Claim 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 2 and 17 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-16, and 18-20 are currently under review.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that there is no teaching or suggestion of the feature “a comfortable viewing zone for the user exists within a plurality of depth of fields that are formed by the plurality of focal planes”. The Office disagrees. Held teaches in paragraph 6 that “The FLC modulator may be operatively synchronized to the virtual image source to dynamically switch polarization states, and the corresponding states of focus for virtual images, to support a given composition of a mixed-reality scene. In such compositions, images of virtual-world objects can appear to the user in focal planes at different distances along with real-world objects. The time response of the FLC modulator enables rapid state switching to construct a temporally multiplexed mixed-reality scene having appropriate focus cues to provide a comfortable visual experience no matter where in the scene the HMD user is accommodating”.
The Applicant argues on page 9 of the remarks that Held does not teach defining a comfortable viewing zone based on individual visual characteristics of a user and providing a comfortable stereoscopic viewing environment in consideration of a defined comfortable viewing zone and that there is no teaching of the feature “the comfortable viewing zone is defined based on a size of an allowable circle of confusion that settles on a retina of a human eye”. The Office disagrees. The claim limitations do not define how a comfortable viewing zone is provided, merely that a comfortable viewing zone for the user exists within a plurality of depth of fields that are formed by the plurality of focal planes which is taught by Held to form a stereoscopic image. Ollila teaches in paragraph 91 that “when controlling the means for adjusting the optical focus of the given imaging unit, the processor is configured to adjust, based on the gaze direction of the user, at least one focusing parameter of the optical element”, in paragraph 95 “at least one focusing parameter is calculated based upon at least one of: a required blur value, a required final size of a circle of confusion, a focal length of the optical element, a required full displacement of the optical element”, and in paragraph 134 “the first and second warped images are shown to the user, the user correctly perceives different optical depths due to his/her stereoscopic vision, whilst also perceiving sharpness of the first and second objects at the first and second optical depths”. The Applicant further argues at the top of page 10 of the remarks that Ollila implements a similar optical metric but does not explicitly mention the computational parameter for focus control provides a comfortable viewing zone. The Office disagrees. Viewing objects out of focus causes strain and discomfort for a user, therefore the mere provision of focus control for a plurality of focal planes provides a comfortable viewing zone. Therefore the combination of Held and Ollila provides the comfortable viewing zone via a comfortable viewing environment AND providing focus at various focal lengths meeting the limitations “wherein the comfortable viewing zone is defined based on a size of an allowable circle of confusion that settles on a retina of a human eye”.
The Applicant argues on page 11 of the arguments that none of the references teach “at least one geometric phase lens that is configured to vary the focus of the optical system according to polarization control”. The Office disagrees. Although Held does not explicitly mention geometric phase lens, Held teaches in paragraph 64 that “The FLC modulator is configured to function as a switchable half-wave plate having a binary state. The FLC modulator has a fast axis 815 and slow axis 820. The fast axis provides a minimum index of refraction for one state of polarization of a linearly polarized wave with a maximum phase velocity. When the wave is rotated by 90° and polarized along the slow axis it will propagate with a maximum index of refraction and minimum phase velocity. The FLC modulator is oriented at either zero or 45° to the axis of the linearly polarizing filter depending on its switched state”. therefore since the FLC modulator rotates a wave and focuses it, the FLC modulator functions has a geometric phase lens.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sensor”.
