DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 as filed April 7, 2025 are under consideration.
The instant application is a continuation-in-part (CIP) of Application No. 17/165,371 filed February 2, 2021 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,268,796), which is a CIP of Application No. 15/987,732 filed May 23, 2018 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,133,930).
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10: “a human face” should presumably recite “the human face” because a human typically has only one face.
Claim 14: “further” should be inserted before “includes” in view of the dependency from claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ). See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/165,371, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application does not disclose demineralized cortical bone as recited in claims 2 and 13, and does not disclose hydroxyapatite crystals as recited in claims 3 and 14.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 15/987,732, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application does not disclose demineralized cortical bone as recited in claims 2 and 13, and does not disclose hydroxyapatite crystals as recited in claims 3 and 14.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/510,601, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application does not disclose demineralized cortical bone as recited in claims 2 and 13, and does not disclose hydroxyapatite crystals as recited in claims 3 and 14.
The earliest date potentially available to claims 1, 11 and 12 is May 24, 2017.
The earliest date potentially available to claims 2-10 and 13-19 is April 7, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1 recite(s) an injectable composition comprising a soft tissue augmenting agent and a vehicle. Soft tissue augmenting agents encompass products of nature inclusive of proteins such as collagen or cells and vehicles encompass water, e.g., blood per se is an injectable composition.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of a use for augmenting one or more soft tissues of a human or animal is an intended use which does not meaningfully limit the structure of the nature-based compositions falling within the scope of the claim. Furthermore, augmenting merely means to add something which suggests the injection of anything meets this use.
The rationale for this determination is explained below: as per the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance and MPEP 2106.04(b)-(c), nature-based products that (i) are naturally occurring or (ii) are not naturally occurring but have characteristics that are not markedly different from a naturally occurring counterpart fall within an exception (law of nature or natural phenomena). Compositions, or combinations of naturally occurring nature-based products, are not patent eligible even if the combination itself is not naturally occurring absent the presence of markedly different characteristics in structure, function and/or other properties. Non-limiting examples of markedly different characteristics include biological or pharmacological functions or activities; chemical and physical properties; phenotype; and structure and form. This conclusion finds support in Funk Brothers Seed Co. v Kalo Inoculant Co., 33 U.S. 127, 131 (1948) and is re-iterated in Myriad, 133 S.Ct. at 2117 which states that “the composition was not patent eligible because the patent holder did not alter the bacteria in any way."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 recites the composition is for a human hand, however, claim 8 from which claim 9 depends recites the composition is for a human plantar fat pad. Because a human hand is not a human plantar fat pad, claim 9 appears to omit and contradict the limitation of claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the composition is for a human face, however, claim 8 from which claim 10 depends recites the composition is for a human plantar fat pad. Because a human face is not a human plantar fat pad, claim 10 appears to omit and contradict the limitation of claim 8.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wallace et al. (US 5,352,715, published October 4, 1994).
Regarding claim 1
Wallace teaches injectable implant compositions comprising a biocompatible ceramic matrix (augmenting agent) in a fluid carrier (vehicle); the compositions are suitable for repair of soft tissues (title; abstract; claims). The compositions are suitable for humans or other mammals (column 8, lines 20-25).
Regarding claims 11 and 12
Wallace teaches injectable implant compositions comprising a biocompatible ceramic matrix (augmenting agent) in a fluid carrier (vehicle); the compositions are suitable for repair of soft tissues (title; abstract; claims). The compositions are suitable for humans or other mammals (column 8, lines 20-25). Wallace further teaches kits comprising ready-to-use syringes (column 3, lines 29-35; claim 9).
The above teachings therefore anticipate the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace et al. (US 5,352,715, published October 4, 1994) in view of Wironen et al. (US 2002/0176893, published November 28, 2002) and Nauman et al. (US 2013/0123939, published May 16, 2013).
The teachings of Wallace have been described supra with regard to the anticipation of claims 1, 11 and 12. Claims 1, 11 and 12 are therefore also obvious over Wallace.
Wallace teaches injectable implant compositions comprising a biocompatible ceramic matrix (augmenting agent) in a fluid carrier (vehicle) comprising an aqueous buffered medium; the compositions are suitable for repair of soft tissues (title; abstract; claims), as required by instant claims 7, 12, 18. The compositions are suitable for humans or other mammals (column 8, lines 20-25).
The ceramic matrix may comprise a calcium phosphate mineral such as hydroxyapatite; bone could also be harvested and purified for this purpose (claims 2, 3; column 4, lines 18-44). The calcium phosphate is present as particles (column 4, lines 45-58).
