DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KUROKI et al (US 2013/0051687).
Regarding claim 1, KUROKI discloses an image transfer apparatus for transferring a received image to a transfer destination (abstract), the image transfer apparatus comprising: a management unit 204, 207,604, 607 configured to manage first information in which sortation conditions to sort the received image are held (Figure 3, 6; paragraph 36-40,51-53, 81-85); an association unit 204, 208, 604, 608 configured to associate a sortation condition selected by a user from among the sortation conditions included in the first information with a transfer destination selected by the user (Figure 3, 6; paragraph 36-40,51-53, 81-85); and a transfer unit 206 configured to transfer the received image to a specified transfer destination (paragraph 42-47, 51, 81).
Regarding claim 2, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the transfer unit transfers the received image to the specified transfer destination in a case where the received image matches a sortation condition associated with the specified transfer destination, or does not transfer the received image to the specified transfer destination in a case where the received image does not match the sortation condition associated with the specified transfer destination (paragraph 49-51, 66-68).
Regarding claim 3, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the management unit further manages second information in which values representing transfer destinations is held, and the association unit associates a sortation condition selected by the user from among the sortation conditions included in the first information with a value representing a transfer destination selected by the user from among values representing transfer destinations included in the second information (paragraph 49-51, 66-68).
Regarding claim 4, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the management unit further manages third information in which relational information is held, the relational information being combination of a sortation condition selected by the user from among the sortation conditions held in the first information and a transfer destination selected by the user (paragraph 49-51, 66-68).
Regarding claim 5, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the management unit further manages a value representing a user who uses the image transfer apparatus, and the relational information in the third information is further associated with the value representing the user (paragraph 24-30, 38-40).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the sortation condition is constituted by at least one sortation item, and an image matches the sortation condition in a case where a value of the sortation item constituting the sortation condition matches an analysis result of the image (paragraph 47, 68-72).
Regarding claim 7, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the sortation item constituting the sortation condition includes at least one of an item for sorting an image including an object of a specified classification, an item related to image capturing information, and an item related to an image state (paragraph 47, 68-72).
Regarding claim 11, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses further comprising a generation unit configured to generate sortation conditions based on an input from a user, wherein the sortation conditions generated based on the input from the user are held in the first information (paragraph 36-42).
Regarding claim 12, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses further comprising a control unit configured to control a display unit 209 to display a first screen that accepts an input from the user to generate the sortation conditions, wherein the first screen is a screen on which the user can input values of a predestinated subset of specified sortation items or a screen on which the user can input a value of a sortation item selected by the user from among the specified sortation items (Figure 4; paragraph 35-41).
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the specified sortation item includes an item for sorting an image including an object of a specified classification, an item related to image capturing information, and an item related to an image state (paragraph 47, 68-72).
Regarding claim 14, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses further comprising a sortation unit configured to determine whether the received image matches a sortation condition held in the first information (paragraph 22, 28-30, 36).
Regarding claim 15, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses further comprising a writing unit configured to write information for identifying a sortation condition that matches the received image to metadata of the received image (paragraph 20-22, 37-45).
Regarding claim 16, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses further comprising a writing unit configured to write information of a sortation item constituting a sortation condition that matches the received image to metadata of the received image (paragraph 20-22, 37-45).
Regarding claim 18, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the image is a still image or a moving image (abstract).
Regarding claim 19, KUROKI discloses a control method for an image transfer apparatus for transferring a received image to a transfer destination (abstract), the control method comprising: managing first information in which sortation conditions to sort the received image are held (Figure 3, 6; paragraph 36-40,51-53, 81-85); associating a sortation condition selected by a user from among the sortation conditions included in the first information with a transfer destination selected by the user (Figure 3, 6; paragraph 36-40,51-53, 81-85); and transferring the received image to a specified transfer destination (paragraph 42-47, 51, 81).