Sensor is described in paragraph 75 as a camera. Processor is described in paragraph 76 as
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0103091 A1) in view of Ollila (Pub. No.: US 2021/0243384 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Held teaches a mixed reality image device (figs. 1 and 22-23: mixed reality or virtual reality HMD; ¶38, “images may be rendered on the display device 105 along with computer-generated virtual images that augment the captured images of the physical environment” – augmented reality; ¶90), comprising: an optical system (fig. 7, item 705, 710, 715, 720, 730, and 735; ¶51; ¶61 or fig. 11, item 720, 730, 735, 1105 and 1120; ¶70-71) configured to generate a plurality of focal planes; a sensor (fig. 1, item 135; ¶39) configured to detect gaze information of a user; a processor (fig. 1, item 125 and fig 12, item 1210 and 715; fig. 23, item 2220; ¶97, “The HMD device 2200 can further include a controller 2220 such as one or more processors having a logic subsystem 2222 and a data storage subsystem 2224 in communication with the sensors, gaze detection subsystem 2210, display subsystem 2204, and/or other components through a communications subsystem 2226”) configured to select one of the plurality of focal planes based on the detected gaze information of the user, change a focus of the optical system to form the focus on the selected focal plane, and generate a binocular disparity focal image (figs. 9-10; ¶66, “The synchronization enables construction of temporally multiplexed scenes with correct focus cues so that focal distances in the scene are presented with the birefringent lens 710 in the correct state”; ¶67-68, selecting between focal plane at d1 or d2); and a display configured to output the binocular disparity focal image based on a control operation of the processor (¶68, “The mixed-reality display system thus reproduces correct focus cues, including blur and binocular disparity, to thereby stimulate natural accommodation to converge to an appropriate focal distance to create sharp retinal images”), wherein a comfortable viewing zone for the user exists within a plurality of depth of fields that are formed by the plurality of focal planes (¶6, “The time response of the FLC modulator enables rapid state switching to construct a temporally multiplexed mixed-reality scene having appropriate focus cues to provide a comfortable visual experience no matter where in the scene the HMD user is accommodating”).
Held does not mention the mixed or virtual reality image device can be implemented in an extended reality image device nor does Held mention wherein the comfortable viewing zone is defined based on a size of an allowable circle of confusion that settles on a retina of a human eye.
Ollila teaches an extended reality image device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶55; ¶170), comprising: an optical system (fig. 1, item 104; ¶170) configured to generate a plurality of focal planes; a sensor (fig. 1, item 108); a processor (fig. 1, item 106); and a display (fig. 1, item 102); wherein a comfortable viewing zone is defined based on the size of allowable circle of confusion that settles on the retina of a human eye (¶86; ¶94, “an optimal step size that is required for a given speed of autofocusing, is dependent on focal length of camera optics (i.e., the different focal lengths of the optical element)”; ¶95, “the at least one focusing parameter is calculated based upon at least one of: a required blur value, a required final size of a circle of confusion, a focal length of the optical element, a required full displacement of the optical element”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mixed reality image device of Held, such that mixed reality image device is implemented in an extended reality image device, wherein the comfortable viewing zone is defined based on the size of allowable circle of confusion that settles on the retina of a human eye, as taught by Ollila so as to be used in a variety of applications and to provide an extended reality image device that has a higher autofocus speed and improved output image (¶6).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Held does not teach wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on physiological surveys or diffraction relationships.
Ollila teaches an extended reality image device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶55; ¶170), comprising: an optical system (fig. 1, item 104; ¶170) configured to generate a plurality of focal planes; a sensor (fig. 1, item 108); a processor (fig. 1, item 106); and a display (fig. 1, item 102); wherein a comfortable viewing zone is defined based on the size of allowable circle of confusion that settles on the retina of a human eye (¶86; ¶94, “an optimal step size that is required for a given speed of autofocusing, is dependent on focal length of camera optics (i.e., the different focal lengths of the optical element)”; ¶95, “the at least one focusing parameter is calculated based upon at least one of: a required blur value, a required final size of a circle of confusion, a focal length of the optical element, a required full displacement of the optical element”); wherein the size of allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on physiological surveys or diffraction relationships (¶95, “the at least one focusing parameter is calculated based upon at least one of: a required blur value, a required final size of a circle of confusion, a focal length of the optical element, a required full displacement of the optical element”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mixed reality image device of Held, wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on physiological surveys or diffraction relationships, as taught by Ollila so as to provide an extended reality image device that has a higher autofocus speed and improved output image (¶6).
