DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4 and 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,202. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claimed limitations of claims 1-7 of the instant application are encompassed by claims 1, 3-4 and 6-9 of the patent as follow:
Instant application (claim 1)
U.S 12,295,202 (claim 1)
A foldable optical film with a front surface and a back surface opposite to the front surface, comprising:
A foldable optical film with a front surface and a back surface opposite to the front surface, comprising:
a light-transmitting base material, a hard coat layer, and a resin layer,
a light-transmitting base material, a hard coat layer, a resin layer, and a decorative layer,
wherein the light-transmitting base material is a base material containing a polyimide resin, a polyamide resin, or a combination thereof;
wherein the light-transmitting base material is a base material containing a polyimide resin, a polyamide resin, or a combination thereof;
the hard coat layer is located closer to the front surface than the resin layer in the
optical film;
the hard coat layer is located closer to the front surface than the resin layer and the decorative layer in the optical film;
the resin layer has a film thickness of 30 µm or more and 500 µm or less; and
the resin layer has a film thickness of 30 µm or more and 500 µm or less; and
the resin layer has a Martens hardness of 1 MPa or more and 100 MPa or less.
the resin layer has a Martens hardness of 1 MPa or more and 100 MPa or less.
Regarding claim 2, see claim 3 of the patent.
Regarding claim 3, see claim 4 of the patent.
Regarding claim 4, see claim 6 of the patent.
Regarding claim 5, see claim 7 of the patent.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 8 of the patent.
Regarding claim 7, see claim 9 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US 2020/0386917) .
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto discloses a foldable optical film (10, fig. 1, para. 0023, 0025) with a front surface (10A) and a back surface opposite to the front surface (10B), comprising:
a light-transmitting base material (11, paras. 0024 and 0053), a hard coat layer (12, para. 0024), and a resin layer (13, para. 0024),
wherein the light-transmitting base material (11) is a base material containing a polyimide resin, a polyamide resin, or a combination thereof (para. 0054);
the hard coat layer (12) is located closer to the front surface (10A) than the resin layer (13) in the optical film (10) (para. 0024);
the resin layer (13) has a film thickness of 30 µm or more and 500 µm or less (such as 50 µm or more and 300 µm or less, para. 0139); and
the resin layer (13) has a Martens hardness of 1 MPa or more and 100 MPa or less (the back surface 40B of the optical film 40 corresponds to the surface 13A of the resin layer 13 inclusive 3 MPa or more and 150 MPa or less, paras. 0152 and 0154-0155).
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto discloses the hard coat layer (12), the light-transmitting base material (11), and the resin layer (13) arranged in this order from the front surface (10A) to the back surface (10B) in the optical film (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto discloses the hard coat layer (12), the resin layer (11), and the light-transmitting base material (13, para. 0138) arranged in this order from the front surface to the back surface in the optical film.
Regarding claim 4, Hashimoto discloses the resin layer has a film thickness of
50 µm or more and 500 µm or less (para. 0139).
Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto discloses no crack or break is formed in the optical film when the optical film is folded in a manner that leaves a gap of 30 mm between the opposite edges, and then unfolded, and the process is repeated one hundred thousand times (para. 0030).
Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto discloses an image display device (50, fig. 6, para. 0173), comprising:
a display panel (53); and the optical film (10) placed on the observer's side of the display panel,
wherein the front surface (10A) of the optical film is closer to the observer's side than the back surface of the optical film (para. 0173).
Regarding claim 6, Hashimoto discloses the display panel is an organic light-emitting diode panel (para. 0175).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ogasawara et al. (US 2020/0144553 A1) disclose display device comprises the substrate includes a hard coat layer and a resin film. In the optical laminate, the hard coat layer may be arranged on the surface of the resin film on the opposite side to the polarizer (para. 0054).
Nodono et al. (US 2018/0370207 A1) discloses a flexible device comprises resin film 10, the adhesiveness between the resin film 10 and the functional layer 20 having a function of surface hardness enhancement (hard coat layer), the functional layer 20 can have a high surface hardness (para. 0105).
/JENNIFER T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629