DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on the application filed on April 7, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The Claims recite abstract subject matter directed towards storing and searching items in a graph.
Specifically, Independent Claims 1 and 11 recite:
storing one or more data objects in a non-graph data repository into one or more nodes and edges of a graph, comprising transforming an access control list (ACL) of a first data object into an ACL node and transforming a version of a second data object into a version node in a graph data repository – Creating a graph, including using certain objects as nodes in the graph, is something that a person can perform in the mind and/or with aid of pen and paper.
electronically receiving a search query associated with a user account for a shortest path between two specified nodes of the graph – Receiving a request for information is extra-solution activity as described at least in MPEP 2106.05(g); Identifying a shortest path in a graph is something that a person can perform in the mind.
executing the search query against the graph data repository to generate a result set of nodes including only nodes corresponding to most recent versions of the one or more data objects that are visible to the user account under applicable ACLs – Retrieving search results is extra-solution activity as described at least in MPEP 2106.05(g).
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors – Using a processor is an additional hardware element.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Other, the abstract idea, the claims recite additional elements of hardware such as a processor, memory, etc executing the abstract idea. The additional elements are recited at a high level of generality, i.e. as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of information processing. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-20 further describe more details of the above identified mental processes and thus do not provide additional elements that would make them statutory under 35 USC 101.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,719,557, Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,275,783, Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,880,409 and Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,277,176. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the above listed patents anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jan (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0144062) in view of Akkiraju et al (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0203327) further in view of Rosenberg et al (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0302113) and further in view of Abraham et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0254153).
Claims 1 and 11: Jan discloses a method and a system of managing digital entities in data repositories, comprising:
storing one or more data objects in a non-graph data repository into one or more nodes and edges of a graph, comprising transforming a first data object and transforming of a second data object into a node in a graph data repository [0026]. [See at least transforming data into graph data.]
Jan alone does not explicitly disclose an access control list (ACL) of node and transforming a version of a second data object into a version node in a graph data repository; and executing the search query against the graph data repository to generate a result set of nodes including only nodes corresponding to most recent versions of the one or more data objects that are visible to the user account under applicable ACLs, wherein the method is performed using one or more processors
However, Jan [0026] discloses transforming objects into nodes; Akkiraju [0039] discloses setting ACL properties for nodes; And Rosenberg [0085-0086] discloses setting nodes with particular versions and is able to “run any query on the current version…”
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jan with Akkiraju and Rosenberg. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide graph search results to a user.
Jan alone does not explicitly disclose electronically receiving a search query associated with a user account for a shortest path between two specified nodes of the graph.
However, Abraham [0033-0034] discloses identifying a shortest path between nodes based on a user query.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jan with Abraham. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide efficient query processing.
Claims 2 and 12: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 11 above, and Rosenberg, for the same reasons as above, further discloses identifying a realm identifier indicating a first investigative context from the search query or another source, the executing comprising filtering out from the result set any node that does not belong to the first investigate context or a second investigative context on which the first investigative context is based [0073]. [See at least filtering out nodes based on a particular identifier.]
Claims 3 and 13: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 11 above, and Rosenberg, for the same reasons as above, further discloses filtering from the result set any node that is not an ACL node or a version node [0073]. [See at least filtering out nodes based on a particular identifier. Filtering out particular nodes such as not ACL and version nodes, is an obvious variation of filtering out nodes based on an identifier. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosenberg to modify particular nodes based on a user filtering criteria in order to retrieve user requested results.]
Claims 4 and 14: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 11 above, and Jan further discloses transforming a reference in the second data object, which links the second data object to a third data object in the non-graph data repository, into a link node in the graph data repository having a first edge that is connected to the version node and having a second edge that is connected to a second node representing a version of the third data object, in the graph data repository [0026, 0059]. [See at least nodes connected in a graph. As for specific types of nodes, also see Rosenberg [0073].]
Claims 5 and 15: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 4 and 14 above, and Jan further discloses inspecting a value of a property node linked to the version node [0026, 0059].
Claims 6 and 16: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 5 and 15 above, and Jan further discloses following from the version node the first edge to the link node and the second edge to a version node of the third data object [0026, 0059]. [See at least nodes connected in a graph. As for specific types of nodes, also see Rosenberg [0073].]
Claims 9 and 19: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 11 above, and Akkiraju, for the same reasons as above, further discloses receiving an ACL identifier from an external security system; adding the ACL identifier to the ACL node as a property [0036].
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jan (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0144062) in view of Akkiraju et al (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0203327) further in view of Rosenberg et al (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0302113) and further in view of Abraham et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0254153) and further in view of Zhou (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0024586).
Claims 7 and 17: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 11 above, but Jan alone does not explicitly disclose concurrent to executing the search query against the graph data repository, executing the search query against the non-graph data repository; receiving, from the non-graph data repository, a second result set of data objects; merging the second result set of data objects into a result set of data objects generated from the result set of nodes, to form a combined search result set of data objects.
However, Akkiraju [0037] discloses searching a graph database and Zhou [0090] discloses searching different nodes in parallel and then combining individual search results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jan with Akkiraju and Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide efficient query processing.
Claims 8 and 18: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 11 above, but Jan alone does not explicitly disclose storing object metadata for the one or more data objects in a native index of a non-graph database system including the non-graph data repository and in a secondary index in a graph database system including the graph data repository.
However, Zhou [0074-0075] discloses indexing non-graph data in a hash table and Akkiraju [0028] discloses indexing graph data in an index.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jan with Akkiraju and Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide efficient query processing by at least using an index to access data faster.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jan (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0144062) in view of Akkiraju et al (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0203327) further in view of Rosenberg et al (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0302113) and further in view of Abraham et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0254153) and further in view of Kramer et al (US Patent 9,348,880).
Claims 10 and 20: Jan as modified discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 11 above, but Jan alone does not explicitly disclose transforming the result set of nodes into a set of corresponding data objects in the non-graph data repository.
However, Kramer (Fig. 6, Col 15 ln 41-67, Col 17 ln 58-67) discloses a graph search result is transformed into a non-graph result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jan with Akkiraju and Kramer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide graph search results to a user.
Conclusion
/ALEX GOFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163