DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/02/026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been entered into the record. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Restriction/Election
The Applicant has elected Group I: Claims 1-5 and 9-17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-5 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the system (claims 1-5) and method (claims 9-17) are directed to potentially eligible categories of subject matter (i.e., process, machine, and article of manufacture respectively). Thus, Step 1 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2, and in particular Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea by reciting concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), which falls into the “Mental Process” group; and by reciting fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) which falls into the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer does not take the claim limitation out of methods of organizing human activity or the mental processes grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental process for performing certain methods of organizing human activity.
The limitations reciting the abstract idea(s) (Mental process and Certain methods of organizing human activity), as set forth in exemplary claim 1, are: evaluate quantitatively employees based on a set of key performance indicators (KPIs) stored in memory; read KPI data from a source; weight the KPI for an employee based on the role of the employee; compare KPI employee performance against a set of employer KPI thresholds in a employee rankings module based on the employer KPI thresholds; classify employees into an overall ranking level using KPI employee performance in an artificial intelligence module; and generate an evaluation report for each employee/role pairing and output the evaluation report. Independent claims 8 and 14 recite the CRM and system for performing the method of independent claim 1 without adding significantly more. Thus, the same rationale/analysis is applied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements are directed to: at least one input device; at least one output device; one or more memory components; one or more processors communicatively coupled to one or more input devices, one or more output devices and a memory component; and machine- readable instructions stored in the memory component that cause the artificial intelligence employee evaluation system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors; one or more processors communicatively coupled to one or more input devices, one or more output devices and a memory component; and executing machine-readable instructions stored in the memory component of a computer device with an artificial intelligence module; (as recited in claims 1 and 9). However, these elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitation(s) is/are directed to: at least one input device; at least one output device; one or more memory components; one or more processors communicatively coupled to one or more input devices, one or more output devices and a memory component; and machine- readable instructions stored in the memory component that cause the artificial intelligence employee evaluation system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors; one or more processors communicatively coupled to one or more input devices, one or more output devices and a memory component; and executing machine-readable instructions stored in the memory component of a computer device with an artificial intelligence module; (as recited in claims 1 and 9). for implementing the claim steps/functions. These elements have been considered, but merely serve to tie the invention to a particular operating environment (i.e., computer-based implementation), though at a very high level of generality and without imposing meaningful limitation on the scope of the claim.
The additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (generic computing environment). See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). Even if the acquiring steps are considered as additional elements, these steps at most amount to insignificant extra-solution activity accomplished via receiving/transmitting data, which is not enough to amount to a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
In addition, Applicant’s Specification (paragraph [0030]) describes generic off-the-shelf computer-based elements for implementing the claimed invention, and which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, which is not enough to transform an abstract idea into eligible subject matter. Such generic, high-level, and nominal involvement of a computer or computer-based elements for carrying out the invention merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent-eligible, as noted at pg. 74624 of Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 241, citing Alice, which in turn cites Mayo. See, e.g., Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that the ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Further, the courts have found the presentation of data to be a well-understood, routine, conventional activity, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
The dependent claims (2-5 and 10-17) are directed to the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and merely incorporate additional details that narrow the abstract idea via additional details of the abstract idea. For example claims 2-5 “add additional customer-defined KPIs through an input device and store it in memory; wherein the employee ranking module contains a performance contextualization engine with machine learning used to observe overall trends in shifts and corelated performance metrics to adjust the observed performance data in order to reflect the "degree of difficulty" of the working conditions; rank employees against their peer group; at least one sensor to automatically capture KPI data automatically; circuity to properly capture the output of the sensor; a KPI data logger module to store the captured data from the sensor; and a timer module to run the artificial intelligence evaluation system in real time where the running frequency is programmable”, without additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and without additional elements that amount to significantly more to the claims. The remaining dependent claims (10-17) recite the method for performing the system of claims 2-5. Thus, the same rationale/analysis is applied. Thus, all dependent claims have been fully considered, however, these claims are similarly directed to the abstract idea itself, without integrating it into a practical application and with, at most, a general purpose computer that serves to tie the idea to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claims.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 10, 12, and 14-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub 20230004917 (hereinafter “Sandritter”) et al., in view of U.S. PGPub 20130254151 to (hereinafter “Minter”) et al.
