DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final on Merits. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. However, certified English translations have not been received. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. Until a certified English translation has been provided, the current priority date is 04/07/2025. Examiners Note: The prior art is earlier than the foreign application JP2024-067362 filed in Japan on 04/18/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without a practical application and significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (i.e., Step 1). In the instant case, claims 1-8 are directed to a device (i.e. a machine). Claim 9 is directed to a method (i.e. a process). Claim 10 is directed to a non-transitory computer storage medium (i.e. an article of manufacture). Thus, each of these claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong One: Abstract Ideas
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea. Independent claim 9, analogous to independent claims 1 and 10 recites: An agreement determination method, comprising acquiring a divisible proposal provided by a first negotiator; notifying a second negotiator, which conducts negotiations with the first negotiator, of the proposal; and determining whether or not the second negotiator makes a partial agreement on the proposal. The limitations as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under the abstract groupings of: Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations; (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). As the claims discuss an agreement determination, comprising acquiring a divisible proposal provided by a first negotiator; notifying a second negotiator, which conducts negotiations with the first negotiator, of the proposal; and determining whether or not the second negotiator makes a partial agreement on the proposal, which is one of certain methods of organizing human activity.
Mental Processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion (independent claims recite for example, “An agreement determination method, comprising acquiring a divisible proposal provided by a first negotiator; notifying a second negotiator, which conducts negotiations with the first negotiator, of the proposal; and determining whether or not the second negotiator makes a partial agreement on the proposal.” Concepts performed in the human mind as mental processes because the steps of negotiation, agreement, determining and analyzing, mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion, perhaps with paper and pencil, where data interpretation is perceptible in the human mind. See In re TLI Commc’ns LLCPatentLitig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Further, dependent claims add additional limitations, for example: (claim 2) accept an input to specify an agreement for each part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations; (claim 3) accept an input to cancel an agreed part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations; (claim 4) hide a detail of an agreed part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations; (claim 5) accept an input to specify whether or not to hide a detail of an agreed part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations; (claim 6) acquire a counter proposal regarding a non-agreed part, which is not an agreed part, of the proposal; (claim 7) notify the first negotiator of the counter proposal regarding the non-agreed part; (claim 8) once the negotiations have been suspended, cause by the first negotiator for the negotiations and/or a second negotiator to display an agreed part of the proposal and a non-agreed part, which is not the agreed part, of the proposal, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes, but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements – (claim 1) agreement determination device; memory; processor; (claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 8) terminal devices; (claim 9) computer; (claim 10) non-transitory computer readable storage medium; computer. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea, as it adds the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The limitations generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computing, see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Furthermore, claims 1-10 have been fully analyzed to determine whether there are additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The limitations fail to include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain (US 2011/0264548 A1), hereinafter “Jain”, over Tran et al. (US 2020/0117690 A1), hereinafter “Tran”.
Regarding Claim 1, Jain teaches An agreement determination device comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: (Jain, para 0007, teaches an architecture that can facilitate computer-assisted haggling and/or negotiation between multiple parties; See at least Jain, Figure 13 and para 0028, teaches the computing environment including processor; Jain, para 0090, teaches memory);
acquire a divisible proposal provided by a first negotiator; (See at least Jain Abstract, teaches seller and buyer proposals; Jain, para 0020, teaches negotiate transaction for multiple items);
notify a second negotiator, which conducts negotiations with the first negotiator, of the proposal; and (See at least Jain, Figure 5, teaches multiple negotiators (Examiner notes sellers and buyers; See para 0058, notification from the platform owner),
determine whether or not the second negotiator makes a ... agreement on the proposal (Jain, para 0069, Buyer sees the new desirable sell price and agrees to it).
Yet Jain does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Tran teaches partial agreement (See at least Tran, para 0628, teaches installment sales of contract: an installment sales contract requires or authorizes 1) delivery in separate lots 2) to be separately accepted; generally, the buyer has the right to reject an installment only where there is a substantial impairment in that installment that cannot be cured.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jain with partial agreement as taught by Tran with the motivation for performing contract negotiations among IOT devices (Tran, para 0881). The Jain invention now incorporating the Tran invention, has all the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Jain, now incorporating Tran, teaches The agreement determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to
accept an input to specify an agreement for each part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal on a terminal device usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations (See at least Jain, para 0008, teaches in most cases, a buyer or seller (Examiner notes negotiators) associated with one of the proxies can withdraw or accept any open proposal at any time; Jain, para 0097, teaches input devices, e.g., a keyboard; para 0098, teaches monitor or other display device).
