DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sliding portion” (claim 1), “at least a portion of a front portion of the knob cover... configured to bend downward” (claim 4), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant first discloses that a portion of the front portion of the knob cover is bent downward and then separately discloses “a bent portion” to which the stopper comes into contact with. It is unclear if these are two different components being referred to in claim 4, or the same. In the written disclosure, Applicant discloses bent portions (14a, 14b) and a second catch portion (142) that is bent forward and a “front end portion of the knob cover 14 may be bent downward” however, this is not labeled in the drawings (front end portion, see drawing objection above). Applicant only further clarifies that this same front end portion comes into contact with stoppers (123). In Figures 6 and 7, Applicant shows stopper (123) coming into contact with fixing groove (144), and with second catch portion (142). Neither the fixing groove or second catch portion are discussed by the Applicant to synonymous to the front end portion of the knob cover. Therefore it is unclear what the front end portion of the knob cover that is bent downward is and how it comes into contact with the stoppers.
Claims 5-10 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno US 20080190157 (hereinafter referred to as Mizuno) and further in view of Singh et al. US 11359420 (hereinafter referred to as Singh).
Claim 1. Mizuno teaches a knob assembly comprising: an opening and closing knob (3,4) and in which a keyhole (1), into which a key (20) is inserted, is formed in one surface (surface of 4) of the opening and closing knob;
a knob cover (6) which slides forward (fig3a) or rearward (fig3c) to cover the one surface of the opening and closing knob; and
a stopper (8) which is formed on the one surface of the opening and closing knob to restrict movement of the knob cover when the knob cover moves fully rearward (fig3c), wherein the knob cover moves fully forward to cover the keyhole (fig3a).
Mizuno although teaches the opening and closing knob, Mizuno does not teach it opens or closes a glove box.
Singh teaches an opening and closing knob that opens and closes a glove box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Mizuno on a glovebox, as taught by Singh, since the placement of the knob assembly is considered intended use and the knob assembly of Mizuno would remain functionally equivalent.
Claim 2. Mizuno in view of Singh further teaches the knob assembly of claim 1, wherein: guide portions (Mizuno 9A, 8B) are formed on both end portions of the opening and closing knob (Mizuno);
sliding portions (Mizuno 13A, 13B) having shapes (Mizuno concave shape, fig1) corresponding to the guide portions are formed on both end portions of the knob cover; and
the knob cover is configured to move so the sliding portions come into contact with the guide portions and then slide. (Mizuno fig 1-2d)
Claim 3. Mizuno in view of Singh further teaches the knob assembly of claim 2, wherein: at least a portion of each of the sliding portions formed on both end portions of the knob cover is bent inward to form a recessed groove (Mizuno, the sliding portions are concave/recessed grooves, see fig 1); and each guide portion of the opening and closing knob is received in the recessed groove, and the guide portion is in contact with the corresponding sliding portion. (Mizuno fig1-2d)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Mizuno does not teach that the stopper, which has to protrude from each of both end portions of the operating and closing knob, comes into contact with a bent portion to restrict reward movement of the sliding portion. Mizuno’s stopper is not on both end portions of the knob and does not come into contact with a bent portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to knob assemblies.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 8584493, US 5893282, DE 19724573.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675