DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The rejection of Claims 1 – 20 for the limitations “the first display region comprises a plurality of first pixel repeat units, each pixel repeat unit comprises two sub-pixels in a first color, two sub-pixels in a second color, and four sub-pixels in a third color; the second display region comprises a plurality of second pixel repeat units, each pixel repeat unit comprises two sub-pixels in a first color, two sub-pixels in a second color, and four sub-pixels in a third color” is withdrawn in light of the amendment to at least Claims 1 and 10 – 11.
The rejection of Claims 1 – 20 for the limitations “in the second display region, a distance between different pixel repeat units is greater than a distance between different sub-pixels in a same pixel repeat unit” is withdrawn in light of the amendment to at least Claims 1 and 10 – 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 11, and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0203450) in view of Matsueda et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0028311) in view of Tan et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0168674).
Regarding Claim 1, Lou et al. teach a display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40), comprising a first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) and a second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44), wherein the first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) is provided with a first pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44), and the second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44) is provided with a second pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44) smaller than (Paragraph 44) the first pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44);
the first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) comprises a plurality of first pixel repeat units (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2. Paragraph 55), each first pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2. Paragraph 55) comprises two sub-pixels in a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55), two sub-pixels in a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55), and sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55);
the second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44) comprises a plurality of second pixel repeat units (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56), each second pixel repeat unit comprises two sub-pixels in a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55), two sub-pixels in a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55), and sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55);
each second pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56) comprises two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in adjacent pixel rows (Seen in Figure 6), each pixel group comprises one first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel, one second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel, and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels;
the sub-pixels in different colors are arranged in different modes (Seen in Figure 6) along a pixel row direction in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in a same pixel repeat unit; in each second pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56) ,a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel is adjacent to a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels, a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel is adjacent to a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels, a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels is adjacent to a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel;
a connection line of centers of two adjacent sub-pixels in two different colors in a first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) in a second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) forms a triangle (Seen in Figure 6); and
a connection line of centers of two adjacent sub-pixels in two different colors in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) forms a triangle (Seen in Figure 6);
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels in a same pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) belong to at least two different pixel addressing rows (Seen in Figure 6).
Lou et al. is silent with regards to each pixel repeat unit comprises four sub-pixels in a third color; each pixel group comprises a pair of third color sub-pixels; the pair of third color sub-pixels arranged in a pixel column direction in each of the two pixel groups; in the second display region, a distance between different second pixel repeat units is greater than a distance between different sub-pixels in a same second pixel repeat unit.
Matsueda et al. teach in the second display region (Figure 5, Element 453. Paragraph 64), a distance between different second pixel repeat units (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 71) is greater than (Seen in Figure 5) a distance between different sub-pixels in a same second pixel repeat unit (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 71).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. with the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. with the teachings of Matsueda et al. is to provide a display with minimized display quality, as taught by Matsueda et al. (Paragraph 23).
Tan et al. teach each pixel repeat unit (Figure 1, Element 14 in rows 1 and 2. Paragraph 47) comprises four sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47); each pixel group comprises a pair of third color sub-pixels (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47); the pair of third color sub-pixels (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47) arranged in a pixel column direction (Seen in Figure 1) in each of the two pixel groups.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 1 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) is offset by a half of a width (Seen in Figure 6) of one sub-pixel in a first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) relative to the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56), and the first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) points toward one edge of a pixel row.
Regarding Claim 3, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 1 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the sub-pixels have a same width in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) is offset by 1.5 times of a width (Seen in Figure 6) of one sub-pixel in a first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) relative to a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56), and the first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) points toward one edge of a pixel row.
Regarding Claim 4, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 3 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) is offset by 1.5 times of the width (Seen in Figure 6) of one sub-pixel in a second direction (Figure 6, Element right to left) relative to a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56), and the second direction (Figure 6, Element right to left) points toward the other edge of the pixel row.
Regarding Claim 5, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 1 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein each pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 or row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a total light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) is equal to a light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), and the light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) is equal to a light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56).
Lou et al. is silent with regards to the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color.
Tan et al. teach the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 1 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a second sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) arranged in a pixel column direction, and a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56), and the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) arranged in the pixel column direction.
Lou et al. is silent with regards to the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color.
