DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed 2-2-26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection(s).
Applicant further argues that Kohen 254 does not teach one or more mounting ports included in the one or more fixtures wherein each of the one or more mounting ports is configured for receiving and being releasably coupled with any of the sensor modules. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kohen, Figs. 12-28 and pages 12-13 clearly discloses that the sensor board on the fixture is provided with connector 612 which can be a USB C connector such that can be connected through the aperture 616 within container 626 to enable the connected to be formed within the housing 620 as well as released/disconnected.
For the reasons stated above and detailed below, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-8, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen, CA 3055254 in view of Henninger et al., US 2013/0147963.
Regarding claim 1, Kohen teaches of a modular sensor system configured for providing a sensor unit that is contextualized for an installation scenario (See Kohen, Figs. 12-37 and pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of a sensor system for installation), the modular sensor system comprising:
one or more sensor modules (See Figs. 12-37; 10-11 which discloses the multiple types of sensors);
a mounting base, wherein each mounting base is configured for being mounted to a mounting location (See Figs. 12-37 and pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of at least the top portion of the hub 700 with mounting screws 640 for mounting to a surface; the top cover being a mounting base; Furthermore, Figs.1-4 discloses of elements 22 and 24 which discloses of a mounting base for the socket connections to be connected, the base of at least element 24 also being capable of being construed as the mounting base); and
one or more fixtures, wherein each of the one or more fixtures includes one or more mounting ports (See Figs. 22-28; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of the hub/fixture, wherein the hub comprises of mounting ports for the modules 626 is wherein the notches/apertures are construed to be that of mounting ports), wherein each of the one or more fixtures is configured for being releasably coupled to any mounting base using a first universal connection mechanism (See Figs. 1-4; 22-28; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of the fixture/hub being able to be released or decoupled from the top cover/base or the entire hub/cover being able to be disconnected from the mating socket 24), and wherein each of the one or more mounting ports is configured for receiving and being releasably coupled with any of the sensor modules included in the one or more sensor modules using a second universal connection mechanism (See Figs. 1-4; 22-28; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of the fixture/hub receiving/attaching sensor and being releasably coupled to the modules 626 where they can coupled/decoupled to the mounting base of the hub 700 assembly using at least notches/magnets/screws/snaps etc. and or connection types of usb/c-type connections to the sensors).
Kohen further teaches of socket and junction box being able to accommodate multiple types of devices (See Page 9 lines 13-20). However, Kohen is silent with respect to actually having a plurality of mounting bases.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Henninger teaches of having a plurality of mounting bases (See Fig.9; [0061]-[0064] which discloses of multiple mounting modules of at least elements 222 and 322 for compatible attachment of the body and housing modules).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kohen to have incorporated the teachings of Henninger for the mere benefit of being able to multiple compatible bases such that different types and/or a plural amount of the same devices may be connected quickly.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches of the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a network hub including a power interface, wherein the power interface is configured to provide power from a power source to the one or more sensor modules when releasably coupled to any of the one or more fixtures (See Kohen, Fig.34 and Page 15 power source within the hub for powering the sensor modules which are attached to the sensor/sensor modules).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 2, wherein the network hub includes a network interface, and wherein the network interface is configured to provide communication between the one or more sensor modules and a network when releasably coupled to any of the one or more fixtures (See Kohen, Pages 12-13 providing communication through a communication circuit to the central board of the hub).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 3, wherein the power interface and the network interface include uniform data I/O and power sockets and connectors (See Kohen, Fig.34 and Page 15 power source with connectors/sockets).