DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Application
Claims 1-17 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the Application filed on April 7, 2025 and the Response to Restriction Requirement filed August 10, 2026. Claims 18-21 stand withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on August 10, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the converted wells of Group II are used in the system of Group I, so no undue burden exists to search both. This is not found persuasive because the process of Group II as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus - as a non-limiting example, the process of converting a well by installing pressure monitors and regulators can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus (such as wellbore tools for installing pressure monitors and regulators) than the system of Group I used for injecting hydrogen and converting the hydrogen to electricity used in oil production.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-21 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicants’ election without traverse of the respective Species I-A, I-B, I-C & I-D in the reply filed on August 10, 2026 is acknowledged. Upon further consideration, the restriction requirement with respect to Group I to further elect one each of Species I-A, I-B, I-C and I-D, as set forth in the Restriction Requirement mailed June 11, 2026, is withdrawn. All species of Group I have therefore been examined.
Drawings/Specification
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “321”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is lengthy. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(f). The incorporation by reference will not be effective until correction is made to comply with 37 CFR 1.57(b), (c), or (d). If the incorporated material is relied upon to meet any outstanding objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office, the correction must be made within any time period set by the Office for responding to the objection, rejection, or other requirement for the incorporation to be effective. Compliance will not be held in abeyance with respect to responding to the objection, rejection, or other requirement for the incorporation to be effective. In no case may the correction be made later than the close of prosecution as defined in 37 CFR 1.114(b), or abandonment of the application, whichever occurs earlier. Any correction inserting material by amendment that was previously incorporated by reference must be accompanied by a statement that the material being inserted is the material incorporated by reference and the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(f).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “optionally one or more new wells”. As the new well(s) are further limited in one or more dependent claims, to improve clarity, deletion of the phrase “optionally” is recommended.
Claim 1 appears to recite “one or more non-producing oil wells” and “a non-producing well” interchangeably. Consistency in terminology and the number of required non-producing oil wells is required to improve clarity.
Claim 1 appears to recite “one or more producing oil wells” and “said producing oil wells” interchangeably. Consistency in terminology and the number of required producing oil wells is required to improve clarity.
Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-17 are also objected to for being dependent on Claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “said electrolyzer fluidly connected to a compressor for producing compressed hydrogen; said compressor fluidly connected to a high-pressure injection line for injecting said compressed hydrogen into said HSW”. As several features recited in this limitation are previously set forth in parent Claim 1, to improve clarity, replacement of this limitation with language such as “said electrolyzer fluidly connected to the compressor for producing the compressed hydrogen; said compressor fluidly connected to the high-pressure injection line for injecting said compressed hydrogen into said HSW” is recommended. Appropriate correction is required (see related 35 USC 112 rejection(s) below and correct appropriately). Claims 3 & 11-16 are also objected to for being dependent on Claim 2.
Claim 3 appears to have a typographical/grammatical error in reciting “said wind farm or a solar farm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites “hydrogen/methane” in one or more instances. It appears the intent is to claim both hydrogen and methane. To improve clarity, replacement of this limitation with “hydrogen-methane” is recommended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites “wherein said hydrogen-to-power unit is one or more fuel cells”. To improve clarity, replacement of this limitation with “wherein said hydrogen-to-power unit is said one or more fuel cells” is recommended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites “wherein said hydrogen-to-power unit is a hydrogen steam generator”. To improve clarity, replacement of this limitation with “wherein said hydrogen-to-power unit is said hydrogen steam generator” is recommended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7 & 14 each appear to recite “one or more producing oil wells” (in parent Claim 1) and “said producing oil wells” interchangeably, in one or more instances. Consistency in terminology and the number of required producing oil wells is required to improve clarity.
Claim 7 appears to recite “one or more new wells” and “said new oil wells” interchangeably. Consistency in terminology and the number of required new wells is required to improve clarity. Also, Claim 1 recites the one or more new wells as optional, where deletion of “optionally” is recommended as set forth above.
Claim 14 recites “an unused pipeline from said one or more new wells before use in production from said producing oil wells” (emphasis added). It appears that the intent is to claim production from the one or more new wells. Also, Claim 1 recites the one or more new wells as optional, where deletion of “optionally” is recommended as set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a high-pressure injection line”, where the term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “high” renders the scope of the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to the pressure required to be considered “high”. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required. Claims 2-17 are also rejected for being dependent on Claim 1. The claims have been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilak et al. (US 2025/0320963), in view of Dahlem et al. (US 2004/0136784), further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2024/0158226).
