Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mero (US 6666001) in view of Chisholm (US 2006/0108318).
Mero discloses a single-piece bottle comprising: a cap-engaging portion (top portion with external threads capable of engaging the internal threads of a cap) defining an opening of the single-piece bottle and configured to engage with a bottle cap; a body portion (shoulder portion 14, body portion 16 and including midsection 40 of bottom portion 20) coupled to the cap-engaging portion and comprising a body inner surface defining a liquid-containing space therein; and at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide (IPSG) (one of the exterior grooves 46 forms an inwardly protruding rib or IPSG) formed on the body inner surface, wherein the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide is configured to guide the flow of the fluid as it is discharged from the interior space through the cap-engaging portion, wherein the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide extends from a first position (position of top end of IPSG) proximate to the cap-engaging portion toward a second position (any lower position of IPSG) located below the first portion within the body portion, wherein a diameter of the body portion at the first position is smaller than a diameter of the body portion at the second position, wherein the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide generally spirally extends about a central axis of the bottle that passes through the liquid-containing space. Mero fails to disclose that the IPSG extends circumferentially about the central axis about 180 degrees or more. Chisholm teaches a bottle with an IPSG (the inwardly extending rib formed on the interior which is the reverse surface of the exterior depression formed between rib portions of rib 22). Chisholm’s IPSG extends circumferentially about the central axis about 180 degrees or more. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circumferential extension of the IPSG to about 180 degrees or more to provide enough spiral flow or swirling flow to decrease the turbulence of fluid flow which speeds the flow of liquid.
Re claim 2, the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide of Mero extends between the top end of the body portion and the bottom end of the body portion (the body portion coextends with the rib 22 and the IPSG).
Re claim 3, Mero discloses a rim at the bottom of the cap-engaging portion (below threads).
Re claim 4, Chisholm teaches a distance between adjacent peaks formed by the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide at the first position is smaller than a distance between adjacent peaks formed by the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide at the second position. A tapered portion of the rib 22 defines a smaller vertical distance between peaks of the IPSG than a wider portion of the rib 22 which defines a larger vertical distance between peaks of the IPSG.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify a distance between adjacent peaks formed by the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide at the first position is smaller than a distance between adjacent peaks formed by the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide at the second position to enhance the flow performance and support laminar flow characteristics.
Re claims 5 and 7-10, the body portion of Mero comprises an outer surface and at least one depression on the outer surface that spirally extends and corresponds to the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide.
Re claim 6, Mero teaches a rim (rib 22) at the top end of the body portion. Note that applicant uses the term “rim” as synonymous with “rib.”
Re claim 11, the at least one inwardly-protruded spiral guide of Chisholm in a first position of the body portion is inclined more in a horizontal direction (more horizontal portion) than in a second position (more vertical portion) of the body portion, wherein the second position is located below the first position.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the incline of IPSG to be more horizontal in the first position and more vertical in the second position to enhance the flow performance and support laminar flow characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 112(b) rejection and the 102 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mero.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733