DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/019579, filed on 02/09/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2025 and 01/16/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites the limitation “a pair of the pn diodes” in line 2 of the claim. This appears to mean “a pair of pn diodes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al. Japanese Patent Document JP 2011-193016 A (hereinafter “Kono”) and further in view of Nakamura et al. U.S. Patent Application 2011/0215400 (hereinafter “Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Kono teaches a semiconductor device (refer to title and abstract), comprising: a semiconductor chip (refer to [0023]) which is a semiconductor substrate (refer to fig.1) having a first surface (i.e. first surface in the figure below)(fig.1) and a second surface (i.e. second surface in the figure below)(fig.1) and formed in a tetragonal shape in a plan view (refer to fig.3); a switching element (refer to IGBT area in the figure below)(fig.1)(refer also to fig.6) that is formed on the semiconductor substrate (refer to IGBT area and the figure below)(fig.1) and performs a switching operation between a first electrode (i.e. emitter electrode 111)(figs.1 and 6) provided on the first surface side of the semiconductor substrate (refer to emitter electrode 111)(fig.6) and a second electrode (i.e. collector electrode 100)(figs.1 and 6) provided on the second surface side of the semiconductor substrate (Refer to collector electrode 100)(fig.1), in response to a signal input to a control electrode (i.e. gate electrode 108)(fig.1)(refer also to gate pad 204)(fig.3) provided on the first surface side of the semiconductor substrate (refer to gate electrode 108)(fig.1); a gate finger (i.e. gate wiring 201)(fig.3) that extends from the control electrode along an outer periphery of the semiconductor chip (refer to fig. 3 and [0023]) and further extends across a central portion of the semiconductor chip (refer to fig.3); a temperature sense element (refer to [0023]: “temperature detection element”), capable of outputting a signal dependent on temperature (implicit); and a third electrode (i.e. temperature detection pad 202)(fig.3) and a fourth electrode (i.e. temperature detection pad 203)(fig.3) that are electrically connected to the temperature sense element (refer to [0023]), wherein the control electrode, the third electrode and the fourth electrode have substantially the same size and the same shape as one another (implicit)(refer to fig.3), the control electrode is arranged at a center portion of one side of the semiconductor chip (implicit)(refer to fig.3), and the third and fourth electrodes are arranged side by side on one side of the control electrode (implicit)(refer to fig.3) along the one side where the control electrode is arranged (implicit)(refer to fig.3), the temperature sense element is arranged adjacent to the gate finger (implicit)(refer to fig.3); however, Kono does not teach the temperature sense element provided on the first surface side. However, Nakamura teaches the temperature sense element provided on the first surface side (refer to Nakamura diodes DD1)(fig.12). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kono to include the temperature sense element placement of Nakamura to provide the advantage of accurately detecting the temperature of the switching device (refer to Nakamura [0106]).
Regarding claim 2, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, comprising a diode element (refer to Nakamura diodes DD1)(figs.11 and 12) capable of outputting a temperature-dependent signal as the temperature sense element (refer to Nakamura [0106] and [0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the anode and cathode of the diode element are connected to the third electrode and the fourth electrode, respectively (implicit)(refer to Nakamura figure 11).
Regarding claim 4, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1; wherein the switching element includes a MISFET (refer to Kono [0014]: MOSFET is a type of MISFET)(refer also to Nakamura figures 14 and 15) in which the first electrode includes a source electrode (refer to Kono [0014])(i.e. Nakamura source wiring 10S and pad electrode PDS1)(fig.14), the second electrode includes a drain electrode (refer to Kono [0014])(i.e. Nakamura back electrode BE)(fig.14)(refer also to Nakamura [0135]), and the control electrode includes a gate electrode (refer to Kono [0014])(i.e. Nakamura gate wiring 10G and pad electrode PDG1)(fig.14), the source electrode has regions (refer to Kono IGBT regions 206)(fig.3)(refer also to Kono [0014]) that are divided into two by the gate finger crossing the central portion of the semiconductor chip (refer to Kono gate wiring 201)(fig.3), the third electrode and the fourth electrode are arranged adjacent to a periphery of one of the regions of the divided source electrode (refer to Kono fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the switching element includes a MISFET (refer to Kono [0014])(refer also to Nakamura figures 14 and 15) in which the first electrode includes a source electrode (refer to Kono [0014])(i.e. Nakamura source wiring 10S and pad electrode PDS1)(fig.14), the second electrode includes a drain electrode (refer to Kono [0014])(i.e. Nakamura gate wiring 10G and pad electrode PDG1)(fig.14), and the control electrode includes a gate electrode (refer to Kono [0014])(i.e. Nakamura gate wiring 10G and pad electrode PDG1)(fig.14).
Regarding claim 6, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the third electrode and the fourth electrode are connected to terminals that are electrically independent from terminals to which the first electrode and the second electrode of the switching element are respectively connected (refer to Nakamura fig.11).
