DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a seventh data line sequentially disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction [claim 1]; the second color is red [claim 11]; the second color is blue [claim 12]; a fifth data line disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction [claim 13] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the colors of sub-pixels as described in the specification in paragraphs [0046]-[0047]. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
A)Regarding claim 1, the claim states: “…a seventh data line sequentially disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction…” The specification does not in such full and clear manner described how and what purpose having the seventh data line in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not given patentable weight to the above limitation until further explanation is presented by the applicants. Since claims 2-12 depend from claim 1, they also are rejected for the above reason.
B)Regarding claim 13, the claim states: “…a fifth data line sequentially disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction…” The specification does not in such full and clear manner described how and what purpose having the fifth data line in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not given patentable weight to the above limitation until further explanation is presented by the applicants. Since claims 14-19 depend from claim 1, they also are rejected for the above reason.
Claims 1-12, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A)Regarding claims 1 and 20, the claim states: “…a first sub-pixel column disposed adjacent to the first data line and in which first sub-pixels connected to the first data line… a third sub-pixel column disposed adjacent to the third data line… and first sub-pixels connected to the fifth data line…” It is not clear from the claim how “first sub-pixels” could be in two different columns and connected to two different data lines at the same time.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not given patentable weight to “first sub-pixels connected to the fifth data line” until further explanation is presented by the applicants. Since claims 2-12 depend from claim 1, they also are rejected for the above reason.
B)Regarding claims 6 and 15, the claim states: “…a fourth sub-pixel column disposed adjacent to the fourth data line and in which second sub-pixels connected to the fourth data line…” Claim 6 depends from claim 3 and claim 15 depends from claim 13 which states: “…a second sub-pixel column disposed adjacent to the second data line in which second sub-pixels connected to the second data line…” It is not clear from the claim how “second sub-pixels” could be in two different columns and connected to two different data lines at the same time.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not given patentable weight to “second sub-pixels connected to the fourth data line” until further explanation is presented by the applicants. Since claims 7-9 depend from claim 6 and claims 16-18 depend from claim 15, they also are rejected for the above reason.
C)Regarding claims 8 and 17, the claim states: “…a fifth sub-pixel column disposed adjacent to the fifth data line and in which first sub-pixels connected to the fifth data line and a third sub-pixel column disposed adjacent to the seventh data line…” It is not clear from the claim how “first sub-pixels” and “third sub-pixels” could be in two different columns and connected to two different data lines at the same time.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not given patentable weight to “first sub-pixels connected to the fifth data line and a third sub-pixel column disposed adjacent to the seventh data line” until further explanation is presented by the applicants. Since claim 9 depend from claim 8 and claim 18 depends from claim 17, they also are rejected for the above reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al (CN 113571024 B).
Regarding claim 1, Tang et al disclose [see Figs. 2 & 10 above] a display device, comprising: a plurality of data lines (data lines 20 A-F or 21-28) extending in a first direction [north to south], the plurality of data lines including a first data line (first data line 20A or 21), a second data line (second data line 20B or 22), a third data line (third data line 20C or 23), a fourth data line (fourth data line 20D or 24), a fifth data line (fifth data line 20E or 25), a sixth data line (sixth data line 20F or 26) and a seventh data line (seventh data line 20G or 27) sequentially disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph]; a sub-pixel array (sub-pixel 10) including first sub-pixels (sub-pixels 11) which emit light having a first color (red), second sub-pixels (sub-pixels 12) which emit light having a second color (green), and third sub-pixels (sub-pixels 13) which emit light having a third color (blue); and a lighting test circuit (multi-path selectors 30), wherein the sub-pixel array (10) includes: a first sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P1) disposed adjacent to the first data line (20A or 21) and in which first sub-pixels (11) connected to the first data line (20A or 21) and third sub-pixels (13) connected to the third data line (20C or 23) are alternately arranged in the first direction [north-south]; and a third sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P3) disposed adjacent to the third data line (20C or 23) and in which third sub-pixels (13) connected to the third data line (20C or 23) and first sub-pixels (11) connected to the fifth data line [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph] are alternately arranged in the first direction [north-south], wherein the lighting test circuit (30) includes: a first transistor (switch elements T1) which outputs a first test voltage to the first data line (20A or 21); and a third transistor (switch elements T3) which outputs a third test voltage to the third data line (20C or 23).
