CTNF 19/172,501 CTNF 88343 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (US Provisional Application 63/631,408 filed April 8 th , 2024). Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 1 st , 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In Paragraph 71 line 6, the phrase “Th encoder” should read as --The encoder-- for clarity. In Paragraph 84 line 1, the acronym “LMCS” is not defined on first use for clarity . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim s 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Regarding claim 9, the claim is at least one of two options which cover all types of functions (e.g. if not linear then non-linear) and thus does not adequately further limit claim 8 from which is depends. Regarding claim 17, the claim is at least one of two options which cover all types of functions (e.g. if not linear then non-linear) and thus does not adequately further limit claim 8 from which is depends . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 10 – 13, 15, and 18 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0119547 A1 referred to as “Cui” throughout) . Regarding claim 1, Cui teaches determining at least a clipping range to apply during an encoding of one or more pictures by a video codec [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 68 – 72 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements), and 77 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping)], the clipping range being different from a fixed clipping range that is based on a bitdepth of the video codec [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values to signal or alternatively Smin and Smax), 103 – 108 (scaling the range, using offsets / look up tables, or different bounds at least), and 142 (changing bounds from the full range)]; applying the clipping range to sample values of the one or more pictures to generate clipped sample values [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction), and 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS)]; generating coded information in a bitstream based on the clipped sample values [Cui Figures 3 and 7 (see at least reference characters 220, 524, and 526) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 68 – 72 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements, 75 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction), 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS)), 128 and 137 – 139 (entropy encoding syntax to signal clipping & clipped values)]; and determining an inclusion/exclusion of a syntax element indicative of the clipping range in the bitstream based on a codec configuration of the video codec [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 68 – 72 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements), 75 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping and signaling in the bitstream), and 103 – 105 (signaling clipping information)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF applications) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 3, Cui teaches determining whether one or more coding tools of the video codec uses information of the clipping range [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 44 (various codecs using clipping ranges), 68 – 75 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements with coding tools such as LMCS, ALF, and MCTF), 75 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping and signaling in the bitstream), 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values to signal or alternatively Smin and Smax), 103 – 108 (scaling the range, using offsets / look up tables, or different bounds at least in MCTF or LMCS coding tools)]; and including the syntax element indicative of the clipping range in the bitstream when the information of the clipping range is used by the one or more coding tools of the video codec [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 44 (various codecs using clipping ranges), 68 – 75 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements with coding tools such as LMCS, ALF, and MCTF), 75 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping and signaling in the bitstream), 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values to signal or alternatively Smin and Smax), 103 – 108 (scaling the range, using offsets / look up tables, or different bounds at least in MCTF or LMCS coding tools)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF coding tools) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 10, Cui teaches determining that the video codec uses an internal dynamic range corresponding to a first bitdepth that is higher than a second bitdepth used by input signals of the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 73 – 80 (LMCS coding tool where a standard / low and high dynamic range is used rendering obvious different bit depths used)]; scaling down a clipping range to be applied to an internal signal of the video codec to a scaled clipping range having the second bitdepth [Cui Figures 2, 4, and 7 as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 and 77 (render obvious same / similar clipping functionality in encoders / decoders so the teachings of standard to high dynamic range in Paragraphs 72 – 74 and 79 – 81 using LMCS would be obvious to go from high dynamic range to low dynamic range) and 103 – 109 (scaling the range for conversion between ranges in LMCS by a factor)]; and including the scaled clipping range having the second bitdepth into the bitstream [Cui Figures 2, 4, and 7 as well as Paragraphs 73 – 80 (LMCS coding tool where a standard / low and high dynamic range is used rendering obvious different bit depths used) and 103 – 109 (scale factor used in clipping in LMCS for the high dynamic range the signal is being converted to and then clipped in conversion of the domain mapping (LMCS)) where Paragraphs 68 – 72 and 75 – 83 (render obvious bounds determinations being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping and signaling in the bitstream as syntax elements)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. LMCS using a low and high dynamic range as different bitdepths) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 