With respect to Claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein the comfortable viewing zone exists within the plurality of depth of fields that are formed by the plurality of focal planes (¶6, “The time response of the FLC modulator enables rapid state switching to construct a temporally multiplexed mixed-reality scene having appropriate focus cues to provide a comfortable visual experience no matter where in the scene the HMD user is accommodating”; ¶48 – a comfortable viewing zone is a focus that provides a comfortable visual experience).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein the optical system is set to have the comfortable viewing zone to exist within the plurality of depth of fields that are formed by the plurality of focal planes (¶6; ¶48, the varying focal cues correspond to depth of fields of the plurality of focal palnes).
With respect to Claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein the optical system comprises a depth-variable lens module that is configured to change the focus (figs. 7 and 12, items 735, 705, and 710; ¶61; ¶63, “propagation of linearly polarized light through the FLC modulator 705 and birefringent lens 710 to focus light at different focal planes”; ¶66; ¶72).
With respect to Claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein the depth-variable lens module comprises the at least one geometric phase lens that is configured to vary the focus of the optical system according to the polarization control (¶62; ¶64; ¶70).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein each geometric phase lens is composed of a birefringence material and forms two focal planes (¶61; ¶63; ¶65-66).
With respect to Claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein the optical system comprises a visualization lens module, which is integrally formed with each geometric phase lens, and is configured to visualize the binocular disparity focal image on the selected focal plane (¶68, “The mixed-reality display system thus reproduces correct focus cues, including blur and binocular disparity, to thereby stimulate natural accommodation to converge to an appropriate focal distance to create sharp retinal images”; ¶75, “Proper continuous alignment of the user's eye with the display system can ensure that a display of virtual images in the different focal planes is correctly rendered with the appropriate focus cues including accurate binocular disparity and occlusion of real and virtual objects”).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein the processor is configured to generate the binocular disparity focal image by depth rendering (¶46; ¶68; ¶75).
With respect to Claim 16, Held teaches a method (fig. 17; ¶80; ¶98; ¶109) for providing an image in a mixed reality image device (figs. 1 and 22-23: mixed reality or virtual reality HMD; ¶38, “images may be rendered on the display device 105 along with computer-generated virtual images that augment the captured images of the physical environment” – augmented reality; ¶90) comprising: generating, by an optical system (fig. 7, item 705, 710, 715, 720, 730, and 735: optical system; ¶51; ¶61 or fig. 11, item 720, 730, 735, 1105 and 1120; ¶70-71) of the mixed reality image device, plurality of focal planes; detecting, by a sensor (fig. 1, item 135; ¶39) of the mixed reality image device, gaze information of the user; selecting, by a processor (fig. 1, item 125 and fig 12, item 1210 and 715; fig. 23, item 2220; ¶97, “The HMD device 2200 can further include a controller 2220 such as one or more processors having a logic subsystem 2222 and a data storage subsystem 2224 in communication with the sensors, gaze detection subsystem 2210, display subsystem 2204, and/or other components through a communications subsystem 2226”) of the mixed reality image device, one of the plurality of focal planes based on the gaze information of the user (figs. 9-10; ¶66, “The synchronization enables construction of temporally multiplexed scenes with correct focus cues so that focal distances in the scene are presented with the birefringent lens 710 in the correct state”; ¶67-68, selecting between focal plane at d1 or d2); changing, by the processor, a focus of the optical system to form the focus on the selected focal plane (¶66-67); generating, by the processor, a binocular disparity focal image (¶68, “The mixed-reality display system thus reproduces correct focus cues, including blur and binocular disparity, to thereby stimulate natural accommodation to converge to an appropriate focal distance to create sharp retinal images”); outputting, by a display of the mixed reality image device, the binocular disparity focal image, wherein a comfortable viewing zone for the user exists within a plurality of depth of fields that are formed by the plurality of focal planes (¶6, “The time response of the FLC modulator enables rapid state switching to construct a temporally multiplexed mixed-reality scene having appropriate focus cues to provide a comfortable visual experience no matter where in the scene the HMD user is accommodating”; ¶68).
