DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final Rejection on the merits.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 –10, and 12 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12270926 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because comparison below.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12270926 B2
A telematics device comprising: a plurality of inertial sensors configured to sense inertial characteristics of the telematics device and produce inertial sensor data indicative of the sensed inertial characteristics; a location antenna configured for receiving location data from a location beacon system; a data antenna configured for communications with a remote computer system; and a communication subsystem comprising a communication processor electrically coupled to each of the data antenna and the location antenna, the communication processor having multiple modes of operation including (i) a location mode in which the communication processor is configured to receive and process location data from the location beacon system using the location antenna and (ii) a data mode in which the communication processor is configured to transmit and receive data communications from the remote computer system using the data antenna, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode; and a location determination manager configured to (i) determine a present location of the telematics device based on the location data received from the location beacon system while the communication processor is in the location mode, (ii) determine an estimated location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode, and (iii) determine an error associated with the estimated location, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to switch the communication processor from the data mode to the location mode in response to the error associated with the estimated location being greater than a threshold error amount.
1. A telematics device comprising: a plurality of inertial sensors configured to sense inertial characteristics of the telematics device and produce inertial sensor data indicative of the sensed inertial characteristics; a location antenna configured for receiving location data from a location beacon system; a data antenna configured for communications with a remote computer system; and a communication subsystem comprising a communication processor electrically coupled to each of the data antenna and the location antenna, the communication processor having multiple modes of operation including (i) a location mode in which the communication processor is configured to receive and process location data from the location beacon system using the location antenna and (ii) a data mode in which the communication processor is configured to transmit and receive data communications from the remote computer system using the data antenna, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode; a location determination manager configured to determine a present location of the telematics device based on the location data received from the location beacon system while the communication processor is in the location mode and to determine an estimated location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode; and a message bus manager configured to receive a request for the data mode from an application executed by the telematics device, wherein the request includes a requested duration of the data mode, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to (i) determine whether the requested duration is greater than a maximum duration, (ii) set, in response to a determination that the requested duration is greater than the maximum duration, a timer for the data mode to the maximum duration, (iii) set, in response to a determination that the requested duration is not greater than the maximum duration, the timer to the requested duration, (iv) switch the communication processor from the location mode to the data mode for a duration of the timer and (v) switch the communication processor from the data mode to the location mode in response to a determination that an error associated with the estimated location is greater than a threshold error.
2. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of inertial sensors include an accelerometer sensor and a gyroscope sensor.
2. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of inertial sensors include an accelerometer sensor and a gyroscope sensor.
3. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein to determine the estimated location of the telematics device comprises to determine the estimated location of the telematics device based on the last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a Kalman filter while the communication processor is in the data mode, wherein to determine the estimated location using the Kalman filter includes to determine the error associated with the estimated location.
3. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein to determine the estimated location of the telematics device comprises to determine the estimated location of the telematics device based on the last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a Kalman filter while the communication processor is in the data mode, wherein to determine the estimated location using the Kalman filter includes to determine the error associated with the estimated location.
4. The telematics device of claim 1, further comprising a data communication manager configured to (i) cache messages to be transmitted to the remote computer system while the communication processor is in the location mode and (ii) transmit, via the communication subsystem, the cached messages in response to the communication processor being switched to the data mode.
4. The telematics device of claim 1, further comprising a data communication manager configured to (i) cache messages to be transmitted to the remote computer system while the communication processor is in the location mode and (ii) transmit, via the communication subsystem, the cached messages in response to the communication processor being switched to the data mode.
5. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein the communication subsystem is further configured to store, in response to the mode of operation of the communication processor being switched to the data mode, the determined present location of the telematics device as the last determined present location.
5. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein the communication subsystem is further configured to store, in response to the mode of operation of the communication processor being switched to the data mode, the determined present location of the telematics device as the last determined present location.
6. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to switch the communication processor to the location mode in response to receipt of a request for the location mode from an application executed on the telematics device and to switch the communication processor to the data mode in response to receipt of a request for the data mode from the application.
6. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to switch the communication processor to the location mode in response to receipt of a request for the location mode from an application executed on the telematics device and to switch the communication processor to the data mode in response to receipt of a request for the data mode from the application.
7. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode comprises to: determine a switching duty cycle between the location mode and the data mode of the communication processor; and switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode based on the switching duty cycle.
7. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode comprises to: determine a switching duty cycle between the location mode and the data mode of the communication processor; and switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode based on the switching duty cycle.
8. The telematics device of claim 7, wherein the duty cycle comprises a greater than 50% duty cycle for the location mode.
8. The telematics device of claim 7, wherein the duty cycle comprises a greater than 50% duty cycle for the location mode.
9. The telematics device of claims 7, wherein to switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode comprises to: set a timer for the location mode based on the switching duty cycle; switch the communication processor to the location mode; determine whether the timer for the location mode has expired; and in response to a determination that the timer for the location mode has expired, (i) set the timer for the data mode based on the switching duty cycle and (ii) switch the communication processor to the data mode.
9. The telematics device of claim 7, wherein to switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode comprises to: set the timer for the location mode based on the switching duty cycle; switch the communication processor to the location mode; determine whether the timer for the location mode has expired; and in response to a determination that the timer for the location mode has expired, (i) set the timer for the data mode based on the switching duty cycle and (ii) switch the communication processor to the data mode.
10. The telematics device of claim 9, wherein to switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode further comprises to: determine whether the timer for the data mode has expired; and in response to a determination that the timer for the data mode has expired, (i) set the timer for the location mode based on the switching duty cycle and (ii) switch the communication processor to the location mode.
10. The telematics device of claim 9, wherein to switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode further comprises to: determine whether the timer for the data mode has expired; and in response to a determination that the timer for the data mode has expired, (i) set the timer for the location mode based on the switching duty cycle and (ii) switch the communication processor to the location mode.
12. A method for switching between communication modes of a telematics device, the method comprising: receiving, from a plurality of inertial sensors, inertial sensor data indicative of inertial characteristics of the telematics device; switching, by a communication subsystem of the telematics device, a communication processor of the telematics device between a location mode and a data mode, wherein the communication processor has multiple modes of operation including (i) the location mode in which the communication processor is configured to receive and process location data from the location beacon system using a location antenna of the telematics device and (ii) the data mode in which the communication processor is configured to transmit and receive data communications from the remote computer system using a data antenna of the telematics device; determining, by the telematics device, a present location of the telematics device based on the location data received from the location beacon system while the communication processor is in the location mode; determining, by the telematics device, an estimated location of the telematics device and an based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode; determining, by the telematics device, an error associated with the estimated location; and switching, by the communication subsystem, the communication processor from the data mode to the location mode in response to the error associated with the estimated location being greater than a threshold error amount.
