DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-6,15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by “An Automated Canine Line-Up for Detection Dog Research” by Aviles-Rosa et al. (hereinafter Aviles-Rosa). Regarding claim 1, Aviles-Rosa teaches system for training detection dogs comprising (Abstract - automated computer-driven olfactory line-up task): a central computer (page 3-4; Fig. 1- olfactometers were controlled via a central computer (Figure 1)); a plurality of olfactometers operably connected to the central computer, each olfactometer comprising (Fig. 1; page 3-4 three separate olfactometers, each one with six odor channels, and a panel were produced. Each olfactometer was controlled by its own microcontroller, and each olfactometer independently controlled the odor presented to one of the three sampling ports. The olfactometers were controlled via a central computer (Figure 1) that interfaced with a microcontroller (Arduino Nano BLE SenseTM board) that controlled the olfactometer's valves): one or more sampling ports (Abstract; page 5 Each olfactometer generated an odor which was carried to an odor port where the dogs sample it); a plurality of odor channels in fluid communication with the one or more sampling ports (page 3 and 6 each one with six odor channels; At the bottom of each odor port was a 1/8 NPT to tube fitting by which the odorant was introduced to the sampling port (Supplementary Table: ref 13). At the top of each port was a 3/4 NPT fitting (Supplementary Table: ref 25) connected to a 3.8-cm PVC fitting. Inside the PVC fitting was a 40 x 40-mm fan (7 CFM), which served to exhaust the odorant (Supplementary Table: ref 23) at the end of each trial (Figure 2B)); an independent controller operably coupled to the plurality of odor channels (page 3 Each olfactometer was controlled by its own microcontroller, and each olfactometer independently controlled the odor presented to one of the three sampling ports); and one or more sensors connected to the one or more sampling ports (page 3 and 6- Infrared beam sensors were used to measure the nose hold duration); one or more covers disposed to cover and uncover one or more of the one or more sampling ports (page 4-5; Fig. 2 panel covering the olfactometer ports (Figure 2); Three ports and panel cover that moves up and down to cover the ports); a cover controller operably coupled to the cover (page 4-5 and 9 Three ports and panel cover that moves up and down to cover the ports; After a correct response in each trial, the panel goes down covering the ports, and the exhaust fans were activated for 15sec to clear the odorants from the ports before the initiation of the following trial; the microcontroller for the panel and feeder were operated by a central computer); and a feeder operably coupled to the cover controller (page 3 and 4 Infrared beam sensors were used to measure the nose hold duration, and a computer program recorded dog responses. A correct response resulted in the activation of a feeder to deliver a food reward.; the microcontroller for the panel and feeder were operated by a central computer). Regarding claim 2, Aviles-Rosa teaches the independent controller of the one or more sampling ports comprises a program to present an odor from one of the plurality of odor channels to the one or more sampling ports (page 3 Each olfactometer was controlled by its own microcontroller, and each olfactometer independently controlled the odor presented to one of the three sampling ports). Regarding claim 3, Aviles-Rosa teaches the one or more sensors of the one or more sampling ports is disposed to measure a nose hold of a dog at the one or more sampling ports (page 6 Infrared beam sensors (Supplementary Table: ref 24) were mounted to the T-slot channel on the outside entrance of each odor port to measure canine nose port entries and to record the duration of the nose hold to evaluate dogs' response). Regarding claim 4, Aviles-Rosa teaches the cover controller comprises a program to operate the one or more covers (page 4 and 10 This will trigger the IR beam and feeder. After a correct response in each trial, the panel goes down covering the ports, and the exhaust fans were activated for 15sec to clear the odorants from the ports before the initiation of the following trial; central computer also interfaced with a fourth microcontroller that was responsible for driving up and down a motor (100-mm Linear Rail Guide with NEMA17 stepper motor) that held a panel covering the olfactometer ports). Further, Aviles-Rosa teaches the cover controller comprises a program to operate the feeder when one or more specified conditions are met (page 3-4 this microcontroller interfaced with an automated feeder (PetTutorTM) via Bluetooth, which delivered the food treats; Infrared beam sensors were used to measure the nose hold duration, and a computer program recorded dog responses. A correct response resulted in the activation of a feeder to deliver a food reward.). Regarding claim 5, Aviles-Rosa teaches the one or more sensors are operably configured to determine when one or more specified conditions are met (page 13 By using IR beam sensors in front of each port, the apparatus had the capability to automatically measure and record the latency to search, the number of times a dog searched a port (port entries), the amount of time the dog sniffed each port (sniff time), a timeout, and dogs' response during each trial). Regarding claim 6, Aviles-Rosa teaches the central computer comprises a program to operate the system to train detection dogs to indicate detection of a specified odor from the plurality of odor channels (Abstract; page 9-10 - progressed through a series of training phases where they learned to detect and alert to double-base smokeless powder (SP); A nose hold criterion of 0.25 S was initially set, such that initial investigation of the correct port triggers a "beep" from the computer and activates the feeder delivering a food reward. Incorrect responses (i.e., a 0.25-s hold to an incorrect port) were scored as incorrect but did not have any programmed consequences. If a dog failed to trigger the IR sensor at the 0.25-s criterion for the correct port after 20 or more seconds, the handler placed a treat in the correct port, to prompt the dog to enter and hold their nose. This will trigger the IR beam and feeder. After a correct response in each trial, the panel goes down covering the ports). Regarding claims 15-20, Aviles-Rosa teaches a method of providing and using the system of claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aviles-Rosa. Regarding claim 8, Aviles-Rosa teaches kit for training detection dogs comprising (Abstract - automated computer-driven olfactory line- up task): a central computer (page 3-4; Fig. 1- olfactometers were controlled via a central computer (Figure 1)); a