Regarding claim 2, Tang et al disclose wherein one of the first sub-pixels (11) in the first sub-pixel column (P1) and one of the third sub-pixels (13) in the third sub-pixel column (P3) are disposed in a same row (row 101) extending in the second direction (left-right).
Regarding claim 3, Tang et al disclose wherein the sub-pixel array (10) further includes: a second sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P2) disposed adjacent to the second data line (20B or 22) and in which second sub-pixels (12) connected to the second data line (20B or 22) are arranged in the first direction (north-south).
Regarding claim 4, Tang et al disclose wherein the lighting test circuit (30) further includes: a second transistor (switch elements T2) which outputs a second test voltage to the second data line (20B or 22).
Regarding claim 5, Tang et al disclose wherein the first transistor (T1), the second transistor(T2), and the third transistor (T3) are turned-on in response to a test gate signal (control signal CKH).
Regarding claim 6, Tang et al disclose wherein the sub-pixel array (10) further includes: a fourth sub-pixel column (fourth sub-pixel column P4) disposed adjacent to the fourth data line (20D or 24) and in which second sub-pixels connected to the fourth data line [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph] are arranged in the first direction (north-south).
Regarding claim 7, Tang et al disclose wherein the lighting test circuit (30) further includes: a fourth transistor (switch elements T4) which outputs a second test voltage to the fourth data line (20D or 24).
Regarding claims 8-9, Tang et al disclose wherein the sub-pixel array (10) further includes: a fifth sub-pixel column (fifth sub-pixel column P5) disposed adjacent to the fifth data line (20E or 25) and in which first sub-pixels connected to the fifth data line and third sub-pixels connected to the seventh data line [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph] are alternately arranged in the first direction.
Regarding claim 10, Tang et al disclose wherein the first color is one of red (red)[via sub-pixel 11] and blue, wherein the second color is green (green) [via sub-pixel 12] , and wherein the third color is the other of red and blue (blue) [via sub-pixel 13].
Regarding claim 13, Tang et al disclose [see Figs. 2 & 10 above] a display device, comprising: a plurality of data lines (data lines 20 A-F or 21-28) extending in a first direction [north to south], the plurality of data lines including a first data line (first data line 20A or 21), a second data line (second data line 20B or 22), a third data line (third data line 20C or 23), a fourth data line (fourth data line 20D or 24), a fifth data line (fifth data line 20E or 25) disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph]; a sub-pixel array (sub-pixel 10) including first sub-pixels (sub-pixels 11) which emit light having a first color (red), second sub-pixels (sub-pixels 12) which emit light having a second color (green), and third sub-pixels (sub-pixels 13) which emit light having a third color (blue); and a lighting test circuit (multi-path selectors 30), wherein the sub-pixel array (10) includes: a first sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P1) disposed adjacent to the first data line (20A or 21) and in which first ones of the first sub-pixels (11) and first ones of the third sub-pixels (13) are alternately arranged in the first direction [north-south]; a second sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P2) disposed adjacent to the second data line (20B or 22) and in which first ones of the second sub-pixels (12) are arranged in the first direction [north-south]; and a third sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P3) disposed adjacent to the third data line (20C or 23) and in which second ones of the third sub-pixels (13) and second ones of the first sub-pixels (11) are alternately arranged in the first direction [north-south], wherein the lighting test circuit (30) includes: a first transistor (switch elements T1) which outputs a first test voltage to the first data line (20A or 21) in response to a test gate signal (control signal CKH); a second transistor (switch elements T2) which outputs a second test voltage to the second data line (20B or 22) in response to the test gate signal (control signal CKH); and a third transistor (switch elements T3) which outputs a third test voltage to the third data line (20C or 23).
Regarding claim 14, Tang et al disclose wherein one of the first sub-pixels (11) in the first sub-pixel column (P1) and one of the third sub-pixels (13) in the third sub-pixel column (P3) are disposed in a same row (row 101) extending in the second direction (left-right).
Regarding claim 15, Tang et al disclose wherein the sub-pixel array (10) further includes: a fourth sub-pixel column (fourth sub-pixel column P4) disposed adjacent to the fourth data line (20D or 24) and in which second sub-pixels connected to the fourth data line [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph] are arranged in the first direction (north-south).
