regard to claim 7, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 3, in which the cold dry gas is produced by vaporizing liquid nitrogen stored in nitrogen reservoir 30 (Thiele ¶¶ 0013, 0014, 0034, 0036).
Kopko as modified by Thiele does not teach wherein the cold dry gas is boil-off gas from a stored liquid cryogen.
However, Nagimov teaches a cryogen storage device (cryogen storage device 10) storing liquid cryogen (liquid cryogen 18, e.g., nitrogen or air) for a data center (data centers 30), in which heat transfer from the ambient environment causes the stored cryogen to boil off, and a vapor path (vapor path 14 from cold vapor vent 15 of internal storage tank 17 to gaseous vent 16) through which the boil-off vapor (vaporized cryogen 19) flows and which retains the cold associated with the boil-off rather than immediately venting it (¶¶ 0050, 0051, 0063, 0064, 0070, 0077; figs. 2, 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko, as modified by Thiele, to include a cryogen storage device with a vapor path that carries the cold boil-off vapor of the stored liquid cryogen, as taught by Nagimov, with that cold boil-off nitrogen supplied as the gas added into the air entering condenser 38, in order to retain and use the cold associated with cryogen boil-off rather than losing it, since boil-off losses of costly cryogen are undesirable and recovered cold can be used to cool data center components and lower the energy demand of data center air conditioning.
In regard to claim 10, Kopko as modified by Thiele teaches the process of claim 3, in which the cold dry gas is produced by vaporizing liquid nitrogen (Thiele ¶¶ 0013, 0014, 0036). Kopko as modified by Thiele does not teach wherein the liquid cryogen is generated on site in a cryogenic air distillation and/or liquefaction unit, or removed from a cryogenic energy storage unit.
However, Nagimov teaches wherein the liquid cryogen is removed from a cryogenic energy storage unit (cryogenic energy storage system 100A, 300, 400 including cryogen storage device 10, serving data centers 30; liquid cryogen, e.g., nitrogen or air, withdrawn through cryogen withdrawal port 12) (¶¶ 0049-0051, 0063, 0070, 0078; figs. 1A, 2, 3, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air cooled chiller process of Kopko, as modified by Thiele, to include a cryogenic energy storage unit from which the liquid cryogen is withdrawn as taught by Nagimov, in order to provide the data center with fuel cell backup power from stored cryogen in place of diesel generators, reducing carbon emissions and noise, while recovering the waste cold of the cryogen to improve data center cooling (Nagimov ¶¶ 0044-0046).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763