DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Claims 1-7,9-15 and 17-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGP# 20240408737 of Kuroyanagi et al. (henceforth Kuroyanagi) in view of USPGP# 20240039058 of Ye et al. (henceforth Ye).
Regarding claim 1, Kuroyanagi teaches
An electric drill (1), comprising:
a housing (2) comprising at least a grip (22) and a battery pack interface (23), wherein the battery pack interface is used for mounting a battery pack (20) for supplying power to the electric drill (para 0079);
an electric motor (6) disposed in the housing and comprising a stator (61) and a rotor (62);
a driver circuit (15, 16, 24) comprising a plurality of switches (16, 24) disposed on a current path from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0096);
a controller (17) configured to switch on and off the plurality of switches to adjust power supply from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0099);
an output shaft (81, 82) for mounting a working head (100); and
a transmission mechanism (30) connected between the rotor and the output shaft (fig. 4), wherein the transmission mechanism is a two-stage deceleration mechanism (para 0083) and comprises
a first-stage deceleration mechanism (31) and
a second-stage deceleration mechanism (33),
the electric motor drives the working head to rotate via the transmission mechanism and the output shaft (para 0083).
wherein, when torque of the electric drill is greater than or equal to approximately 6 newton-meters and less than or equal to approximately 8 newton-meters a maximum rotational speed of the working head is greater than or equal to 2000rpm (para 0233 “rotational speed Na of the motor 6 is approximately 1,900 rpm (or more) when the torque of the output part 8 is 6 N.Math.m.” As such Kuroyanagi contemplates speeds higher than 1900rpm can achieve a torque of 6N.math.m).
Should the Applicant contend that Kuroyanagi does not teach when torque of the electric drill is greater than or equal to approximately 6 newton-meters and less than or equal to approximately 8 newton-meters a maximum rotational speed of the working head is greater than or equal to 2000rpm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to make the maximum rotational speed of the working head greater than or equal to 2000 rpm when the torque is between 6-8 N.M, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to improve drilling speed without damaging/overheating the tool, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Kuroyanagi teaches a maximum rotational speed of the working head is 2400 rpm (para 0222) and therefore does not teach the maximum rotational speed of the working head is greater than or equal to 2800 rpm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to make the maximum rotational speed of the working head greater than or equal to 2800 rpm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to improve drilling speed without damaging/overheating the tool, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Kuroyanagi teaches the voltage of the battery pack is 40V and therefore does not explicitly teach
where a voltage of the battery pack is greater than or equal to 20 V and smaller than or equal to 24 V.
Liu teaches
a battery pack (first battery group and second battery group) for supplying power to an electric drill (para 0069); where a voltage of the battery pack is greater than or equal to 20 V and smaller than or equal to 24 V (para 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the single battery pack of Kuroyanagi, by using a battery pack which is capable of supplying 24V and 48V, as taught by Liu, in order to provide the predictable result of making the battery pack more user friendly and more versatile since the same battery pack can be used with various tools requiring low voltage or high voltage (Ye: para 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 2, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein the electric drill comprises two speed gears (para 0089) which are a high speed gear (Kuroyanagi: speed “3”, para 0089) and a low speed gear (Kuroyanagi: speed “1”, para 0089).
Regarding claim 3, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein a diameter of the electric motor is greater than 50 mm (Kuroyanagi: para 0185, 0188).
Regarding claim 4, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein a voltage of the battery pack is 24 V (Ye: para 0065).
Regarding claim 6, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein a low speed ratio of the transmission mechanism is less than or equal to 15 (Kuroyanagi: para 0194), and a high speed ratio of the transmission mechanism is greater than or equal to 45 (Kuroyanagi: para 0195).
Regarding claim 7, as shown in claim 6, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein, when the electric drill is in a high speed gear, a ratio of a rotational speed of the electric motor to a rotational speed of the working head is the low speed ratio (Kuroyanagi: para 0194) and, when the electric drill is in a low speed gear, the ratio of the rotational speed of the electric motor to the rotational speed of the working head is the high speed ratio (Kuroyanagi: para 0194-0195).
