DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “marker actuation element being configured to …” in claims 8 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 - 7, 11 - 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, and 14 are indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the marker lumen”. It is unclear if the term is intended to refer to the “marking lumen”. For the purposes of examination, the term will be interpreted as referring to the “marking lumen”.
Claims 6 - 7 and 11 - 12 are indefinite by virtue of dependency.
Claim 14 is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the access port of the tissue sample holder”. The access port has not been set forth as being “of the tissue sample holder”. It is unclear if this is required.
Claim 14 is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the tissue sample holder”. It is unclear what is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 4 and 8 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nock (US 2021/0282754).
Regarding claim 1, Nock shows a system for marking a biopsy site (abstract), the system comprising:
(a) a biopsy device (biopsy device, abstract), the biopsy device including:
(i) a body (i.e., the portion of the system proximal to biopsy needle 600),
(ii) a needle (biopsy needle 600, [0046] and figs. 5 - 8), the needle extending distally from the body (figs. 5 - 8), and including a tissue piercing tip (piercing tip 640, [0049] and figs. 6 - 7), the needle defining an axial lumen (upper cutter lumen 622, [0047] and fig. 8) and a lateral lumen (lower lateral lumen 624, [0047] and fig. 8), the axial lumen being configured to receive a cutter (tubular cutter 630, [0048] and fig. 8) therein, the tissue piercing tip defining a marking lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8) in communication with the lateral lumen (650 communicates indirectly via openings 626); and
(b) a biopsy site marker (marker 100, [0024] - [0025] and figs. 1A - 1C; marker 300, [0034] and fig. 3), the biopsy site marker including a non-absorbable marker element (marker element 12 … “radiopaque or echogenic marker embedded within the bioabsorbable marker”, [0025] figs. 1A - 1C; “metallic, generally radiopaque permanent marker or marker element” 310, [0034] and fig. 3) and a bioabsorbable carrier (bioabsorbable carrier 120 in figs, 1A - 1C; carrier 306, [0034] and fig. 3), the marker element being at least partially disposed within the carrier (figs. 1A - 1C; fig. 3), the biopsy site marker being configured for receipt within the marking lumen of the needle (deployment of marker, [0074] and figs. 12B, 12C).
Regarding claim 2, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the marker lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8) extending through a planar surface defined by the tissue piercing tip (see figs. 6 - 8).
Regarding claim 3, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the biopsy device further including the cutter (tubular cutter 630, [0048] and fig. 8), the needle further including an outer cannula (outer cannula 610, figs. 5 - 8), and a lateral aperture defined by a portion of the outer cannula (“outer cannula (610), lateral aperture (612) formed therein”, [0046] and figs. 5 - 8) the cutter being configured to move relative to the lateral aperture to sever one or more tissue samples (“Cutter (630) is then advanced distally to the position shown in FIG. 8 to sever a tissue sample”, [0048] and fig. 8), the marker lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8) being laterally offset relative to a longitudinal axis defined by the cutter (see figs. 12A - 12C showing this arrangement).
Regarding claim 4, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the biopsy device further including the cutter (tubular cutter 630, [0048] and fig. 8), the needle further including an outer cannula (outer cannula 610, figs. 5 - 8), and a lateral aperture defined by a portion of the outer cannula (“outer cannula (610), lateral aperture (612) formed therein”, [0046] and figs. 5 - 8) the cutter being configured to move relative to the lateral aperture to sever one or more tissue samples (“Cutter (630) is then advanced distally to the position shown in FIG. 8 to sever a tissue sample”, [0048] and fig. 8), the marker lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8) being in communication with a portion of the lateral lumen (lower lateral lumen 624, [0047] and fig. 8) to define an axial deployment path laterally offset relative to the cutter, the axial deployment path extending from a distal end of the needle to a proximal end of the needle (see figs. 12A - 12C showing this arrangement).
