Response to Amendments
The amendment filed December 29th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have not overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 30th, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-11, and 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7 lines 7-8, “…wherein the two intake tubes are conical…” should read “…wherein two intake tubes are conical..” so that there is a sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
In claim 8 lines 1-2, “…wherein at least one of the two intake tubes, the airflow tube, and the at least two airflow outlets…” should read “…wherein at least one of two intake tubes, the airflow tube, and the respective airflow outlet..” so that there is a sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim and for the purpose of clarity.
In claim 9 lines 1-2, “…wherein at least one of the two intake tubes, the airflow tube, and the at least two airflow outlets…” should read “…wherein at least one of two intake tubes, the airflow tube, and the respective airflow outlet..” so that there is a sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim and for the purpose of clarity.
In claim 10 lines 1-2, “…wherein a controller…” should read “…wherein the controller…” as positively recited in claim 1.
In claim 11 line 3, “…when seated in the respective passenger seat…” should read “…when a passenger is seated in the respective seat…”.
In claim 13 line 1, “The system comprising an aircraft passenger service unit…” should read “A system comprising the aircraft passenger service unit…” so that there is a sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
In claim 13 line 2, “…a desired outflow…” should read “…the desired outflow…” as positively recited in claim 1.
In claim 14 line 2, “…and a plurality of the aircraft service units according to claim 1…” should read “…and the aircraft service unit according to claim 1…” for the purpose of consistency and clarity.
In claim 15 line 1, “The method for controlling …” should read “A method for controlling …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “…wherein each of the at least tow gaspers is in a pre-defined orientation, when seated in the respective passenger seat, without further adjustment” which renders claim indefinite as the scope of “without further adjustment” is unclear.
Claim 13 recites “a remote control” which renders the claim indefinite as claim 1, on which claim 13 depends, recites “a controller”, thus it is unclear if “a remote control” and “a controller” are two different components or a same component. For the examination purpose they both are considered to be referring to the same component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenz et al. (US 2021/0394912) in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0082809).
Regarding claim 1, Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) an aircraft passenger service unit (clearly shown in the figure below), for installation in an overhead position in an aircraft passenger cabin (108) (Para 0028), the aircraft passenger service unit comprising:
at least two gaspers/inlets (114), wherein each of the at least two gaspers is oriented towards a respective passenger seat (clearly seen in figure 1) (Para 0029);
an airflow tube/duct (104), wherein each of the at least two gaspers/inlet (114) is in fluid communication with the airflow tube via a respective airflow outlet (Para 0028; airflow outlet leads to inlet/gasper (114)), and
at least two valves/gasper valves (126s), each valve (126) for controlling the airflow to a respective gasper of the at least two gaspers (Para 0029; two gasper valve controls two gaspers); and
a controller (134) for setting a position of the at least two valves on a basis of a desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers (Para 0032; position of the valve adjusts the flow of air)
but it is silent about the aircraft passenger service unit comprising:
an electric motor configured to drive an impeller, and
wherein the impeller is located inside the airflow tube, and
wherein the impeller is arranged to provide an airflow to the at least two gaspers; and
a controller for setting a rotational speed of the impeller on a basis of a desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers.
Wang et al. ‘809 teaches (figures 1-3) HVAC system (10) configured to ventilate a cabin (12) of a vehicle comprising a blower/impeller (16) configured to urge the air (22) to flow from an inlet (18) of the blower (16) to an outlet (20) of the blower (16) and to the cabin (12) through defrost vent/gasper, dashboard vent/gasper and floor vent/gasper which are regulated by respective valves, wherein the blower (16) is a centrifugal type fan rotated by a motor and wherein the system (10) in communication with a RF transceiver so the operator can communicate with the controller to begin ventilating the cabin i.e., start the blower (16) (Para 0011-0012, 0019, 0021; a single blower urges air through all three vents)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Krenz et al ‘912 to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. ‘809 to configure the aircraft passenger service unit comprising:
an electric motor configured to drive an impeller, and
wherein the impeller is located inside the airflow tube, and
wherein the impeller is arranged to provide an airflow to the at least two gaspers; and
a controller for setting a rotational speed of the impeller on a basis of a desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would control airflow over the passenger.
Regarding claim 5, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers is settable by a touchless control (Para 0032; controller (134) controls the software controlled valves (126) via signals (138) from the plurality of sensors (128) to adjust the flow of the air through the plurality of ducts (104))).
Regarding claim 6, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the impeller is located inside the airflow tube (as modified by Wang et al. 809; clearly seen in figure 1) but it is silent about the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the electric motor is a brushless motor,
and/or
wherein the electric motor is located inside the airflow tube.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to put the electric motor powering the impeller next to the impeller. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Krenz et al ‘912 to configure the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the wherein the electric motor is located inside the airflow tube.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the controller is configured to control the impeller in discrete steps of rotational frequency (as modified by Wang et al. ‘809; the blower (16)) is controlled by controller to switch on and off ).
Regarding claim 11 (as best understood), modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit wherein each of the at least two gaspers/inlets (114) is in a pre-defined orientation (clearly seen in figure 1) when a passenger seated in the respective passenger seat, without further adjustment (gaspers/inlets are above/predefined orientation the passenger seated in the seat).
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) a system comprising the aircraft passenger service unit according to claim 1 and a remote control/controller (134) for controlling the desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers (Para 0032).
Regarding claim 14, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) an aircraft comprising a passenger cabin (108) and the aircraft passenger service unit according to claim 1, wherein the aircraft is an airplane (Para 0028).
Claim(s) 3-4, 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenz et al. (US 2021/0394912) and Wang et al. (US 2016/0082809) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomasena (WO 2020/208420).