As per claim 1, Sandritter teaches an artificial intelligence employee evaluation system comprising:
at least one input device; at least one output device; one or more memory components; one or more processors communicatively coupled to one or more input devices, one or more output devices and a memory component; and machine- readable instructions stored in the memory component that cause the artificial intelligence employee evaluation system to perform at least the following when executed by the one or more processors: 0037: “The first user device 104 may include a keyboard, touchscreen, microphone, and/or the like for receiving data from a user…0051-0055: The server computer 106 may transmit instructions to the second user device 108 and/or the first user device 104, thereby causing the second user device 108 and/or the first user device 104 to display a Graphical User Interface (GUI) including the metric and at least a subset of the input data or a derivative thereof via the first user device and/or second user device… The server computer 200 includes a processor 202 coupled to a memory 204, a network interface 206, and a computer-readable medium 208.”
evaluate quantitatively employees based on a set of key performance indicators (KPIs) stored in memory; read KPI data from a source; 0067-0069: “User input can be received to configure particular skills and corresponding skill categories. In some aspects, based on the received user input, the system stores a data structure nesting the skills within the skill categories… User input can be received to assign members (e.g., different entities, such as players on a team, employees at a workplace, etc.) to a particular role…0090-0092: The input data is retrieved and stored by the server computer based on the configured source… The data is used to compute a metric, or representation of the entity's overall performance according to the selected skills and weights. In some examples, the metric is numeric, on some scale (e.g., 1-100, where 100 is best).”
weight the KPI for an employee based on the role of the employee; 0070: “For a given role, different skills may apply. For example, for an athlete, passing and kicking may be applicable skills. The system may prompt a user to configure weights that establish how much of an impact each skill has on an overall performance metric…For example, for the role of centerback on a soccer team, the configured skills and weights are defending (50%), passing (20%), and possession (30%).”
compare KPI employee performance against a set of employer KPI thresholds in a employee rankings module based on the employer KPI thresholds; 0066: “The process 400 may include a user (e.g., an administrator such as a coach, employer, etc.) establishing configuration data including skills, roles, members, and weights…0106-0111: The Users 1510 are further assigned a Latest Ranking 1516 based on the metric… The scores are also displayed in association with symbols—a thumbs up 1680 indicating that the performance is on target (for technical and tactical which are above some threshold) or a caution sign 1682 indicating that the performance can use improvement (for physical and physiological which are scored below some threshold).”
and generate an evaluation report for each employee/role pairing and output the evaluation report;0098: “As another example, triggering the action includes transmitting an electronic mail (email) message including the metric and at least a subset of the input data or a derivative thereof. As a specific example, the system sends the metric, along with average passing and running scores, to a coach. The coach can then adjust an athlete's training regime based on the information in the email…0111: The dashboard 1650 shows a scorecard 1652 for a target entity, Joseph M. 1654, in the role of defender 1656.”
Sandritter may not explicitly teach the following. However, Minter teaches:
classify employees into an overall ranking level using KPI employee performance in an artificial intelligence module; 0044: “ The computing system 110 utilizes the data collected from the multiple sources and applies machine learning logic to separate the result effective variables from the other metrics. From one or more select metrics for the employee, the system generates distributions of performance and uses the upper percentile employees to model balanced outcomes. The system then applies trained machine learning logic to produce recommendations based on the result effective variables and the balanced outcome models …0106: Based on these models and KPIs, machine learning logic may identify employees that can be improved (e.g. below average to average, average to above average)…0121: At 1110, the system (e.g. computing system 110 or recommendations component 160) may measure one or more agents' metrics relative to population quartile and/or measure line of business metrics relative to others in a first period of time.”
Sandritter and Minter are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and directed towards measuring, collecting, and analyzing information with a series of inputs to solve similar problems in the similar environments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandritter with the aforementioned teachings from Minter with a reasonable expectation of success, by adding steps that allow the software to classify data with the motivation to more efficiently and accurately organize and analyze data [Minter 0121].
