Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the phrase “may be” in line 9 of claim 2 which is indefinite for a step of determining.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "said particular causes record" in line 8 of claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said particular causes record" in line 10 of claim 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the phrase “may be” in line 11 of claim 12 which is indefinite for a step of determining.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11-13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent application publication 20120323849 by Garlin et. al. (hereafter Garlin).
Claim 1:
Garlin discloses:
“each host of a plurality of hosts storing a respective replica of a set of rows in database table,”[ each host of a plurality of hosts (0004, primary data system; 0004 standby system; fig. 1)storing a respective replica (0004, replica copy; 0004 primary copy) of a set of rows in database table (0010, database records (rows of a table))]
“wherein said plurality of hosts include a first host and another plurality of other hosts;” [wherein said plurality of hosts (fig. 1 110/120; 0004, primary data system; 0004 standby system)include a first host (0004, primary data system; fig. 1 110)and another plurality of other hosts(0004, standby system; fig. 1 120)]
“within a database transaction:” [0040, transactions]
“said first host of said plurality of hosts making a particular change to a particular row in the respective replica of the first host;” [said first host(0041, primary) of said plurality of hosts (0041, primary/standby) making a particular change to a particular row (0041, cmmits a transaction) in the respective replica of the first host(0041, stored persistently in primary’s local redo log)]
“said first host sending each other host of said another plurality of other hosts a particular log record that specifies said particular change and to prepare to commit said database transaction;” [said first host (0041, primary) sending each other host (0041, standby)of said another plurality of other hosts (0041, standby; 0008, types of standby) a particular log record that specifies said particular change (0041, send the session’s commit record in the redo stream to the standby)and to prepare to commit said database transaction (0041, standby stores the commit record)]
“said first host receiving a prepared acknowledgement for said database transaction from each other host of said another plurality of other hosts;”[ said first host receiving (fig. 2 230 is commit record stored persistently to standby log) a prepared acknowledgement (fig. 2 270, send indication that the commit record is stored persistently in standby) for said database transaction from each other host of said another plurality of other hosts (fig. 2 260, store commit record persistently in standby)]
“in response to receiving a prepared acknowledgement for said database transaction from each other host of said another plurality of other hosts, said first host causing commit of said database transaction on said plurality of hosts without sending a message, other than said particular log record, to specify to prepare said database transaction.”[ in response to receiving (fig. 2 230 is commit record stored persistently to standby log) a prepared acknowledgement(fig. 2 270, send indication that the commit record is stored persistently in standby) for said database transaction from each other host of said another plurality of other hosts(fig. 2 260, store commit record persistently in standby), said first host (fig. 2 280; in response to 230 yes (acknowledgment) at the primary, the primary (first host) continues executing further instructions 210/250) causing commit of said database transaction (fig. 2 210 store commit record in local/fig. 2 260 store commit record to standby) on said plurality of hosts (0041, primary/standby) without sending a message, other than said particular log record (fig. 2 210 commit record; fig. 2 260 commit record), to specify to prepare said database transaction (fig. 2 220 indicate that commit record is stored persistently; fig. 270, indication that the commit record is stored persistently)]
Claim 2:
Garlin discloses:
“within the database transaction:”[0040, transaction]
“said first host making a plurality of changes to a plurality of rows in the respective replica of said first host, wherein said plurality of changes include the particular change to the particular row; and” [said first host (0041, primary; fig. 1, primary) making a plurality of changes to a plurality of rows in the respective replica of said first host (0041, commit log record is generated and stored persistently in the primary’s local redo log), wherein said plurality of changes(0041, commit log record is generated and stored persistently in the primary’s local redo log) include the particular change (0041, commit log record) to the particular row(0010, database records (rows of a table); committed record is a change to a row in the table); and]
“determining that said particular change may be a last change to be made by said database transaction, wherein said first host causes said particular causes record to specify to prepare said database transaction in response to determining that said particular change may be the last change to be made by said database transaction.”[ determining that said particular change may be a last change to be made by said database transaction (0041, comparing the location of the last record persisted in the standbylog to location of the commit record in the primary log; last record (last change to be made by said database transaction was made)), wherein said first host causes said particular causes record to specify to prepare said database transaction (0041, concurrently with steps 220 and 230, the primary’s log writer may send send the sessions commit reord in the redo stream to the standby) in response to determining that said particular change may be the last change to be made by said database transaction (fig. 2 230; 0041, comparing the location of the last record persisted in the standbylog to location of the commit record in the primary log; determines that the last commit has been commited, if it has not the last commit is sent as it is concurrent to 230 as well.)]