11, Cui teaches including at least an unsigned value in the bitstream to indicate the clipping range, the unsigned value indicating an offset to one of a minimal value and a maximal value of a predefined clipping range [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values modified by unsigned parameters Smin and Smax rendering obvious features claimed regarding the unsigned value to one of ordinary skill in the art))]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF coding tools) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 12, Cui teaches the applying comprises [See claim 1 “applying …” limitation for citations]: applying the clipping range on the sample values that are final values from a processing stage of the video codec to generate the clipped sample values, interim values within the processing stage not being clipped [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction), and 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS where the reconstructed samples are clipped, but not the intermediate samples (the initial / pre-processing clips samples as well)))]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF coding tools) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 13, Cui teaches receiving a coded video bitstream comprising coded information of sample values of one or more pictures [Cui Figure 4 (see at least reference character 300 and the “encoded video bitstream” input) as well as Paragraphs 147 – 150 (decoder input of video and syntax elements including syntax in Paragraphs 25 – 27, 68 – 72, and 77 – 83 at least)]; determining at least a clipping range according to one or more syntax elements in the coded video bitstream [Cui Figures 2 – 4 (see at least reference character 300 receiving a bitstream) and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 68 – 72 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements), and 77 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping)], the clipping range being different from a fixed clipping range that is based on a bitdepth of a video codec for encoding/decoding the coded information [Cui Figures 4 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values to signal or alternatively Smin and Smax), 103 – 108 (scaling the range, using offsets / look up tables, or different bounds at least), and 142 (changing bounds from the full range)]; determining a configuration of a coding tool in the video codec based on the clipping range [Cui Figures 2 – 4 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), and 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS)]; and reconstructing the one or more pictures based on the video codec with the coding tool configured according to the configuration [Cui Figures 2 (see all elements as parts of the reconstruction in Figure 4 with clipping considerations at least in Figure 7 (see at least reference characters 524, 526, and 528)) as well as 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS), and 132 – 139 (reconstruction of blocks and clipping for a decoder)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF applications) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 15, Cui teaches wherein the clipping range is applied to output values of a prefiltering stage during an encoding of the sample values [Cui Figures 2 (see all elements as parts of the reconstruction process), 4 and 7 as well as 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), 103 – 108 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF where in Paragraphs 103 the preprocessing clipping renders obvious the pre-filtering stage claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art)], the determining the configuration of the coding tool comprises [See next limitation for citations]: determining a configuration of a motion compensation tool of the video codec based on information of the clipping range [Cui Figures 2 (see all elements as parts of the reconstruction process), 4 and 7 as well as 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), 102 – 106 and 135 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF thus the clipping range affects the motion compensation tool to one of ordinary skill in the art)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF coding tools) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 18, Cui teaches wherein the video codec uses an internal dynamic range corresponding to a first bitdepth that is higher than a second bitdepth used by input signals of the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 73 – 80 (LMCS coding tool where a standard / low and high dynamic range is used rendering obvious different bit depths used)], and the method comprises [See limitations below for citations where Cui Paragraphs 25 – 27 and 77 render obvious same / similar clipping functionality in encoders / decoders]: scaling up the clipping range to obtain a scaled clipping range having the first bitdepth [Cui Figures 2, 4, and 7 as well as Paragraphs 73 – 80 (LMCS coding tool where a standard / low and high dynamic range is used rendering obvious different bit depths used) and 103 – 108 (scale factor used in clipping in LMCS for the high dynamic range the signal is being converted to)]; and applying a clipping operation with the scaled clipping range on an internal signal of the video codec [Cui Figures 2, 4, and 7 as well as Paragraphs 73 – 80 (LMCS coding tool where a standard / low and high dynamic range is used rendering obvious different bit depths used) and 103 – 109 (scale factor used in clipping in LMCS for the high dynamic range the signal is being converted to and then clipped in conversion of the domain mapping (LMCS))]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. LMCS using a low and high dynamic range as different bitdepths) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 19, Cui teaches wherein the determining the clipping range comprises [See citations in the limitations below]: determining at least an unsigned value according to the one or more syntax elements in the coded video bitstream [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting clipping bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values modified by unsigned