Tan et al. teach the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 1 (See Above). Lou et al. is silent with regards to wherein a distance between two pixel repeat units in the second display region is larger than a distance between two pixel repeat units in the first display region.
Matsueda et al. teach wherein a distance between two pixel repeat units (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 71) in the second display region (Figure 5, Element 453. Paragraph 64) is larger than (Seen in Figure 5) a distance between two pixel repeat units (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 70) in the first display region (Figure 5, Element 451. Paragraph 64).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. with the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. with the teachings of Matsueda et al. is to provide a display with minimized display quality, as taught by Matsueda et al. (Paragraph 23).
Regarding Claim 8, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 1 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) is blue, the second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) is red, and the third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) is green.
Regarding Claim 10, Lou et al. teach a display device, comprising a display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40), wherein the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) comprises a first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) and a second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44), wherein the first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) is provided with a first pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44), and the second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44) is provided with a second pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44) smaller than (Paragraph 44) the first pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44);
the first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) comprises a plurality of first pixel repeat units (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2. Paragraph 55), each first pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2. Paragraph 55) comprises two sub-pixels in a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55), two sub-pixels in a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55), and sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55);
the second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44) comprises a plurality of second pixel repeat units (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56), each second pixel repeat unit comprises two sub-pixels in a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55), two sub-pixels in a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55), and sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55);
each second pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56) comprises two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in adjacent pixel rows (Seen in Figure 6), each pixel groups comprises one first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel, one second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel, and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels;
the sub-pixels in different colors are arranged in different modes (Seen in Figure 6) along a pixel row direction in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in a same pixel repeat unit; in each second pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56) ,a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel is adjacent to a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels, a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel is adjacent to a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels, a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels is adjacent to a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel;
a connection line of centers of two adjacent sub-pixels in two different colors in a first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) in a second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) forms a triangle (Seen in Figure 6); and
a connection line of centers of two adjacent sub-pixels in two different colors in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) forms a triangle (Seen in Figure 6);
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels in a same pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) belong to at least two different pixel addressing rows (Seen in Figure 6).
Lou et al. is silent with regards to each pixel repeat unit comprises four sub-pixels in a third color; each pixel group comprises a pair of third color sub-pixels; the pair of third color sub-pixels arranged in a pixel column direction in each of the two pixel groups; in the second display region, a distance between different second pixel repeat units is greater than a distance between different sub-pixels in a same second pixel repeat unit.
Matsueda et al. teach in the second display region (Figure 5, Element 453. Paragraph 64), a distance between different second pixel repeat units (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 71) is greater than (Seen in Figure 5) a distance between different sub-pixels in a same second pixel repeat unit (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 71).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. with the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. with the teachings of Matsueda et al. is to provide a display with minimized display quality, as taught by Matsueda et al. (Paragraph 23).
Tan et al. teach each pixel repeat unit (Figure 1, Element 14 in rows 1 and 2. Paragraph 47) comprises four sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47); each pixel group comprises a pair of third color sub-pixels (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47); the pair of third color sub-pixels (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47) arranged in a pixel column direction (Seen in Figure 1) in each of the two pixel groups.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Lou et al. teach a display driving method for a display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40), wherein the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) comprises a first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) and a second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44), wherein the first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) is provided with a first pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44), and the second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44) is provided with a second pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44) smaller than (Paragraph 44) the first pixel density (Seen in Figure 6. Paragraph 44);
the first display region (Figure 6, Element D1. Paragraph 44) comprises a plurality of first pixel repeat units (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2. Paragraph 55), each first pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2. Paragraph 55) comprises two sub-pixels in a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55), two sub-pixels in a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55), and sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55);
the second display region (Figure 6, Element D2. Paragraph 44) comprises a plurality of second pixel repeat units (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56), each second pixel repeat unit comprises two sub-pixels in a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55), two sub-pixels in a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55), and sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55);
each second pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56) comprises two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in adjacent pixel rows (Seen in Figure 6), each pixel groups comprises one first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel, one second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel, and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels;
the sub-pixels in different colors are arranged in different modes (Seen in Figure 6) along a pixel row direction in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in a same pixel repeat unit; in each second pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P3 - P4. Paragraph 56) ,a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel is adjacent to a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels, a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel is adjacent to a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels, a third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) sub-pixels is adjacent to a second color (Figure 6, Element 41 Red. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel and a first color (Figure 6, Element 41 Blue. Paragraph 55) sub-pixel;
a connection line of centers of two adjacent sub-pixels in two different colors in a first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) in a second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) forms a triangle (Seen in Figure 6); and
a connection line of centers of two adjacent sub-pixels in two different colors in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Figure 6, Element 41 Green. Paragraph 55) in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) forms a triangle (Seen in Figure 6);
wherein each driving pixel unit comprises a first part of sub-pixels in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in one pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2 and P3 - P4. Paragraph 55 - 56) and a second part of sub-pixels in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the pixel repeat unit (Figure 6, Elements P1 - P2 and P3 - P4. Paragraph 55 - 56), the first part of sub-pixels and the second part of sub-pixels comprise sub-pixels in different colors (Elements red, green, and blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), and the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) or the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) is located in the target row.
