DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses a control system (see at least Figure 4 | [0005] note braking system), comprising:
a first controller connected to a sensor (see at least Figure 4, items 110, 10 and 20 | [0054]); and
a second controller connected to the sensor (see at least Figure 4, items 120, 10 and 20 | [0054]),
the sensor comprises a first sensing module and a second sensing module (see at least Figure 4, items 10 and 20 | [0054]),
the second controller comprising a sampling circuit comprising a first channel and a second channel (see at least Figure 6, item 606 | [0064-0065]),
the first channel being connected to the first sensing module, and the second channel being connected to the second sensing module (see at least Figure 2B, item 124 | Figure 4, items 120, 10 and 20 | [0024]); and
wherein the second controller is configured to:
obtain, through the first channel, a first signal detected by the first sensing module (see at least Figure 4, items 120 and 10),
obtain, through the second channel, a second signal detected by the second sensing module (see at least Figure 4, items 120 and 20), and
determine second opening information of a pedal based on the first signal and the second signal (see at least Figure 2B, item 123 | Figure 3, see all normal | [0025-0028] note determining the stroke of the pedal | [0054-0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Moon discloses wherein the second controller is further configured to send, to an actuator, a second control signal obtained based on the second opening information (see at least Figure 5, note MBC Failure).
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses wherein the first controller is configured to: obtain the first signal detected by the first sensing module and the second signal detected by the second sensing module, determine first opening information of the pedal based on the first signal and the second signal, and send, to an actuator a first control signal obtained based on the first opening information (see at least Figure 4, item 110 | Figure 5, note ALL Normal | [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Moon discloses a controller (see at least Figure 4, items 110 or 120), comprising:
a sampling circuit (see at least Figure 6, item 606 | [0064-0065]) comprising:
a first channel connected to a first sensing module of a sensor (see at least Figure 4, item 10 and 110 or 120); and
a second channel connected to a second sensing module of the sensor (see at least Figure 4, item 20 and 110 or 120); and
wherein the controller is configured to:
obtain, through the first channel, a first signal detected by the first sensing module (see at least Figure 4, item 10 and 110 or 120);
obtain, through the second channel, a second signal detected by the second sensing module (see at least Figure 4, item 20 and 110 or 120); and
determine, based on the first signal and the second signal, second opening information of a pedal that is detected by the sensor (see at least Figure 5, see all normal | [0025-0028] note determining the stroke of the pedal | [0054-0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Moon discloses wherein the controller is further configured to send, to an actuator, a second control signal obtained based on the second opening information (see at least Figure 5, note MBC/RBC Failure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Grossman discloses a control system (see at least Figures 1-2 | [0027] note accelerator pedal), comprising a third controller (see at least Figures 1-2, item 6a | [0020] note control unit 6a) and a fourth controller (see at least Figures 1-2, item 6b | [0020] note control unit 6b), wherein the third controller is connected to a sensor (see at least Figures 1-2, items 6a and 4), the fourth controller is connected to the sensor (see at least Figures 1-2, items 6b and 4), and the third controller, the fourth controller, and the sensor are connected together and then grounded (see at least Figures 1-2, items 6a, 6b, 4 and ground).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1) in view of Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Moon does not specifically disclose wherein the first channel comprises a first analog-to-digital converter (ADC), and the second channel comprises a second ADC.
It is known to convert analog signals. For example, Grossman teaches a system wherein a third channel comprises a first analog-to-digital converter (ADC), and the second channel comprises a second ADC, wherein the second ADC comprises a first and/or a third channel that can be used to monitor Moon’s first sensing module (see at least Figure 1, items 6a, 6b and 14a | [0020] | [0027]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Grossman into Moon. This provides the ability to work with digital signals at Moon’s first and second channels, thus reducing degradation, noise and distortion.
Regarding claim 15, Moon in view of Grossman teach wherein the first channel comprises a first analog-to-digital converter (ADC), and the second channel comprises a second ADC (see at least Figure 1, items 6a, 6b and 14a | [0020] | [0027]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1) in view of Ohnishi (WO-2018055802-A1).