The compositions may further comprise collagen (abstract), as required by instant claim 3. Collagen is available in saline (column 6, lines 38-50), as required by instant claim 3.
The compositions may further comprise biologically active substances (claims 20, 21; paragraph bridging columns 7 and 8).
Wallace further teaches kits comprising the compositions in ready-to-use syringes (column 3, lines 29-35; claim 9), as required by instant claim 19.
Wallace does not specifically teach hydrolyzed collagen and demineralized cortical bone as required by claims 2, 13.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Wironen and Nauman.
Wironen teaches compositions useful in bulking-up regions of tissues or organs in a living mammal comprising water-insoluble particles inclusive of hydroxyapatite or/and demineralized bone and a carrier inclusive of collagen or/and gelatin (hydrolyzed collagen); a partially hydrolyzed collagen is a preferred carrier material (title; abstract; claims, in particular 3, 4, 8, 19; paragraphs [0102], [0113], [0115], [0119]), as required by instant claims 2, 13. The compositions may further comprise biologically active agents inclusive of amino acids (claim 5; paragraph [0053]). The compositions may further comprise synthetic materials to add bulk to a tissue inclusive of solid silicone particles or/and microspheres of PMMA (acrylic) (paragraph [0069]). Wironen further teaches the compositions may be loaded into a sterile syringe (paragraph [0087]).
Nauman teaches compositions for soft tissue repair comprising demineralized bone (title; abstract; claims). Demineralized bone refers to any bone including cortical (paragraph [0026]), as required by instant claims 2, 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the collagens of Wironen inclusive of hydrolyzed collagen with the collagens of Wallace inclusive of collagen in saline because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Wallace embraces collagen and hydrolyzed collagen is a species falling within this genus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the particles of Wironen inclusive of demineralized bone with the particles of Wallace inclusive of hydroxyapatite because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Wallace embraces the presence of bone particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the demineralized bone particles of the compositions of Wallace in view of Wironen to comprise demineralized cortical bone as taught by Nauman because demineralized bone refers to any bone including cortical.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace et al. (US 5,352,715, published October 4, 1994) in view of Wironen et al. (US 2002/0176893, published November 28, 2002) and Nauman et al. (US 2013/0123939, published May 16, 2013) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Iafisco et al. “The cooperative effect of size and crystallinity degree of the resorption of biomimetic hydroxyapatite for soft tissue augmentation,” International Journal of Artificial Organs 33(11):765-774, 2010.
The teachings of Wallace, Wironen and Nauman have been described supra.
They do not specifically teach hydroxyapatite crystals as required by claims 3, 14.
This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Iafisco.
Iafisco teaches hydroxyapatite crystals as subcutaneous fillers (title; abstract), as required by instant claims 3, 14. Bioresorption of hydroxyapatite crystals is affected by the degree of crystallinity and dimensions (page 766, paragraph bridging columns).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydroxyapatite of the compositions of Wallace in view of Wironen and Nauman to comprise hydroxyapatite crystals as taught by Iafisco because it is known that bioresorption is affected by crystallinity. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Wallace embraces hydroxyapatite and hydroxyapatite crystals is a species falling within this genus.
Claims 4-10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace et al. (US 5,352,715, published October 4, 1994) in view of Wironen et al. (US 2002/0176893, published November 28, 2002) and Nauman et al. (US 2013/0123939, published May 16, 2013) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 11-13 above, and further in view of Iafisco et al. “The cooperative effect of size and crystallinity degree of the resorption of biomimetic hydroxyapatite for soft tissue augmentation,” International Journal of Artificial Organs 33(11):765-774, 2010 as applied to claims 3 and 14 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (US 2018/0339085, published November 29, 2018).
The teachings of Wallace, Wironen, Nauman and Iafisco have been described supra.
Wallace teaches a fluid carrier (vehicle) comprising an aqueous buffered medium (title; abstract; claims), as required by instant claims 7, 18.
Wironen teaches the compositions may be loaded into a sterile syringe (paragraph [0087]), as required by instant claim 19.
They do not specifically teach inter alia human- or animal-derived amino acids and synthetic amino acids as required by claims 4, 5, 15, 16.
They do not specifically teach inter alia micronized silicone particles as required by claims 6, 17.
They do not specifically teach soft tissue in a human plantar fat pad or/and a hand or/and a face as required by claims 8-10.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Taylor.