parameters Smin and Smax rendering obvious features claimed regarding the unsigned value to one of ordinary skill in the art))]; determining a sign for the unsigned value [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values modified by unsigned parameters Smin and Smax rendering obvious features claimed regarding the unsigned value to one of ordinary skill in the art and the changes to the bounds in the expressions given affecting the lower and upper bounds of the range for the clipping function))]; and determining the clipping range based on the unsigned value and the sign [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values modified by unsigned parameters Smin and Smax where [Imin-Smin, Imax-Smax] as the new range based on unsigned Smin and Smax render obvious the new clipping range claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art))]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF coding tools) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 20, Cui teaches determining a first unsigned value and a second unsigned value according to the one or more syntax elements in the coded video bitstream [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting clipping bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values modified by unsigned parameters Smin and Smax rendering obvious features claimed regarding the unsigned value to one of ordinary skill in the art))]; determining to apply a first offset that is a combination of a positive sign with the first unsigned value to a minimal value of a predefined range to calculate a minimal value of the clipping range [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values modified by unsigned parameters Smin (obvious variant of the first offset claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) and Smax where [Imin-Smin, Imax-Smax] as the new range based on unsigned Smin and Smax render obvious the new clipping range claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art))]; and determining to apply a second offset that is a combination of a negative sign with the second unsigned value to a maximal value of the predefined range to calculate a maximum value of the clipping range [Cui Figures 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values modified by unsigned parameters Smin and Smax (obvious variant of the second offset claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) where [Imin-Smin, Imax- Smax] as the new range based on unsigned Smin and Smax render obvious the new clipping range claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art))]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF coding tools) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 21, Cui teaches applying the clipping range on final values from a processing stage of the video codec, interim values within the processing stage not being clipped [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (obviousness between encoding / decoding processes) 75 – 77, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction), and 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS where the reconstructed samples are clipped, but not the intermediate samples (the initial / pre-processing clips samples as well)))]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF coding tools) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder. Regarding claim 22, Cui teaches processing a bitstream of visual media data according to a format rule [Cui Figure 4 (see at least reference character 300 and the “encoded video bitstream” input with the decoder and alternative the reconstruction in Figure 2) as well as Paragraphs 147 – 150 (decoder input of video and syntax elements including syntax in Paragraphs 25 – 27, 44 (format rules), 68 – 72, and 77 – 83 at least)], wherein : the bitstream includes coded information of sample values of one or more pictures [Cui Figure 4 (see at least reference character 300 and the “encoded video bitstream” input) as well as Paragraphs 147 – 150 (decoder input of video and syntax elements including syntax in Paragraphs 25 – 27, 68 – 72, and 77 – 83 at least)]; and the format rule specifies that [See limitations below for citations]: at least a clipping range is determined according to one or more syntax elements in the bitstream [Cui Figures 2 – 4 (see at least reference character 300 receiving a bitstream) and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 68 – 72 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements), and 77 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping)], the clipping range being different from a fixed clipping range that is based on a bitdepth of a video codec for processing the sample values of the one or more pictures [Cui Figures 4 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 88 – 89 (shifting bound values) and 93 – 94 (see at least the Imin and Imax syntax elements / values to signal or alternatively Smin and Smax), 103 – 108 (scaling the range, using offsets / look up tables, or different bounds at least), and 142 (changing bounds from the full range)]; a configuration of a coding tool in the video codec is determined based on the clipping range [Cui Figures 2 – 4 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 44 (video codecs clipping range modifications may apply to), 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), and 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS)]; and the one or more pictures are reconstructed based on the video codec with the coding tool configured according to the configuration [Cui Figures 2 (see all elements as parts of the reconstruction in Figure 4 with clipping considerations at least in Figure 7 (see at least reference characters 524, 526, and 528)) as well as 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS), and 132 – 139 (reconstruction of blocks and clipping for a decoder)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the obvious variants across the embodiments (e.g. ALF or MCTF applications) taught by Cui and various clipping applications and bounds setting techniques to render to claim obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for an encoder and similarly a decoder . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 4 – 9, 14, and 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, and further in view of Gisquet, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0397117 A1 referred to as “Gisquet” throughout) . Regarding claim 2, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches the applying comprises [See claim 1 “applying …” limitation for citations]: applying the clipping range on the sample values that are output from a pre-filtering stage of the video codec to generate the clipped sample values [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), and 102 – 108 (pre-processing by applying the updated clipping bounds at least in MCTF or LMCS coding tools)]; and providing the clipped sample values as inputs for the encoding by the video codec [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7 (see at least reference characters 520, 522, and 524)) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), and 102 – 108 (pre-processing by applying the updated clipping bounds at least in MCTF or LMCS coding tools as before encoding / entropy coding in the codec)], the clipping range being excluded from the bitstream when a reconstruction by the video codec has no reliance on the clipping range [Gisquet Figure 5 (see at least reference characters 505 and 509) as well as Paragraphs 182 – 184 (filtering skipped leads to the clipping bounds not being modified / updated thus not signaled in the bitstream as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art)]. The motivation to combine Gisquet with Cui is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of control parameters for filtering in image / video reconstruction [Gisquet Paragraphs 1 – 5] in order to improve artifacts present in image after applying deblocking / ALF / in-loop filters by in part adjusting the clipping bounds [Gisquet Paragraphs 12 – 19 and 202 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable]. This is the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet which will be used throughout the Rejection. Regarding claim 4, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches determining a plurality of clipping ranges to apply during the encoding by the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 72 – 77 and 106 – 108 (e.g. clipping ranges based on low or high dynamic processing range requirements including table / LUT based approaches combinable with Gisquet) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 133 – 135, 152 – 165 (control of change of sample in a filtering process by controlling the clipping bounds at the output of the filter), 166 – 170 (table based selection of clipping parameters)]; selecting one or more clipping ranges from the plurality of clipping ranges based on the codec configuration of the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 72 – 77 and 106 – 108 (e.g. clipping ranges based on low or high dynamic processing range requirements including table / LUT based approaches combinable with Gisquet) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 133 – 135, 142 – 146 (tables used to select clipping based on codec configuration with parameters for ) and 166 – 170 (table based selection of clipping parameters)], the one or more clipping ranges being respectively used by one or more tools of the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 72 – 77 and 103 – 108 (e.g. clipping ranges based on low or high dynamic processing range requirements including table / LUT based approaches combinable with Gisquet) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 131 – 135 and 166 – 170 (table based selection of clipping parameters for filters to combine with ALF / deblocking filtering and MCTF (Paragraphs 103 – 105 in Cui))]; and including one or more syntax elements indicative of the one or more clipping ranges in the bitstream [See previous limitation for citations of the clipping ranges and additionally Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 44 (various codecs using clipping ranges), 68 – 75 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements with coding tools such as LMCS, ALF, and MCTF), 75 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping and signaling in the bitstream)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 5, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches determining a first clipping range and a second clipping range to apply during the encoding by the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 72 – 77 and 106 – 108 (e.g. clipping ranges based on low or high dynamic processing range requirements including table / LUT based approaches combinable with Gisquet) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 133 – 135, 152 – 165 (control of change of sample in a filtering process by controlling the clipping bounds at the output of the filter), 166 – 170 (table based selection of clipping parameters), 175 and 188 – 192 (loop filters used and bounds changed for the use of strong / week filtering)], the first clipping range being applied to input values of a prefiltering stage of the video codec [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 72 – 80 (clipping for range conformance / pre-processing of signals for encoding / decoding), and 102 – 108 (pre-processing by applying the updated clipping bounds at least in MCTF or LMCS coding tools)] and the second clipping range being applied to output values of the prefiltering stage of the video codec [Cui Figures 2 (see all elements as parts of the reconstruction process), 4 and 7 as well as 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), 103 – 108 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF where in Paragraphs 103 the preprocessing clipping renders obvious the pre-filtering stage claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art and Paragraph 106 renders obvious use of narrower and original clipping ranges); Gisquet Paragraphs 133 – 135, 152 – 165 (control of change of sample in a filtering process by controlling the clipping bounds at the output of the filter), 166 – 170 (table based selection of clipping parameters)], the output values that are clipped in the second clipping range being encoded into the bitstream [See