As per claim 2, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Sandritter teaches:
add additional customer-defined KPIs through an input device and store it in memory; 0040: “At step 1, the server computer 106 receives configuration data from the second user device 108. The configuration data can be used to establish what data to collect, and how to use and weight the data in making a performance assessment, as described herein…0067: User input can be received to configure particular skills and corresponding skill categories. In some aspects, based on the received user input, the system stores a data structure nesting the skills within the skill categories.”
As per claim 4, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Sandritter teaches:
rank employees against their peer group; 0049: “In some implementations, the metric represents how the target entity 102 is performing in comparison to other entities in that role…0106: The Users 1510 are further assigned a Latest Ranking 1516 based on the metric.”
As per claim 14, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 9.
In addition, Sandritter teaches:
weighting the KPI for an employee based on the role of the employee; providing employee feedback through a user graphical interface; 0070: “For a given role, different skills may apply. For example, for an athlete, passing and kicking may be applicable skills. The system may prompt a user to configure weights that establish how much of an impact each skill has on an overall performance metric…0111: The dashboard 1650 can be presented to a target entity, causing the target entity to perform activities and improve their performance.”
Sandritter may not explicitly teach the following. However, Minter teaches:
wherein the user graphical interface provides evaluation and ranking data; and wherein the user graphical interface optionally provides employees with tips on how to improve;0126: “FIG. 16 illustrates a task manager specific view 1600 of a GUI provided by content delivery network 540 to an agent terminal 530 according to an implementation of the system. As illustrated, the agent may view their performance on multiple metrics and may view various tasks related to skill improvement (e.g. training). These tasks may be auto-generated by the action delivery component 170 and assigned to a manager (e.g. User #) for delivery, if necessary. This GUI 1600 may auto-play actions when the agent terminal determines the agent is available. Other notifications as described above may be displayed here. The leaderboard tab may compare the agent to their peers. The evaluate tab may allow evaluations of peers, managers, coaches, and themselves, for example. On an agent GUI the manager dashboard may be disabled.”
Sandritter and Minter are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and directed towards measuring, collecting, and analyzing information with a series of inputs to solve similar problems in the similar environments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandritter with the aforementioned teachings from Minter with a reasonable expectation of success, by adding steps that allow the software to classify data with the motivation to more efficiently and accurately organize and analyze data [Minter 0126].
As per claim 15, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 9.
In addition, Sandritter teaches:
suggesting online training classes based on KPI evaluation data and employer approval, tracking the completion of suggested training classes; 0109: “Referring to FIG. 16A, the first user interface 1602 is displayed on a computing device 1610 (e.g., a desktop or laptop computer). The user interface 1602 shows a recommended intervention 1612. Based on the ingested data, derivatives thereof, and/or computed metric, the system has determined that the target entity should improve their ability to handle stress 1614. This recommended intervention 1612 is displayed, along with a training plan 1616 (understand the effects of stress and learn how to manage it), and e-courses 1618a, 1618b (an active coping and problem solving e-course 1618a and a shifting unhelpful behaviors e-course 1618b). The first user interface 1602 shows that the training plan has been completed, as indicated by the check box 1620. The e-courses are associated with selectable interface elements for assigning the e-courses (assign buttons 1620a, 1620b). This first user interface 1602 can be displayed to an administrator (e.g., via second user device 108) to manage tasks assigned to an entity in a role that has been identified as one that would benefit from improvement in a particular skill or set of skills.”
Sandritter may not explicitly teach the following. However, Minter teaches:
and evaluating employees based on KPI evaluation data and completed training. Wherein the employee evaluation software is optionally implemented using artificial intelligence; 0044: “ The computing system 110 utilizes the data collected from the multiple sources and applies machine learning logic to separate the result effective variables from the other metrics. From one or more select metrics for the employee, the system generates distributions of performance and uses the upper percentile employees to model balanced outcomes. The system then applies trained machine learning logic to produce recommendations based on the result effective variables and the balanced outcome models…0031: The computing system may have one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operations that determine that the particular employee has completed the particular training module and gather second data associated with the particular employee in a second time period that is subsequent to the particular employee completing the particular training module. The system may then determine that the particular employee has improved with respect to (1) the at least one metric relative to a previously determined performance of the particular employee, and (2) the at least one metric relative to other peers in a peer group that includes the particular employee.”