Taylor teaches an injectable composition for augmenting one or more soft tissues of a human or animal comprising a soft-tissue augmenting agent and a vehicle (title; abstract; claims). The augmenting agent comprises saline or hydrolyzed collagen (claims 2, 3). The agent may further comprise human- or animal-derived or synthetic amino acids, polypeptides, cells or/and tissues (claims 4, 5), as required by instant claims 4, 5, 15, 16. The agent may further comprise micronized silicone particles or/and acrylic beads (claim 6), as required by instant claims 6, 17. The vehicle may comprise water (claim 7). The compositions may be formulated for a human plantar fat pad, a human hand or a human face (claims 8-10), as required by instant claims 8-10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compositions of Wallace in view of Wironen, Nauman and Iafisco suitable for repair of soft tissues to further comprise the soft-tissue augmenting agents of Taylor inclusive of human- or animal-derived or synthetic amino acids, polypeptides, cells or/and tissues and inclusive of micronized silicone particles or/and acrylic beads because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding the intended use recitations of claims 8-10, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the soft tissue repair compositions of Wallace in view of Wironen, Nauman, Iafisco and Taylor for a human plantar fat pad, a human hand or a human face as taught by Taylor because these are types of soft tissue which may be in need of repair.
Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to package the soft tissue repair compositions of Wallace in view of Wironen, Nauman, Iafisco and Taylor in sterile syringes as taught by Wironen in order to minimize contamination upon injection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12/133,930 (parent Application No. 15/987,732) in view of Wallace et al. (US 5,352,715, published October 4, 1994), Wironen et al. (US 2002/0176893, published November 28, 2002), Nauman et al. (US 2013/0123939, published May 16, 2013).
The instant claims are drawn to injectable compositions comprising a soft-tissue augmenting agent and a vehicle. The augmenting agent may comprise hydrolyzed collagen and demineralized cortical bone or/and collagen and hydroxyapatite crystals in saline. The augmenting agent may further comprise human- or animal-derived and synthetic amino acids, and may further comprise micronized silicone particles. The vehicle may comprise water. The compositions may be formulated for a human plantar fat pad and a human hand or face. The instant claims are also drawn to a kit further comprising a syringe which may be sterile.
The ‘930 Patent claims are drawn to kits comprising a syringe and injectable compositions comprising a soft-tissue augmenting agent and a vehicle. The augmenting agent may comprise hydrolyzed collagen or/and saline. The augmenting agent may further comprise human- or animal-derived and synthetic amino acids, and may further comprise micronized silicone particles. The vehicle may comprise water. The compositions may be formulated for a human plantar fat pad or a hand or face.
The ‘930 claims differ with respect to the hydrolyzed collagen, the demineralized cortical bone, the collagen, the hydroxyapatite crystals and the sterility of the syringe. However, it is known in the soft tissue art to include biocompatible ceramic matrix particles inclusive of hydroxyapatite or/and bone as taught by Wallace and to include particles inclusive of hydroxyapatite or/and demineralized bone as taught by Wironen in a carrier inclusive of collagen, preferably hydrolyzed collagen as a bulking agent and it would have been obvious to modify the soft-tissue augmenting agent of the Patent claims to further comprise these art-recognized bulking agents. In view of Nauman it would have been obvious that demineralized bone refers to any bone including cortical. In view of Iafisco it would have been obvious that hydroxyapatite refers to hydroxyapatite crystals. It would have been obvious to modify the syringes of the kits of the Patent claims in view of Wallace, Wironen, Nauman and Iafisco to be sterile as taught by Wironen in order to minimize contamination upon injection.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/709,706 (CIP of the instant Application) in view of Wironen et al. (US 2002/0176893, published November 28, 2002).
The instant claims have been described supra.
The copending ‘706 claims differ from the instant claims with respect to the lack of a recitation of a hydrolyzed collagen in claims 2 and 13.
However, it is known in the soft tissue art to include particles inclusive of hydroxyapatite or/and demineralized bone as taught by Wironen in a carrier inclusive of collagen, preferably hydrolyzed collagen as a bulking agent and it would have been obvious to modify the soft-tissue augmenting agent of the copending claims to further comprise these art-recognized bulking agents.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boss, Jr. et al. (US 6,432,710) teaches an injectable composition comprising an acellular filler material for augmenting tissue, particularly facial tissue; the filler material comprises one or more of collagen, gelatin (hydrolyzed collagen), demineralized bones or/and hydroxyapatite (title; abstract; claims).
/ALISSA PROSSER/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600