DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the filing of 4/7/2025. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “drive system” of claim 1 and corresponding to two-axis gantry 104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “a gantry” in line 1 is vague and indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation is referring to a second gantry or the gantry recited in claim 12. In order to further prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted to be referring to a new gantry.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “a transfer frame” is vague and indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation is referring to a new frame or the adjacent frame recited in claim 12. In order to further prosecution, the limitation has been interpreted to be referring to the adjacent frame recited in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mozeika (US 2020/0108507 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mozeika discloses a system for handling items, the system comprising: a stem gripper (the assembly of 50 and 100 – Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (the housing of 250 – Fig. 3A) comprising at least one motor (the wrist motor, para. 0033); a pair of contoured fingers (306a, 306b – Fig. 3A) operable by the at least one motor to rotate about a common axis (para. 0033, first sentence) to grasp stems of items picked by the automated harvesting system (see note below); a controller (the assembly of 50 and 200 – Fig. 1) to operate the fingers (paras. 0023 and 0028-0029) to reposition grasped items along the stems is response to accepting an item from the automated harvesting system (in the embodiment of teleoperation mode, para. 0029); and a drive mechanism (the assembly of 115 and 150 – Fig. 1) to move the stem gripper towards a next stage in the system (see note below).
Note that the limitations “to grasp stems of items picked by the automated harvesting system,” “to reposition grasped items along the stems in response to accepting an item from the automated harvesting system,” and “to move the stem gripper towards a next stage in the system” are recitations of intended use. Since the grippers are capable of grasping an item, an operator can operate the grippers to grasp stems of items picked by an automated harvest system. Furthermore, since an operator can open and close the grippers, an operator can open and close the grippers to reposition a grasped item along the stem when the item is accepted from an automated harvesting system. Finally, since the drive mechanism is capable of moving the grippers anywhere, it is capable of moving the grippers towards a next stage in the system.
Mozeika further discloses:
Claim 2, the grasped items are repositioned along the stems in response to at least one feedback signal (see note). Note that an operator controls the grippers of the system (in teleoperation mode, para. 0029). Hence, the operator is capable of receiving some kind of signal and then repositioning the grippers.
Claim 3, the stem gripper moves from a discard bin stage to a box for loading (see note). Note that the drive system (the assembly of 115 and 150 – Fig. 1) is capable of moving anywhere since it comprises drive tracks. Hence, it is capable of moving the stem gripper from a discard bin stage to a box for loading.
Claim 4, the at least one feedback signal comprises an estimated stem diameter determined based on a position of the pair of contoured fingers while grasping the stem, and wherein the controller is operable to oscillate the fingers within a range of the estimated stem diameter to settle a cap portion of the item on the fingers to expose additional stem length below the fingers to facilitate a stem cutting operation (see note). Note that an operator is capable of receiving a feedback signal that comprises an estimated stem diameter based on a position of the fingers when grasping the stem and then oscillating the fingers within a range of the estimated stem diameter to settle a cap portion of the item on the fingers to expose additional stem length below the fingers to facilitate a stem cutting operation since the operator uses the controller to control the fingers (in teleoperation mode, para. 0029).
Claim 5, the at least one feedback signal comprises a load detected upon the fingers grasping the stem to detect when a handoff can occur between the stem gripper and the automated harvesting system (see note). Note that an operator is capable of receiving the claimed signal and operating the controller accordingly (in teleoperation mode, para. 0029).
Claim 6, the controller provides a signal to a picker of the automated harvesting system to release the item based on a pre-set load being detected (see note). Note that the claim does not specific any characteristics of the signal. Thus, the controller is interpreted of being capable of providing a signal to a picker since it can operate the stem gripper in a certain manner, for example waving the fingers in a specific motion, to act as a signal.
Claim 11, if the at least one feedback signal detects that the item does not include a stem, the stem gripper is instructed to bypass the discard bin to directly transfer the item to the box (see note). Note that an operator is capable of receiving a signal as claimed and then operating the controller to instruct the stem gripper to bypass a discard bin to directly transfer an item to a box (in teleoperation mode, para. 0029).