With respect to Claim 1, Bilak discloses a clean energy system (Bilak: Section [0002]), said system comprising: one or more non-producing oil wells, and optionally one or more new wells (Bilak: Sections [0005]-[0012], [0028] & [0029]); a hydrogen (H2) source fluidly connected to a compressor for producing compressed hydrogen; said compressor fluidly connected to a high-pressure injection line for injecting said compressed hydrogen into a hydrogen storage well (HSW), said HSW being a vertical portion of a non-producing well that has been plugged at a top of a reservoir play and re-fitted for hydrogen storage; said HSW fluidly connected to a pressure reducing component (as a non-limiting example: an expander) for producing uncompressed hydrogen; said pressure reducing component fluidly connected for delivering said uncompressed hydrogen to a hydrogen-to-power unit for converting said uncompressed hydrogen to clean electricity (Bilak: Sections [0003]-[0012], [0022], [0023] & [0026]-[0036]; Figures); wherein Bilak discloses employing clean power to produce hydrogen and generate electricity as instantly claimed and described and, as such, the system of Bilak is considered a “clean energy system” for “clean electricity” as respectively claimed. To the extent there is any difference between these features as disclosed by Bilak and these features as instantly claimed, the difference is considered minor and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Bilak further teaches one or more embodiments where the hydrogen storage units, such as the wells, are fluidly connected to pipelines for transportation of hydrogen (Bilak: Section [0052]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the pressure reducing component fluidly connected “to a pipeline” for delivering said uncompressed hydrogen to a hydrogen-to-power unit as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the above system to fluidly connect the pressure reducing component to a pipeline for delivery as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to transport the hydrogen as desired and/or to yield predictable results in hydrogen transportation.
Bilak further teaches wherein the wells are reconditioned and configured for the pressure requirements of hydrogen storage (Bilak: Sections [0026]-[0036]). The reference, however, fails to explicitly disclose the system “for producing oil and gas” and comprising “one or more producing oil wells”, a non-producing well “refitted for pressure monitoring”, “a pressure reducing regulator” and “said clean electricity electrically connected to oil production equipment for producing hydrocarbons from said producing oil wells” as instantly claimed.
Dahlem teaches systems for gas storage, including hydrogen, and energy generation therein, wherein one or more oil wells are employed for gas storage, including producing oil wells, alone or in combination with one or more new and/or non-producing oil wells, in order to reduce cost and increase operating efficiencies (Dahlem: Sections [0001], [0007], [0022] & [0023]); and wherein the system employs compressors and expanders for the gas, with the wells comprising facilities such as pressure reducing regulators for safe and environmentally acceptable operations (Dahlem: Sections [0020], [0039] & [0040]). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bilak with the aforementioned teachings of Dahlem to employ one or more producing oil wells, with desired wells refitted for pressure monitoring and connected to a pressure reducing regulator as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce cost, increase operational efficiencies and/or provide safe and environmentally acceptable operations. (Dahlem: Sections [0001], [0007], [0020], [0022], [0023], [0039] & [0040]).
The combined references, however, fail to explicitly disclose the system “for producing oil and gas” and “said clean electricity electrically connected to oil production equipment for producing hydrocarbons from said producing oil wells” as instantly claimed.
Nguyen teaches systems of generating hydrogen to power oilfield equipment at a wellsite therein, wherein electricity produced from stored hydrogen is utilized in oilfield equipment, including equipment used in oil production, as a simple and low cost alternative to other fuels (Nguyen: Sections [0001], [0011], [0012] & [0030]). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined references of Bilak and Dahlem with the aforementioned teachings of Nguyen to employ the system for producing oil and gas and connect the electricity to oil production equipment for producing hydrocarbons from said producing oil wells as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, as a simple and low cost alternative to other fuels. (Nguyen: Sections [0001], [0011], [0012] & [0030]).
With respect to Claim 2, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 1. Bilak further discloses “…an electricity source electrically connected to an electrolyzer for converting water to hydrogen; said electrolyzer fluidly connected to a compressor for producing compressed hydrogen; said compressor fluidly connected to a high-pressure injection line for injecting said compressed hydrogen into said HSW (Bilak: Sections [0022], [0023] & [0026]-[0036]).
With respect to Claim 3, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 2. Bilak further discloses a wind source or a solar source, or both, for generating electricity; said wind source or solar source, or both, electrically connected to said electrolyzer (Bilak: Section [0022]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the wind and solar source as a wind “farm” and a solar “farm” as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality/group of wind and/or solar sources, i.e., a farm, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide energy.
With respect to Claim 4, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 1. Bilak further discloses wherein said hydrogen-to-power unit is selected from the group as instantly claimed (Bilak: Section [0065]).
With respect to Claim 5, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 1. Bilak further teaches one or more embodiments employing hydrogen in one or more fuel cells (Bilak: Section [0089]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose this feature in combination with the above system, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to deliver the hydrogen to one or more fuel cells, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to yield predictable results in utilizing the hydrogen.
