DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/08/2026. Claims 1-20 are presently pending.
Claims 5-6 and 17-18, as amended, obviates rejection under 35 USC § 112(b) raised in the preceding Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the independent claims 1, 13, and 20:
Applicant argues that in Liu the user query affects the display of the related objects, and “This is not a configuration in which an object list trigger visual element configured to trigger display of an object collection is pre-displayed on a media playback page” (Remarks: page 15, 2nd paragraph).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (order of displays, “pre-display”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Second, the claim language merely calls for displaying of the objects. This does not preclude any actions that may have led to the said display, such as a query. Furthermore, Liu discloses “The prompt message 120 can be displayed in response to a user's instruction or a preset event (e.g., the video data comprises a move star's face, a dress, a food item, or another element or item associated with a prompt message. For example, the prompt message 120 is displayed in response to an input by the user to the terminal. As another example, the prompt message 120 is displayed in response to the terminal determining that a particular portion of the video data 110 has associated therewith information relating to the prompt message.” ¶ [26].
Applicant further argues that “Liu does not disclose or suggest that, before the related objects are displayed as an object collection, an object list is already provided on the media playback page…” (Remarks: Page 15, 3rd paragraph).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language fails to specify the order of presentations of the lists/ prompts. For example, Liu (Fig. 4, 430) shows a list of objects/ collections (already provided) that are available for selection by the user leading to further objects/ selections in 445. Also see Liu ¶ [26].
Applicant further argues that “the prompt message in Liu is neither generated by adjusting object attribute information after a visual element has displayed object attribute information of an object, nor intended to prompt the user to trigger an object list trigger visual element”. (Remarks: Page 16, 2nd paragraph)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Liu (Fig. 4, 430) shows a list of objects/ collections (already provided) that are available for selection by the user leading to further objects/ selections based on further refinement of the attributes as in 445. Also see Liu ¶ [26].
Applicant further argues that Liu does not disclose “wherein the preset interaction operation comprises triggering the object list trigger visual element.” (Remarks: Page 16, 3rd paragraph)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, Applicant has removed the recitation “preset” from the claim language!
Second, the sequence of actions/ steps in Liu’s Fig. 4 are prearranged/ preset!
With respect to the dependent claims 2-12 and 14-19, Applicant has not advanced any new arguments and relies instead on the arguments presented and rebutted with respect to the independent claims 1, 13, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al., USPGPUB 2018/0152767 (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method for displaying information (As described with respect to exemplary Figs. 4, 6, 7, and corresponding descriptions), comprising:
displaying a visual element on a media playback page (Fig. 6, 610), wherein the visual element displays object attribute information of an object (610, and corresponding attributes such as number of reviews), the object is determined from an object collection corresponding to the media playback page, and the object is determined based on object attribute information or business attribute information of each object in the object collection (Fig. 4, 405-450; ¶¶ [73]-[113]);
displaying, on the media playback page, an object list trigger visual element configured to trigger display of an object collection (Fig. 4, 430, 445, and corresponding description); and
adjusting content displayed in the visual element from the object attribute information to prompt information (¶¶ [60]-[61], [76]-[78]), to prompt a user to trigger an interaction operation, wherein the prompt information is associated with the object, and wherein the interaction operation comprises triggering the object list trigger visual element (Fig. 4, 445-470; ¶¶ [80], [86]-[87], [109]-[123]. Also see Fig. 1B, ¶ [26]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses:
wherein the object attribute information of the object (Fig. 6, 610) is an image (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78]) or text (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78]) information describing attributes of the object, and the object attribute information of the object comprises at least one of: a name (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78], [151]) , a category (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78], [151]), a text description (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78], [151]), and an image (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78], [151]), or,
wherein the object attribute information of the object comprises an image of the object (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78], [151]), and the prompt information comprises text information indicating how to view the object collection (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78], [151]) or text information for a supplementary description of the object attribute information of the object (¶¶ [33], [40], [70], [78], [151]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses wherein the object comprises a plurality of objects (Fig. 6, 610), and the plurality of objects meet at least one of the following conditions:
a value of an attribute of an object in the plurality of objects meeting an attribute threshold, wherein the attribute threshold is determined according to a value of the attribute of an object other than the plurality of objects (¶¶ [101], [110]); or
the plurality of objects being a group of objects with an association relationship (¶ [141]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses wherein the plurality of objects are a group of objects with an association relationship in the object collection, and the prompt information is information describing the association relationship or business information indicating a combination of the plurality of objects (¶¶ [60]-[61], [76]-[78], [86], [134], [141]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses wherein adjusting the content displayed in the visual element from the object attribute information to the prompt information (as analyzed in claim 1) comprises:
In response to interaction information of the object attribute information of the object meeting a condition, adjusting the content displayed in the visual element from the object attribute information to the prompt information (Fig. 4, 430, 445, and corresponding information), and
wherein the interaction information of the object attribute information of the object is information updated in response to detecting an interaction with the object attribute information of the object (Fig. 4, 440-470; Fig. 8, 835-865; See corresponding descriptions), or statistical information associated with the object attribute information of the object. NOTE: Recitation of OR requires evidence of only one of the conditions in order to meet claim limitation.
