DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvale et al. (GB 2,595,513 (provide in the IDS)) and in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0169515).
Addressing claim 19, Kvale discloses a method of treatment enhanced by ultrasound insonation comprising:
creating at least one bubble proximate to a target region by: administering a cluster composition, comprising a microbubble component and a microdroplet component, to a subject, wherein the cluster composition comprises at least one cluster (see page 11, lines 8-20);
activating a phase-shift transition of the microdroplet component of the at least one cluster by ultrasound insonation to create the at least one bubble (see page 11, lines 8-20);
wherein an expansion from the transition of the least one cluster to the at least one bubble provides a mechanical stress on the target region (see page 11, lines 8-20).
Kvale does not explicitly disclose using bubble to assist ablation and providing an ablating energy to the at least one ablation-assisting bubble. Using bubble to assist ablation and drug delivery by mechanical stress is well-known. Park explicitly discloses using bubble to assist ablation and providing an ablating energy to the at least one ablation-assisting bubble (see [0009], [0011], [0076] and claims 10-11; ablation tissue using mechanical stress cause by bubble; mechanical ablation instead of thermal ablation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kvale to use bubble to assist ablation and providing an ablating energy to the at least one ablation-assisting bubble as taught by Park because this allows for physician to perform another type of treatment such as ablation treatment (see Park’s paragraph [0076]; Kvale discloses interest in non-thermal, mechanical destruction ablation (see page 26, lines 14-15). Kvale discloses treatment by drug delivery and he also interested in ablation treatment therefore combine Kvale with Park provide more treatments.
Addressing claims 20-23, Kvale discloses:
addressing claim 20, bubble has a diameter of at least 10 micrometer (see page 24, lines 32-33).
addressing claim 21, insonating the at least one ablation-assisting bubble with ultrasound at a predetermined intensity to induce at least one of energy absorption, deposition, oscillation and cavitation of the ablation-assisting bubble to provide an additional mechanical and/or thermal stress on the target region, to aid ablation on the target tissue in the target region (see page 15, line 18 – page 16, line 5).
addressing claim 22, wherein the predetermined intensity of the ultrasound for insonating the ablation-assisting bubble is equal to an intensity for non-bubble assisted ultrasound ablation divided by a factor of between 12 and 24 (this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because bubble enhance ablation therefore the intensity can be lower; “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”)).
addressing claim 23, wherein the enhanced ultrasound ablation is configured to provide a resultant temperature in the target region of 30 to 70 degrees Celsius, for a continuous exposure time of at least 30 seconds (treatment time duration and treatment temperature depend on physician desire or goal and treatment parameters (intensity, frequency, etc.) and this only require routine in the art).
Claims 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvale et al. (GB 2,595,513 (provide in the IDS)), in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0169515) and further in view of Levy (US 2020/0323515 (provided in the IDS)).
Addressing claims 25-30, Kvale does not disclose using the at least one ablation-assisting bubble for real-time imaging of the target region by insonating the at least one ablation-assisting bubble with imaging ultrasound and wherein the at least one ablation-assisting bubble is induced as a hyperechoic spot; a further step of ultrasound planning comprising using unique subject and application specific information to plan a specific ultrasound exposure regime wherein ultrasound planning comprises at least one of a passive ultrasound planning and an active ultrasound planning; wherein passive ultrasound planning is based on one or more of: physiological information, anatomical structures in an ablation zone, cross-modality imaging and co-registration, and data defining subject anatomy retrieved from a software; wherein active ultrasound planning comprises: monitoring the ablation zone for real-time feedback of the ablation zone; and adjusting the specific ultrasound exposure regime to achieve predetermined parameters in the bastion zone; wherein the steps of monitoring and adjusting are performed on a continuous basis for a predetermined duration; wherein monitoring the ablation zone for real-time feedback of ablation zone comprises at least one of: real-time temperature feedback, real-time mechanical feedback; real-time monitoring of ablation assisting bubble dynamics; wherein monitoring the target region, including an ablation zone, further comprises imaging via image guidance modalities, wherein the image guidance modalities comprise at least on of: magnetic resonance guided, ultrasound guided and concentration and co-administration of a therapeutic agent configured to assist ablation efficacy. Levy discloses using the at least one ablation-assisting bubble for real-time imaging of the target region by insonating the at least one ablation-assisting bubble with imaging ultrasound and wherein the at least one ablation-assisting bubble is induced as a hyperechoic spot (see [0033] and Fig. 1A; 122 is ultrasound imaging and the bubble shows as hyperechoic spot); a further step of ultrasound planning comprising using unique subject and application specific information to plan a specific ultrasound exposure regime wherein ultrasound planning comprises at least one of a passive ultrasound planning and an active ultrasound planning (see Figs. 3, 6, [0006-0008], [0037], [0042] and [0051-0055]; passive treatment planning with tissue-sensitivity map gets from specific subject images; monitor real-time treatment and adjust is active planning); wherein passive ultrasound planning is based on one or more of: physiological information, anatomical structures in an ablation zone, cross-modality imaging and co-registration, and data defining subject anatomy retrieved from a software (see Figs. 3, 6, [0006-0008], [0037-0038], [0042] and [0051-0055]; anatomical structure such as tissue type is consider in passive planning); wherein active ultrasound planning comprises: monitoring the ablation zone during the enhancement step for real-time feedback of the ablation zone; and adjusting the specific ultrasound exposure regime to achieve predetermined parameters in the bastion zone; wherein the steps of monitoring and adjusting are performed on a continuous basis for a predetermined duration (see Figs. 3, 6, [0006-0008], [0037-0038], [0042] and [0051-0055]; monitor cavitation bubbles with real-time imaging and adjust ultrasound parameters to control ultrasound cavitation bubbles); wherein monitoring the ablation zone during the enhancement step for real-time feedback of ablation zone comprises at least one of: real-time temperature feedback, real-time mechanical feedback; real-time monitoring of ablation assisting bubble dynamics and concentration (see [0013], [0055] and [0059]; monitor bubble movement and concentration) wherein monitoring the target region, including an ablation zone, further comprises imaging via image guidance modalities, wherein the image guidance modalities comprise at least on of: magnetic resonance guided, ultrasound guided (see [0033]) and co-administration of a therapeutic agent configured to assist ablation efficacy (see [0033]; imager 122 monitor target using mri or ultrasound). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kvale to have a further step of ultrasound planning comprising using unique subject and application specific information to plan a specific ultrasound exposure regime wherein ultrasound planning comprises at least one of a passive ultrasound planning and an active ultrasound planning; wherein passive ultrasound planning is based on one or more of: physiological information, anatomical structures in an ablation zone, cross-modality imaging and co-registration, and data defining subject anatomy retrieved from a software; wherein active ultrasound planning comprises: monitoring the ablation zone during the enhancement step for real-time feedback of the ablation zone; and adjusting the specific ultrasound exposure regime to achieve predetermined parameters in the bastion zone; wherein the steps of monitoring and adjusting are performed on a continuous basis for a predetermined duration; wherein monitoring the ablation zone during the enhancement step for real-time feedback of ablation zone comprises at least one of: real-time temperature feedback, real-time mechanical feedback; real-time monitoring of ablation assisting bubble dynamics and concentration; wherein monitoring the target region, including an ablation zone, further comprises imaging via image guidance modalities, wherein the image guidance modalities comprise at least on of: magnetic resonance guided, ultrasound guided and co-administration of a therapeutic agent configured to assist ablation efficacy as taught by Levy because this allow physician to plan for treatment and improve treatment efficiency and effectively (see [0037]; direct ultrasound treatment more effectively).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the Office Action relies on Park for the recited limitations of the bubble used as an ablation-assisting bubble, expansion during the phase shift transition provides mechanical stress to aid ablation, and ablating energy is subsequently provided to that bubble (Office Action at pgs. 3-4). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because examiner only relies on Park to explicitly disclose using bubble to assist ablation and providing an ablating energy to the at least one ablation-assisting bubble. Main reference Kvale discloses wherein an expansion from the transition of the at least one cluster to the at least one bubble provides a mechanical stress on the target region. Applicant argues the Office Action has not explained how mechanical effects used to increase vascular permeability or facilitate delivery of a therapeutic agent (as in Kvale) are somehow equivalent to mechanical and/or thermal stress used to ablate target tissue (as in Pahk). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it does not require examiner to explain mechanical effects/stress. Further, applicant’s specification does not disclose how an expansion from the transition of the least one cluster to the at least one bubble provides a mechanical stress for drug delivery any different from bubble provides a mechanical stress that provides ablation energy. Limitation “provides a mechanical stress on the target region to aid ablation on target tissue in the target region” is a result of an expansion from the transition of the at least one cluster to the at least one ablation-assisting bubble in which Kvale discloses. Examiner merely relies on Park to explicitly disclose a result. Limitation “provides a mechanical stress on the target region to aid ablation on target tissue in the target region” is a result and not a method step. Applicant argument is directed to a fundamentally different ablation technology because Pahk's vapour bubble is formed from endogenous tissue water by shockwave heating or other thermal heating and it is not formed from an intravenously administered microbubble-microdroplet cluster. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because examiner does not suggest modifying the method in which bubble is form disclose by Kvale, examiner only relies on Park to explicitly disclose using bubble to assist ablation and providing an ablating energy to the at least one ablation-assisting bubble. Applicant argues that the resulting claimed bubble expansion and associated mechanical stress therefore arise from phase transition of the administered microdroplet material, not from shockwave-induced boiling of endogenous tissue water. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because bubble expansion and associated mechanical stress therefore arises from phase transition of the administered microdroplet material is disclosed by Kvale and examiner does not rely on Park to disclose this limitation. Applicant argues “The ultrasound used to activate the microdroplet phase transition is different from the subsequent provision of ablating energy to the resulting ablation-assisting bubble. The activation step creates bubbles without boiling tissue water. The resulting bubble is then used to enhance the mechanical and/or thermal effects of the subsequently applied ablating energy”. