DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a front side” in line 2. It is unclear whether the claimed “a front side” is identical to or a different feature from the claimed “a front side” in line 2. For the purpose of office action, the recitation will be treated as if it recites “the front side”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “flange” in line 7. It is unclear whether the claimed “flange” is identical to or a different feature from the claimed “flange” in line 5. For the purpose of office action, the recitation will be treated as if it recites “the flange”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TOL (In-Space Design Technologies Integrated with Novel Metamaterials for Future Solar Arrays, provided by IDS filed on 02/24/2026).
Regarding claim 1, TOL teaches a support structure for a plurality of solar cells (see the lab-scale solar array design in P49), the support structure comprising:
a truss (see the truss in P49); and
a plate engaged with the truss (see the hexagonal crumpled plate engaged with the truss in P49), the plate including a plurality of polygonal panels (The hexagonal crumpled plate includes a plurality of triangular panels), the plurality of polygonal panels being arranged such that the plate has a non-planar surface (see the non-planar surface of the hexagonal crumpled plate) (see P49),
wherein each polygonal panel of the plurality of polygonal panels is configured to support at least one solar cell of the plurality of solar cells (Since each of the plurality of triangular panels comprise the three solar cells, each of the plurality of triangular panels supports the three solar cells) (see P49).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
TOL teaches the truss comprises a plurality of beams (see the plurality of beams in P49), each beam of the plurality of beams comprises an elastic material and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material (see the plurality of beams comprising VeroClear (or VeroWhite) and Agilus30 periodically disposed within the VeroClear (or VeroWhite, see P12, P49, P63; Since the VeroClear (or VeroWhite) material has an elasticity, the VeroClear (or VeroWhite) material is considered to correspond to the claimed “elastic material” and Agilus30 material has a dampening property).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
TOL teaches the dampening material is viscoelastic (Agilus30 material is viscoelastic).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
TOL teaches each beam of the plurality of beams includes a hollow section (see the PC beam design 3, which includes a hollow section) (see P9).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
TOL teaches the plate includes a front side and a back side opposite the front side (see the front side and the back side of the hexagonal crumpled plate, where in the back side is opposite the front side) (see P49); the non-planar surface is disposed on the front side (see P49); and the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss (P49 shows that the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 5.
TOL teaches the truss comprises a plurality of composite beams (see the plurality of beams comprising VeroClear (or VeroWhite) and Agilus30, which are composite materials, see P12, P49, P63); and each socket of the plurality of sockets is configured to receive a respective composite beam of the plurality of composite beams of the truss for coupling the plate to the truss (see P49).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 6.
TOL teaches the truss further comprises a connector (see the connectors in P49) configured to couple two or more of the plurality of composite beams (P49).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 5.
TOL teaches the plate has a polygonal perimeter that defines a plurality of corners of the plate (see the hexagonal perimeter that defines 6 corners of the hexagonal crumpled plate); and each socket of the plurality of sockets is disposed on the back side of the plate at a respective one of the corners (see P49).
Regarding claim 9, TOL teaches a modular support structure for a plurality of solar cells (see the mock-up solar array with modular assembly in P50 & P49), the support structure comprising:
a first support module and a second support module coupled to one another (see the left bottom support module and the second to left bottom support module in the mock-up solar array, which are coupled to one another) (see P50 & P49), the first support module and the second support module each comprising a truss (see the truss in P49) and a plate engaged with the truss (see the hexagonal crumpled plate engaged with the truss in P50 & P49), the plates of the first support module and the second support module including a plurality of polygonal panels (The hexagonal crumpled plate includes a plurality of triangular panels) and a coupling hook (see the coupling hook) configured to engage an adjacent plate (see Figure in P49 attached below), the plurality of polygonal panels arranged such that the plate has a non-planar surface (see the non-planar surface of the hexagonal crumpled plates) (see P50 & P49),
wherein each polygonal panel of the plurality of polygonal panels of the plates of the first support module and the second support module is configured to support at least one solar cell of the plurality of solar cells (Since each of the plurality of triangular panels comprise the three solar cells, each of the plurality of triangular panels supports the three solar cells) (see P50 & P49).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
TOL teaches the plate comprises a front side and a side wall extending backward from a front side of the plate along a periphery of the plate (The hexagonal crumpled plate comprises the front side and the side wall extending backward from the front side of the plate along a periphery of the hexagonal crumpled plate) (see P50 & P49); the non-planar surface is disposed on the front side (see P50 & P49); and the coupling hook comprises a spacer extending from the side wall (see the spacer extending from the side wall in Figure in P49 attached in the rejection of claim 9) and a flange extending from the spacer and offset from the side wall (see the flange extending from the spacer and offset from the side wall in Figure in P49 attached in the rejection of claim 9) such that a slot is formed between flange and the side wall (The slot is formed between the flange and the side wall, see Figure in P49 attached in the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
TOL teaches the truss of each of the first support module and the second support module comprises a plurality of composite beams (see the plurality of beams comprising VeroClear (or VeroWhite) and Agilus30, which are composite materials, see P12, P49, P63); each of the first support module and the second support module further comprises a connector (see the connectors in P49) configured to couple two or more of the plurality of composite beams (see P49); and the connector of each of the first support module and the second support module is configured to engage the connector of the other of the first support module and the second support module (see P50 & P49).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
TOL teaches the connector of each of the first support module and the second support module includes a through-hole (see the through-hole of the connector in P49) configured to receive a fastener for coupling the connectors of each of the first support module and the second support module (see P49, P50, P51).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
TOL teaches the plate includes a front side and a back side (The hexagonal crumpled plate comprises the front side and the back side) (see P50 & P49); the non-planar surface is disposed on the front side (see P50 & P49); and the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage with the truss (P49 shows that the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss).