Regarding Claim 3, Jain, now incorporating Tran, teaches The agreement determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to accept an input to cancel an agreed part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal on a terminal device usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations (See at least Jain, para 0045, teaches the proposal can be withdrawn at any time by way of the revoke proposal(s) feature. The revoke proposal(s) feature can be employed to revoke all proposals, revoke all counteroffers, or only one or certain ones of the proposals. Jain, para 0097, teaches input devices, e.g., a keyboard; para 0098, teaches monitor or other display device).
Regarding Claim 4, Jain, now incorporating Tran, teaches The agreement determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to hide a detail of an agreed part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal on a terminal device usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations (See at least Jain, para 0046, teaches a hide/show proposals feature; Jain, para 0097, teaches input devices, e.g., a keyboard; para 0098, teaches monitor or other display device).
Regarding Claim 5, Jain, now incorporating Tran, teaches The agreement determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to accept an input to specify whether or not to hide a detail of an agreed part of the proposal, while displaying the proposal on a terminal device usable by the second negotiator for the negotiations (See at least Jain, para 0046, teaches a hide/show proposals feature; Jain, para 0097, teaches input devices, e.g., a keyboard; para 0098, teaches monitor or other display device).
Regarding Claim 6, Jain, now incorporating Tran, teaches The agreement determination device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to acquire a counter proposal regarding a non-agreed part, which is not an agreed part, of the proposal (Counter offers are taught throughout Jain, see at least Jain para 0043, teaches counteroffer can be accompanied by an explanation that, e.g., explains why the current proposal price is inadequate; Jain, para 0097, teaches input devices, e.g., a keyboard; para 0098, teaches monitor or other display device).
Regarding Claim 7, Jain, now incorporating Tran, teaches The agreement determination device according to claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to notify the first negotiator of the counter proposal regarding the non-agreed part (Counter offers are taught throughout Jain, see at least Jain para 0043, teaches counteroffer (e.g., sent by way of the send proposal feature); See at least Jain, Figure 5, teaches multiple negotiators (Examiner notes sellers and buyers; See para 0058, notification from the platform owner).
Regarding Claim 8, Jain, now incorporating Tran, teaches The agreement determination device according to claim 1, wherein once the negotiations have been suspended, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause at least one of a first terminal device usable by the first negotiator for the negotiations and/or a second terminal device usable by the second negotiator to display an agreed part of the proposal and a non-agreed part, which is not the agreed part, of the proposal (See at least Jain, Figure 5, teaches multiple negotiators (Examiner notes sellers and buyers); Examiner notes agreeing or disagreeing (counteroffer or withdraw) to proposals is taught throughout Jain, see at least Jain, para 0069, teaches Buyer sees the new desirable sell price and agrees to it; Jain, para 0098, teaches monitor or other display device).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, the claims are an obvious variant to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise. Claim 9 recites a method, see at least Jain, para 0080, teaching methods. Claim 10 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer. See at least Jain, Figure 13 teaching the computing environment and Jain, para 0090, teaches computer storage media and Tran, para 0865, teaches non-transitory, machine readable medium.
Additional Prior Art Consulted
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure includes the following:
Lassoued et al. US 11,593,873 B2 - Embodiments for establishing trust in commerce negotiations are provided. Information associated with negotiation actions of each of a plurality of entities is stored in a shared ledger.
Lin US 8/412,535 B2 - Systems for negotiation support. First and second negotiation agent modules respectively receive multiple first proposals, calculate preference scores (PSs) for each first proposal using utility models and select a portion of the first proposals as second proposals in descending order according to the calculated PSs therewith. The negotiation management module receives the second proposals from the first and second negotiation modules, and generates third proposals according to the received proposals. The first and second negotiation agent modules respectively receive the third proposals, calculate PSs for received proposals using utility models, and arrange the third proposals in descending order according to PSs therewith to generate voting results. The negotiation management module receives the voting results, and generates a final agreement according to the received voting results.
NPL – Zohra Boudjemil; Trish Mulligan; Claire Fahy; Jason Finnegan; Shane Dempsy “Language and open metamodel for e-business negotiations”, Publisher IEEE 2008, Language and open metamodel for e-business negotiations | IEEE Conference Publication | IEEE Xplore - Digital business ecosystems (DBE) are the technical environment where business organisations can live. One important aspect of this type of ecosystem is the collaboration of its members. Successful negotiation processes between members are a fundamental requirement for sustainable collaboration. The contribution of this paper is a negotiation language specified by means of an open metamodel, which provides the basis for SMEs to collaborate within a DBE. The model is presented on the abstraction level of a metamodel - in the MDA sense of the term - allowing it to be used in a variety of domains and application scenarios. This paper focuses on the introduction of the fundamental concepts of the metamodel and details of the models it consists of, plus an initial validation by presenting a worked example.
Applicant is advised to review additional references supplied on the PTO-892 as to the state of the art of the invention.
Conclusion
/R.R.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3629/ANDREW B WHITAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629