DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the trademark ANDROID [paragraph 0070], has been noted in this application. It should be capitalized wherever it appears and be accompanied by the generic terminology.
Although the use of trademarks is permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as trademarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seksenov et al., (US 20190163453 A1) hereinafter referred to as Seksenov.
Regarding Claim 10, Seksenov discloses A method for providing a progressive web application, comprising: acquiring, in response to a request sent by a browser, web application configuration information of a first website visited by the browser; [paragraph 0024, Starting with block 202, PWA web crawler component 112 can retrieve a web page that is part of its list of web pages “to visit” (i.e., its “crawl frontier”) as defined by the component's crawling policies. The specific nature of these crawling policies will vary depending on the web crawler's implementation]
determining preset field information, wherein the preset field information comprises at least one of: display mode information, an application packaging unique identifier, or target control state information; [paragraph 0027, On the other hand, if PWA web crawler component 112 determines at block 204 that both the web app manifest and service worker are present, component 112 can move on to determining whether the web app manifest is a new/unique manifest (i.e., a web app manifest that it has not encountered before), or an existing web app manifest that has been updated since the last version (block 206)]
generating, based on the web application configuration information and the preset field information, an application package of a progressive web application of the first website; and sending the application package to the browser. [paragraph 0033, component 114 can convert the PWA into a native application for the OS of application store 116 (block 312). As indicated previously, a “native application” for a given OS is an application that has been specifically developed and/or compiled to run on that OS. The details of this conversion process will vary depending on the target OS, but it can generally involve (1) translating the JSON-based web app manifest (and in some cases, the service worker code) into an appropriate structured data or binary format understood by the target OS, and (2) downloading data files (e.g., icon images, etc.) used by the PWA and including the data files into the converted native application package]
Regarding Claim 12, Seksenov discloses wherein determining the preset field information comprises: determining, based on a type of the progressive web application of the first website, the display mode information. [Table 00001 and Table 00002]
Regarding Claim 13, Seksenov discloses further comprising: specifying, in project code of the progressive web application, a package name of a target application, such that the progressive web application is capable of being associated with the target application when being run. [paragraph 0033, component 114 can convert the PWA into a native application for the OS of application store 116 (block 312). As indicated previously, a “native application” for a given OS is an application that has been specifically developed and/or compiled to run on that OS. The details of this conversion process will vary depending on the target OS, but it can generally involve (1) translating the JSON-based web app manifest (and in some cases, the service worker code) into an appropriate structured data or binary format understood by the target OS, and (2) downloading data files (e.g., icon images, etc.) used by the PWA and including the data files into the converted native application package]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 11, the closest prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor suggest in detail the limitations of the claim in view of other limitations of the intervening claims.
Thus the prior arts of record taking singly or in combination do not teach or suggest the above-stated limitations taking wholly in combination with all the elements of each independent claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 14-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, although the closest prior art of record (such as Seksenov et al., (US 20190163453 A1) and Huang (CN 116048617 B)) teaches A method for providing a progressive web application, comprising: determining whether a first website visited by a user through a browser supports the progressive web application; in accordance with a determination that the first website supports the progressive web application, sending a request to an application packaging service in response to a preset operation of the user.
However, none of the prior art, alone or in combination teaches such that the application packaging service generates, based on preset field information and web application configuration information of the first website, an application package of the progressive web application of the first website; acquiring the application package; and installing the progressive web application of the first website based on the application package in view of other limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J STEINLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497