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
TOL teaches the truss comprises a plurality of beams (see the plurality of beams in P49), each beam of the plurality of beams comprises an elastic material and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material (see the plurality of beams comprising VeroClear (or VeroWhite) and Agilus30 periodically disposed within the VeroClear (or VeroWhite, see P12, P49, P63; Since the VeroClear (or VeroWhite) material has an elasticity, the VeroClear (or VeroWhite) material is considered to correspond to the claimed “elastic material” and Agilus30 material has a dampening property).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches a support structure for a plurality of solar cells (see the parasol with the plurality of solar cells) (see Fig. 8), the support structure comprising:
a truss (see the truss including the frame fixing parts 80 with the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts) (see Fig. 8 attached below); and
a plate engaged with the truss (see the plate with the solar cells 100, which is engaged with the truss) (see Fig. 8 attached below), the plate including a plurality of polygonal panels (see the plurality of triangle panels), the plurality of polygonal panels being arranged such that the plate has a non-planar surface (see the non-planar surface of the plate) (see Fig. 8 attached below),
wherein each polygonal panel of the plurality of polygonal panels is configured to support at least one solar cell of the plurality of solar cells (Since each of the plurality of triangle panels comprise the plurality of solar cells, each of the plurality of triangle panels supports the plurality of solar cells) (see Fig. 8 attached below).
Regarding claim 9, LEE teaches a modular support structure for a plurality of solar cells (see the parasol with the plurality of solar cells) (see Fig. 8), the support structure comprising:
a first support module and a second support module (see the first support module and the second support module) coupled to one another (see Fig. 8 attached below), the first support module and the second support module each comprising a truss (see the truss including the frame fixing parts 80) (see Fig. 8 attached below) and a plate engaged with the truss (see the plate with the solar cells 100, which is engaged with the truss) (see Fig. 8 attached below), the plates of the first support module and the second support module including a plurality of polygonal panels (see the plurality of triangle panels) and a coupling hook (see the Velcro tape) configured to engage an adjacent plate ([0032] the solar cell (100) is fixedly attached using a Velcro tape, which engage an adjacent plate with the solar cells) (see Fig. 8 attached below), the plurality of polygonal panels arranged such that the plate has a non-planar surface (see the non-planar surface of the plates) (see Fig. 8 attached below),
wherein each polygonal panel of the plurality of polygonal panels of the plates of the first support module and the second support module is configured to support at least one solar cell of the plurality of solar cells (Since each of the plurality of triangle panels comprise the plurality of solar cells, each of the plurality of triangle panels supports the plurality of solar cells) (see Fig. 8 attached below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of SWEET, Jr. (US 4834126).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
LEE teaches the truss comprises a plurality of beams (see the plurality of beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1). Regarding the claimed “each beam of the plurality of beams comprises an elastic material and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material”, LEE teaches each beam of the plurality of beams (see each beam of the plurality of beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “an elastic material and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material”. However, SWEET, Jr. discloses a fiber glass umbrella construction, wherein the ribs 14 and struts 26 are fabricated of a fiber glass involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin (see C4/L45-L47 and Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the fiber glass material involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin for the beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts in LEE as taught by SWEET, Jr., because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified LEE teaches each beam of the plurality of beams comprises an elastic material (see the fiber glass, which has elastic property) and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material (The polyester resin has dampening property and the polyester resin is disposed among the fibers of the fiber glass, which teaches fiber/polyester/fiber/polyester/fiber…).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified LEE teaches the dampening material is viscoelastic (The polyester is viscoelastic).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Regarding the claimed “wherein each beam of the plurality of beams includes a hollow section”, LEE teaches each beam of the plurality of beams (see each beam of the plurality of beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “hollow section”. However, SWEET, Jr. discloses a fiber glass umbrella construction, wherein Nylon fixtures are employed for pivotally receiving the proximal ends of the struts and ribs with respect to the central rod (see Abstract and Fig. 2), wherein the Nylon fixtures have hollow section (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Nylon fixtures for the beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts in LEE as taught by SWEET, Jr., because the Nylon fixtures provides pivotal connection of the proximal ends of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts to the central rod.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of VOLIN (US 10653218 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