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 3, wherein the network hub is releasably coupled to any of the plurality of mounting bases (See Kohen, see analysis of claim 1, wherein the hub is releasable from the mounting base; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first universal connection mechanism comprises a first interlocking feature associated with any of the plurality of mounting bases, and a second interlocking feature associated with any of the one or more fixtures, wherein the first interlocking feature is configured to releasably engage the second interlocking feature (See Kohen, Figs. 1-5; analysis of claim 1; page 7 which discloses of incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 and the attaching of the mounting base and fixture using interlocking features at least first and second interlocking features for mounting and connection; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 6, wherein one of the first interlocking feature or the second interlocking feature includes a protrusion, wherein the other of the first interlocking feature or the second interlocking feature includes a groove, and wherein the protrusion is configured for being twistably inserted into the groove to releasably couple any of the one or more fixtures to any of the plurality of mounting bases (See Kohen, Figs.1-5; pages 7-8 spindle assembly for connection; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170, [0071] and figs.11-12 threaded spindle assembly; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the second universal connection mechanism comprises a first interlocking feature associated with each mounting port in any of the one or more fixtures, and a second interlocking feature associated with each of the one or more sensor modules, and the first interlocking feature is configured to releasably engage the second interlocking feature (See Kohen, analysis of claim 1; Figs.16-32; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of the fixture/hub being releasably coupled to the modules 626 where they can coupled/decoupled to the mounting base of the hub 700 assembly using at least notches/magnets/screws/snaps etc. and or connection types of usb/c-type connections to the sensors).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first universal connection mechanism and the second universal connection mechanism are the same (See Kohen, page 7 which discloses of incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 which at [0130] and Figs. 31-38-40 discloses of the ethernet or usb connection as a wire connection within plug 222 and socket 224; Kohen, Figs.16-32; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses the sensors being connected to the hub via ethernet, usb or c-type connections).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, wherein each of the one or more sensor modules comprises a processor and a memory (See Kohen, Pages 10-11 wherein security cameras would have a processor and memory).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the one or more sensor modules comprises at least one of:
a camera; a microphone; a speaker; an environmental sensor; a thermal sensor: a radar device; a lidar device; or an internet-of-things (loT) device (See Kohen, Pages 10-11 cameras and microphones).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, wherein the mounting location is at least one of an interior surface of a ceiling, an electrical box mounting in the ceiling, an exterior surface of the ceiling, a recess within the ceiling, an interior surface of a wall, an exterior surface of the wall, or a corner defined by two adjacent walls (See Kohen, Fig.13 surface of ceiling).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 1, the one or more fixtures is a plurality of fixtures, and the one or more sensor modules is a plurality of sensor modules (See Kohen, analysis of claim 1; Figs. 1-34; which discloses of a plurality of mounting bases of at the top cover of the hub and element 24 of the ceiling mount, a plurality of fixtures of the hub and the sensor module covers; and a plurality of different sensors).
Regarding claim 15, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 2. Moreover, Pages 11-12 discloses of installation of the assembly of the system of claims 1 and 2. Further, the disclosed incorporated by reference PCT/US2016/032170 teaches of installation and removal of the fixtures, thereby reading on at least a selected mounting base for mounting and installation to occur and of inserting the selected sensor modules into the mounting ports of the selected fixture (See Kohen, analysis of claim 1; [0067], [0095], [0100]-[0101], and [0105], [0106]).
4. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen, CA 3055254 in view of Henninger et al., US 2013/0147963, and in view of Kohen, US 2018/0115131 (herein after Kohen ‘131).
Regarding claim 9, Kohen in view of Henninger teaches the modular sensor system in accordance with claim 8, wherein one of the first interlocking feature or the second interlocking feature includes a protrusion, wherein the other of the first interlocking feature or the second interlocking feature includes a groove, and wherein the protrusion is configured for being inserted into the groove to releasably couple any of the one or more sensor modules to any of the mounting ports on the one or more fixtures (See analysis of claim 7; See Kohen, Figs.1-5, 22-32; pages 7-8 connection for sensor/sensor modules for attachment to the hub of at least a snap connection having grooves and protrusions as well as indicating that any connection by any means known can be performed).
Kohen is silent with respect to connection being twistably inserted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kohen ‘131 teaches of the connection being twistably inserted (See Figs.7-12, [0071] and [0112]-[0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kohen and Henninger to have incorporated the teachings of Kohen ‘131 for the mere benefit of compatibility without different types of devices and/or sensors.
5. Claim 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohen, CA 3055254 in view of Henninger et al., US 2013/0147963, and in view of Read et al., US 2018/0142867.