plurality of olfactometers configured to be operably connected to the central computer, each olfactometer comprising (Fig. 1; page 3-4 three separate olfactometers, each one with six odor channels, and a panel were produced. Each olfactometer was controlled by its own microcontroller, and each olfactometer independently controlled the odor presented to one of the three sampling ports. The olfactometers were controlled via a central computer (Figure 1) that interfaced with a microcontroller (Arduino Nano BLE SenseTM board) that controlled the olfactometer's valves): one or more sampling ports (Abstract; page 5 Each olfactometer generated an odor which was carried to an odor port where the dogs sample it); a plurality of odor channels configured to be in fluid communication with the one or more sampling ports (page 3 and 6 each one with six odor channels; At the bottom of each odor port was a 1/8 NPT to tube fitting by which the odorant was introduced to the sampling port (Supplementary Table: ref 13). At the top of each port was a 3/4 NPT fitting (Supplementary Table: ref 25) connected to a 3.8-cm PVC fitting. Inside the PVC fitting was a 40 x 40-mm fan (7 CFM), which served to exhaust the odorant (Supplementary Table: ref 23) at the end of each trial (Figure 2B)); an independent controller configured to be operably coupled to the plurality of odor channels (page 3 Each olfactometer was controlled by its own microcontroller, and each olfactometer independently controlled the odor presented to one of the three sampling ports); and one or more sensors configured to be connected to the one or more sampling ports (page 3 and 6- Infrared beam sensors were used to measure the nose hold duration); one or more covers disposed to cover and uncover one or more of the one or more sampling ports (page 4-5; Fig. 2 panel covering the olfactometer ports (Figure 2); Three ports and panel cover that moves up and down to cover the ports); a cover controller configured to be operably coupled to the one or more covers (page 4-5 and 9 Three ports and panel cover that moves up and down to cover the ports; After a correct response in each trial, the panel goes down covering the ports, and the exhaust fans were activated for 15sec to clear the odorants from the ports before the initiation of the following trial; the microcontroller for the panel and feeder were operated by a central computer); and a feeder configured to be operably coupled to the cover controller (page 3 and 4 Infrared beam sensors were used to measure the nose hold duration, and a computer program recorded dog responses. A correct response resulted in the activation of a feeder to deliver a food reward.; the microcontroller for the panel and feeder were operated by a central computer). Aviles-Rosa does not teach one or more tools to assemble the system. However, packaging system kits with tools to assemble the system was well known and commonplace in the prior art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the kit for training detection dogs taught by Aviles- Rosa with the tools to assemble the system since doing so would allow the customer to securely and professionally assemble the system without causing any damages using the proper/necessary tools. Regarding claims 9-13, Aviles-Rosa teaches these elements as recited in Paragraph 4 above.
Claim(s) 7,14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aviles-Rosa in view of US 2021/0176963 A1 (CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Aviles-Rosa do teach a system and method of using said system for training detection dogs, however they do not teach wherein each of the plurality of olfactometers is remotely controllable. However, CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC teaches a scent based training system for animals, comprising an olfactometer that is remotely controllable (para [0022]- systems and methods described herein enhance animal training by permitting the trainer to remain remote from the animal (or even in a different location not observable by the animal) while permitting the remote dispensing of a reward to the animal upon successful performance of a desired task or action. The systems and methods described herein remotely and positively rewards the animal once it has detected a specific target odor source and/or provided a specific behavioral response, at a random distance from the trainer,). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the training system taught by Aviles-Rosa with the remote control system taught by CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC since doing so would improve the efficiency of the training by reducing the influence of the trainer on the animal. Aviles-Rosa also does not teach each of the plurality of olfactometers is remotely controllable by long-range radio. However, CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC teaches a scent based training system for animals, comprising an olfactometer that is remotely controllable by long-range radio (para [0048]- one or more ZigBee receivers, one or more cellular receivers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the training system taught by Aviles-Rosa with the remote control system taught by CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC since doing so would improve the efficiency of the training by reducing the influence of the trainer on the animal. Lastly, CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC teaches a system for training detection dogs that is portable (para [0034]- the systems and methods disclosed herein are highly portable and facilitate animal training in a variety of staged and/or real world environments such as interior rooms, different flooring, area sizes, noises, activity, lighting and interior and exterior environments.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the training system taught by Aviles-Rosa with the remote control system taught by CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC since doing so would improve the efficiency of the training. As for claim 14, the above invention resulting from the combination of Aviles-Rosa and CANINE DETECTION SERVICES LLC, does not teach a kit wherein one or more tools were used to assemble the system. However, packaging system kits with tools to assemble the system was well known and commonplace in the prior art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the kit for training detection dogs taught by Aviles-Rosa with the tools to assemble the system since doing so would allow the customer to securely and professionally assemble the system without causing any damages using the proper/necessary tools.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art shows examples of animal olfactory systems and training methods.
/YVONNE R ABBOTT-LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644