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herrschaft (US 2020/0307913 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Herrschaft discloses a box transfer apparatus, the box transfer apparatus comprising: a frame (see note below regarding the gantry); a plurality of trays (310 – Fig. 3) to support a plurality of boxes (each of the trays is fully capable of supporting a box); and a box gripper (332 – Fig. 3) moveable within the frame using a gantry coupled to the frame (in the embodiment of a gantry retrieval device, para. 0032; Note that a gantry by definition requires a frame so although Herrschaft does not expressly disclose a frame it is clear that there is necessarily a frame on which the gripper moves); wherein the box gripper is configured to grasp boxes and move the grasped boxes between the frame and an adjacent frame used to convey the boxes (the box gripper is fully capable of gripping a box, para. 0042; Note that since the gripper is fully capable of gripping and moving a box, it is capable of moving a box to an adjacent frame which in this case is interpreted to be the frame of 420 and 425 in the embodiment where the robotic retrieval device is a gripper on a gantry).
Herrschaft further discloses:
Claim 16, the frame is coupled to a transfer frame (the assembly of the frames of 420 and 425 – Fig. 4) that receives the boxes (boxes move to the frame via the transfer frame, para. 0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mozeika (US 2020/0108507 A1) in view of Herrschaft (US 2020/0307913 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Mozeika discloses a system for handling items, the system comprising: a stem gripper (the assembly of 50 and 100 – Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (the housing of 250 – Fig. 3A) comprising at least one motor (the wrist motor, para. 0033); a pair of contoured fingers (306a, 306b – Fig. 3A) operable by the at least one motor to rotate about a common axis (para. 0033, first sentence) to grasp stems of items picked by the automated harvesting system (see note below); a controller (the assembly of 50 and 200 – Fig. 1) to operate the fingers (paras. 0023 and 0028-0029) to reposition grasped items along the stems is response to accepting an item from the automated harvesting system (in the embodiment of teleoperation mode, para. 0029); and a drive mechanism (the assembly of 115 and 150 – Fig. 1) to move the stem gripper towards a next stage in the system (see note below).
Note that the limitations “to grasp stems of items picked by the automated harvesting system,” “to reposition grasped items along the stems in response to accepting an item from the automated harvesting system,” and “to move the stem gripper towards a next stage in the system” are recitations of intended use. Since the grippers are capable of grasping an item, an operator can operate the grippers to grasp stems of items picked by an automated harvest system. Furthermore, since an operator can open and close the grippers, an operator can open and close the grippers to reposition a grasped item along the stem when the item is accepted from an automated harvesting system. Finally, since the drive mechanism is capable of moving the grippers anywhere, it is capable of moving the grippers towards a next stage in the system.
However, Mozeika does not disclose a box transfer apparatus.
Herrschaft discloses a box transfer apparatus, the box transfer apparatus comprising: a frame (see note below regarding the gantry); a plurality of trays (310 – Fig. 3) to support a plurality of boxes (each of the trays is fully capable of supporting a box); and a box gripper (332 – Fig. 3) moveable within the frame using a gantry coupled to the frame (in the embodiment of a gantry retrieval device, para. 0032; Note that a gantry by definition requires a frame so although Herrschaft does not expressly disclose a frame it is clear that there is necessarily a frame on which the gripper moves); wherein the box gripper is configured to grasp boxes and move the grasped boxes between the frame and an adjacent frame used to convey the boxes (the box gripper is fully capable of gripping a box, para. 0042; Note that since the gripper is fully capable of gripping and moving a box, it is capable of moving a box to an adjacent frame which in this case is interpreted to be the frame of 420 and 425 in the embodiment where the robotic retrieval device is a gripper on a gantry), and at least one box (316 – Fig. 3 and para. 0042). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Herrschaft would have recognized that the stem gripper of Mozeika would be capable of transferring boxes on the conveyor (425 – Fig. 4) of Herrschaft to any storage location with the benefit of reducing human labor, thereby improving the efficiency of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have combined the stem gripper of Mozeika with the box transfer apparatus of Herrschaft in order to improve the efficiency of the system of Mozeika.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Mozeika simply discloses a gripper mounted to a movable robot. There is no disclosure of a blade to cut a stem. Furthermore, there is no known reference that would suggest using a robot similar to Mozeika to bring a stem to a fixed blade to cut the stem.
Regarding claim 13, Herrschaft does not disclose how the boxes are situated on the trays. While trays and boxes having complimentary sockets and posts may be known in the prior art, it is not clear how they would be applicable to Herrschaft since a biasing mechanism pushes boxes on the tray towards the end of the tray and posts would inhibit that movement.
Regarding claim 15, Herrschaft does not disclose a separate gantry to index the tray upwards and it is not clear how Herrschaft may include such a feature without substantially redesigning the box transfer apparatus since the gripper reaches down to grab boxes and there is a biasing mechanism to make the boxes accessible.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koide (US 9718617) discloses a box transfer device that moves boxes between different frames.
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
10/16/2026