Regarding claims 3-4, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the controller is a remote control, wherein the desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers is settable by the remote control (Para 0032; controller receives signals to adjust flow of air) but it is silent about the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the remote control is at least one of an in-seat control or part of an in-flight entertainment system, and
wherein the desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers is settable at the aircraft passenger service unit.
Tomsena ‘420 teaches (figures 1-7) air gasper assembly/aircraft passenger service unit (10) comprising a housing (12) that includes a fan assembly (22) including a motor (27) and a rotor/impeller (28) wherein the gasper assembly/aircraft passenger service unit (10) comprises a module (40) which comprises a first (44) and second (46) switches wherein the first switch (44) is configured to turn the fan assembly (22) on and off and the second switch (46) is configured to cycle the motor and/or rotor between at least first and second speeds (Para 0024-0027). Tomsena ‘420 further teaches the gasper assembly (10) includes wireless communication capability to control the speed, flow rate, on/off etc. remotely wherein the inflight entertainment system/controller can include the ability to control the gasper assembly and the motor thereof (Para 0024-0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Krenz et al. ‘912 to incorporate the teachings of Tomsena ‘420 to configure the aircraft passenger service unit the remote control is a part of an in-flight entertainment system, and
wherein the desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers is settable at the aircraft passenger service unit (switches (44, 46) on the gasper assembly/aircraft passenger service unit (10) sets the rotational speed of the impeller which sets the desired outflow).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance passenger experiences.
Regarding claim 7, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit according to claim 1 but it is silent about the aircraft passenger service unit,
wherein the airflow tube is conical;
and/or
wherein, for each of the at least two gaspers, the respective airflow outlet is conical;
and/or
wherein two intake tubes are conical, wherein the two intake tubes are tapered toward an inlet of each of the two intake tubes
Tomsena ‘420 further teaches (figures 1-7) air gasper assembly/aircraft passenger service unit (10) includes a housing (12) that includes an outer wall (14) having an inner surface (14a) that defines a central opening (16) wherein an air path (P1) is defined in the central opening (16) and extends from an inlet (24) to an outlet (26) wherein outlet (26) is conical in shape (clearly seen in figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Krenz et al ‘912 to incorporate the teachings of Tomsena ‘420 to configure the aircraft passenger service unit,
wherein, for each of the at least two gaspers, the respective airflow outlet is conical.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would provide superior air distribution, efficiency and quiet operation.
Regarding claim 15, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit according to claim 1, but it is silent about a method for controlling the aircraft passenger service unit comprising steps of:
receiving passenger input from at least two passengers to set a desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers; and
controlling the impeller and the at least one valve according to the desired outflow.
Tomsena ‘420 teaches (figures 1-7) in a commercial aircraft, each seat includes a gasper assembly (10) associated therewith and the gasper assembly (10) can be turned on and off and the speeds can be chosen by the passenger seated in the seat associated with the gasper assembly (Para 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Krenz et al. ‘912 to incorporate the teachings of Tomsena ‘420 to configure the method for controlling the aircraft passenger service unit comprising steps of:
receiving passenger input from at least two passengers to set a desired outflow from each of the at least two gaspers (multiple passengers can change their respective gaspers at the same time); and
controlling the impeller and the at least one valve/gasper valve according to the desired outflow (as modified by Wang et al. ‘809; changing on/off position of the impeller controls the impeller).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would provide each passenger with their own gasper assembly control.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenz et al. (US 2021/0394912) and Wang et al. (US 2016/0082809) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomerlin et al. (US 2007/0074930).
Regarding claim 8, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit according to claim 1 but it is silent about the aircraft passenger service unit wherein at least one of two intake tubes, the airflow tube, and the respective airflow outlet comprises a broadband noise attenuator, wherein the broadband noise attenuator is foam.
Tomerlin et al. ‘930 teaches flowing air conditioning air through noise attenuated ducting using open cell polymer foams (Para 0027, 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Krenz et al ‘912 to incorporate the teachings of Tomerlin et al. ‘930 to configure the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the airflow tube comprises a broadband noise attenuator, wherein the broadband noise attenuator is foam.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would add to passenger comfort by muffling the noise generated by the air flow (Para 0027).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenz et al. (US 2021/0394912), and Wang et al. (US 2016/0082809) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Palmer (US 2019/0120414).
Regarding claim 9, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit according to claim 1 but it is silent about the aircraft passenger service unit wherein at least one of two intake tubes, the airflow tube, and the respective airflow outlets comprises a Helmholtz resonator lining for noise reduction.
Palmer ‘414 teaches (figures 1-4) a duct assembly (10) comprising a first duct (20), a second duct (22) and a support member (24) wherein the first duct (20) defines a plurality of resonators configured as Helmholtz resonators that are additively manufactured into the first duct (20) (Para 0029-0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Krenz et al ‘912 to incorporate the teachings of Palmer ‘414 to configure the aircraft passenger service unit wherein the airflow tube comprises a Helmholtz resonator lining for noise reduction.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would add to passenger comfort by muffling the noise generated by the air flow.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenz et al. (US 2021/0394912), and Wang et al. (US 2016/0082809) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitchell et al. (US 2022/0063815).
Regarding claim 12, modified Krenz et al ‘912 teaches (figure 1) the aircraft passenger service unit but it is silent about the aircraft passenger service unit further comprising a removable cover, arranged over a plurality of oxygen masks, and /or further comprising at least one reading light.
Mitchell et al. ‘815 teaches (figure 13) a passenger service unit (414) including a housing (416) that contains, vents, reading lights, an oxygen bag drop panel etc. (Para 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Krenz et al ‘912 to incorporate the teachings of Mitchell et al. ‘815 to configure the aircraft passenger service unit further comprising at least one reading light.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance passenger experiences.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 29th, 2025, with respect to the amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642