Regarding claim 16, Kohen in view of Henninger teaches the method in accordance with claim 15, wherein after step g) the method further comprises the steps of:
uncoupling the selected sensor modules from the one or more mounting ports of the selected fixture and electrically disconnecting the selected sensor modules from the network hub (See Kohen, Figs. 15, 19, and 30; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of being able to remove and decouple the sensor modules form the hub; Figs. 15-32 illustrates the removal of the different components; Page 1 uninstalling; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 Figs.1-10 and 28-34 removal and uninstalling of the different components; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]);
As disclosed above, Kohen teaches of step f but is silent with respect to the returning to step f.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Read teaches of reinstalling the components (See [0002] reinstalling after disassembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kohen and Henninger and the teachings of selecting and installing to have incorporated the teachings of Read for the mere benefit of being able to relocate and reinstall the assembly at a different location.
Regarding claim 17, Kohen in view of Henninger teaches the method in accordance with claim 15, wherein after step g) the method further comprises the steps of:
uncoupling the selected sensor modules from the one or more mounting ports of the selected fixture and electrically disconnecting the selected sensor modules from the network hub (See Kohen, Figs. 15, 19, and 30; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of being able to remove and decouple the sensor modules form the hub; Figs. 15-32 illustrates the removal of the different components; Page 1 uninstalling; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 Figs.1-10 and 28-34 removal and uninstalling of the different components; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]);
uncoupling the selected fixture from the mounting base (See Kohen, Figs. 15, 19, and 30; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of being able to remove and decouple the sensor modules form the hub; Figs. 15-32 illustrates the removal of the different components; Page 1 uninstalling; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 Figs.1-10 and 28-34 removal and uninstalling of the different components; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]);
As disclosed above, Kohen in view of Henninger teaches of step d but is silent with respect to the returning to step d.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Read teaches of reinstalling the components (See [0002] reinstalling after disassembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kohen and Henninger and the teachings of selecting and installing to have incorporated the teachings of Read for the mere benefit of being able to relocate and reinstall the assembly at a different location.
Regarding claim 18, Kohen in view of Henninger teaches the method in accordance with claim 15, wherein after step g) the method further comprises the steps of:
uncoupling the selected sensor modules from the one or more mounting ports of the selected fixture and electrically disconnecting the selected sensor modules from the network hub (See Kohen, Figs. 15, 19, and 30; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of being able to remove and decouple the sensor modules form the hub; Figs. 15-32 illustrates the removal of the different components; Page 1 uninstalling; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 Figs.1-10 and 28-34 removal and uninstalling of the different components; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]);
uncoupling the selected fixture from the selected mounting base (See Kohen, Figs. 15, 19, and 30; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of being able to remove and decouple the hub and/or top cover; Figs. 15-32 illustrates the removal of the different components; Page 1 uninstalling; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 Figs.1-10 and 28-34 removal and uninstalling of the different components; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]);
uncoupling the network hub from the selected mounting base (See Kohen, Figs. 15, 19, and 30; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of being able to remove and decouple the sensor modules form the hub as well as removing hub from the base/top cover and/or socket plate connecting to surface; Figs. 15-32 illustrates the removal of the different components; Page 1 uninstalling; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 Figs.1-10 and 28-34 removal and uninstalling of the different components; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]);
unsecuring the selected mounting base from the mounting location (See Kohen, Figs.15-32; Pages 6-7; pages 10-13 and Page 15 which discloses of disconnecting the base/top cover and/or connection from ceiling; incorporated reference PCT/US2016/032170 Figs.1-10 and 28-34 removal and uninstalling of the different components; Henninger, [0061]-[0064]);
As disclosed above, Kohen in view of Henninger teaches of step a but is silent with respect to the returning to step a.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Read teaches of reinstalling the components (See [0002] reinstalling after disassembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kohen and Hennginer and the teachings of selecting and installing to have incorporated the teachings of Read for the mere benefit of being able to relocate and reinstall the assembly at a different location.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/Ricky Chin/
Primary Examiner
AU 2424
(571) 270-3753
Ricky.Chin@uspto.gov