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses:
displaying the object collection on the media playback page in response to receiving a trigger operation on the visual element (Fig. 4, 440-470; Fig. 8, 835-865; See corresponding descriptions; ¶¶ [80], [86]-[87], [109]-[123]), or,
wherein the trigger operation is a trigger operation for the object attribute information of the object in the visual element, the object collection is displayed in the form of an object list, and displaying the object collection on the media playback page (Fig. 4, 440-470; Fig. 8, 835-865; See corresponding descriptions; ¶¶ [80], [86]-[87], [109]-[123]) comprises:
displaying the object collection on the media playback page, and placing the object at a top or a position close to the top in the object list (NOTE: Recitation of OR requires evidence of only one of the conditions in order to meet claim limitation. Furthermore, positioning of objects on the display is a design choice and does not carry patentable weight. In addition, Applicant is referred to Xerox PARC circa 1960s where the graphical user interface was created allowing the user to customize the user interface to their likings); or
displaying the object collection on the media playback page, and adjusting content currently displayed in the object list to information related to the object (Fig. 4, 440-470; Fig. 8, 835-865; See corresponding descriptions; ¶¶ [80], [86]-[87], [109]-[123]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses in response to receiving a trigger operation on the object attribute information of the object in the visual element, displaying detailed information of the object on the media playback page (Fig. 4, 440-470; Fig. 8, 835-865; See corresponding descriptions; ¶¶ [80], [86]-[87], [109]-[123]).
The device of claims 13-17 recite similar features as those of the methods of claims 1-5, effectuated by the same, are rejected by the same analysis.
Computer program product of claim 20 recites similar features as the method of claim 1, effectuating the same, is rejected by the same analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9, 12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le, in view of Pastrana Vicente et al., USPGPUB 2023/0315247 (hereinafter “Vicente”).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Liu discloses:
wherein adjusting the content displayed in the visual element from the object attribute information to the prompt information comprises:
adjusting the content displayed in the visual element to the prompt information in response to detecting interaction with the object attribute information of the object (Fig. 4, 440-470; Fig. 8, 835-865; See corresponding descriptions); or
adjusting the content displayed in the visual element to the prompt information in response to detecting that the interaction with the object attribute information of the object has ended (Fig. 4, 440-470; Fig. 8, 835-865; See corresponding descriptions).
Liu is not explicit in:
adjusting the content displayed in the visual element to the prompt information in response to display time of the object attribute information of the object exceeding a first time threshold; and
hiding the visual element in response to the display time of the prompt information exceeding a second time threshold.
However, Liu discloses a method, system, and computer program product for manipulation of a graphical user interface (Abstract) where the menu items/ objects for display are manipulated by:
adjusting the content displayed in the visual element to the prompt information in response to display time of the object attribute information of the object exceeding a first time threshold (¶¶ [366], [642]); and
hiding the visual element in response to the display time of the prompt information exceeding a second time threshold (¶¶ [366], [642]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Liu with Vicente’s teachings in order to facilitate and optimize presentation of most relevant information/ menu items while reducing clutter in the display space.
Regarding claim 7, the system of Liu and Vicente discloses wherein the visual element is a target visual element, the media playback page further displays a comment list (Liu: Fig. 3, 328; Vicente: Fig. 7N, ¶ [173]) visual element for displaying a comment list, the comment list visual element is located above the target visual element (Liu: Fig. 3, 328; Vicente: Fig. 7N, ¶ [173]), and displaying the target visual element on the media playback page comprises:
displaying the target visual element above the object list trigger visual element and below the comment list visual element, wherein a height of the comment list visual element is kept unchanged (Liu: Fig. 3, 328; Vicente: Fig. 7N, ¶ [173]).
Regarding claim 8, the system of Liu and Vicente discloses wherein the comment list displayed in the comment list visual element scrolls upwards in response to receiving a new comment (Vicente: ¶¶ [240]-[241], [295]), and displaying the target visual element above the object list trigger visual element and below the comment list visual element comprises:
moving the comment list visual element upwards (Vicente: ¶¶ [240]-[241], [295]); and
displaying the target visual element above the object list trigger visual element and below the comment list visual element (Liu: Fig. 3, 328; Vicente: ¶¶ [240]-[241], [295]).
Regarding claim 9, the system of Liu and Vicente discloses wherein the visual element is displayed in response to an interaction behavior meeting a trigger condition, and the trigger condition comprises at least one of:
detecting triggering of displaying the media playback page (Liu: Fig. 4, 405-470, as analyzed with respect to claim 1);
detecting that a number of times of triggering of displaying the object collection is less than a first threshold (Vicente: ¶¶ [105], [443], [602]);
detecting that a number of times of triggering of displaying the object collection within a preset time is less than a second threshold (Vicente: ¶¶ [105], [443], [602]);
detecting that dwell time on the media playback page exceeds a third threshold (Vicente: ¶¶ [105], [443], [602]); and
detecting that time for playing the media content associated with the object on the media playback page exceeds a fourth threshold (Liu: ¶¶ [31], [50], [77]).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, the system of Liu and Vicente discloses:
wherein the visual element is a target visual element (Liu: Fig. 6; as analyzed in claim 1), and displaying the target visual element on the media playback page comprises:
displaying the target visual element within a preset distance from the object list trigger visual element (Vicente: ¶¶ [63], [137]), or
wherein the visual element is a target visual element, and the method further comprises:
hiding the target visual element in response to interaction information of the prompt information meeting a preset condition (Vicente: ¶¶ [366], [642]); and
displaying information indicating a number of objects in the object collection above the object list trigger visual element (Liu: Fig. 6, 610) or within a preset range of the object list trigger visual element.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contacts
/JAMES R MARANDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421