Held does not mention the mixed reality image device can be implemented in an extended reality image device and wherein the comfortable viewing zone is defined based on a size of an allowable circle of confusion that settles on a retina of a human eye.
Ollila teaches a method (fig. 12; ¶204) for providing an image in an extended reality image device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶55; ¶170), comprising: generating, by an optical system (fig. 1, item 104; ¶170) of the extended reality image device, a plurality of focal planes; detecting, by a sensor (fig. 1, item 108); processing, by a processor (fig. 1, item 106); and displaying, by a display (fig. 1, item 102); wherein a comfortable viewing zone is defined based on the size of allowable circle of confusion that settles on the retina of a human eye (¶86; ¶94, “an optimal step size that is required for a given speed of autofocusing, is dependent on focal length of camera optics (i.e., the different focal lengths of the optical element)”; ¶95, “the at least one focusing parameter is calculated based upon at least one of: a required blur value, a required final size of a circle of confusion, a focal length of the optical element, a required full displacement of the optical element”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Held, such that mixed reality image device is implemented in an extended reality image device, wherein the comfortable viewing zone is defined based on the size of allowable circle of confusion that settles on the retina of a human eye, as taught by Ollila so as to be used in a variety of applications and to provide an extended reality image device that has a higher autofocus speed and improved output image (¶6).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 16 is incorporated, Held teaches wherein the comfortable viewing zone exists within the plurality of depth of fields that are formed by the plurality of focal planes formed by the optical system (¶6, “The time response of the FLC modulator enables rapid state switching to construct a temporally multiplexed mixed-reality scene having appropriate focus cues to provide a comfortable visual experience no matter where in the scene the HMD user is accommodating”; ¶48 – a comfortable viewing zone is a focus that provides a comfortable visual experience).
Claims 4-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held and Ollila as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim (Pub. No.: US 2019/0163133 A1).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, Held and Ollila combined do not teach wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on average human visual acuity and pupil size.
Kim teaches a hologram generating apparatus (fig. 3; ¶57), wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on average human visual acuity and pupil size (¶59, “In order to correspond to the human visual modeling system, the threshold value Δx of the size of the confusion circle of the sensor 330 can be set to a threshold value of the confusion circle size of the human eye”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the extended reality image device of Held and Ollila, wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on average human visual acuity and pupil size, as taught by Kim so as to quickly acquire image information for a three-dimensional object by utilizing the concept of depth of field based on modeling of the human visual system (¶34).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated, Held and Ollila combined do not teach wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers.
Kim teaches a hologram generating apparatus (fig. 3; ¶57), wherein the size of allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on average human visual acuity and pupil size (¶59, “In order to correspond to the human visual modeling system, the threshold value Δx of the size of the confusion circle of the sensor 330 can be set to a threshold value of the confusion circle size of the human eye”); wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers (¶20; ¶63-66, setting specific distances of the equation allows for the allowable size of the circle of confusion to be between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the extended reality image device of Held and Ollila, wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers, as taught by Kim so as to quickly acquire image information for a three-dimensional object by utilizing the concept of depth of field based on modeling of the human visual system (¶34).
With respect to Claim 18, claim 17 is incorporated, Held and Ollila combined do not teach wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on physiological surveys or diffraction relationships, and wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers.
Kim teaches a hologram generating apparatus (fig. 3; ¶57) and a method for providing an image (fig. 2; ¶51), wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on physiological surveys or diffraction relationships (¶59, “In order to correspond to the human visual modeling system, the threshold value Δx of the size of the confusion circle of the sensor 330 can be set to a threshold value of the confusion circle size of the human eye”), and wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers (¶20; ¶63-66 setting specific distances of the equation allows for the allowable size of the circle of confusion to be between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Held and Ollila, wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is calculated in advance based on physiological surveys or diffraction relationships, and wherein the size of the allowable circle of confusion is between 10 micrometers and 15 micrometers, as taught by Kim so as to quickly acquire image information for a three-dimensional object by utilizing the concept of depth of field based on modeling of the human visual system (¶34).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held and Ollila as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Valli et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0430394 A1) hereinafter referred to as Valli.
