DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04-30-2026 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watts (2018/0214882).
Regarding claim 14, Watts discloses a vertical impact liberator (figs 11-14) for processing fibrous biomass feedstock comprising hemp into reduced particle size in a single pass, comprising:
an inlet (member 25) configured to receive a fibrous biomass feedstock comprising hemp;
a housing (member 5) connected to said inlet, said housing having a plurality of sidewalls, a rotatable shaft comprising a plurality of anti-wrap blocks (fig 2D, member 130 and 134, para 0036), at least one anti-wrap shield (fig 2D, member 125 and 128, para 0036), a plurality of cutter discs (member 9) arranged in a spaced-apart stack along said rotatable shaft (para 0021), and a fan assembly (member 83) mounted inside the housing below the spaced-apart stack of cutter discs, said fan assembly comprising a fan disc having a direction of rotation and one or more fan blades (member 85) connected to the fan disc for pulling air through said housing (member 10, para 0030);
each cutter disc having an outer edge and at least one hammer mounted on the cutter disc and extending radially outwardly past the outer edge of the cutter disc, said housing having a plurality of shelves extending inwardly from respective sidewall sections and presenting an inner edge, the at least one hammer rotating in closely spaced relation to an upper surface of the respective shelf, wherein a gap is defined between the inner edge of the shelves and the outer edge of a respective cutter disc and hammer (para 0027),
wherein a chamber is formed between each opposing pair of cutter discs in the spaced-apart stack (para 0035); and
an outlet (member 27) configured to discharge biomass of reduced particle size.
Regarding claim 15, Watts discloses said plurality of anti-wrap blocks are attached to a top surface of said rotatable shaft (para 0022).
Regarding claim 16, Watts discloses said at least one anti-wrap shield is arranged between said inlet and said rotatable shaft so as to prevent the fibrous biomass feedstock from accessing said rotatable shaft upon entering the housing (para 0036).
Regarding claim 17, Watts discloses said gap is adjustable (para 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts (2018/0214882) in view of Bates (2016/0325288).
Regarding claim 1, Watts teaches a process for one-pass size reduction of fibrous biomass comprising: introducing a fibrous biomass feedstock into an inlet of a vertical impact liberator comprising (para 0004):
a housing (member 5) having a plurality of sidewalls, a rotatable shaft (member 7), a plurality of cutter discs (member 9) arranged in a spaced-apart stack along said rotatable shaft, and a fan assembly (member 83) mounted inside the housing below the stack of cutter discs, said fan assembly comprising a fan disc having a direction of rotation and one or more fan blades (member 85) connected to the fan disc for pulling air through said housing (para 0030);
each cutter disc having an outer edge and at least one hammer mounted on the cutter disc and extending radially outwardly past the outer edge of the cutter disc (para 0027),
said housing having a plurality of shelves extending inwardly from respective sidewall sections and presenting an inner edge, the at least one hammer rotating in closely spaced relation to an upper surface of the respective shelf, wherein a gap is defined between the inner edge of the shelves and the outer edge of a respective cutter disc and hammer (para 0022 and 0025),
wherein a chamber is formed between each opposing pair of cutter discs in the spaced-apart stack, said fibrous biomass feedstock being reduced in size as it passes through said gap and into each respective chamber; and collecting one or more biomass particles of reduced size at an outlet of the vertical impact liberator (claim 1).
Watts does not teach the biomass is hemp.
Bates teaches a method of biomass is hemp (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the method of Watts by using hemp, as taught by Bates, in order to have bast or hemp fiber which is known as resistant to tearing, stretching, and shrinking.
Regarding claim 2, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said one or more biomass particles of reduced size comprises particles selected from the group consisting of hurds (Bates, para 0104), fibers (Bates, para 0108), and fines (Bates, para 0105) of said hemp.
Regarding claim 3, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said hurds have a particle size of about 0.075 mm to about 3 mm (Bates, para 0105).