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive as applicant pointed out the resulting bubble is then used to enhance the mechanical and/or thermal effects of the subsequently applied ablating energy. It is the formation/expansion/collapsing of bubbles that enhance the mechanical and/or thermal effects of the subsequently applied ablating energy. The process of making bubbles is not important. Examiner never suggests modifying the process of making bubbles in Kvale. Applicant agrees that it is the resulting bubble that enhances the mechanical and/or thermal effects of the subsequently applied ablating energy therefore the process of creating bubble discloses by main reference Kvale implicitly discloses bubble provide mechanical and/or thermal effects that aid ablation. Applicant argues Park concerns about managing bubble formation by shockwave. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because this is about creating and control bubbles and not about bubbles produce mechanical and/or thermal effects that aid ablation. As examiner pointed out above examiner does not suggest modifying the method of producing bubbles disclose by Kvale, examiner only relies on Park to explicitly discloses bubbles produce mechanical and/or thermal effects that aid ablation. As applicant clearly pointed out in the argument that it is the resulting bubbles that provide a mechanical stress on the target region to aid ablation on target tissue. Kvale explicitly discloses bubbles that provide a mechanical stress on the target region. Applicant argues the way that Pahk bubble is generated, and its corresponding characteristics, are different from the Kvale bubble. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because applicant make a conclusory statement without providing evidence. The way the bubbles are generated different between Kvale and Park and that is correct, but there is no evidence that the bubbles have different characteristic and produce different effect. Applicant argues Park's mechanical tissue removal results from the subsequent oscillation and collapse of its boiling-generated vapour bubble and Pahk does not disclose mechanical stress arising from expansion during phase transition of an administered microbubble-microdroplet cluster. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because they are actually the same physical principle/phenomenon. Mechanical stress arising from expansion during phase transition of an administered microbubble-microdroplet cluster is when the microbubble-microdroplet cluster grows and becomes bubbles. As bubbles grow they oscillate and collapse which causes mechanical stress and release energy. Mechanical stress and release of energy (thermal) result from the creation/grow of bubbles which both Kvale and Park disclose, they just create bubbles from different methods. Applicant argues neither reference provides a technical reason why a skilled artisan would expect a pressure-driven phase-transition bubble formed from an administered composition to behave as a substitute for Pahk's temperature-driven boiling bubble. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because applicant’s argument appears to contradict with applicant previous statement that it is the resulting bubbles that provide a mechanical stress on the target region to aid ablation on target tissue. Examiner does not suggest modifying the way Kvale create bubbles. Examiner only relies on Park to explicitly teach bubbles produce mechanical and/or thermal effects that aid ablation. As applicant pointed out it is the resulting bubbles the provide a mechanical stress on the target region to aid ablation on target tissue therefore the bubbles created by Kvale method inherent/obviously provide a mechanical stress on the target region to aid ablation on target tissue as explicitly taught by Park. Applicant argues the Office Action reasons that the proposed combination would allow a physician to perform another type of treatment and provide “more treatments” and that general objective does not supply a reasoned technical basis or sufficient rationale to modify Kvale to arrive at the specific limitations required by Claim 19. Applicant’s argument is persuasive because Kvale discloses all the method steps and Park only explicitly discloses a result of method steps use in an application (ablation). The rationale for combination is appropriate as the result of method steps could be used in many medical applications.
Applicant argues examiner relies on Park to disclose claim 22. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because examiner does not rely on Park to disclose claim 22. For claim 22, examiner rejected it as obvious. For example, one of ordinary skill in the art know that at sea level water boil at 100 degree Celsius and require adding specific amount of heat/thermal energy to raise water temperature to 100 degree Celsius, but at Mount Everett the water boil at 68 degree therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to find out the specific amount of heat/thermal energy needed to add to the water to raise water to 68 degree Celsius. Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art known that bubble enhance ablation therefore the ultrasound intensity require for ablation would be lower and one of ordinary skill in the art could calculate that value.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2006/0025756 (see [0073]; treatment duration of 60 second depending on desired lesion size and/or ablative effect); US 6,165,440 (see col. 3, lines 10-13; enhance drug delivery by producing hot cavitation also result in heating tissue); US 2003/0204141 (see [0010] and [0040]; drug delivery by heating tissue to cavitation); US 2008/0242979 (see [0010]; ablating tissue and using microbubbles to facilitate drug delivery); US 2015/0273061 (see [0008]; perform ablation by cavitation that enhance drug delivery); US 2015/0258353 (see [0004]; collapsing or oscillating bubbles lead to induced stress and high energy release; larger bubbles release more energy that open tissue for drug delivery); 2018/0360420 (see [0061-0062]; cavitation cause mechanical stress that assist ablation) and Acoustic Droplet Vaporiation for Enhancement of Thermal Ablation by High Intensity Focused Ultrasound).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797