DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Don (US-7581421-B2).
With regards to claim 15, Don discloses a handle assembly (1 Figure 1) comprising:
a removable handle (2 Figure 1) including a lock core (4 Figure 1), the handle defining a positioning hole (25 Figure 1);
a spindle (41 Figure 1) coupled to the lock core and selectively rotatable around a longitudinal axis (central axis of lock core 4, Figure 1) via the handle;
a sleeve (5 Figure 1) configured to support the handle, the sleeve including a cylindrical wall defining an interior (as shown Figure 4), the spindle disposed at least partially within the interior, wherein the sleeve includes a support structure (3 Figure 1) that radially extends from the cylindrical wall into the interior relative to the longitudinal axis (as shown Figure 4); and
a catch (51 Figure 1) movably positioned within the sleeve, the catch movable between at least an extended position (Figure 6) and a retracted position (Figure 7) along a transverse axis (as shown Figures 6-7), orthogonal to the longitudinal axis, for selectively securing the handle to the sleeve (Col. 4 Lines 1-28), wherein the catch is axially aligned along the longitudinal axis with the positioning hole (as shown Figure 3), and wherein the support structure is axially offset along the longitudinal axis from the catch (Figure 3 shows the support structure at least partially axially offset along the longitudinal axis from the catch, such that their respective centers are misaligned in the longitudinal direction).
With regards to claim 16, Don discloses the handle assembly of claim 15, wherein the support structure (3 Figure 1) has a first end disposed at the cylindrical wall (of sleeve 5, Figure 1) and an opposite second end, the second end of the support structure has a circumferential length that is smaller than the first end of the support structure (as shown Annotated Figure 4 below).
Annotated Figure 4
With regards to claim 17, Don discloses the handle assembly of claim 16, wherein the support structure (3 Figure 1) has a first side and an opposite second side (see Annotated Figure 4 above), the first and second sides extending between the first end and the second end, and wherein the first and second sides extend radially relative to the longitudinal axis (Annotated Figure 4 shows that the first and second sides extend in a substantially radial direction relative to the longitudinal axis).
With regards to claim 20, Don discloses the handle assembly of claim 15, wherein the support structure (3 Figure 1) is fastened to the cylindrical wall (of sleeve 5, Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Don alone.
With regards to claim 19, Don discloses the handle assembly of claim 15.
Don does not disclose wherein the support structure (3 Figure 1) is monolithically formed with the cylindrical wall (of sleeve 5, Figure 1).
However, In re Larson (340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349) held that that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the support structure monolithically with the cylindrical wall, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to monolithically form the support structure and cylindrical wall in order to reduce the number of components of the handle assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14 allowed.
Claims 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant's device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the claimed invention. With regards to claims 2 and 18, the prior art teaches a handle assembly comprising a removable handle including a lock core, a spindle coupled to the lock core and selectively rotatable around a longitudinal axis via the handle, a sleeve configured to support the handle, the sleeve including a cylindrical wall defining an interior, the spindle disposed at least partially within the interior, wherein the sleeve includes a support structure that radially extends from the cylindrical wall into the interior relative to the longitudinal axis, the support structure having a first end disposed at the cylindrical wall and an opposite second end, the second end having an end surface that faces the longitudinal axis, and a catch movably positioned within the sleeve, the catch movable between at least an extended position and a retracted position along a transverse axis, orthogonal to the longitudinal axis, for selectively securing the handle to the sleeve. However, the prior art does not teach the end surface having a concave curvature. Therefore, such an arrangement is not taught by the prior art, nor can the Examiner can find teaching or motivation to suggest such a modification to one of ordinary skill in the art without fundamentally altering the principles of operation of the device or otherwise relying upon the benefit of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
With regards to claim 8, the prior art teaches a handle assembly comprising a removable handle including a lock core, a spindle coupled to the lock core and selectively rotatable around a longitudinal axis via the handle, a sleeve configured to support the handle, the sleeve including a cylindrical wall defining an interior, the spindle disposed at least partially within the interior, wherein the sleeve includes a support structure that radially extends from the cylindrical wall into the interior relative to the longitudinal axis, the support structure having a first end disposed at the cylindrical wall, an opposite second end, and a catch movably positioned within the sleeve, the catch movable between at least an extended position and a retracted position along a transverse axis, orthogonal to the longitudinal axis, for selectively securing the handle to the sleeve. However, the prior art does not teach and first and second sides extending radially relative to the longitudinal axis between the first and second ends such that the support structure has an annular sector shape. Therefore, such an arrangement is not taught by the prior art, nor can the Examiner can find teaching or motivation to suggest such a modification to one of ordinary skill in the art without fundamentally altering the principles of operation of the device or otherwise relying upon the benefit of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20160130837-A1: A related handle arrangement.
US-7472571-B1: A related handle arrangement.
US-4550581-A: A related handle arrangement.
US-9175499-B2: A related handle arrangement.
US-7156432-B2: A related handle arrangement.
US-5077994-A: A related handle arrangement.
US-4394821-A: A related handle arrangement.
Conclusion
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675