Claim 3:
Garlin discloses:
“The method of claim 1, wherein said database transaction is an autonomous database transaction.”[ wherein said database transaction (0040, transaction; transaction is a database transaction) is an autonomous database transaction (0040 application session commits a transaction; autonomous database transaction as it is commited an application and functions of fig. 2 and not manually)]
Claim 5:
Garlin discloses:
“The method of claim 1, further including, within the database transaction, said first host making a plurality of changes to a plurality of rows in the respective replica of said first host, wherein said plurality of changes include the particular change to the particular row. [within the database transaction (0041, transaction), said first host (0041, primary; fig. 1, primary) making a plurality of changes to a plurality of rows in the respective replica of said first host (0041, commit log record is generated and stored persistently in the primary’s local redo log), wherein said plurality of changes(0041, commit log record is generated and stored persistently in the primary’s local redo log) include the particular change (0041, commit log record) to the particular row(0010, database records (rows of a table); committed record is a change to a row in the table (record))]
Claim 6:
Garlin discloses:
“The method of claim 5, further including, within said database transaction, after said first host receiving a prepared acknowledgement for said database transaction from each other host of said another plurality of other hosts, said first host sending each other host of said another plurality of other hosts a particular message that indicates to enter an active transaction state for said database transaction.” [within said database transaction (0041, transaction), after said first host receiving (fig. 2 230, is commit record stored persistently; yes) a prepared acknowledgement for said database transaction from each other host of said another plurality of other hosts (fig. 2 270, send indication that the commit record is stored in standby), said first host sending each other host of said another plurality of other hosts a particular message that indicates to enter an active transaction state for said database transaction (fig. 2 280; application continues and next transaction commits, wherein standby is sent commit records again in at least 250)]
Claim 7:
Garlin discloses:
“The method of claim 6, wherein said first host sending said particular message is performed as a response to determining a threshold number of reads has occurred for rows changed by said database transaction.”[ wherein said first host sending said particular message is performed as (fig. 2 250; 0041, primary log writer may send the session’s commit) a response to determining a threshold number of reads has occurred for rows changed by said database transaction (0036, limited buffer space…log writer to free buffer space)]
Claim 8:
Garlin discloses: “The method of claim 7, further including, after sending said particular message, said first host sending each other host of said another plurality of other hosts a message to prepare to commit said database transaction.”[ after sending said particular message(0041, primary log writer may send the session’s commit), said first host sending each other host of said another plurality of other hosts a message to prepare to commit said database transaction(fig. 2 250; 0041, primary log writer may send the session’s commit; 0008, types of standby database systems; more than one standby system can be utilized)]
Claim 10:
Garlin discloses: “The method of claim 1, wherein: said plurality of hosts include a second host not included in said another plurality of other hosts; the method further includes: within said database transaction, said first host sending said second host another log record that specifies said particular change but does not specify to prepare to commit said database transaction; and said first host sending a message to said second host to prepare to commit said database transaction.”[ said plurality of hosts include a second host not included in (0008, logical standby) said another plurality of other hosts (fig. 2 standby); the method further includes: within said database transaction, said first host (0008, primary system) sending said second host another log record that specifies said particular change but does not specify to prepare to commit said database transaction (0008, operations performed on the primary are sent to the standby system); and said first host sending a message to said second host to prepare to commit said database transaction (0008, operations are then performed again on the standby system)]
Claims 11-13, 15-18, 20:
Claims 11-13, 15-18, and 20 recite similar limitations as that of claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10 except that they are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable media instead of a method. The limitations of claims 11-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under similar rationale as that of claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10. Garlin further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media in at least figure 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 14, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/MICHAEL PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2167