Regarding claim 17, Kuroyanagi teaches
A handheld power tool (1), comprising:
a housing (2) comprising at least a grip (22) and a battery pack interface (23), wherein the battery pack interface is used for mounting a battery pack (20) for supplying power to the handheld power tool (para 0079);
an electric motor (6) disposed in the housing and comprising a stator (61) and a rotor (62);
a driver circuit (15, 16, 24) comprising a plurality of switches (16, 24) disposed on a current path from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0096);
a controller (17) configured to switch on and off the plurality of switches to adjust power supply from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0099);
an output shaft (81, 82) for mounting a working head (100); and
a transmission mechanism (30) connected between the rotor and the output shaft (fig. 4),
the electric motor drives the working head to rotate via the transmission mechanism and the output shaft (para 0083).
and when torque is approximately 6 to 8 newton-meters, a maximum rotational speed of the working head is greater than or equal to 2000 rpm (para 0233 “rotational speed Na of the motor 6 is approximately 1,900 rpm (or more) when the torque of the output part 8 is 6 N.Math.m.” As such Kuroyanagi contemplates speeds higher than 1900rpm can achieve a torque of 6N.math.m).
Should the contend that Kuroyanagi does not teach when torque is approximately 6 to 8 newton-meters, a maximum rotational speed of the working head is greater than or equal to 2000 rpm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to make the maximum rotational speed of the working head greater than or equal to 2000 rpm when the torque is between 6-8 N.M, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to improve drilling speed without damaging/overheating the tool, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Kuroyanagi teaches the voltage of the battery pack is 40V and therefore does not explicitly teach
where a voltage of the battery pack is greater than or equal to 20 V and smaller than or equal to 24 V.
Liu teaches
a battery pack (first battery group and second battery group) for supplying power to an electric drill (para 0069); where a voltage of the battery pack is greater than or equal to 20 V and smaller than or equal to 24 V (para 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the single battery pack of Kuroyanagi, by using a battery pack which is capable of supplying 24V and 48V, as taught by Liu, in order to provide the predictable result of making the battery pack more user friendly and more versatile since the same battery pack can be used with various tools requiring low voltage or high voltage (Ye: para 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 18, as shown in claim 17, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein the handheld power tool is a dual-speed electric drill (Kuroyanagi: para 0089).
Regarding claim 19, as shown in claim 17, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein a maximum rotational speed of the electric motor is less than or equal to 40000 rpm (Kuroyanagi: para 0221).
Regarding claim 20, as shown in claim 17, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
wherein a low speed ratio of the transmission mechanism is less than or equal to 15 (Kuroyanagi: para 0194), and a high speed ratio of the transmission mechanism is greater than or equal to 45 (Kuroyanagi: para 0195).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye in view of USPGP# 20250274070 of Zhao et al. (henceforth Zhao).
Regarding claim 5, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye does not teach
wherein the battery pack is a pouch battery pack.
Zhao teaches
An electric drill (100), comprising:
a housing (108) comprising at least a grip (110) and a battery pack interface (120), wherein the battery pack interface is used for mounting a battery pack (104) for supplying power to the electric drill;
an electric motor (para 0033) disposed in the housing and comprising a stator (inherent part of motor) and a rotor (inherent part of motor);
a driver circuit (450) comprising a plurality of switches (para 0064) disposed on a current path from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0064);
a controller (410) configured to switch on and off the plurality of switches to adjust power supply from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0064-0065);
an output shaft (114) for mounting a working head (para 0033);
wherein the battery pack is a pouch battery pack (para 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the battery pack of the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye with a pouch battery pack, as taught by Zhao, in order to provide the predictable result of allowing the battery pack to be more compact.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye in view of USPGP# 20220286018 of Xu et al. (henceforth Xu).
Regarding claim 9, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye does not teach
wherein the electric motor is configured to achieve the maximum rotational speed of the working head based on field-oriented control (FOC) control.
Xu teaches
a power tool (para 0145) comprising an electric motor (19) and a controller (30); wherein the electric motor is configured to achieve a maximum rotational speed of a working head (20) based on field-oriented control (FOC) control (para 0158).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller of the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye such that it uses field-oriented control (FOC) control to control motor speed, as taught by Xu, in order to provide the predictable result of smooth switching between different motor speeds (Xu: para 0158). This reduces the chance of motor damage and/or abrupt speed changes which may cause user injury.
Regarding claim 10, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
a maximum rotational speed of the electric motor is less than (Kuroyanagi: para 0221).
The combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye does not teach
wherein based on FOC field-weakening control for controlling a maximum rotational speed of the electric motor.
Xu teaches
a power tool (para 0145) comprising an electric motor (19) and a controller (30); wherein based on FOC field-weakening control for controlling a maximum rotational speed of the electric motor is achieved (para 0158).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller of the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye such that it uses field-oriented control (FOC) control to control motor speed, as taught by Xu, in order to provide the predictable result of smooth switching between different motor speeds (Xu: para 0158). This reduces the chance of motor damage and/or abrupt speed changes which may cause user injury.