LEE teaches the plate includes a front side and a back side opposite the front side (see the front side and the back side of the plate, which is opposite the front side) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1); the non-planar surface is disposed on the front side (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1). Regarding the claimed “the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss”, VOLIN discloses an umbrella, wherein Figs. 1k and 3 shows the foldable rib joints 105 wherein the lower ribs 103b are inserted into the foldable rib joints 105 and the foldable rib joints 105 can pivotably secure upper ribs 103 a to lower ribs 103 b to allow upper ribs 103 a and lower ribs 103 b to fold and to deploy (see C19/L1-L12, and Figs. 1k and 3). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the foldable rib joints between the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts in LEE as taught by VOLIN because the foldable rib joints can pivotably secure the upper frame fixing parts to the lower frame fixing parts to allow the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts to fold and to deploy, and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima face obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp.). Therefore, modified LEE teaches the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss (see the plurality of foldable rib joints configured to engage the truss) (see the discussion above).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) in view of VOLIN (US 10653218 B1) as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of SWEET, Jr. (US 4834126).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 5.
Regarding the claimed “wherein: the truss comprises a plurality of composite beams”, LEE teaches the truss comprises a plurality of beams (see the plurality of beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “composite”. However, SWEET, Jr. discloses a fiber glass umbrella construction, wherein the ribs 14 and struts 26 are fabricated of a fiber glass involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin (see C4/L45-L47 and Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the fiber glass material involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin for the beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts in LEE as taught by SWEET, Jr., because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified LEE teaches the truss comprises a plurality of composite beams (The beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts comprise a plurality of composite beams with the fiber glass material involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin, which is composite material), and teaches each socket of the plurality of sockets (see each of the foldable rib joints) is configured to receive a respective composite beam of the plurality of composite beams of the truss for coupling the plate to the truss (Each of the foldable rib joints has this function) (see the rejection of claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 6.
LEE teaches the truss further comprises a connector configured to couple two or more of the plurality of composite beams (see the runner hub which couples the lower frame fixing parts) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of BEAULIEU (US 8443819 B2).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claim 5 on which claim 8 depends,
LEE teaches the plate includes a front side and a back side opposite the front side (see the front side and the back side of the plate, which is opposite the front side) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1); the non-planar surface is disposed on the front side (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1). Regarding the claimed “the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss”, BEAULIEU discloses an umbrella support assembly, wherein Figs. 1-2, 25-27 shows fabric connectors 600, which is socket shaped, wherein twists and rotations of the fabric (120) are compensated by rotation of the fabric connector (600) about the rotation junction (105) between fabric connector (600) and the upper rib (104) thereby allowing the fabric connector head (620) to contact the maximum amount of fabric (120) across the fabric connector surfaces (621, 622, 623, 624) and spread the tension forces across the multiple connector surfaces of the fabric connector (600) which reduces the likelihood the fabric connector (600) will penetrate into the fabric (120) and cause fabric tears and rips (C8/L64 – C9/L9). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the fabric connectors for the upper frame fixing parts in LEE as taught by BEAULIEU, because the fabric connectors contact the fabric with the maximum amount of the fabric and spread the tension forces across the multiple connector surfaces of the fabric connector which reduces the likelihood the fabric connector will penetrate into the fabric and cause fabric tears and rips. Therefore, modified LEE teaches the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss (see the fabric connectors which engage the upper frame fixing parts) (see the discussion above).