Sandritter and Minter are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and directed towards measuring, collecting, and analyzing information with a series of inputs to solve similar problems in the similar environments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandritter with the aforementioned teachings from Minter with a reasonable expectation of success, by adding steps that allow the software to classify data with the motivation to more efficiently and accurately organize and analyze data [Minter 0126].
As per claim 16, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 9.
In addition, Minter teaches:
training in the artificial intelligence employee evaluation software using completed training and historical employee KPI data; 0036: “In subsequent periods, the system may measure the results of the training for the employees in the improvement areas. If desired result was not achieved, the machine learning may alter its logic and perform further analysis. The system may then repeat one or more of the pieces of the process, such that additional training is selected, or other improvement areas are selected to meet the goals…0066: The data from different periods of agent activity enables back testing, machine learning training and re-training, and record review. In some implementations, one or more periods may be stored as summary data or distributional data.”
Sandritter and Minter are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and directed towards measuring, collecting, and analyzing information with a series of inputs to solve similar problems in the similar environments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandritter with the aforementioned teachings from Minter with a reasonable expectation of success, by adding steps that allow the software to classify data with the motivation to more efficiently and accurately organize and analyze data [Minter 0126].
As per claim 17, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 9.
In addition, Minter teaches:
a set of KPI performance thresholds achieved,completion of suggested training, and regular usage of an employee portal; 0096: “The actions delivery component 170 may include a nudge component 372 which comprises one or more content delivery functions and may deliver chat messages, notifications, text messages, pop-up windows, or other notifications to agents being monitored by one or more systems connected to the actions delivery component 170. The actions delivery component 170 may include a gamification component 377 that allows agents to compete for various metrics (e.g. issue resolution time), or awards agents when they hit a threshold (e.g. sales per week), or compiles weekly VIP charts for the office, or other goal-oriented or motivational recognition (e.g. points, badges, certifications). These motivational concepts and techniques may encourage agents to use the new training tools and collaborate with each other—both to improve the tools and to better their ability to perform their tasks. The gamification component 377 may also deliver one or more training games on demand (or automatically) to one or more agents. The gamification component 377 may place hurdles or challenges into a game based on the metrics of the agent that need improvement or based on information or instructions from the recommendations component 160..”
Sandritter and Minter are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and directed towards measuring, collecting, and analyzing information with a series of inputs to solve similar problems in the similar environments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandritter with the aforementioned teachings from Minter with a reasonable expectation of success, by adding steps that allow the software to classify data with the motivation to more efficiently and accurately organize and analyze data [Minter 0126].
Claims 9-10 and 12 recite the method for performing the system of claims 1-2 and 4 above. Since the art teaches the method the same art and rationale apply.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub 20230004917 (hereinafter “Sandritter”) et al., in view of U.S. PGPub 20130254151 to (hereinafter “Minter”) et al., in further view of U.S. Patent 9894205 (hereinafter “Miller”) et al.
As per claim 3, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Sandritter and Minter may not explicitly teach the following. However, Miller teaches:
wherein the employee ranking module contains a performance contextualization engine with machine learning used to observe overall trends in shifts and corelated performance metrics to adjust the observed performance data in order to reflect the "degree of difficulty" of the working conditions; 042-047: “One approach for measuring an agent's performance involves isolating these other potential factors via application of a predictive model. A predictive model can be defined that provides an expected probability of a PtP, represented as P.sub.e(PtP). The predictive model, in effect, provides the P.sub.e(PtP) for each RPC by taking into account all the various factors that could impact receiving a PtP, and ‘normalizes’ these out… Consequently, this process can remove the impact of global economics, and allow a normalized comparison of the agents' relative performances… Next, the current agent is ranked based on their performance value relative to other agents' information in operation 510.” 040: “For example, an agent working the day shift may be given a list of numbers that largely has the BTTC characteristic shown in FIG. 2A. Ostensibly, that agent will likely have a lower right party connect rate than if the list were reflective of the BTTC shown in FIG. 2B. Similarly, an agent working an evening shift may encounter a higher right party connect in reaching target parties in the evening if the list has numbers largely reflecting the BTTC of FIG. 2A. As evident from the above, one way to negate such differences is to only analyze the results of an agent's RPCs or a percent thereof, as opposed to all of the call attempts. Another approach is to ensure that a minimum number of RPCs have been achieved by the agent before evaluating the agent. It appears reasonable to expect that an agent will have a harder time to reach the same number of PtPs if only a few RPCs are obtained during their shift…046: The model can be continually or periodically refined by applying recent call results or larger samples to optimize the model. The expected outcome using the recent call results can be compared to the actual call results and used to improve the accuracy of the model by e.g., accounting for trends…072: Accordingly, the cumulative actual success value is still incremented by one and thus, the agent's performance raises their overall performance average because the agent was successful in a more difficult situation.”