12. A method for switching between communication modes of a telematics device, the method comprising: receiving, from a plurality of inertial sensors, inertial sensor data indicative of inertial characteristics of the telematics device; switching, by a communication subsystem of the telematics device, a communication processor of the telematics device between a location mode and a data mode, wherein the communication processor has multiple modes of operation including (i) the location mode in which the communication processor is configured to receive and process location data from the location beacon system using a location antenna of the telematics device and (ii) the data mode in which the communication processor is configured to transmit and receive data communications from the remote computer system using a data antenna of the telematics device; determining, by the telematics device, a present location of the telematics device based on the location data received from the location beacon system while the communication processor is in the location mode; determining, by the telematics device, an estimated location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode; receiving, by a message bus manager of the telematics device, a request for the data mode from an application executed by the telematics device, wherein the request includes a requested duration of the data mode; determining, by the telematics device, whether the requested duration is greater than a maximum duration; setting, by the telematics device and in response to a determination that the requested duration is greater than the maximum duration, a timer for the data mode to the maximum duration; setting, by the telematics device and in response to a determination that the requested duration is not greater than the maximum duration, the timer for the data mode to the requested duration of the data mode; switching, by the communication subsystem, the communication processor from the location mode to the data mode for a duration of the timer; and switching, by the communication subsystem, the communication processor from the data mode to the location mode in response to a determination that an error associated with the estimated location is greater than a threshold error.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein receiving the inertial sensor data comprises receiving accelerometer data form an accelerometer sensor of the telematics device and receiving gyroscope data from a gyroscope sensor of the telematics device.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein receiving the inertial sensor data comprises receiving accelerometer data form an accelerometer sensor of the telematics device and receiving gyroscope data from a gyroscope sensor of the telematics device.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein determining the estimated location of the telematics device comprises determining the estimated location of the telematics device based on the last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a Kalman filter while the communication processor is in the data mode, wherein determining the estimated location using the Kalman filter includes determining the error associated with the estimated location.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein determining the estimated location of the telematics device comprises determining the estimated location of the telematics device based on the last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a Kalman filter while the communication processor is in the data mode, wherein determining the estimated location using the Kalman filter includes determining the error associated with the estimated location.
15. The method of claim 12, further comprising: caching, by the telematics device, messages to be transmitted to the remote computer system while the communication processor is in the location mode; and transmitting, by the communication subsystem, the cached messages in response to the communication processor being switched to the data mode.
15. The method of claim 12, further comprising: caching, by the telematics device, messages to be transmitted to the remote computer system while the communication processor is in the location mode; and transmitting, by the communication subsystem, the cached messages in response to the communication processor being switched to the data mode.
16. The method of claim 12, further comprising storing, in response to the mode of operation of the communication processor being switched to the data mode, the determined present location of the telematics device as the last determined present location.
16. The method of claim 12, further comprising storing, in response to the mode of operation of the communication processor being switched to the data mode, the determined present location of the telematics device as the last determined present location.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein switching the communication processor of the telematics device between a location mode and a data mode comprises switching, by the communication subsystem, the communication processor to the location mode in response to receipt of a request for the location mode from an application executed on the telematics device and switching the communication processor to the data mode in response to receipt of a request for the data mode from the application.
7. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode comprises to: determine a switching duty cycle between the location mode and the data mode of the communication processor; and switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode based on the switching duty cycle.
18. The method of claim 12, wherein switching the communication processor of the telematics device between a location mode and a data mode comprises: determining, by the telematics device, a switching duty cycle between the location mode and the data mode of the communication processor; and switching, by the communication subsystem, the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode based on the switching duty cycle.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein switching the communication processor of the telematics device between a location mode and a data mode comprises: determining, by the telematics device, a switching duty cycle between the location mode and the data mode of the communication processor; and switching, by the communication subsystem, the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode based on the switching duty cycle.
19. One or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed, cause a computing device to: receive, from a plurality of inertial sensors, inertial sensor data indicative of inertial characteristics of the telematics device; switch a communication processor of the telematics device between a location mode and a data mode, wherein the communication processor has multiple modes of operation including (i) the location mode in which the communication processor is configured to receive and process location data from the location beacon system using a location antenna of the telematics device and (ii) the data mode in which the communication processor is configured to transmit and receive data communications from the remote computer system using a data antenna of the telematics device; determine a present location of the telematics device based on the location data received from the location beacon system while the communication processor is in the location mode; determine an estimated location of the telematics device and an based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode; determine an error associated with the estimated location; and switch the communication processor from the data mode to the location mode in response to the error associated with the estimated location being greater than a threshold error amount.