Regarding claim 11, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye does not teach
wherein the controller is configured to control a voltage outputted from the battery pack to the electric motor to change approximately in a sine wave or a saddle wave.
Xu teaches
a power tool (para 0145) comprising an electric motor (19); a battery pack (13) and a controller (30); wherein the controller is configured to control a voltage outputted from the battery pack to the electric motor to change approximately in a sine wave or a saddle wave (para 0087, 0106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller of the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye such that the controller is configured to control a voltage supplied to electric motor using a sine wave or a saddle wave, as taught by Xu, in order to provide the predictable result of improved motor efficiency and heavy load handling (Xu: para 0093).
Claim 12-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye in view of USPGP# 20120169256 of Suda et al. (henceforth Suda).
Regarding claim 12, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye teaches
an actuator sleeve (Kuroyanagi: 13), wherein the actuator sleeve is operable by a user to rotate about the output shaft to set a working mode of the electric drill (Kuroyanagi: para 0091, 0124-0125).
The combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye does not teach
a detection element; the detection element detects a rotational state of the actuator sleeve, and the controller is configured to be communicatively connected to the detection element to acquire the rotational state and acquire the working mode according to the rotational state.
Suda teaches
An electric drill (10), comprising:
a housing (14) comprising at least a grip (13) and a battery pack interface (lower end of 13), wherein the battery pack interface is used for mounting a battery pack (15) for supplying power to the electric drill (para 00151);
an electric motor (30) disposed in the housing and comprising a stator (inherent part of motor) and a rotor (153);
a driver circuit (fig. 4) comprising a plurality of switches (fig. 4) disposed on a current path from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0152-156);
a controller (31) configured to switch on and off the plurality of switches to adjust power supply from the battery pack to the electric motor (para 0152-0156);
an output shaft (17) for mounting a working head (para 0115); and
a transmission mechanism (45) connected between the rotor and the output shaft (fig. 2a),
the electric motor drives the working head to rotate via the transmission mechanism and the output shaft (para 0125, fig. 2a);
an actuator sleeve (19) and a detection element (37, 38), wherein the actuator sleeve is operable by a user to rotate about the output shaft to set a working mode of the electric drill (para 0117, fig. 1); the detection element detects a rotational state of the actuator sleeve (para 0143-0149), and the controller is configured to be communicatively connected to the detection element to acquire the rotational state and acquire the working mode according to the rotational state (para 0143-0149).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electric drill of the combination of Kuroyanagi and Ye with the addition of a detection element, as taught by Suda, in order to produce the predictable result of providing a plurality of operation modes, a user can easily and reliably change control parameters for use at the plurality of operation modes, per operation mode, without increase in mounting area in the electric power tool and cost of the electric power tool (Suda: para 0023).
Regarding claim 13, as shown in claim 12, the combination of Kuroyanagi, Ye and Suda teaches
wherein the working mode comprises a drill gear mode (Kuroyanagi: para 0095, Suda: fig. 3b) which uses a drill gear (Kuroyanagi: para 0095, Suda: 55), a hammer gear mode (Kuroyanagi: para 0091, Suda: fig. 3a) which uses a hammer gear (Kuroyanagi: para 0091, Suda: 56), and a screw gear mode (Kuroyanagi: para 0095, Suda: clutch mode, para 0119) which uses a screw gear (Kuroyanagi: para 0095, Suda: para 0174-0175), and a rotational speed limit of the drill gear is higher than a rotational speed limit of the hammer gear and a rotational speed limit of the screw gear (Suda: fig. 5-6B).
Regarding claim 14, as shown in claim 13, the combination of Kuroyanagi, Ye and Suda does not teach
wherein, when the electric drill is in the drill gear mode, the maximum rotational speed of the working head of the electric drill is greater than or equal to 2800 rpm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to make the electric drill is in the drill gear mode have a maximum rotational speed of the working head greater than or equal to 2800 rpm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to improve drilling speed without damaging/overheating the tool, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, as shown in claim 13, the combination of Kuroyanagi, Ye and Suda does not teach
wherein, when the electric drill is in the hammer gear mode or the screw gear mode, the maximum rotational speed of the working head of the electric drill is greater than or equal to 2300 rpm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to make the electric drill in the hammer gear mode or the screw gear mode, have a maximum rotational speed of the working head greater than or equal to 2300 rpm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to improve screwing speed without damaging/overheating the tool, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/16/2026 have been fully considered:
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference of Ye being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/M.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731