Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of claim 14 recites: A method of reproducing a media file via a storage medium, said method comprising: (a) writing a media file to the storage medium using a method as claimed in claim 1. It is unclear if claim 14 dependents on claim 1 or it is meant to be an independent form. If the later is true, method claim 14 should not refer back to method claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohbi et al (hereinafter Ohbi) US Publication No 20030188094.
As per claim 1, Ohbi teaches:
A method of writing a media file, the media file comprising:
a file header;
(Paragraphs [0330], [0338] and [0344])
a file body for containing media elements;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335])
and a descriptor portion enabling reading of media elements in the body portion, wherein the file header includes data enabling the location of the file's descriptor portion to be determined;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
the method comprising:
(a) writing the media file;
(Paragraphs [0034] and [0341]-[0342])
(b) writing at least one media element to the file body;
(Paragraphs [0034] and [0341]-[0342])
(c) writing a descriptor file associated with the media file, said descriptor file containing data enabling reading of media elements stored in the file body of said media file;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
(d) repeating (b) to write additional media elements to said file body;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
And (e) repeating (c) to write additional data into said descriptor file enabling reading of the additional media elements stored in the file body;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
and(f) once all additional media elements are written to said file body, writing a descriptor portion to said media file, enabling reading of media elements in the body portion.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
As per claim 3, Ohbi teaches:
A method as claimed in claim 1 wherein (c) is repeated either:
after each additional media element is written to said file body, periodically, or on an ad hoc basis.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
As per claim 4, Ohbi teaches:
A method as claimed in claim 1 wherein when repeating (c) includes writing said additional data enabling reading in a data new fragment that enables playback of media elements stored in the file body of said media file since the last occurrence of (c).
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0025], [0036], [0309] and [0317]-[0319])
As per claim 5, Ohbi teaches:
A method as claimed in claim 1 which includes:
finalizing the media file by writing a final descriptor portion in the media file;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
and deleting the descriptor file.
(Paragraph [0384])
As per claim 14, Ohbi teaches:
A method of reproducing a media file via a storage medium, said method comprising:
writing a media file to the storage medium using a method as claimed in claim 1;
(Paragraphs [0330], [0338] and [0344])
and (b) reading a media file from the storage medium checking for the presence of
descriptor file associated with the media file, said descriptor file being configured to store data enabling reading of media elements stored in the file body of said media file;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
and in the event said descriptor file exists and includes data enabling reading of media elements:
(x) reading a descriptor file associated with the media file, said descriptor file containing data enabling reading of media elements stored in the file body of said media file;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
and(y) reading said media elements from said file body according to said descriptor file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
Claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to method claim 1 and it is rejection under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ohbi in view of Cooper et al (hereinafter Cooper) US Patent No. 7802185.
As per claim 2, Ohbi does not explicitly teach updating the file header to provide an updated indication of a location of the descriptor portion within the file, however in analogous art of content management, Cooper teaches:
updating the file header to provide an updated indication of a location of the descriptor portion within the file.
(Column 5, lines 44-50 and 64-67 and Column 6, lines 1-16 and Column 7, lines 55-65 and column 12, lines 29-39)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Ohbi and Cooper by incorporating the teaching of Cooper into the method of Ohbi. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Cooper into the system of Ohbi for the purpose of editing header to accurately managing file sections.
Claims 6-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ohbi in view of Yoo et al (hereinafter Yoo) US Publication No. 20150281842.
As per claim 6, Ohbi teaches:
A method of reading a media file stored on a data storage media, said media file comprising:
a file header;
(Paragraphs [0330], [0338] and [0344])
a file body containing media elements;
(Paragraphs [0330], [0338] and [0344])
said method including:
checking for the presence of a descriptor file associated with the media file, said descriptor file being configured to store data enabling reading of media elements stored in the file body of said media file;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
And in the event said descriptor file exists and includes data enabling reading of media elements:
(x) reading a descriptor file associated with the media file, said descriptor file containing data enabling reading of media elements stored in the file body of said media file;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
And (y) reading said media elements from said file body according to said descriptor file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
Ohbi does not explicitly teach and a descriptor portion enabling reading of media elements in the body portion, wherein the file header includes an indication of a location of the descriptor portion within the file, however in analogous art of content management, Yoo teaches:
and a descriptor portion enabling reading of media elements in the body portion, wherein the file header includes an indication of a location of the descriptor portion within the file;
(Paragraphs [0039], [0070], [0075] and [0085])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Ohbi and Yoo by incorporating the teaching of Yoo into the method of Ohbi. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Yoo into the system of Ohbi for the purpose of managing media playing across plurality bitstreams.