Regarding claims 8 - 10, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows a marker actuation element including a push rod (push rod 718, [0064] and figs. 9 - 11) incorporated into the body (i.e., the portion of the system proximal to biopsy needle 600) of the biopsy device and configured to advance the biopsy site marker axially through the needle ([0074] - [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows a portion of the biopsy device defining an access port (proximal opening, [0059]) the access port being configured to communicate with the marking lumen of the needle (see figs. 12A - 12C).
Regarding claim 12, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows a portion of the biopsy device defining an access port (proximal opening, [0059]), the access port being configured to communicate with the marking lumen of the needle, the access port being configured to align with the lateral lumen of the needle to define a continuous path along an axis extending from the access port to the marking lumen (see figs. 12A - 12C).
Regarding claim 13, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows a tissue sample holder (“severed tissue sample can then be transported though cutter (630) and into a tissue sample holder or other tissue receiving feature under vacuum supplied by the biopsy device”, [0048]), the tissue sample holder being in communication with a portion of the needle. The tissue sample holder necessarily has an access port, as the samples pass through at least one opening to arrive at the tissue sample holder. The access port is configured to permit selective at least indirect communication with the marking lumen of the needle, lacking any further limiting details in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the access port provides a substantially linear path to the
needle (see figs. 12A - 12C), which is interpreted as meeting the claim, as best understood in light of the clarity deficiencies noted above.
Regarding claim 15, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows an access tube, the access tube being in communication with one or more portions of the needle, the access tube being configured to permit communication of the biopsy site marker to the needle (marker delivery device 700, [0063] and figs. 9 - 11).
Regarding claim 16, Nock shows an apparatus for collecting a biopsy sample and marking tissue (abstract), the system comprising:
(a) a body (i.e., the portion of the system proximal to biopsy needle 600);
(b) a needle (biopsy needle 600, [0046] and figs. 5 - 8) extending distally from the body (figs. 5 - 12C), and including a tissue piercing tip (piercing tip 640, [0049] and figs. 6 - 7), an outer cannula (outer cannula 610, figs. 5 - 8), and a marker transport lumen (i.e., the interior lumen of outer cannula 610, figs. 12A - 12C) defined by a portion of the outer cannula, the marker transport lumen extending along the length of the outer cannula to the tissue piercing tip (figs. 12A - 12C), the outer cannula defining a lateral aperture (“outer cannula (610), lateral aperture (612) formed therein”, [0046] and figs. 5 - 8) proximate the tissue piercing tip;
(c) a cutter, the cutter being movable relative to the lateral aperture of the needle to sever one or more tissue samples (“Cutter (630) is then advanced distally to the position shown in FIG. 8 to sever a tissue sample”, [0048] and fig. 8);
(d) a tissue sample holder, the tissue sample holder being in communication with the needle to collect the one or more tissue samples from the needle (“severed tissue sample can then be transported though cutter (630) and into a tissue sample holder or other tissue receiving feature under vacuum supplied by the biopsy device”, [0048]); and
(b) a biopsy site marker (marker 100, [0024] - [0025] and figs. 1A - 1C; marker 300, [0034] and fig. 3), the biopsy site marker including a non-absorbable marker element (marker element 12 … “radiopaque or echogenic marker embedded within the bioabsorbable marker”, [0025] figs. 1A - 1C; “metallic, generally radiopaque permanent marker or marker element” 310, [0034] and fig. 3) and a bioabsorbable carrier (bioabsorbable carrier 120 in figs, 1A - 1C; carrier 306, [0034] and fig. 3), the marker element being at least partially disposed within the carrier (figs. 1A - 1C; fig. 3), the biopsy site marker being pre-loaded in the marker transport lumen prior to a biopsy procedure ([0072] - [0073], [0077]. Any surgical steps that take place after the marker is loaded in the marker transport lumen are interpreted as “a biopsy procedure”).
Regarding claim 17, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the tissue piercing tip defining a marking lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8), the marker lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8) extending through a planar surface defined by the tissue piercing tip (see figs. 6 - 8), the marking lumen being in communication with the marker transport lumen (see figs. 12A - 12C).