Regarding the claim 8, modified LEE teaches the plate has a polygonal perimeter that defines a plurality of corners of the plate (see the polygonal perimeter of the plate with the solar cells 100, which defines a plurality of corners of the plate) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1); and each socket of the plurality of sockets is disposed on the back side of the plate at a respective one of the corners (see the discussion above and Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of SWEET, Jr. (US 4834126).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Regarding the claimed “wherein: the truss of each of the first support module and the second support module comprises a plurality of composite beams”, LEE teaches the truss of each of the first support module and the second support module comprises a plurality of beams (see the plurality of beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts for the first support module and the second support module) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 9), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “composite”. However, SWEET, Jr. discloses a fiber glass umbrella construction, wherein the ribs 14 and struts 26 are fabricated of a fiber glass involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin (see C4/L45-L47 and Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the fiber glass material involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin for the beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts for the first support module and the second support module in LEE as taught by SWEET, Jr., because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified LEE teaches the truss of each of the first support module and the second support module comprises a plurality of composite beams (The beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts for the first support module and the second support module comprise a plurality of composite beams with the fiber glass material involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin, which is composite material), and teaches each of the first support module and the second support module further comprises a connector configured to couple two or more of the plurality of composite beams (see the runner hub which couples the lower frame fixing parts for the first support module and the second support module) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 9); and the connector of each of the first support module and the second support module is configured to engage the connector of the other of the first support module and the second support module (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 9).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) in view of SWEET, Jr. (US 4834126) as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of BEAULIEU (US 8443819 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 11.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the connector of each of the first support module and the second support module includes a through-hole configured to receive a fastener for coupling the connectors of each of the first support module and the second support module”, LEE teaches the connector of each of the first support module and the second support module (see the rejection of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, BEAULIEU discloses an umbrella support assembly, wherein Fig. 18 shows a second hub assembly 200b (corresponding to the claimed “connector”), which includes through holes to receive bolt 328a (corresponding to the claimed “fastener”) (see Fig. 18). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the second hub assembly including through holes in LEE as taught by BEAULIEU, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified LEE teaches the connector of each of the first support module and the second support module includes a through-hole configured to receive a fastener for coupling the connectors of each of the first support module and the second support module (see the second hub assembly including through holes; The through holes have the function) (see the discussion above).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of VOLIN (US 10653218 B1).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
LEE teaches the plate includes a front side and a back side opposite the front side (see the front side and the back side of the plate, which is opposite the front side) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 9); the non-planar surface is disposed on the front side (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 9). Regarding the claimed “the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss”, VOLIN discloses an umbrella, wherein Figs. 1k and 3 shows the foldable rib joints 105 wherein the lower ribs 103b are inserted into the foldable rib joints 105 and the foldable rib joints 105 can pivotably secure upper ribs 103 a to lower ribs 103 b to allow upper ribs 103 a and lower ribs 103 b to fold and to deploy (see C19/L1-L12, and Figs. 1k and 3). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the foldable rib joints between the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts in LEE as taught by VOLIN, because the foldable rib joints can pivotably secure the upper frame fixing parts to the lower frame fixing parts to allow the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts to fold and to deploy, and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima face obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07: Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp.). Therefore, modified LEE teaches the back side includes a plurality of sockets configured to engage the truss (see the plurality of foldable rib joints configured to engage the truss) (see the discussion above).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130088106 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of SWEET, Jr. (US 4834126).
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
LEE teaches the truss comprises a plurality of beams (see the plurality of beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts) (see Fig. 8 attached in the rejection of claim 1). Regarding the claimed “each beam of the plurality of beams comprises an elastic material and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material”, LEE teaches each beam of the plurality of beams (see each beam of the plurality of beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “an elastic material and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material”. However, SWEET, Jr. discloses a fiber glass umbrella construction, wherein the ribs 14 and struts 26 are fabricated of a fiber glass involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin (see C4/L45-L47 and Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the fiber glass material involving fiber glass strands embedded in a polyester resin for the beams of the upper frame fixing parts and the lower frame fixing parts in LEE as taught by SWEET, Jr., because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified LEE teaches each beam of the plurality of beams comprises an elastic material (see the fiber glass, which has elastic property) and a dampening material periodically disposed within the elastic material (The polyester resin has dampening property and the polyester resin is disposed among the fibers of the fiber glass, which teaches fiber/polyester/fiber/polyester/fiber…).
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728