Regarding claim 16, Tang et al disclose wherein the lighting test circuit (30) further includes: a fourth transistor (switch elements T4) which outputs a second test voltage to the fourth data line (20D or 24).
Regarding claim 17, Tang et al disclose wherein the sub-pixel array (10) further includes: a fifth sub-pixel column (fifth sub-pixel column P5) disposed adjacent to the fifth data line (20E or 25) and in which first sub-pixels connected to the fifth data line and third sub-pixels connected to the seventh data line [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph] are alternately arranged in the first direction.
Regarding claim 18, Tang et al disclose wherein the first ones of the first sub-pixels (11) in the first sub-pixel column (P1) are connected to the first data line (20A or 21), wherein the first ones of the third sub-pixels (13) in the first sub-pixel column (P1) and the second ones of the third sub-pixels (13) in the third sub-pixel column (P3) are connected to the third data line (20C or 23), and wherein the second ones of the first sub-pixels (11) in the third sub-pixel column (P3) are connected to the fifth data line (20E or 25).
Regarding claim 19, Tang et al disclose wherein the first color is one of red (red)[via sub-pixel 11] and blue, wherein the second color is green (green) [via sub-pixel 12] , and wherein the third color is the other of red and blue (blue) [via sub-pixel 13].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (CN 113571024 B).
Regarding claims 11-12, Tang et al disclose a sub-pixel array (sub-pixel 10) including first sub-pixels (sub-pixels 11) which emit light having a first color (red), second sub-pixels (sub-pixels 12) which emit light having a second color (green), and third sub-pixels (sub-pixels 13) which emit light having a third color (blue). However, the prior art does not disclose the color could be different colors as claimed. It is well known to have different colors for the sub-pixels where needed by a user [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have different colors for the sub-pixels since it was held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (CN 113571024 B) in view of Jeong et al (US Pub 2016/0049123 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Tang et al disclose [see Figs. 2 & 10 above] a display device, comprising: a first data line (first data line 20A or 21), a second data line (second data line 20B or 22), a third data line (third data line 20C or 23), a fourth data line (fourth data line 20D or 24), a fifth data line (fifth data line 20E or 25), extending a first direction [north -south]; a sub-pixel array (sub-pixel 10) including first sub-pixels (sub-pixels 11) which emit light having a first color (red), second sub-pixels (sub-pixels 12) which emit light having a second color (green), and third sub-pixels (sub-pixels 13) which emit light having a third color (blue); and a lighting test circuit (multi-path selectors 30), wherein the sub-pixel array (10) includes: a first sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P1) disposed adjacent to the first data line (20A or 21) and in which first sub-pixels (11) connected to the first data line (20A or 21) and third sub-pixels (13) connected to the third data line (20C or 23) are alternately arranged in the first direction [north-south]; and a third sub-pixel column (sub-pixel column P3) disposed adjacent to the third data line (20C or 23) and in which third sub-pixels (13) connected to the third data line (20C or 23) and first sub-pixels (11) connected to the fifth data line [see above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph] are alternately arranged in the first direction [north-south], wherein the lighting test circuit (30) includes: a first transistor (switch elements T1) which outputs a first test voltage to the first data line (20A or 21); and a third transistor (switch elements T3) which outputs a third test voltage to the third data line (20C or 23). However, the prior art does not disclose a processor as claimed. Jeong et al disclose [see Figs. 2-3] an electronic apparatus (display apparatus 10) including a display device ( display panel 100) which displays an image and a processor (timing controller 200) which controls the display panel (100) [via data driver 500 and gate driver 300], the display device comprising data lines (data lines DL1-DL7); sub-pixel array (PIX) including sub-pixels (SP1-SP4, R11-R44, G11-G44 & B11-B44) which emit light have colors (red, green, blue) [see paragraph [0065] for details]; and lighting test circuit includes transistors [see paragraph [0045] for details]. Further, Jeong et al teaches that the addition of processor (timing controller) is advantageous because it is configured to control the gate driver and the data driver, to perform a first decision, a second decision, or a third decision, and to compensate the first pixel data based on the first decision, the second decision, or the third decision during the use of the display panel. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Tang et al by adding processor (timing controller) as taught by Jeong et al in order to control the gate driver and the data driver, to perform a first decision, a second decision, or a third decision, and to compensate the first pixel data based on the first decision, the second decision, or the third decision.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858