With respect to Claims 7 & 14, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claims 1 & 2, respectively. It would appear that the pipeline as disclosed by Bilak (Bilak: Section [0052]) would be one or more as instantly claimed. To the extent there is any difference between this feature as disclosed by Bilak and this feature as instantly claimed, the difference is considered minor and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to Claims 8 & 15, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claims 1 & 2, respectively. Nguyen further teaches wherein the electricity is used as respectively claimed (Nguyen: Sections [0001], [0011], [0012] & [0030]).
With respect to Claim 10, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 1. Bilak further discloses wherein said compressed hydrogen is at a pressure range that encompasses the range as instantly claimed, and further teaches wherein said uncompressed hydrogen is at pressure based on the predetermined ratio for hydrogen output (Bilak: Sections [0042] & [0067]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly limit the pressure to the ranges as respectively claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a desired pressure, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, insofar as because it has been held. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, based on the actual conditions encountered in operations, one of ordinary skill would recognize the optimal pressure to employ therein in order to obtain the desired result.
It is also noted that, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized need in the art for producing, storing and using hydrogen therein, and a finite number of identified, predictable solutions including employing pressures as set forth above. As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on the combined teachings of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen, one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued a desired pressure, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
With respect to Claim 11, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 2. Bilak further discloses “…wherein said electricity source is wind power or solar power or both” (Bilak: Section [0022]).
With respect to Claim 12, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 2. Bilak further discloses “…wherein said electricity source is wind power or solar power or both” (Bilak: Section [0022]). Although the reference fails to explicitly disclose wherein “said electricity source is within 10 miles of said oil production equipment”, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a wind and/or solar power within a desired distance, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide electricity.
Further, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized need in the art for producing, storing and using hydrogen therein, and a finite number of identified, predictable solutions including the use of renewable energy sources such as wind and/or solar power. As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on the combined teachings of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen, one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued a source at an available/desired distance, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Claims 6, 9, 13 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilak et al. (US 2025/0320963), in view of Dahlem et al. (US 2004/0136784), further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2024/0158226), further in view of Blaies et al. (US 2024/0279563).
With respect to Claim 6, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 1. The combined references, however, fail to disclose “…wherein said hydrogen-to-power unit is a hydrogen steam generator and at least a portion of steam produced by said hydrogen steam generator is fed into an electrolyzer or said electrolyzer for conversion to said hydrogen and O2” as instantly claimed.
Blaies teaches systems comprising hydrogen production therein, wherein produced hydrogen is employed as instantly claimed in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions (Blaies: Sections [0001]-[0004] & [0023]-[0027]). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen with the aforementioned teachings of Blaies to employ a hydrogen-to-power unit as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. (Blaies: Sections [0001]-[0004] & [0023]-[0027]).
With respect to Claims 9 & 16, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claims 1 & 2, respectively. The combined references, however, fail to disclose “…wherein said hydrogen-to-power unit is a hydrogen steam generator and said clean electricity is used for steam generation”, as respectively claimed.
Blaies teaches systems comprising hydrogen production therein, wherein produced hydrogen is employed as instantly claimed in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions (Blaies: Sections [0001]-[0004] & [0023]-[0027]). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen with the aforementioned teachings of Blaies to employ a hydrogen-to-power unit as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. (Blaies: Sections [0001]-[0004] & [0023]-[0027]).
With respect to Claim 13, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 2. The combined references, however, fail to disclose wherein said electrolyzer is selected from the group as instantly claimed.
Blaies teaches systems comprising hydrogen production therein, wherein the systems reduce greenhouse gas emissions and employ one or more electrolyzers selected from the group as instantly claimed (Blaies: Sections [0001]-[0004] & [0079]). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen with the aforementioned teachings of Blaies to employ an electrolyzer selected as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. (Blaies: Sections [0001]-[0004] & [0079]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilak et al. (US 2025/0320963), in view of Dahlem et al. (US 2004/0136784), further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2024/0158226), further in view of Brutoco et al. (US 2023/0272883).
With respect to Claim 17, the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen teach the system as provided above with respect to Claim 1. The combined references, however, fail to disclose “…wherein said pipeline is a fiber reinforced polymer (FRP) pipeline” as instantly claimed.
Brutoco teaches systems for hydrogen transport and distribution therein, wherein it is taught to be known in the art to employ an FRP pipeline to transport hydrogen to overcome technical concerns, control leaks and/or improve cost, reliability and/or durability (Brutoco: Sections [0002], [0003], [0011] & [0012]). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined references of Bilak, Dahlem and Nguyen with the aforementioned teachings of Brutoco to employ a pipeline as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to overcome technical concerns, control leaks and/or improve cost, reliability and/or durability. (Brutoco: Sections [0002], [0003], [0011] & [0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vinegar et al. (US 2022/0251935) discloses methods and systems for hydrogen storage in oil wells combined with energy production.
Al-Qasim et al. (US 2023/0257202) discloses methods and systems for hydrogen storage in oil wells combined with energy production.
/ANURADHA AHUJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674