DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 23 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 September 2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 23 September 2026 cancels claims 13-22 and adds claims 26-35. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Examiner Notes
All claims have been reviewed for compliance with 35 U.S.C. §112 and 35 U.S.C. §101 (as set forth in MPEP 2106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0134534.
Referring to claim 1, Lee discloses a storage device that receives a RPMB data read operation from a host ([0224] & Figure 21, step S2105) wherein the read request includes a message authentication code (MAC) ([0232] & Figure 22: MAC reads on the claimed MAC key), which meets the limitation of receive a read command to read data from a read protected memory block (RPMB) region, the read command comprising a first message authenticated code (MAC) key. The MAC received in the host message is authenticated ([0239] & [0241] & Figures 24 & 25), which meets the limitation of authenticate the read command using the first MAC key. If the MAC is authenticated, the requested data is read from corresponding storage area ([0241]), which meets the limitation of retrieve the data from the RPMB region based at least in part on authenticated the read command. The retrieved data is then provided to the requested host ([0241]), which meets the limitation of transmit the data based at least in part on retrieving the data form the RPMB region.
Referring to claim 6, Lee discloses that the read operation includes an address to be read and the MAC received in the host message is authenticated ([0239] & [0241] & Figures 24 & 25) such that if the MAC is authenticated, the requested data is read from corresponding storage area ([0241]) and if the address is outside of range, a failure code is provided (Page 5, Table 1), which meets the limitation of determine whether an address included in the read command is within the RPMB region based at least in part on receiving the read command, wherein authenticating the read command using the first MAC key is based at least in pat on determining that the address is within the RPMB region.
Referring to claim 7, Lee discloses that if the address is outside of range, a failure code is provided (Page 5, Table 1), which meets the limitation of output an indication that the address is invalid based at least in part on determining that the address is outside of the RPMB region.
Referring to claim 9, Lee discloses that the comparison of a counter against a maximum value ([0083]) such that a code is output when such a counter comparison fails (Page 5, Table 1: Examiner notes that the name of counter represents non-functional descriptive material that does not receive patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of output an indication that a first read counter is different than a second read counter based at least in part on comparing the first read counter with the second read counter.
Referring to claim 11, Lee discloses that the retrieved data is then provided to the requested host ([0241]), which meets the limitation of transmit an RPMB message comprising the data.
Referring to claim 12, Lee discloses that the retrieved data is then provided to the requested host ([0241]: Examiner notes that the content of the message is never functionally utilized in the claims and would therefore be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that does not receive patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of transmit an indication of a second MAC field of the memory system.
Referring to claim 23, Lee discloses a storage device that receives a RPMB data read operation from a host ([0224] & Figure 21, step S2105) wherein the read request includes a message authentication code (MAC) ([0232] & Figure 22: MAC reads on the claimed MAC key), which meets the limitation of receive a read command to read data from a read protected memory block (RPMB) region, the read command comprising a first message authenticated code (MAC) key. The MAC received in the host message is authenticated ([0239] & [0241] & Figures 24 & 25), which meets the limitation of authenticate the read command using the first MAC key. If the MAC is authenticated, the requested data is read from corresponding storage area ([0241]), which meets the limitation of retrieve the data from the RPMB region based at least in part on authenticated the read command. The retrieved data is then provided to the requested host ([0241]), which meets the limitation of transmit the data based at least in part on retrieving the data form the RPMB region.
Referring to claim 28, Lee discloses that the read operation includes an address to be read and the MAC received in the host message is authenticated ([0239] & [0241] & Figures 24 & 25) such that if the MAC is authenticated, the requested data is read from corresponding storage area ([0241]) and if the address is outside of range, a failure code is provided (Page 5, Table 1), which meets the limitation of determine whether an address included in the read command is within the RPMB region based at least in part on receiving the read command, wherein authenticating the read command using the first MAC key is based at least in pat on determining that the address is within the RPMB region.
Referring to claim 29, Lee discloses that if the address is outside of range, a failure code is provided (Page 5, Table 1), which meets the limitation of output an indication that the address is invalid based at least in part on determining that the address is outside of the RPMB region.
Referring to claim 31, Lee discloses that the comparison of a counter against a maximum value ([0083]) such that a code is output when such a counter comparison fails (Page 5, Table 1: Examiner notes that the name of counter represents non-functional descriptive material that does not receive patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of output an indication that a first read counter is different than a second read counter based at least in part on comparing the first read counter with the second read counter.
Referring to claim 33, Lee discloses that the retrieved data is then provided to the requested host ([0241]), which meets the limitation of transmit an RPMB message comprising the data.
Referring to claim 34, Lee discloses that the retrieved data is then provided to the requested host ([0241]: Examiner notes that the content of the message is never functionally utilized in the claims and would therefore be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that does not receive patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of transmit an indication of a second MAC field.
Referring to claim 35, Lee discloses a storage device that receives a RPMB data read operation from a host ([0224] & Figure 21, step S2105) wherein the read request includes a message authentication code (MAC) ([0232] & Figure 22: MAC reads on the claimed MAC key), which meets the limitation of receiving a read command to read data from a read protected memory block (RPMB) region of a memory system, the read command comprising a first message authenticated code (MAC) key. The MAC received in the host message is authenticated ([0239] & [0241] & Figures 24 & 25), which meets the limitation of authenticating the read command using the first MAC key. If the MAC is authenticated, the requested data is read from corresponding storage area ([0241]), which meets the limitation of retrieving the data from the RPMB region based at least in part on authenticated the read command. The retrieved data is then provided to the requested host ([0241]), which meets the limitation of transmitting the data based at least in part on retrieving the data form the RPMB region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0134534, in view of Hobson, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0191706. Referring to claim 10, Lee discloses that if the MAC is authenticated, the requested data is read from corresponding storage area ([0241]) and provided to the requested host ([0241]). Lee does not specify the use of read counters.
Hobson discloses controlling access to shared resources by utilizing read counters such that the read counters are incremented in response to a corresponding read request ([0060]) such that a reset signal is transmitted when the counter reaches a predetermined value N ([0061]), which meets the limitation of increment a read counter stored by the memory system based at least in part on retrieving the data from the RPMB region, wherein transmitting the data includes transmitting an indication of the read counter that has been incremented. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the data storage and authenticated access of Lee to have utilized read counters in order to provide a means of managing data accesses as suggested by Hobson ([0051]).
Referring to claim 32, Lee discloses that if the MAC is authenticated, the requested data is read from corresponding storage area ([0241]) and provided to the requested host ([0241]). Lee does not specify the use of read counters.
Hobson discloses controlling access to shared resources by utilizing read counters such that the read counters are incremented in response to a corresponding read request ([0060]) such that a reset signal is transmitted when the counter reaches a predetermined value N ([0061]), which meets the limitation of increment a read counter based at least in part on retrieving the data from the RPMB region, wherein transmitting the data includes transmitting an indication of the read counter that has been incremented. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the data storage and authenticated access of Lee to have utilized read counters in order to provide a means of managing data accesses as suggested by Hobson ([0051]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, 24-27, 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vaassen, U.S. Publication No. 2024/0135040, discloses secured memory that performs read command authentication using digital signatures.
Jung, EP 4020296, discloses protected read commands using command protect configuration block requests.
Lee, U.S. Publication No. 2021/0278979, discloses authenticated read and write requests utilizing message authentication codes.
Sela, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0014544, discloses protected memory that performs authenticated read and write requests.
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437