Regarding claim 20, KUROKI disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program which causes a computer to perform a control method for an image transfer apparatus for transferring a received image to a transfer destination (abstract), the control method comprising: managing a first information in which sortation conditions to sort the received image are held (Figure 3, 6; paragraph 36-40,51-53, 81-85); associating a sortation condition selected by a user from among the sortation conditions included in the first information with a transfer destination selected by the user (Figure 3, 6; paragraph 36-40,51-53, 81-85); and transferring the received image to a specified transfer destination (paragraph 42-47, 51, 81).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUROKI et al (US 2013/0051687) in view of MATSUSHITA et al (US 2021/0250449).
Regarding claim 8, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, KUROKI does not expressly disclose wherein the item related to an image state includes a sortation item related to at least one of image blur, exposure degree, and image tilt. In a similar field of endeavor, MATSUSHITA discloses wherein the item related to an image state includes a sortation item related to at least one of image blur, exposure degree, and image tilt (paragraph 79). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify KUROKI to include the teachings of MATSUSHITA, since MATSUSHITA states that such modification would allow candidate images to be sent based on a defined image characteristic. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional sorting based on those disclosed by MATSUSHITA.
Regarding claim 9, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, KUROKI does not expressly disclose wherein the item related to image capturing information includes a sortation item related to at least one of type of image capturing device, type of image, rating information, start date and time of an image capturing time range, end date and time of the image capturing time range, multiple exposure image capturing, continuous image capturing, lens used, scene mode, image capturing mode, strobe light emission state, recording quality, DPRAW, aspect ratio, exposure metering mode, white balance, and color reproduction parameter. In a similar field of endeavor, MATSUSHITA discloses wherein the item related to image capturing information includes a sortation item related to at least one of type of type of image, rating information, image capturing mode, recording quality, white balance, and color reproduction parameter (paragraph 79). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify KUROKI to include the teachings of MATSUSHITA, since MATSUSHITA states that such modification would allow candidate images to be sent based on a defined image characteristic. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional sorting based on those disclosed by MATSUSHITA. However, the combination of KUROKI and MATSUSHITA does not expressly disclose image capturing device, start date and time of an image capturing time range, end date and time of the image capturing time range, multiple exposure image capturing, continuous image capturing, lens used, scene mode, strobe light emission state, recording quality, DPRAW, aspect ratio, exposure metering mode. In a similar field of endeavor, MATSUSHITA discloses wherein the item related to image capturing information includes a sortation item related to at least one of type of type of image, rating information, image capturing mode, recording quality, white balance, and color reproduction parameter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include such sorting characteristics, since the use of any parameter used for an image evaluation would be design choice based parameters deemed relevant by system design.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUROKI et al (US 2013/0051687).
Regarding claim 10, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KUROKI further discloses wherein the specified classification includes at least one of person, living being, animal, dog, cat, bird, plant, vehicle, car, train, airplane, food, mountain, sea, and still object (paragraph 30, 58, 70, 71). However, KUROKI does not expressly disclose sport, building, and night scene. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include such sorting characteristics, since the use of any parameter used for an image evaluation would be design choice based parameters deemed relevant by system design. Furthermore, as any type of scene information can be record, any known scene would be implicitly relevant within the parameters of KUROKI.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUROKI et al (US 2013/0051687) in view of LEE et al (US 2010/0238191).
Regarding claim 17, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. KOUROKI further discloses further comprising a display control unit configured to cause a display unit to display a second screen for a user to select a sortation condition to be associated with a transfer destination selected by the user (paragraph 42-47, 51, 81). However, KUROKI does not expressly disclose wherein sortation conditions displayed to be selected by the user are displayed on the second screen in an order based on a history of the sortation conditions once associated with the transfer destination selected by the user. In a similar field of endeavor, LEE discloses, wherein sortation conditions displayed to be selected by the user are displayed on the second screen in an order based on a history of the sortation conditions once associated with the transfer destination selected by the user (Figure 1, 2, 5; paragraph 21, 22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify KUROKI to include the teachings of LEE, since LEE states that such modification would allow organization of images based on extracted features. Furthermore as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional image management based on those disclosed by LEE.
Conclusion
/ARIEL A BALAOING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624