DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 2024/0378009)
Regarding claim 1:
Zhou discloses:
An information processing device (Fig. 8), comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive external display unit information, which is information on a vertical width and a horizontal width of a display unit of an external terminal device (Fig. 8: 150 or 160; where as per Fig. 17A step S2102 it receives “screen display direction” information, which is information on the width and/or height);
a screen generation unit configured to generate, based on the external display unit information, screen data of a screen to be displayed on the display unit of the external terminal device (e.g., starting from Fig. 17 step S2105); and
a transmission unit configured to transmit, to the external terminal device, the screen data generated by the screen generation unit (Fig. 17A: S2108; paragraph 287)
wherein the transmission unit is further configured to:
transmit, upon occurrence of a target event, screen data generated by the screen generation unit to the external terminal device, the target event being an event requiring an alteration in a vertical width and/or a horizontal width of a screen displayed on the external display unit, the screen data including: screen data on a first content obtained by altering a size of a pre-alteration screen, which is the screen displayed on the external display unit when the target event occurs, corresponding to an altered vertical width and an altered horizontal width of the external display unit (paragraph 285; steps S2110-S2113); and screen data on a second content (as shown in, e.g., Fig. 9a(g), it might also have a second content B); and
wherein the second content, generated in the external display unit, is displayed in a region due to a difference between a pre-altered vertical width and the corresponding post-altered vertical width displayed on the external display unit, and between a pre-altered horizontal width and the post-altered horizontal width of the external display unit (Fig. 17: S1220; Fig. 9a(g); paragraph 150).
Regarding claim 2:
Zhou discloses:
further comprising a mode determination unit configured to determine a mode of a screen displayed on the external display unit from among a plurality of modes, wherein the screen generation unit is configured to generate the screen data based on the mode determined by the mode determination unit (Fig. 17A: step S2106).
Regarding claim 3:
Zhou discloses:
wherein the plurality of modes include: a first mode in which a screen displayed on the external display unit is the same screen as a screen displayed on a display unit of the information processing device (Fig. 17: S2106, S2108); and a second mode in which the screen displayed on the external display unit is a different screen from the screen displayed on the display unit of the information processing device (Fig. 17: S2106, S2110).
Regarding claim 4:
Zhou discloses:
wherein when, in an occasion of occurrence of the target event, the mode determined by the mode determination unit is the first mode, the second content is a content associated with the first content (as per Fig. 6B(e), where from the figure it is clearly associated).
Regarding claim 5:
Zhou discloses:
wherein the occasion of occurrence of the target event is: an occasion of: identifying a longer horizontal width of the display unit of the information processing device than the vertical width thereof; and identifying a longer vertical width of the external display unit than the horizontal width thereof; or an occasion of: identifying a shorter horizontal width of the display unit of the information processing device than a vertical width thereof; and identifying a shorter vertical width of the external display unit than a horizontal width thereof (Fig. 17: S2105 or S2114, where by “screen display direction” it means portrait or landscape).
Regarding claims 6-7:
All elements positively recited have been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (US 2009/0058885); Barrett et al. (US 2014/0118222); Kim et al. (US 2021/0142760); Heo et al. (US 2018/0122328).
/CHRISTOPHER R LAMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622