11. A telematics device comprising: a plurality of inertial sensors configured to sense inertial characteristics of the telematics device and produce inertial sensor data indicative of the sensed inertial characteristics; a location antenna configured for receiving location data from a location beacon system; a data antenna configured for communications with a remote computer system; and a communication subsystem comprising a communication processor electrically coupled to each of the data antenna and the location antenna, the communication processor having multiple modes of operation including (i) a location mode in which the communication processor is configured to receive and process location data from the location beacon system using the location antenna and (ii) a data mode in which the communication processor is configured to transmit and receive data communications from the remote computer system using the data antenna, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode; a location determination manager configured to determine a present location of the telematics device based on the location data received from the location beacon system while the communication processor is in the location mode and to determine an estimated location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode; and a message bus manager configured to receive a plurality of requests for the data mode from one or more applications executed by the telematics device, wherein each request of the plurality of requests includes a requested duration of the data mode, wherein the message bus manager is further configured to determine a requested duration having the longest duration from the plurality of requests, and wherein the communication subsystem is further configured to set the timer for the data mode to the requested duration having the longest duration and switch the communication processor from the location mode to the data mode for a duration of the timer, wherein the communication subsystem is configured to switch the communication processor from the data mode to the location mode in response to a determination that an error associated with the estimated location is greater than a threshold error.
20. The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 19, wherein to determine the estimated location of the telematics device comprises to determine the estimated location of the telematics device based on the last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a Kalman filter while the communication processor is in the data mode, wherein to determine the estimated location using the Kalman filter includes to determine the error associated with the estimated location.
3. The telematics device of claim 1, wherein to determine the estimated location of the telematics device comprises to determine the estimated location of the telematics device based on the last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a Kalman filter while the communication processor is in the data mode, wherein to determine the estimated location using the Kalman filter includes to determine the error associated with the estimated location.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varoglu (US 2014-0232593 A1) in view of McBurney et al. (Hereinafter McBurney) (US 2011/0184644 A1).
As per claim 1, Varoglu teaches limitations of: a telematics device (Figure 1, #201) comprising:
a plurality of inertial sensors configured to sense inertial characteristics of the telematics device and produce inertial sensor data indicative of the sensed inertial characteristics (paragraph 16, 30, and 39; the primary location technology may be unreliable, not as accurate as a particular location services demands, and/or consume more power than an alternative location technology. Sensors, such as accelerometers, compasses, gyrometers, and the like, can be used to supplement and/or increase the accuracy of location data. …Sensor module 208 can include any suitable sensor for measuring and calculating a relative distance and direction traveled. Sensor module 208 can include one or more of the following accelerometers, compasses, gyroscopes, and/or other sensors for measuring motion, distance, or direction. … Sensor module 260 can include one or more of the following accelerometers, compasses, gyroscopes, and/or other sensors for measuring motion, distance, or direction of the movement of vehicle 251 (e.g., odometer, speedometer, etc.). Vehicle 251 may have additional modules that are not shown.);
a location antenna configured for receiving location data from a location beacon system (figure 1 #206 and paragraph 29; Location module 206 can include any suitable location technology using one or more wireless signals to determine a current location. In some embodiments, location module 206 includes a global positioning system (GPS) module. In some embodiments, location module 206 includes one or more of the following: WiFi location module, cellular location module, crowd-sourced WiFi location module, time of flight calculations (ToF) location module, and the like. However, in some circumstances, these location technologies may not be available or accurate. In some embodiments, the location data provided by a location technology may be supplemented with sensor data.);