With respect to Claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated, Held and Ollila combined do not teach wherein the processor uses a pre-trained deep learning model to generate the binocular disparity focal image.
Valli teaches a system (fig. 1A, item 100; ¶68); a sensor (fig. 1A, item 122; ¶74) obtaining user gaze information; a processor (¶69, server has a processor); and a display (fig. 1A, HMD on user; ¶68; ¶81) outputting a binocular disparity focal image under the control of the processor (¶80; ¶128-129); wherein the processor generates the binocular disparity focal image by depth rendering (¶65, z-buffering; ¶76-77); wherein the processor uses a pre-trained deep learning model to generate the binocular disparity focal image (¶65; ¶76-77; ¶88, z-buffering and ray tracing).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined extended reality image device of Held and Ollila, wherein the processor uses a pre-trained deep learning model to generate the binocular disparity focal image, as taught by Valli so as to support 3D motion parallax or natural relations between objects of a captured scene (¶66).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated, Held and Ollila combined do not teach wherein the pre-trained deep learning model comprises Z-buffer algorithms and ray tracing algorithms.
Valli teaches a system (fig. 1A, item 100; ¶68); a sensor (fig. 1A, item 122; ¶74) obtaining user gaze information; a processor (¶69, server has a processor); and a display (fig. 1A, HMD on user; ¶68; ¶81) outputting a binocular disparity focal image under the control of the processor (¶80; ¶128-129); wherein the processor generates the binocular disparity focal image by depth rendering (¶65, z-buffering; ¶76-77); wherein the processor uses a pre-trained deep learning model to generate the binocular disparity focal image (¶65; ¶76-77; ¶88, z-buffering and ray tracing); wherein the pre-trained deep learning model comprises Z-buffer algorithms (¶57; ¶65; ¶76-77; ¶162) and ray tracing algorithms (¶88; ¶234-235).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined extended reality image device of Held and Ollila, wherein the pre-trained deep learning model comprises Z-buffer algorithms and ray tracing algorithms, as taught by Valli so as to support 3D motion parallax or natural relations between objects of a captured scene (¶66).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held, Ollila, and Valli, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ratcliff et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0086679 A1) hereinafter referred to as Ratcliff.
With respect to Claim 15, claim 14 is incorporated, Held, Ollila, and Valli combined do not teach wherein during training, the pre-trained deep learning model utilizes dynamic foveated rendering produced first binocular disparity focal image as input data and outputs second binocular disparity focal image generated based on ray tracing algorithms, and wherein the dynamic foveated rendering comprises a rendering operation that forms a center of the binocular disparity focal image with high resolution, and forms a periphery of the binocular disparity focal image with low resolution.
Ratcliff teaches a head mounted image device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶26-27), comprising: an optical system configured to generate a plurality of focal planes (¶31; ¶69, “A focus-tunable design allows for presenting multiple image planes at different virtual distances creating an appearance of the volumetric image rather than just a single image surface”); a sensor (¶94; ¶112; ¶127) configured to detect gaze information of a user; a processor (fig. 15, item 1502; ¶122) configured to generate a binocular disparity focal image (¶69); and a display (fig. 15, item 5126) configured to output the binocular disparity focal image based on a control operation of the processor; wherein during training, the pre-trained deep learning model utilizes dynamic foveated rendering produced first binocular disparity focal image as input data and outputs second binocular disparity focal image generated based on ray tracing algorithms (¶94; ¶96-100), and wherein the dynamic foveated rendering comprises a rendering operation that forms a center of the binocular disparity focal image with high resolution, and forms a periphery of the binocular disparity focal image with low resolution (¶112, “For example, multi-resolution shading may be used to save processing resources by rendering areas that are mapped away from the fovea in a lower resolution. In some examples, the processor can render the stereo views using foveated rendering. For example, the pixels may be rendered with higher resolution towards and inside the fovea”; ¶113; ¶127).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined extended reality image device of Held, Ollila, and Valli, wherein during training, the pre-trained deep learning model utilizes dynamic foveated rendering produced first binocular disparity focal image as input data and outputs second binocular disparity focal image generated based on ray tracing algorithms, and wherein the dynamic foveated rendering comprises a rendering operation that forms a center of the binocular disparity focal image with high resolution, and forms a periphery of the binocular disparity focal image with low resolution, as taught by Ratcliff, so as to save processing resources (¶112).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held and Ollila as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Valli and in view of Ratcliff.