Lou et al. is silent with regards to each pixel repeat unit comprises four sub-pixels in a third color; each pixel group comprises a pair of third color sub-pixels; the pair of third color sub-pixels arranged in a pixel column direction in each of the two pixel groups; in the second display region, a distance between different second pixel repeat units is greater than a distance between different sub-pixels in a same second pixel repeat unit; comprising: receiving a row scanning signal on a target row when an image is inputted; and inputting a data signal to a plurality of driving pixel units on the target row sequentially in response to the row scanning signal, so as to energize the sub-pixels in each driving pixel unit to form a plurality of dummy pixel units.
Matsueda et al. teach in the second display region (Figure 5, Element 453. Paragraph 64), a distance between different pixel repeat units (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 71) is greater than (Seen in Figure 5) a distance between second different sub-pixels in a same second pixel repeat unit (Figure 5, Element 53C. Paragraph 71); comprising: receiving a row scanning signal (Figure 2A, Element 106. Paragraph 32) on a target row when an image is inputted; and inputting a data signal (Figure 2A, Element 105. Paragraph 32) to a plurality of driving pixel units on the target row sequentially in response to the row scanning signal (Figure 2A, Element 106. Paragraph 32), so as to energize the sub-pixels in each driving pixel unit to form a plurality of dummy pixel units (Figure 4, Element 461. Paragraph 73).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. with the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. with the teachings of Matsueda et al. is to provide a display with minimized display quality, as taught by Matsueda et al. (Paragraph 23).
Tan et al. teach each pixel repeat unit (Figure 1, Element 14 in rows 1 and 2. Paragraph 47) comprises four sub-pixels in a third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47); each pixel group comprises a pair of third color sub-pixels (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47); the pair of third color sub-pixels (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47) arranged in a pixel column direction (Seen in Figure 1) in each of the two pixel groups.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display panel (Figure 6, Element 10. Paragraph 40) according to claim 5 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein a first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a second sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) arranged in a pixel column direction, and a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56), and a second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) arranged in the pixel column direction.
Lou et al. is silent with regards to the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color.
Tan et al. teach the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display device according to claim 10 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) is offset by a half of a width (Seen in Figure 6) of one sub-pixel in a first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) relative to the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56), and the first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) points toward one edge of a pixel row.
Regarding Claim 17, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display device according to claim 10 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the sub-pixels have a same width in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) is offset by 1.5 times of a width (Seen in Figure 6) of one sub-pixel in a first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) relative to a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56), and the first direction (Figure 6, Element left to right) points toward one edge of a pixel row.
Regarding Claim 18, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display device according to claim 17 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) is offset by 1.5 times of the width (Seen in Figure 6) of one sub-pixel in a second direction (Figure 6, Element right to left) relative to a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56) in the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56), and the second direction (Figure 6, Element right to left) points toward the other edge of the pixel row.
Regarding Claim 19, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display device according to claim 10 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein each pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 or row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a total light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) is equal to a light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), and the light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) is equal to a light-emission area of the sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56).
Lou et al. is silent with regards to the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color.
Tan et al. teach the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display device according to claim 10 (See Above). Lou et al. teach wherein the first pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) in the two pixel groups (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 1 and row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a second sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) arranged in a pixel column direction, and a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56), and a second pixel group (Figure 6, Elements not labeled, but is row 2 formed by two adjacent units. Paragraph 55 - 56) comprises, in the pixel row direction, a sub-pixel in the second color (Element red. Paragraphs 55 and 56), a sub-pixel in the first color (Element blue. Paragraphs 55 and 56) and a sub-pixel in the third color (Element green. Paragraphs 55 and 56) arranged in the pixel column direction.