Regarding claim 19, Grossman does not specifically disclose wherein the control system further comprises a first combiner module and a second combiner module, the third controller comprises a third power supply, the fourth controller comprises a fourth power supply, and the sensor comprises a first sensing module and a second sensing module; the first combiner module is configured to control the third power supply or the fourth power supply to supply power to the first sensing module; and the second combiner module is configured to control the third power supply or the fourth power supply to supply power to the second sensing module.
It is known to power a system in different ways. For example, Ohnishi teaches a system wherein the control system further comprises a first combiner module and a second combiner module (see at least Figure 10, items 42 and 43 | see at least the 7th and 8th paragraphs on page 6), the third controller comprises a third power supply (see at least the 7th and 8th paragraphs on page 6, note battery (not shown) mounted on the vehicle), the fourth controller comprises a fourth power supply (see at least the 8th paragraph on page 6, note the battery or the like, that is, something other than the battery can be used), and the sensor comprises a first sensing module and a second sensing module (see at least Figure 10, items 13, Sensor-M and Sensor-S); the first combiner module is configured to control the third power supply or the fourth power supply to supply power to the first sensing module (see at least Figure 10, items 42 and Sensor-M); and the second combiner module is configured to control the third power supply or the fourth power supply to supply power to the second sensing module (see at least Figure 10, items 43 and Sensor-S).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ohnishi into Grossman. This provides redundancy in both sensing and powering the sensing system, thus improving safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 5, Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1), Ohnishi (WO-2018055802-A1), Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1) and Li (CN 111717184 A) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest wherein the first ADC comprises: a positive input end connected to a first signal output end of the first sensing module; and a negative input end connected to a first ground end of the first sensing module; and wherein the second ADC comprises a positive input end connected to a second signal output end of the second sensing module; and a negative input end connected to a second ground end of the second sensing module.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 6, Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1), Ohnishi (WO-2018055802-A1), Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1) and Li (CN 111717184 A) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest wherein the second controller further comprises: a first follower, the first ADC being connected to the first sensing module through the first follower; and a second follower, the second ADC being connected to the second sensing module through the second follower.
Claims 7 and 8 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 9, Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1), Ohnishi (WO-2018055802-A1), Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1) and Li (CN 111717184 A) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest wherein the control system further comprises a first combiner module and a second combiner module, the first controller comprises a first power supply, and the second controller comprises a second power supply; the first combiner module is configured to control the first power supply or the second power supply to supply power to the first sensing module; and the second combiner module is configured to control the first power supply or the second power supply to supply power to the second sensing module.
Claims 10-12 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 16, Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1), Ohnishi (WO-2018055802-A1), Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1) and Li (CN 111717184 A) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest wherein the first ADC comprises: a positive input end connected to a first signal output end of the first sensing module; and a negative input end connected to a first ground end of the first sensing module, and: wherein the second ADC comprises a positive input end connected to a second signal output end of the second sensing module; and a negative input end connected to a second ground end of the second sensing module.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 17, Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1), Ohnishi (WO-2018055802-A1), Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1) and Li (CN 111717184 A) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest wherein the controller further comprises: a first follower, the first ADC is connected to the first sensing module through the first follower; and a second follower, the second ADC is connected to the second sensing module through the second follower.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 20, Grossmann (US 2015/0253152 A1), Ohnishi (WO-2018055802-A1), Moon (US 2023/0192048 A1) and Li (CN 111717184 A) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest wherein the first combiner module comprises a first switch and a second switch, a first end of the first switch is connected to the third power supply, a second end of the first switch is connected to a power supply end of the first sensing module, a first end of the second switch is connected to the fourth power supply, and a second end of the second switch is connected to the power supply end of the first sensing module; and/or the second combiner module comprises a third switch and a fourth switch, a first end of the third switch is connected to the third power supply, a second end of the third switch is connected to a power supply end of the second sensing module, a first end of the fourth switch is connected to the fourth power supply, and a second end of the fourth switch is connected to the power supply end of the second sensing module.
Conclusion
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689