DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 4/7/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Examiner notes the IDS filed on 4/7/2025 appears to be a copy of the IDS filed in Application No. 17,021,004 and 18/607,621.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "of the type" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "of the type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 recites the limitation "blades" in line 1 and claim 7 recites the limitation “at least one blade” in line 1. It is unclear if this language refers to the set of blades recited in claim 1, line 17, or additional blades. For examination purposes, “blades” in claim 4, line 1, is interpreted to read –blades of the set of blades—and “at least one blade” in claim 7, line 1, is interpreted to read –at least one blade of the set of blades--.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le (US 10278894).
Regarding claim 1, Le discloses a pump for use with a spa, the spa being of the type having:
a basin (SET) for containing water (see Fig. 23);
a motor (202) mounted exteriorly of the basin and having a rotating element (950) defining an axis (see Fig. 23-25);
a drive hub (209) disposed exteriorly of the basin and coupled to the rotating element for movement therewith (see Fig. 11 and 23-25), the drive hub having magnetic properties (col. 5, l. 65 – col. 6, l. 3);
the pump comprising:
a housing (120, 140) disposed in use in an interior (interior of SET) of the basin adjacent the drive hub (see Fig. 1, 11, and 23) and having a first side (120) and a second side (140), the first side presenting towards and abutting the basin (see Fig. 1-7, 10-11, and 23) and the second side opposed in orientation to the first side (see Fig. 1-7, 10-11, and 23), the housing defining:
a cavity (cavity formed between 120 and 140) formed between the first side and the second side having a center (center of the cavity formed between 120 and 140) and a periphery (periphery of the cavity formed between 120 and 140);
an intake (136) in the second side that communicates with the center of the cavity (see Fig. 1-7 and 10-11);
one or more ports (136) defined in the second side and communicating with the periphery (see Fig. 1-7 and 10-11);
an impeller (170, 181, 183) defining a plane and being mounted in a recess (132) of the cavity, the impeller having a set of blades (178) projecting away from the plane (see Fig. 1, 8-9, and 11), the set of blades being adapted, upon rotation of the impeller in the recess, to draw water through the intake and eject water through the one or more ports (col. 5, l. 65 – col. 6, l. 3); and
wherein the impeller has a first portion (170, 181) that is ferromagnetic (col. 5, ll. 29-64) and a second portion (183) that is not ferromagnetic (col. 5, ll. 29-64), the first portion and the second portion defining a multilayer structure with at least partial overlap therebetween (see Fig. 1 and 11).
Regarding claim 2, Le discloses wherein the first portion and the second portion are both circular (see Fig. 1, 8-9, and 11).
Regarding claim 3, Le discloses wherein the first portion and the second portion are laminated together (Examiner notes “laminated” is not defined by the originally filed Specification; the first and second portions of Le meet the limitation of “laminated” as the first and second portions of Le are shown as layered and bonded together; see Fig. 1, 8-9, and 11).
Regarding claim 8, Le discloses wherein the first portion and the second portion are coaxial (see Fig. 1 and 11).
Regarding claim 10, Le discloses wherein the second portion has a central aperture (184).
Regarding claim 11, Le discloses a pintle (150) secured through the central aperture (see Fig. 1 and 11).
Regarding claim 12, Le discloses wherein the second portion is rotatably positioned within the recess (see Fig. 1 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le (US 10278894) in view of Konstantakis (US 20150352004).
Regarding claim 4, Le discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
Le further discloses wherein the first portion is a disc (172, 176, 181) with blades (178) projecting from a plane (plane of 172) defined by the disc (see Fig. 8-9); however, Le does not disclose the first portion is a stamped steel disc with blades projecting from a plane defined by the stamped steel disc as claimed.
Konstantakis discloses a water jet assembly wherein components of the jet assembly can be manufactured from stamped alloy materials such as steel (¶ 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first portion of Le, to be a stamped steel disc as claimed, as taught by Konstantakis, since it was known in the art to use stamped alloy materials such as steel in a jet assembly (¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 5, the combination above and specifically Le further discloses wherein the blades extend to an outer edge (edge between 172 and 176) of the stamped steel (as modified by Konstantakis above) disc (see Fig. 8-9).
Regarding claim 7, the combination above discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 4.
The combination above does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one blade is disposed at an angle B of about 30° to a radius of the stamped steel disc as claimed.
However, there is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed angle presents a novel or unexpected result. See MPEP § 2144.05(III). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the at least one blade of Le to perform equally well as Applicant's. It would have been obvious to have modified the device of Le, to have the angle as claimed, since such a modification is a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 9, Le discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
Le further discloses the second portion may be made or manufactured of any material that is known in the art (col. 5, ll. 50-64); however, Le does not explicitly disclose the second portion is formed of aluminum as claimed.
Konstantakis discloses a water jet assembly wherein components of the jet assembly can be manufactured from stamped alloy materials such as aluminum (¶ 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the second portion of Le, to be formed of aluminum as claimed, as taught by Konstantakis, since it was known in the art to use stamped alloy materials such as aluminum in a jet assembly (¶ 0029).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le (US 10278894) in view of Konstantakis (US 20150352004) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Brady (US 2542896).
Regarding claim 6, the combination above discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 5.
However, Le does not explicitly disclose wherein the blades are bent from the plane defined by the stamped steel disc as claimed.
Brady discloses a pump assembly wherein the blades (30) are bent from the plane (plane of 29) defined by the stamped disc (29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the blades of Le, to be bent from the plane defined by the disc as claimed, as taught by Brady, since it was known in the art to use sheet metal to eliminate the need for castings (col. 1, ll. 4-12) and by using stamped-out blades to bend outwardly from the plate, there is no deleterious effect upon pump efficiency resulting from the apertures in the plate (col. 1, l. 46 - col. 2, l. 14).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11951069. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4 and 7-9 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-6 and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11951069.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12268649. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12268649.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Giardini (US 3932069) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a motor pump (10) including a disc (40) made from a nonmagnetic material and ferromagnetic elements (42) made from laminated steel with the length and width dimensions of the laminations extending in the axial and radial directions (col. 3, ll. 4-37).
/WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754