DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species B, Figures 4-5 in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/29/2026.
Claims 12-16 are newly added. Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-16 are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 8/1/2025 has been received and considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are of inadequate reproduction quality. Formal drawings require that every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. (37 CFR 1.84(l)). The drawings appear to be faded and difficult to discern the various components of the device.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8, --the-- should be inserted prior to “one or more ports extend” in order to more clearly convey that the limitation of the “one or more ports” was previously introduced.
Claim 2, line 8, --the-- should be inserted prior to “poppet ports”.
Claim 11, line 7, --the-- should be inserted prior to “one or more ports extend” in order to more clearly convey that the limitation of the “one or more ports” was previously introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the restricted annular passage" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 9.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the restricted annular passage" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (U.S. 4,605,039) in view of Lee, II (U.S. 5,007,454).
Johnson discloses a fast-responding passive flow rate limiting valve for high pressure gas applications, the valve comprising: a body assembly comprising a valve body (24, optionally additionally including 20), an upstream flange (18) and a downstream flange (19), the upstream and downstream flanges connected to the valve body (figs. 2-5); the valve body having a flow passageway extending from an upstream end to a downstream end of the valve body (right to left in fig. 2), the flow passageway comprising a first bore portion (at the area of 25 on the right side) in the upstream end of the valve body in fluid communication with one or more ports (67, forming a port from 25 and 48) spaced around an inner passageway (the passageway in which 22 is located) in the upstream end of the valve body, and the inner passageway and one or more ports extend to a body elongate bore (at the area of 25 on the left side) which extends to the downstream end of the valve body; a poppet (22) arranged and designed to extend into and through the inner passageway (fig. 2), the poppet comprising an inner bore (32) having a poppet port (44/45), the poppet having an open position (fig. 2) and a closed position (fig. 5, see also the description of the poppet moving to a closed position in col. 4, ll. 62-67), in the open position the poppet port is unobstructed and open to the first bore portion (as the port is able to fluidly communicate and is directly axially aligned with 46 as shown in fig. 2) and in the closed position the poppet port is within the inner passageway and at least partially obstructed (partially obstructed as the port is not aligned with 46 as shown in fig. 5, as the port is not axially aligned with the port, the port is interpreted to be at least partially obstructed as fluid flow is not able to directly flow into or out of the port without having to change direction, as opposed to fig. 2); a spring (36) received within the body elongate bore, the spring providing a spring force on the poppet in an upstream direction (toward the right end); wherein the valve rapidly transitions from the open position to the closed position upon an upstream fluid pressure spike acting on the poppet causing a restriction to fluid flow and quickly limiting the flow rate through the valve (as described in col. 4, ll. 62-67, and wherein the term “rapidly transitions” is a broad, subjective temporal term).
While figures 2-5 appear to show a plurality of poppet port, labeled 44/45 in fig. 2, Johnson does not appear to definitively disclose the plurality of poppet ports based on the figures and specification.
However, Lee teaches it was known in the art to have a similar spring biased poppet with multiple radial ports (ports 54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson by having the poppet have multiple ports as taught by Lee in order to allow more fluid flow through the poppet if so desired by a user for a particular application and especially as it has been held that the duplication of parts for a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP2144.04.
Regarding claim 5, Johnson as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of poppet ports are radially-oriented (see radial orientation in fig. 2 and plurality taught by Lee above).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson as modified further discloses a spring preload adjustment adapter (37) received in a downstream end of the body elongate bore between the spring and the downstream flange and in contact with the spring (fig. 2), wherein a spring preload is sized such that there is always a net positive force to close the poppet at a desired closing differential pressure (col. 3, ll. 63 – col. 4, ll. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Johnson discloses a fast-responding passive flow rate limiting valve for installation between high pressure storage tanks and a flow control valve in a high pressure gas application (intended use in the preamble which has not been given patentable weight), the limiting valve comprising: a valve body (24, optionally additionally including 20) having a flow passageway extending from an upstream end to a downstream end of the valve body (right to left in fig. 2), the flow passageway comprising a first bore portion (at the area of 25 on the right side) in the upstream end of the valve body in fluid communication with one or more ports (67, forming a port from 25 and 48) spaced around an inner passageway (the passageway in which 22 is located) in the upstream end of the valve body, and the inner passageway and one or more ports extend to a body elongate bore (at the area of 25 on the left side) which extends to the downstream end of the valve body; a poppet (22) arranged and designed to extend into and through the inner passageway (fig. 2), the poppet comprising an inner bore (32) having a poppet port (44/45), the poppet having an open position (fig. 2) and a closed position (fig. 5, see also the description of the poppet moving to a closed position in col. 4, ll. 62-67), in the open position the poppet port is unobstructed and open to the first bore portion (as the port is able to fluidly communicate and is directly axially aligned with 46) and in the closed position the poppet port is within the inner passageway and at least partially obstructed (partially obstructed as the port is not aligned with 46 as shown in fig. 5, as the port is not axially aligned with the port, the port is interpreted to be at least partially obstructed as fluid flow is not able to directly flow into or out of the port without having to change direction, as opposed to fig. 2); a spring (36) received within the body elongate bore, the spring providing a spring force on the poppet in an upstream direction (toward the right end); wherein the valve rapidly transitions from the open position to the closed position upon an upstream fluid pressure spike acting on the poppet causing a restriction to fluid flow and quickly limiting the flow rate through the valve (as described in col. 4, ll. 62-67, and wherein the term “rapidly transitions” is a broad, subjective temporal term).
While figures 2-5 appear to show a plurality of poppet port, labeled 44/45 in fig. 2, Johnson does not appear to definitively disclose the plurality of poppet ports based on the figures and specification.
However, Lee teaches it was known in the art to have a similar spring biased poppet with multiple radial ports (ports 54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson by having the poppet have multiple ports as taught by Lee in order to allow more fluid flow through the poppet if so desired by a user for a particular application and especially as it has been held that the duplication of parts for a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP2144.04.
Regarding claim 12, Johnson as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of poppet ports are radially-oriented (see radial orientation in fig. 2 and plurality taught by Lee above).
Regarding claim 14, Johnson as modified further discloses a spring preload adjustment adapter (37) received in a downstream end of the body elongate bore between the spring and the downstream flange and in contact with the spring (fig. 2), wherein a spring preload is sized such that there is always a net positive force to close the poppet at a desired closing differential pressure (col. 3, ll. 63 – col. 4, ll. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10 and 15-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Achterman (U.S. 7,591,282) discloses a damped shutoff valve with a spring biased poppet and radial ports.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753