Regarding claim 18, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the tissue piercing tip defining a marking lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8), the marker lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8) extending through a planar surface defined by the tissue piercing tip (see figs. 6 - 8), the marking lumen being in communication with the marker transport lumen (see figs. 12A - 12C), the biopsy site marker being pre-loaded within the marker transport lumen at a position proximate the marking lumen (see figs. 12A - 12C).
Regarding claim 19, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the marker transport lumen being laterally offset relative to a longitudinal axis defined by the cutter (see figs. 12A - 12C).
Regarding claim 20, Nock shows a method for deploying a biopsy site marker in tissue (abstract), the method comprising:
(a) obtaining a needle of a biopsy device (biopsy needle 600, [0046], figs. 5 - 8 and 12A - 12C), the needle having the biopsy site marker pre-loaded therein ([0072] - [0073], [0077]. The marker is necessarily pre-loaded before the marker is deployed);
(b) collecting one or more tissue samples (severed tissue sample, [0048]), using the needle of the biopsy device to form a biopsy site in the tissue (implicit);
(c) introducing a drive feature into the needle from a proximal end of the biopsy device to advance the biopsy site marker relative to the needle (“deployment is initiated by advancing push rod (718) distally using plunger (720) or a combination of plunger (720) and grip (716)”, [0074] - [0076] and figs. 12A - 12C); and
(d) deploying the biopsy site marker through a marker lumen defined by a distal tip of the needle using the drive feature (deployment, [0074] - [0076] and figs. 12A - 12C), the act of deploying the biopsy site marker including depositing the biopsy site marker at the biopsy site (“align distal opening (648) with the biopsy site”, [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nock in view of Vetter (2012/0109174).
Regarding claim 5, Nock discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the biopsy device further including the cutter (tubular cutter 630, [0048] and fig. 8), the needle further including an outer cannula (outer cannula 610, figs. 5 - 8), and a lateral aperture defined by a portion of the outer cannula (“outer cannula (610), lateral aperture (612) formed therein”, [0046] and figs. 5 - 8), the cutter being configured to move relative to the lateral aperture to sever one or more tissue samples (“Cutter (630) is then advanced distally to the position shown in FIG. 8 to sever a tissue sample”, [0048] and fig. 8), the lateral lumen (lower lateral lumen 624, [0047] and fig. 8) comprising a vacuum lumen (“vacuum supplied though cutter lumen (622), lateral lumen (624), or both”, [0048]); and a marker transport lumen (internal lumen 715, [0067] and fig. 11), the marker lumen (lumen 650, [0055] and figs. 6 - 8) in communication with a portion of the marker transport lumen (internal lumen 715, [0067] and fig. 11), the vacuum lumen being in communication with a portion of the cutter (“vacuum supplied though cutter lumen (622), lateral lumen (624), or both”, [0048]).
Nock fails to show that an inner wall dividing the lateral lumen into the vacuum lumen and the marker transport lumen.
Vetter discloses tissue removing devices and methods. Vetter teaches an inner wall dividing a lateral lumen into a vacuum lumen and a marker transport lumen (“suction to draw tissue into the opening 132 …marker 102 housed in a marker storage area 136 …”, [0086] and inner wall dividing the vacuum region from the marker storage area in figs. 29 - 30).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Nock to include an inner wall dividing the lateral lumen into the vacuum lumen and the marker transport lumen, as taught by Vetter, in order to form the lumens as an integral structure, thereby optimizing manufacturing. It is noted that applicant discloses no criticality of the claimed feature.
Regarding claims 6 - 7, the combined invention of Nock and Vetter discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Nock further shows the marker transport lumen (internal lumen 715, [0067] and fig. 11) being fluidly isolated from the axial lumen (upper cutter lumen 622, [0047] and fig. 8) and the vacuum lumen (“vacuum supplied … lateral lumen (624), or both”, [0048]) and disposed adjacent to the vacuum lumen (see figs. 12A - 12C showing 715 fluidly isolated from 622 and 624). Moreover, in the combined invention of the prior art, the vacuum lumen and marker transport lumen are divided by a sidewall, as discussed in the art rejection of claim 5, above.
Conclusion
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798