With respect to Claim 20, claim 16 is incorporated, Held and Ollila combined do not teach comprising: generating the binocular disparity focal image by depth rendering; and generating the binocular disparity focal image using a pre-trained deep learning model that includes Z-buffer algorithms and ray tracing algorithms.
Valli teaches a method (fig. 30A; ¶289) for providing an image in an image device, comprising: obtaining, by a sensor (fig. 1A, item 122; ¶74), user gaze information (fig. 30A, item 3008; ¶293); generating, by a processor (¶69, server has a processor), an image (fig. 30A, items 3010, 3012, and 3014; ¶294-296; ¶298); outputting, by a display (fig. 1A, HMD on user; ¶68; ¶81; ¶298), binocular disparity focal image; the method further comprising: generating the binocular disparity focal image by depth rendering (¶65, z-buffering; ¶76-77; ¶294-296); and generating the binocular disparity focal image (¶65; ¶76-77; ¶88, z-buffering and ray tracing) using a pre-trained deep learning model that includes Z-buffer algorithms (¶57; ¶65; ¶76-77; ¶162; ¶295-296) and ray tracing algorithms (¶88; ¶234-235).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Held and Ollila, further comprising: generating the binocular disparity focal image by depth rendering; and generating the binocular disparity focal image using a pre-trained deep learning model that includes Z-buffer algorithms and ray tracing algorithms, as taught by Valli so as to support 3D motion parallax or natural relations between objects of a captured scene (¶66).
Held, Ollila, and Valli combined do not teach wherein during training, the pre-trained deep learning model utilizes dynamic foveated rendering produced first binocular disparity focal image as input data and outputs second binocular disparity focal image generated based on ray tracing algorithms, and wherein the dynamic foveated rendering comprises a rendering operation that forms a center of the binocular disparity focal image with high resolution and forms a periphery of the binocular disparity focal image with low resolution.
Ratcliff teaches a method (fig. 14; ¶106) for providing an image in a head mounted image device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶26-27) comprising: forming, by an optical system, a plurality of focal planes (¶31; ¶69, “A focus-tunable design allows for presenting multiple image planes at different virtual distances creating an appearance of the volumetric image rather than just a single image surface”); obtaining, by a sensor (¶94; ¶112; ¶127) eye tracking information; generating, by a processor (fig. 15, item 1502; ¶122), a binocular disparity focal image (¶69); outputting, by a display (fig. 15, item 5126), the binocular disparity focal image; wherein during training, the pre-trained deep learning model utilizes dynamic foveated rendering produced first binocular disparity focal image as input data and outputs second binocular disparity focal image generated based on ray tracing algorithms (¶94; ¶96-100), and wherein the dynamic foveated rendering comprises a rendering operation that forms a center of the binocular disparity focal image with high resolution, and forms a periphery of the binocular disparity focal image with low resolution (¶112-113; ¶127).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Held, Ollila, and Valli, wherein during training, the pre-trained deep learning model utilizes dynamic foveated rendering produced first binocular disparity focal image as input data and outputs second binocular disparity focal image generated based on ray tracing algorithms, and wherein the dynamic foveated rendering comprises a rendering operation that forms a center of the binocular disparity focal image with high resolution, and forms a periphery of the binocular disparity focal image with low resolution, as taught by Ratcliff, so as to save processing resources (¶112).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONNA V Bocar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621