Regarding claim 7, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sense element includes a serial connection unit in which at least a pair of the pn diodes are connected in series or in series in a reverse direction to each other (refer to Nakamura DD1)(fig.11).
Regarding claim 15, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the switching element includes a trench-gate MISFET (Refer to Nakamura figs. 14 and 15), the trench-gate MISFET comprising: a gate trench (refer to Nakamura [0134]) formed in the semiconductor chip (implicit) and defining unit cells (refer to Nakamura [0134]) ,a gate electrode (i.e. Nakamura gate electrode 7)(figs.14 and 15) embedded in the gate trench (implicit), a first conductivity type body region formed on a surface portion of the unit cells (refer to Nakamura [0136] and [0137]), a second conductivity type source region formed on a surface portion of the body region (refer to Nakamura [0136] and [0137]), and a second conductivity type drain region formed on the opposite side of the source region with respect to the body region (refer to Nakamura [0136] and [0137]).
Regarding claim 16, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, however, they do not teach wherein the temperature sense element is arranged in a temperature sense region between the third electrode and the fourth electrode. However, Kono teaches a sense element (i.e. sense resistor 600)(fig.6)(refer also to [0030]) arranged in a sense region (i.e. IGBT sense region 206)(fig.3)(refer also to [0030]) between two electrodes (i.e. electrodes 205 and 207)(fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kono and Nakamura to arrange the temperature sense element in a temperature sense region between the third electrode and the fourth electrode similar to the sense resistor arranged in the sense region between the two electrodes of Kono to provide the advantage of simplifying the connection of the temperature sense element to the electrodes.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono and Nakamura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asai Japanese Patent Document JP 2008-172132 A (hereinafter “Asai”).
Regarding claim 8, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1; however, they do not teach wherein the temperature sense element includes at least a pair of pn diodes are connected in parallel in a reverse direction to each other. However, Asai teaches wherein the temperature sense element includes at least a pair of pn diodes (i.e. diodes 21 and 22)(fig.2) are connected in parallel in a reverse direction to each other (implicit)(refer to fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kono and Nakamura to include the parallel diodes of Asai to provide the advantage of averaging the temperature sense by each diode in order to more accurately measure the temperature.
Regarding claim 9, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sense element includes a serial connection unit (refer to Nakamura diode DD1)(fig.11) in which at least a pair of pn diodes are connected in series (refer to Nakamura diode DD1)(fig.11); however, they do not teach the serial connection units are connected in parallel in a reverse direction to each other. However, Asai teaches wherein the serial connection units are connected in parallel in a reverse direction to each other (refer to diodes 21 and 22)(fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kono and Nakamura to include the parallel units of Asai to provide the advantage of averaging the temperature sense by each serial connection unit in order to more accurately measure the temperature.
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono and Nakamura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stecher.
Regarding claim 10, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1; however, they do not teach wherein the semiconductor substrate includes an SiC semiconductor layer. However, Stecher teaches wherein the semiconductor substrate includes an SiC semiconductor layer (refer to [0021]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kono and Nakamura to include the SiC semiconductor layer of Stecher to provide the advantage of using a substrate that is commonly employed in semiconductor technology.
Regarding claim 11, Kono, Nakamura, and Stecher teach the semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein the temperature sense element is formed in a polysilicon layer on the SiC semiconductor layer (refer to Kono [0023])(refer also to Nakamura [0140]).
Regarding claim 12, Kono, Nakamura, and Stecher teach the semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein the polysilicon layer forming the temperature sense element has the same thickness as a gate electrode of the switching element (refer to Nakamura [0137]).
Regarding claim 13, Kono, Nakamura, and Stecher teach the semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein the polysilicon layer forming the temperature sense element includes a selectively introduced first conductivity type impurity region and a second conductivity type impurity region (refer to Nakamura [0140]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono and Nakamura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakamoto U.S. Patent No. 6,323,518 (hereinafter “Sakamoto”).
Regarding claim 17, Kono and Nakamura teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1; however, they do not teach wherein the temperature sense element includes a first conductivity type region formed in the semiconductor substrate and a second conductivity type region surrounding the first conductivity type region. However, Sakamoto teaches wherein the temperature sense element includes a first conductivity type region formed in the semiconductor substrate (refer to [0140]) and a second conductivity type region surrounding the first conductivity type region (refer to [0140]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kono and Nakamura to include the conductivity regions of Sakamoto to provide the advantage of having no characteristic degradation of the blocking voltage (refer to Sakamoto col. 7 lines 28-45).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 13, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,300,694 (hereinafter “’694”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, 9, and 14 of ‘694 contain all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application; claims 5, 14, 7, 10, and 13 of ‘694 contain all of the limitations of claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 10, and 16 of the instant application, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 14 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 14, especially wherein the polysilicon layer forming the temperature sense element includes a base layer of a second conductivity type and an impurity region of a first conductivity type selectively formed on a surface of the base layer.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838