DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being described by Chang et al (US 2017/0238055).
For claim 1, Chang et al teach a method for processing and correcting data for a sports event, the method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system, one or more data feeds for a sports event, wherein the one or more data feeds includes at least one data entry (paragraph 23: “ …machine learning to develop an understanding of a plurality of events and to determine at least one event type for each of the plurality of events within the at least one video feed. The at least one event type includes an entry in a relationship library at least detailing a relationship between two visible features of the at least one video feed.” Figure 10 shows the “understanding” of a plurality of events. For example, “Field Goal Attempts”, “handoffs”, “isolations”…etc. Figure 14 also shows the understanding of events in the “Description”, also Figure 15 shows the marking of events );
receiving, by the computing system, one or more video feeds for the sports event, wherein the one or more video feeds includes event data (e.g. paragraph 13: “taking a video feed of an event; using machine learning to develop an understanding of the event; automatically, under computer control, aligning the video feed with the understanding; and producing a transformed video feed that includes at least one highlight that may be extracted from the machine learning of the event. In embodiments, the event may be a sporting event.” );
identifying, by the computing system, a data feed error, wherein the data feed error is a difference between the at least one data entry and the event data in the one or more video feeds (e.g. paragraph 279: “For example, if two players' XY positions are switched, then “over” vs “under” defense would be incorrectly characterized, since the players' relative positioning is used as a critical feature for the classification. Even player-by-player data sources are occasionally incorrect, such as associating identified events with the wrong player.”) and
correcting, by the computing system, the data feed error, wherein correction of the data feed error includes altering the at least one data entry to be consistent with the event data (e.g. paragraph 280: “validation algorithms are used to detect all events, including the basic events such as possession, pass, dribble, shot, and rebound that are provided with the XYZ data.”).
For claim 8, Chang et al teach a system for processing and correcting data for a sports event, the system comprising: a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store processor-readable instructions; and a processor operatively connected to the non-transitory computer readable medium (e.g. paragraph 539: “The methods and systems described herein may be deployed in part or in whole through a machine that executes computer software, program codes, and/or instructions on a processor. ”), and configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising:
receiving one or more data feeds for a sports event, wherein the one or more data feeds includes at least one data entry (e.g. see discussion of claim 1 above);
receiving one or more video feeds for the sports event, wherein the one or more video feeds includes event data (e.g. see discussion of claim 1 above);
identifying a data feed error, wherein the data feed error is a difference between the at least one data entry and the event data in the one or more video feeds (e.g. see discussion of claim 1 above); and
correcting the data feed error, wherein correction of the data feed error includes altering the at least one data entry to be consistent with the event data (e.g. see discussion of claim 1 above).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 8 above.
For claims 2, 9 and 16, Chang et al teach the at least one data entry includes player identification data (e.g. figure 4: “PLAYER4 STEALS THE BALL FROM PLAYER3”).
For claims 3, 10 and 17, Chang et al teach the at least one data entry includes player tracking data (e.g. paragraph 148: chip base player tracking system. Or figure 20, paragraph 195: player detection).
For claims 4,11 and 18, Chang et al teach the at least one data entry includes jersey identification data (e.g. figure 11: Player 4: #35).
For claims 5, 12 and 19, Chang et al teach the at least one data entry includes team association data (e.g. figure 19: “Team 1”, “Team 2” or figure 5A “TEAM”).
For claims 7, 14 and 20, Chang et al teach the data in the corrected data feed error is reincorporated into the one or more data feeds in real time (e.g. paragraph 485: displaying machine extracted, real time, contextualized content based on machine identification of a type of event occurring in a live video stream. e.g. paragraph 280: “validation algorithms are used to detect all events, including the basic events such as possession, pass, dribble, shot, and rebound that are provided with the XYZ data.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al, as applied to claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-20 above, and further in view of Lavin (US 2017/0333778).
For claims 6 and 13, Chang et al do not further disclose the data feed error includes duplicate player identification data. Lavin teaches the data feed error includes duplicate player identification data (e.g. paragraph 35: errors in the line-up, such as duplicate players at a single position). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the teaching of Lavin into the teaching of Chang et al to detect and correct error to improve the quality of the video.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gershey et al (WO 2022/119605, see foreign reference filed on 7/7/2025, see paragraph 6: receiving live data feed and detect anomaly in the data feed and resolving the anomaly of the multimedia content).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484