DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Application No. JP2020-029193, filed on 02/25/2020 and Application No. JP2020-208347, filed on 12/16/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanlon et al. (US 20140141929 A1).
Considering claim 1, Hanlon discloses a silver-plated product comprising: a base material (abstract); and a surface layer of silver which is formed on the base material, the surface layer having an average crystallite size of not greater than 25 nm and having a Vickers hardness HV of not less than 150 [0044], the amount of antimony in the surface layer being 0.1 % by weight or less [0035].
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trenkle et al. (US 20120121925 A1).
Considering claims 1, 2 and 4, Trenkle discloses a silver-plated product comprising: a base material (abstract); and a surface layer of silver which is formed on the base material, the surface layer having an average crystallite size of not greater than 25 nm [0081] and having a hardness of at least 2 GPa (about 200 HV) [0080], which is within the claimed range of not less than 150. Trankle does not use antimony therefore, the amount of antimony in the surface layer being 0.1 % by weight or less. In particular example Trinkle discloses 1.5 at% of tungsten, 22 nm train size, and hardness of 2.4 GPa (about 240 HV) ([0091], Table 1 example 1).
Considering claims 5 and 6, Hanlon discloses base material is copper alloy (brass) with nickel layer between the base material and the surface layer ([0090] and Table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trenkle et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rehbein et al. (US 20070275611 A1).
Considering claim 3, Trankle teaches lubricating layer may be further applied comprising for example carbon nanotubes [0064].
Trankle does not disclose the surface layer contains 1 to 10% by weight of carbon.
However, Rehbein discloses a silver coating layer on a copper-based substrate with graphite content of 1 to 3 wt% (abstract), for the purpose of lubricating and good electrical conductivity of the contact in plug-in cycle [0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a 1-3 wt% of graphite in the silver coting layer of Trankle, because Trankle teaches using a lubricating carbon nanotube, and Rehbein discloses a silver coating layer on a copper-based substrate with graphite content of 1 to 3 wt%, for the purpose of lubricating and good electrical conductivity of the contact in plug-in cycle.
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794