CTNF 19/171,805 CTNF 92110 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to the application 19/171,805 filed on 04/07/2025. Claims 1 – 20 have been examined and are pending in this application. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being by Li et al. (US 2021/0283499 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Li discloses: “a method for video decoding in a decoder [see para: 0021; FIG. 5 shows a diagram of a video decoder according to some embodiments of the disclosure] , the method comprising: receiving a video bitstream comprising at least one picture of a video [see para: 0029; For example, the interface circuit (111) can transmit signals that carry encoded media data, such as a coded video bitstream, a coded audio bitstream and the like to other devices] and a supplementary enhancement information (SEI) message associated with the at least one picture [see para: 0071; Several available supplemental information encoding techniques have the goal to include a very high quality base layer video and to be able to generate the right and left eye views from a smaller amount of layered side information] ; obtaining, from the SEI message, metadata indicating one or more parameters of an optical correction to be applied to the at least one picture [see para: 0009; For example, projecting an image from a projector on a level below the middle of a flat screen results in an image which is narrower at the bottom than at the top in what is known as the “Keystone” effect. Radial distortion occurs when an image pixel is displaced from its ideal position along a radial axis of the image. Because an image has the largest field angles in the display corners, the corners exhibit worse radial distortion than other display areas] ; and decoding and applying the optical correction to the picture based on the one or more parameters of the optical correction [see para: 0107; Geometric Transformation 404 thus, during projection onto a curved screen 260, conveys the proper motion of all objects in a scene. Geometric Transformation 404 also works in conjunction with an optical correction to ameliorate distortions resulting from the different focal distances from a projector (not shown) to different parts of screen 260. Geometric Transformation 404 uses the information from optical based pattern projection and capture techniques (discussed above) that model the screen 260 environment and then uses the model in the form of a display tessellation map to mathematically compensate for image distortions] . Regarding claim 2, Li discloses: “wherein the SEI message comprises lens optical correction (loc) SEI message syntax of “lens_optical_correction [see para: 0064; 0068; 0113; In another embodiment, the metadata indicates a model transformation (such as a change of motion blur effects, a change of lens blur effects, a change of lens distortions, a change of lens vignette, and the like) from a first picture frame to a second picture frame. The encoding configuration (e.g., a filter tool, parameter set, configuration setup and the like) can be determined based on the model transformation. Based on the encoding configuration, a block in the second picture frame can be encoded based on a reference block in the first picture frame] . Regarding claim 3, Li discloses: “wherein the metadata indicates that the one or more parameters of the optical correction are to be applied based on any of radial distortion, chromatic aberration, and vignetting of the picture [see para: 0009; For example, projecting an image from a projector on a level below the middle of a flat screen results in an image which is narrower at the bottom than at the top in what is known as the “Keystone” effect. Radial distortion occurs when an image pixel is displaced from its ideal position along a radial axis of the image. Because an image has the largest field angles in the display corners, the corners exhibit worse radial distortion than other display areas] . Regarding claim 4, Li discloses: “wherein the loc SEI message syntax further comprises a plurality of flags each respectively indicating whether the optical correction comprises correction to radial distortion [see para: 0009; For example, projecting an image from a projector on a level below the middle of a flat screen results in an image which is narrower at the bottom than at the top in what is known as the “Keystone” effect. Radial distortion occurs when an image pixel is displaced from its ideal position along a radial axis of the image. Because an image has the largest field angles in the display corners, the corners exhibit worse radial distortion than other display areas] , chromatic aberration, and vignetting [see para: 0059; In some examples, the metadata can include camera information, such as position information of a main camera, viewing angle of a camera, and various camera parameters (e.g., focal length, distance to main character, angle of view, distortion parameters, vignette parameters, and the like)] . Regarding claim 5, Li discloses: “wherein the SEI message indicates a first focal center of the picture along a first axis, a second focal center of the picture along a second axis, and a focal length [see para: 0054; 0059; In some examples, the metadata can include camera information, such as position information of a main camera, viewing angle of a camera, and various camera parameters (e.g., focal length, distance to main character, angle of view, distortion parameters, vignette parameters, and the like. And see para: 0080; 0081] . Regarding claim 6, Li discloses: “wherein the SEI message further indicates a lens model [see para: 0068; In another embodiment, the game engine (325) can provide metadata that indicates model transformations (e.g., same objects with different imaging characteristics) in regions of a picture relative to previous picture(s), such as a change of motion blur effects, a change of lens blur effects, a change of lens distortions, a change of lens vignette, and the like. Based on the model transform information that is indicated by the metadata, the video encoder (330) can determine coding tools, coding methods, coding parameters and the like to be used in certain regions. For example, when the metadata indicates lens blur in a region of a current picture frame relative to a reference region in a previous picture frame, the video encoder (330) may encode the region of the current picture frame based on the reference region in the previous picture frame and a blur filter. And see para: 0080; 0081] . Regarding claim 7, Li discloses: “wherein the SEI message further indicates a set of parameters, including the one or more parameters, of at least one model by which the optical correction is to be applied to the at least one picture [see para: 0054; 0059; 0080; 0081] . Regarding claim 8 and 15 , claim 8 and 15 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 1. Regarding claim 9 and 16 , claim 9 and 16 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 2. Regarding claim 10 and 17 , claim 10 and 17 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 3. Regarding claim 11 and 18 , claim 11 and 18 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 4. Regarding claim 12 and 19 , claim 12 and 19 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 5. Regarding claim 13 , claim 13 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 6. Regarding claim 14 and 20 , claim 14 and 20 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 7 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wenger et al (WO 202517104 A1). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Masum Billah whose telephone number is (571)270-0701. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Friday 9 - 5 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jamie J. Atala can be reached at (571) 272-7384. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MASUM BILLAH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/171,805 Page 2 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/171,805 Page 3 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/171,805 Page 4 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/171,805 Page 5 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/171,805 Page 6 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/171,805 Page 7 Art Unit: 2486 Application/Control Number: 19/171,805 Page 8 Art Unit: 2486