DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosma (US Pat No 11,702,221 B2).
Re claim 1, Bosma shows an aerial vehicle (Figs. 33A-34) comprising:
a first propulsion system (3300), the aerial vehicle configured to travel to a location associated with a fire, wherein the location is a threshold distance (col. 23, line 63) from a fire location;
a tether assembly (3301) configured to extend a retractable tether based at least in part on the aerial vehicle travelling to the location; and
a fire extinguishing device (3400) coupled to the tether assembly and comprising a second propulsion system (3402), the fire extinguishing device configured to (i) expel (3409) a fire suppressant towards the fire and (ii) perform one or more stabilization operations using the second propulsion system based at least in part on expelling the fire suppressant (col. 24, lines 50-53).
Re claims 2 & 12, Bosma discloses one or more processors (col. 24, line 52 – “computerized sensing”) configured to determine one or more propulsion parameters for the second propulsion system based at least in part on one or more fire suppressant parameters, wherein the one or more stabilization operations are based at least in part on the one or more propulsion parameters (col. 24, lines 50-53).
Re claims 4 & 14, Bosma shows the fire extinguishing device comprises one or more sensors (3408) configured to detect the fire location.
Re claims 5 & 15, Bosma shows the tether assembly (3301) is configured to lower the fire extinguishing device to a fire extinguishing device approach location, the fire extinguishing device approach location based at least in part on the fire location (col. 29, lines 31-34).
Re claims 6 & 16, Bosma discloses one or more processors (col. 24, line 52 – “computerized sensing”) configured to determine the fire extinguishing device approach location based at least in part on sensor data from one or more sensors of the fire extinguishing device (col. 24, lines 50-53).
Re claims 7 & 17, Bosma discloses one or more second vehicles configured to determine the fire location and communicate the fire location to the aerial vehicle (col. 16, lines 39-53).
Re claims 8 & 18, Bosma shows the aerial vehicle is configured to determine the fire location (3408).
Re claim 10, Bosma shows one or more wedge structure (3406) configured to displace one or more obstacles.
Re claim 11, Bosma shows a method comprising:
causing, by one or more processors (col. 8, lines 46-47), an aerial vehicle (3300) to a location associated with a fire, wherein (A) the location is a threshold distance from a fire location (col. 8, lines 48-52 and col. 23, line 63) and (b) the aerial vehicle comprises a first propulsion system (3300) to travel;
causing, by the one or more processors (col. 18, lines 29-32), a tether assembly (3301) to extend a retractable tether based at least in part on the aerial vehicle travelling to the location; and
causing, by the one or more processors, a fire extinguishing device (3400) coupled to the tether assembly (3301) and comprising a second propulsion system (3402) to (i) expel (3409) a fire suppressant towards the fire and (ii) perform one or more stabilization operations using the second propulsion system based at least in part on expelling the fire suppressant (col. 24, lines 50-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosma (US Pat No 11,702,221 B2) in view of Detweiler et al. (US Pub No 2018/0296865 A1).
Re claims 3 & 13, Bosma discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach one or more processors configured to determine the threshold distance based at least in part on one or more downdraft values.
However, Detweiler et al. teach one or more processors configured to determine a threshold distance based at least in part on one or more downdraft values (paragraphs 0010 & 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system of Bosma determine the threshold distance based on downdraft values as taught by Detweiler et al. to increase precision (Detweiler – paragraph 0036).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosma (US Pat No 11,702,221 B2) in view of Stephen et al. (WO 2021/174291 A1).
Re claim 9 & 19, Bosma discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach one or more processors configured to determine the fire location based at least in part on lightning strike data and moisture-based fire risk data.
However, Stephen et al. teach one or more processors configured to determine the fire location based at least in part on lightning strike data and moisture-based fire risk data (paragraph 00418).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the system of Bosma determine the fire location based at least in part on lightning strike data and moisture-based fire risk data as taught by Stephen et al. to provide a broad area initial detection of potential fire ignitions and a layered detection system utilized to identify potential ignition points (Stephen et al. – paragraph 00418).
Conclusion
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752