As per claim 7, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
A method as claimed in claim 6 which further includes, repeating (x) to obtain additional data enabling reading of media elements stored in the file body of said media file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
As per claim 8, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
A method as claimed in 7 wherein the data enabling reading is written in the descriptor file in sequentially stored fragments, wherein each fragment enables playback of media elements stored in the file body stored since the previous fragment was stored in the descriptor file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016] and [0025] and [0137])(Ohbi)
As per claim 9, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
A method as claimed in claim 8 wherein repeating (x) includes reading one or more fragments that were stored in the descriptor file since (x) was last repeated.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
As per claim 10, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
A method as claimed in claim 6 which includes detecting a change in the descriptor file, and in response to said detection, repeating (x).
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
As per claim 11, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
A method as claimed in claim 10 wherein detecting a change in the descriptor file comprises any one of: receiving a notification indicating that said descriptor file has been changed; or checking for a change in said descriptor file.
(Paragraphs [0317] and [0326])(Ohbi)
As per claim 12, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
A method as claimed in claim 6 which further includes repeating (y) to read additional media elements from said file body according to said additional data enabling reading.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
As per claim 13, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
A method as claimed in claim 6 wherein, in the event that either: said descriptor file associated with the media file does not exist; or said descriptor file associated with the media file does not include data enabling reading of media elements, said method includes:
(x2) reading the descriptor portion of the media file enabling reading of media elements in the body portion;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
And (y2) reading said media elements from said file body according to said descriptor portion of the media file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
As per claim 15, Ohbi teaches:
A method of live recording of media, the media comprising a plurality of media elements of audio, video, or audio and video, the method comprising:
creating a media file for the media, the media file comprising a file header and a file body;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
during live recording by a media source:
a) receiving from the media source at least one media element of the plurality of media elements;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
b) writing the at least one media element into the file body;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
and c) writing data enabling reading of the at least one media element to a descriptor file associated with the media file;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
and once all of the plurality of media elements have been received, finalizing the media file, including writing or updating a descriptor portion of the media file,
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])
Ohbi does not explicitly teach wherein the file header includes data enabling the location of the descriptor portion of the media file to be determined and the descriptor portion comprises data enabling reading of the media elements in the body portion, however in analogous art of content management, Yoo teaches:
wherein the file header includes data enabling the location of the descriptor portion of the media file to be determined and the descriptor portion comprises data enabling reading of the media elements in the body portion.
(Paragraphs [0039], [0070], [0075] and [0085])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Ohbi and Yoo by incorporating the teaching of Yoo into the method of Ohbi. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Yoo into the system of Ohbi for the purpose of managing media playing across plurality bitstreams.
As per claim 16, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
The method of claim 15, wherein the created media file includes a descriptor portion.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
As per claim 17, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
The method of claim 16, wherein the created media file does not include a descriptor portion and finalizing the media file comprises adding the descriptor portion to the media file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
As per claim 18, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
The method of claim 15, including updating the descriptor file at least once a second during the live recording, based on media elements of the plurality of media elements received and written to the file body since the last update.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332], [0335]-[0337] and [0396], wherein the feeds is the live recording)(Ohbi)
As per claim 19, Ohbi and Yoo teach:
The method of claim 15, further including reading the media file during the live recording or prior to the finalizing of the media file, wherein reading the media file comprises reading media elements in the file body according to the descriptor file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0016], [0310], [0317], [0319], [0332] and [0335]-[0337])(Ohbi)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tarek Chbouki whose telephone number is 571-2703154. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached at 571-2701760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAREK CHBOUKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 6/30/2026