DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “compression assembly” and “combustion assembly” in claims 1-3, 8, 11-13, 18 and 20; and “first expansion member” in claims 7 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 11, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3782340 A to Nam.
In reference to independent claims 1 and 11, Nam discloses:
An internal combustion engine (not numbered, see Abstract) comprising:
a compression assembly (compression cylinder housing 1 and compression cylinder 6) that is configured to compress working fluid;
a combustion assembly (combustion cylinder housing 2 and combustion cylinder 14) that is configured to generate power from expansion of the working fluid; and
a channel (ignition chamber 18) connecting the compression assembly to the combustion assembly (see Fig. 2), said channel in fluid communication with the combustion assembly during a combustion process (see col. 4 at lines 25-55),
wherein the combustion process comprises ignition of a charge comprising at least a first portion of compressed working fluid, thereby thermally expanding the first portion of the compressed working fluid (see col. 4 at lines 25-55), and
wherein at least a portion of the thermal expansion of the first portion of the compressed working fluid occurs in the channel (see col. 4 at lines 25-55).
In reference to dependent claims 2 and 12, Nam further discloses: a rotor of said compression assembly and/or a rotor of said combustion assembly controls the fluid flow out of the compression assembly (see col. 4 at lines 25-55) and/or into the combustion assembly (see col. 5 at lines 19-35).
In reference to dependent claims 8 and 18, Nam further discloses: a combination of power and/or isolator rotors (rotors 8 and 11) from said combustion and/or compression assemblies is used to control the fluid flow out of said compression assembly and/or into said combustion assembly (see col. 4 at lines 25-55 and col. 5 at lines 19-35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam.
Nam is silent regarding exhaust being recycled into an intake of the engine. However, exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) is well-known in internal combustion engines. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the engine of Nam to include an EGR system to recirculate exhaust gases to the engine’s intake in order to reduce exhaust emissions and improve engine efficiency and fuel economy as is well-known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach a rotor of the combustion assembly controls the fluid flow into the compression assembly.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach using steam the compression and/or combustion assemblies for sealing and/or cooling purposes.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the usage of hydrogen as fuel in rotary engines are known. However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach an electrolyzer that recycles exhaust gases back to an intake to produce hydrogen from exhaust vapors to be used as fuel for the engine.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach Astron Aerospace’s YouTube video titled "Introducing the Omega 1. A revolutionary engine." (cited in the Non-Final Rejection of the US Application 18/587,705 mailed August 13, 2024) discloses an internal combustion engine having a compression assembly, a combustion assembly and a channel connecting the two assemblies. However, at 6:22 (also at 3:12) the video shows that ignition and thus expansion occurs in the combustion chamber and NOT at least in part in the channel. Thus, even though the video shows a cylindrical power rotor of the combustion housing as recited in claims 7 and 17, Astron’s video does not meet the requirements of the recitations of independent claims 1 and 11.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the engine enabling the ability to independently configure intake compression to power exhaust ratios during operation of the engine.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or teach water and/or other fluid is injected into an intake of the engine to help reduce temperatures during the combustion process.
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In reference to independent claim 20, Astron’s video discloses a method including expanding within a combustion assembly of the engine a first amount of working fluid during a first power stroke of the engine, the combustion assembly defining a combustion chamber (see video at 3:12 and Fig. 5); compressing within a compression assembly of the engine a second amount of working fluid during a first compression stroke of the engine, wherein the first power stroke of the engine is contemporaneous with the first compression stroke of the engine such that the engine has a first intake compression to power exhaust ratio (see video at 3:12 and also Fig. 5); flowing at least a portion of the second amount of the working fluid into a channel, the channel being in fluid communication with the combustion chamber during a combustion process of the combustion assembly (see video at 6:22, which shows the mixture of air and fuel being ignited and expanded in the combustion chamber and the port is closed but the channel is in communication with combustion chamber). However, Astron’s video shows (at 6:22 and 3:12) that expansion occurs within the combustion chamber and not at least partially through said channel during the combustion process.
Moreover, the engine of Nam (as applied in the rejections of claims 1 and 11 above) is operated such that at least a portion of the thermal expansion of the first portion of the compressed working fluid occurs in the channel (see col. 4 at lines 25-55). However, Nam does not disclose or teach the first power stroke of the engine is contemporaneous with the first compression stroke of the engine such that the engine has a first intake compression to power exhaust ratio.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799