Lou et al. is silent with regards to the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color.
Tan et al. teach the sub-pixel of the third color is comprised of two sub-pixels in the third color (Figure 1, Element 12. Paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al. and the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al. with the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al. and Matsueda et al. with the teachings of Tan et al. is to be able to reduce the density of subpixels, thereby reducing the difficulty in the manufacturing process which would improve yield and reduce cost, as taught by Tan et al. (Paragraph 3).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0203450) in view of Matsueda et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0028311) in view of Tan et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0168674) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0212125).
Regarding Claim 12, Lou et al. in view of Matsueda et al. in view of Tan et al. teach the display driving method according to claim 11 (See Above). Lou et al. is silent with regards to wherein in the plurality of driving pixel units to which the data signal is inputted, the sub-pixels in every two adjacent pixel driving units are located in a same pixel repeat unit.
Liu et al. teach wherein in the plurality of driving pixel units (Figure 8, Elements 111 – 114. Paragraphs 89 – 91) to which the data signal (Figure 8, Elements DT1 and DT2. Paragraph 90) is inputted, the sub-pixels in every two adjacent pixel driving units (Figure 8, Elements 111 – 114. Paragraphs 89 – 91) are located in a same pixel repeat unit (Seen in Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display structure of Lou et al., the pixel spacing structure of Matsueda et al., and the pixel arrangement of Tan et al. with the pixel structure of Liu et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lou et al., Matsueda et al., and Tan et al. with the teachings of Liu et al. is to provide a display with a decreased number of subpixels, which reduces the difficulties and cost of fabricating the display, as taught by Liu et al. (Paragraph 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach at least “when the sub-pixels in the driving pixel unit are energized and a first dummy pixel unit in two adjacent dummy pixel units in an ith row is in a jth column, the energized sub-pixels comprise a sub-pixel in the second color in the ith row and a (j+1)th column, a sub-pixel in the first color in the ith row and the jth column, a sub-pixel in the third color in an (i-1)th row and a (j-1)th column, and a sub-pixel in the third color in the ith row and the jth column; and when a second dummy pixel unit is in the ith row and the j column, the energized sub-pixels comprise a sub-pixel in the second color in the ith row and the (j+1)th column, a sub-pixel in the first color in an (i+1)th row and the +1)th column, a sub-pixel in the third color in the (i-1)th row and the (j-1)th column, and a sub-pixel in the third color in the ith row and the j column” of Claim 13. Claim 14 inherits this objection.
Conclusion
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that the prior art of record fails to teach at least the newly added limitation to at least Claim 1, or the like of cancelled Claim 9. The applicant argues that there is no disclosure in Lou et al. that the sub-pixels within the same pixel group belong to two different addressing rows. The examiner respectively disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. Lou et al. discloses “An array layer 60 (shown in FIG. 3) may be formed between the substrate 10 and the pixel defining layer 20, and a plurality of thin film transistors are formed in the array layer. A thin film transistor is respectively disposed below the first openings 21 and the second openings 22 (Paragraph 41. Emphasis Added).” Lou et al. further discloses “The above display structure may further include other structures, for example, the array layer 60 shown in FIG. 3 and the like. The array layer 60 is a layer configured to control the light emission of the OLED elements, and includes, for example, a gate layer, a gate insulation layer, an active layer, a source/drain layer, a planarization layer, and the like (Paragraph 81. Emphasis Added).” Therefore, Lou et al. is clearly saying that thin films transistors are in the array layer and is disposed below first openings 21 and second openings 22. A person of ordinary skill in the art of displays recognizes that a gate line is connected to the gate layer, which Lou et al. discloses as being under the openings. Lou et al. discloses pixel units P1 – P6 in Figures 4 and 6 that will have transistors under the openings. Therefore, each pixel will have multiple sub-pixels located in different rows which are connected to different gate lines. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are found moot light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chi et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0312832) and Zhang (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0037422) teach a display panel with areas of different pixel densities, similar to the instant invention.
Matsueda et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2021/0035484) teach a pixel circuit similar to the instant invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625