previous limitation (second clipping range citations) and additionally for “encoded into the bitstream” see Cui Figures 3 and 7 (see at least reference characters 220, 524, and 526) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 68 – 72 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements, 75 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction), 103 – 107 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF and LMCS)), 128 and 137 – 139 (entropy encoding syntax to signal clipping & clipped values)]; determining that the first clipping range and the second clipping range are used respectively in a reconstruction by the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 72 – 77 and 103 – 108 (e.g. clipping ranges based on low or high dynamic processing range requirements including table / LUT based approaches combinable with Gisquet or the use of a modified and original clipping range or allowing clipping to change on filter output (combine with Gisquet)) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 133 – 135, 152 – 165 (control of change of sample in a filtering process by controlling the clipping bounds at the output of the filter), 166 – 170 (table based selection of clipping parameters)]; and including one or more syntax elements indicative of the first clipping range and the second clipping range into the bitstream [See previous limitation for citations of the clipping ranges and additionally Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 44 (various codecs using clipping ranges), 68 – 75 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements with coding tools such as LMCS, ALF, and MCTF), 75 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping and signaling in the bitstream)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 6, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches determining that an in-loop filter for the reconstruction in the video codec uses information of the first clipping range that is applied to the input values of the prefiltering stage of the video codec [Cui Paragraphs 72 – 77 (includes the use of loop filters and signaling information in the bitstream), 103 – 108 (e.g. clipping ranges based on low or high dynamic processing range requirements including table / LUT based approaches combinable with Gisquet or the use of a modified and original clipping range or allowing clipping to change on filter output (combine with Gisquet)) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 133 – 135, 152 – 165 (control of change of sample in a filtering process by controlling the clipping bounds at the output of the filter), 166 – 170 (table based selection of clipping parameters), and 175 and 188 – 192 (loop filters used and bounds changed for the use of strong / week filtering)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 7, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches determining that a motion compensation tool of the video codec uses information of the second clipping range that is applied to the output values of the prefiltering stage of the video codec [Cui Figures 2 (see all elements as parts of the reconstruction process), 4 and 7 as well as 75, 78 – 83 (clipping during ALF / filtering / deblocking and prediction where the function affects the clipping ranges set), 102 – 108 (pre-processing for MCTF / motion compensation) and 135 – 138 (clipping in motion compensation / MCTF thus the clipping range affects the motion compensation tool to one of ordinary skill in the art) and additionally / alternatively Gisquet Paragraph 175 (motion compensation using filtering techniques disclosed) and 188 – 192 (strength of filter affecting clipping bounds)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 8, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches wherein a subject signal for applying a clipping operation has a dynamic range that is modified based on a function [Cui Figures 2 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (obviousness between encoders / decoders), 89 – 91 (bit shifts on bounds), 93 – 94 (offset shifts on bounds), 108 (scaling bounds) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 166 – 170, 174 (bound update equations), and 192 – 202 (table and formula based bound update techniques most for signals to be filtered)], and the method comprises at least one of [See limitations below for citations]: applying the clipping operation with the clipping range on the subject signal without a modification of the clipping range according to the function [Cui Figures 2 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 103 – 108 (using an original range / unmodified range as the obvious variants would be understood to one of ordinary skill in the art)]; applying the clipping operation with a default clipping range on the subject signal [Cui Paragraphs 77 and 104 (default / original ranges)]; or applying the clipping operation with a modified clipping range on the subject signal [Cui Figures 2 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 89 – 91 (bit shifts on bounds), 93 – 94 (offset shifts on bounds), 108 (scaling bounds) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 166 – 170, 174 (bound update equations), and 192 – 202 (table and formula based bound update techniques most for signals to be filtered)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 9, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches wherein the function includes at least one of a linear function and a non-linear function [Cui Paragraphs 93 – 94 (offset adjustments as linear functions), 106 (LUT for a non-linear function), and 108 (scaling bounds as a linear function) or Gisquet Paragraphs 192 – 205 (the equation in Paragraph 192 and the tables used render obvious the use of non-linear functions to one of ordinary skill in the art)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 14, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches wherein the clipping range is applied to input values of a prefiltering stage during an encoding of the sample values [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 72 – 80 (clipping for range conformance / pre-processing of signals for encoding / decoding), and 102 – 108 (pre-processing by applying the updated clipping bounds at least in MCTF or LMCS coding tools)], the determining the configuration of the coding tool comprises [See next limitation for citations]: determining a configuration of an in-loop filter for reconstruction in the video codec based on information of the clipping range [Cui Figures 2 – 3 and 7 (see encoder in Figure 3 and method for determining clipping bounds in encoding in Figure 7) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (similar processing in encoding / decoding regarding adaptive clipping bound), 44 (various codecs using clipping ranges), 68 – 75 (encoder generates information for decoder and signals syntax elements with coding tools such as ALF (obvious variant of the claimed in-loop filtering)), 75 – 83 (bounds determinations for pictures in video being coded / decoded for adaptive clipping and signaling in the bitstream), and 103 – 108 (scaling the range, using offsets / look up tables, or different bounds at least in MCTF or LMCS coding tools); Gisquet Figure 5 (see at least reference characters 505 and 509) as well as Paragraphs 182 – 184 (filtering skipped leads to the clipping bounds not being modified / updated thus not signaled in the bitstream as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art rendering obvious the omission of the bounds as skipping the filtering as the configuration (omission))]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 16, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches wherein a subject signal for applying a clipping operation has a dynamic range that is modified based on a function [Cui Figures 2 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 25 – 27 (obviousness between encoders / decoders), 89 – 91 (bit shifts on bounds), 93 – 94 (offset shifts on bounds), 108 (scaling bounds) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 166 – 170, 174 (bound update equations), and 192 – 202 (table and formula based bound update techniques most for signals to be filtered)], and the method comprises at least one of [See limitations below for citations]: applying the clipping operation with the clipping range on the subject signal without a modification of the clipping range according to the function [Cui Figures 2 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 103 – 108 (using an original range / unmodified range as the obvious variants would be understood to one of ordinary skill in the art)]; applying the clipping operation with a default clipping range on the subject signal [Cui Paragraphs 77 and 104 (default / original ranges)]; or applying the clipping operation with a modified clipping range on the subject signal [Cui Figures 2 and 7 as well as Paragraphs 89 – 91 (bit shifts on bounds), 93 – 94 (offset shifts on bounds), 108 (scaling bounds) or alternatively Gisquet Paragraphs 166 – 170, 174 (bound update equations), and 192 – 202 (table and formula based bound update techniques most for signals to be filtered)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet. Regarding claim 17, Cui teaches signaling adaptive clipping information in the bitstream with scaling / linear techniques and bit shifting as a non-linear technique for various functions. Gisquet teaches alternative clipping bound changing algorithms, bitdepth considerations in affecting clipping bounds (e.g. use of tables for parameter selection to adjust bounds), and implicit signaling considerations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cui with those of Gisquet for adjusting the bounds of clipping functions with various considerations provided. The combination teaches wherein the function includes at least one of a linear function and a non-linear function [Cui Paragraphs 93 – 94 (offset adjustments as linear functions), 106 (LUT for a non-linear function), and 108 (scaling bounds as a linear function) or Gisquet Paragraphs 192 – 205 (the equation in Paragraph 192 and the tables used render obvious the use of non-linear functions to one of ordinary skill in the art)]. See claim 2 for the motivation to combine Cui and Gisquet . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0119593 A1 referred to as “Li” throughout) teaches in at least Paragraphs 142 – 146 additional table based clipping bound change techniques for a video codec . References considered for Obviousness-type Double Patenting based on amendments made to the claims: Chernyak, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0061717 A1 referred to as “Chernyak” throughout) and Kotra, et al. (US Patent #12,212,743 B2 referred to as “Kotra” throughout). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tyler W Sullivan whose telephone number is (571)270-5684. The examiner can normally be reached IFP. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Czekaj can be reached at (571)-272-7327. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TYLER W. SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 2 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 3 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 4 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 5 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 6 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 7 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 8 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 9 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 10 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 11 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 12 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 13 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 14 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 15 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 16 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 17 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 18 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 19 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 20 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 21 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 22 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 23 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/172,501 Page 24 Art Unit: 2487