Sandritter, Minter, and Miller are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and directed towards measuring, collecting, and analyzing information with a series of inputs to solve similar problems in the similar environments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandritter and Minter with the aforementioned teachings from Miller with a reasonable expectation of success, by adding steps that allow the software to classify data with the motivation to more efficiently and accurately organize and analyze data [Miller 072].
Claim 11 recites the method for performing the system of claim 3 above. Since the art teaches the method the same art and rationale apply.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub 20230004917 (hereinafter “Sandritter”) et al., in view of U.S. PGPub 20130254151 to (hereinafter “Minter”) et al., in further view of U.S. PGPub 20240046191 (hereinafter “Mokashi”) et al.
As per claim 5, Sandritter and Minter teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Sandritter and Minter may not explicitly teach the following. However, Mokashi teaches:
at least one sensor to automatically capture KPI data automatically; circuity to properly capture the output of the sensor; a KPI data logger module to store the captured data from the sensor; and a timer module to run the artificial intelligence evaluation system in real time where the running frequency is programmable; 0072: “TFQP 228 may include a distribution scheduler 230. Distribution scheduler 230 may determine how frequently plans should be analyzed, how frequently interactions should be sent for review, and how many interactions should be sent for review. In some embodiments, distribution scheduler 230 analyses plans every four hours…0095: . A periodic basis over which to perform the determining may be predefined by a user, for example by setting a value using a user interface. The periodic basis may be, for example, every four hours, once a day, once a week, etc. A current quality value may be a determined value of how close the received quality metrics are to the received quality targets. A current quality value may represent an average value of a quality metric across multiple interactions within the time frame of the periodic basis, for example those interactions received since the last determination was made. In other words, a current quality value may be an average (e.g. mean) of all the values for the team for the selected period. In this way a current quality value may change on a periodic basis in response to changes in team behavior. For example, for a received quality target of 10 minutes for AHT, a determined current quality value on Monday may be 11 minutes, whereas a determination of the current value for AHT made on Tuesday may be 8 minutes. A current quality value may be recorded or stored for analysing historic data and trends over time.”
Sandritter, Minter, and Mokashi are deemed to be analogous references as they are reasonably pertinent to each other and directed towards measuring, collecting, and analyzing information with a series of inputs to solve similar problems in the similar environments. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sandritter and Minter with the aforementioned teachings from Mokashi with a reasonable expectation of success, by adding steps that allow the software to classify data with the motivation to more efficiently and accurately organize and analyze data [Mokashi 072].
Claim 13 recites the method for performing the system of claim 5 above. Since the art teaches the method the same art and rationale apply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nelson, Carl Frederick. System And Method For Providing Customized, Effective, Risk Based Ethics And Compliance Training And Information Using A Network, .U.S. PGPub 20050158697 The present invention relates to systems and methods for presenting training or information on a computer. More particularly, the present invention relates to providing training courses and information concerning corporate ethics and compliance over the Internet in a manner that is customized, risk based, and effective.
If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Beth Boswell, can be reached at (571) 272-6737. The fax telephone numbers for this group are either (571) 273-8300 or (703) 872-9326 (for official communications including After Final communications labeled “Box AF”)./Arif Ullah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625