Regarding claim 4, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said fibers have a length of about 0.5 mm to about 700 mm (Bates, para 0111).
Regarding claim 5, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said fibers are separated fibers (Bates, para 0113).
Regarding claim 6, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said fines have a particle size of about 0.075 mm to about 1 mm (Bates, para 0105).
Regarding claim 7, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said one or more biomass particles of reduced size has a reduced moisture content as compared to the fibrous biomass feedstock (Bates, para 0135).
Regarding claim 8, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said fibrous biomass feedstock comprises whole hemp stalks and straw (Watts, para 0016).
Regarding claim 9, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said fibrous biomass feedstock is only passed through said vertical impact liberator one time to yield said one or more biomass particles of reduced size (Watts, fig 14).
Regarding claim 11, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said passing further comprises pulling the fibrous biomass feedstock through a first gap and into a first chamber, said pulling causes a successive decrease and increase of pressure within the fibrous biomass feedstock so as to yield said one or more biomass particles of reduced size (Bates, para 0105).
Regarding claim 12, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said rotatable shaft comprises a plurality of anti-wrap blocks (Watts, para 0036).
Regarding claim 13, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses said housing further comprises at least one anti-wrap shield (Watts, para 0036).
Regarding claim 20, the modified method Watts-Bates discloses crude seed oil prepared by processing said fines produced according to claim 2 in an oil extractor machine (Bates, para 0084).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 10. Watts (2018/0214882) and Bates (2016/0325288) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bothell et al. (2002/0023772).
Regarding claim 10, the modified method Watts-Bates teaches all limitations except said fibrous biomass feedstock is not pre-dried before passing through said vertical impact liberator. Bothell teaches a method using fresh hemp that is not pre- dried.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the method of Watts by using fresh hemp that is not pre-dried, as taught by Bothell, in order to save the cost of processing.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 11. Watts (2018/0214882) and Bates (2016/0325288) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Haberle et al. (2021/0253776).
Regarding claim 18, the modified method Watts-Bates teaches all limitations except a biodiesel or biochar prepared by processing said hurds produced according to claim 2 in a pyrolysis machine. Haberle teaches a biodiesel or biochar prepared by processing said hurds produced in a pyrolysis machine (para 0176 to 0177).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify method of Watts by having by product such as biodiesel or biochar, as taught by Haberle, in order to maximize the benefit.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 12. Watts (2018/0214882) and Bates (2016/0325288) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Haberle et al. (2021/0253776).
Regarding claim 19, the modified method Watts-Bates teaches all limitations except a textile fiber, yarn, or wool prepared by processing said bast fibers produced according to claim 2 in a textile spinning machine.
Stone teaches a textile fiber, yarn, or wool prepared by processing said bast fibers produced in a textile spinning machine (col 1, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify method of Watts by having by product such as yarn, as taught by Stone, in order to maximize the benefit.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,449,544. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claimed a grinder having housing, cutter, inlet and outlet ports.
Claims 14-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,799,873. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claimed a grinder having housing, cutter, inlet and outlet ports.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as 16. being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,449,544 in view of Bates (2016/0325288). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the method of Patent No. 10,449,544 by using hemp, as taught by Bates, in order to have bast or hemp fiber which is known as resistant to tearing, stretching, and shrinking.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 04-30-2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C §112(b) have been fully considered, and are persuasive. The rejection to the claims has been withdrawn due to the amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments, date 04-30-2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: applicant argues that Watts does not teach “anti-wrap blocks” and “anti-warp shield” and the Office Action is vague about it. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees because Watts discloses in fig 2D and para 0036. The examiner, as above, point out the reference numbers to indication the structure
Argument 2: applicant argues that the prior art does not teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, bast or hemp fiber which is known as resistant to tearing, stretching, and shrinking.
Argument 3: applicant argues that Watts does not teach a single-pass process but multi-station. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees since the prior art is also a one way process.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732