a data antenna configured for communications with a remote computer system (See at least figure 1 #204 and paragraph 25 and 109; wireless module 204 could include a Bluetooth module, a radio frequency (RF) module, a WiFi module, and/or the like. The Bluetooth module can include any suitable combinations of hardware for performing wireless communications with other Bluetooth-enabled devices and allows an RF signal to be exchanged between controller 202 and other Bluetooth-enabled devices. In some embodiments, a Bluetooth module can perform such wireless communications according to Bluetooth Basic Rate/Enhanced Data Rate (BR/EDR) and/or Bluetooth Low Energy (LE) standards.… Wireless circuitry 908 is used to send and receive information over a wireless link or network to one or more other devices' conventional circuitry such as an antenna system); and
a communication subsystem comprising a communication processor electrically coupled to each of the data antenna and the location antenna (See at least figure 1 #202, #204 and #206 and paragraph 24; Controller 202, which can be implemented as one or more integrated circuits, can control and manage the overall operation of mobile device 201. For example, controller 202 can perform various tasks, such as retrieving various assets that can be stored in CRM 210, accessing the functionalities of various modules (e.g., interacting with other Bluetooth enabled devices via Bluetooth module), executing various software programs (e.g., operating systems and applications) residing on CRM 210, and so on.), the communication processor having multiple modes of operation including (i) a location mode in which the communication processor is configured to receive and process location data from the location beacon system using the location antenna and (ii) a data mode in which the communication processor is configured to transmit and receive data communications from the remote computer system using the data antenna, (See at least figure 1 and paragraph 41 – 42, 47 and 49 – 50; A location-enabled device, such as a mobile device (e.g., 201) and/or vehicle (e.g., 251), may provide location services using a first location technology (e.g., GPS). In some embodiments, the first or primary location technology relies on wireless signals to determine the location of the location-enabled device. For example, GPS uses signals from satellites. Cellular and WiFi locations can rely on cellular and WiFi signals, respectively. In some circumstances, the primary location technology may be untrusted, unavailable or unreliable. For example, the location signals may be blocked by a structure, not within a line of sight, outside a working range, or otherwise compromised. In some embodiments, a problematic area can be identified and an estimation mode can be used to determine location more accurately. The estimation mode may use sensor data that measures and records data that can be used to calculate relative distances and direction traveled. Relative distance and direction may be measured by one or more sensors of the mobile device and/or the vehicle. Sensor data representative of a relative distance and direction traveled may supplement an absolute location determined by a primary location technology (e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates calculated by GPS). the location-enabled device can determine a location using a primary location technology. The primary location technology typically calculates location coordinates of the current location of the location-enabled device. For example, in some embodiments, the primary location technology can be GPS and the location coordinates can include latitude, longitude, and the like. In some embodiments, other location technologies can be used as the primary location technology. … the location-enabled device may use sensor data to calibrate and/or determine how accurate the location data is from the primary location technology. That is, relative distance and direction traveled may be used to detect errors in the location data in the location provided by the primary location technology (e.g., GPS) … the location-enabled device can measure device sensors (and/or receive sensor data from another device). In some embodiments, a mobile device (e.g., 201) can record sensor data from sensors on the mobile device and/or a mobile device can receive sensor data from, for example, a vehicle (e.g., 251). The sensor data can be used to calculate a relative distance traveled.) wherein the communication subsystem is configured to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode (See at least paragraph 49, 54 and 59 – 51; Estimation mode can be any suitable mode that supplements the primary location technology with sensor data that provides a relative change in position and direction traveled … the location-enabled device can switch out of estimation mode and return to the standard mode of operation. For example, the location-enabled device may determine its location solely based on the primary location technology since the location fixes are trusted and reliable. … the vehicle and/or mobile device switches to an estimation mode at position 451. Sensor data is measured, and a distance and direction is calculated from a last known reliable location (e.g., position 451). In some embodiments, the vehicle and/or mobile device can determine that it is located at position 452 by supplementing primary location data with sensor data. For example, location coordinates at position 451 (e.g., latitude and longitude coordinates) may be reliable. Sensor data can be used to calculate a distance (e.g., 25 meters) and a direction (0 degrees). Therefore, 25 meters at 0 degrees can be added to the location coordinates determined at position 451.); and
a location determination manager configured to determine an estimated location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data while the communication processor is in the data mode (See at least paragraph 41 – 43 and 51 – 52) and
to (i) determine a present location of the telematics device based on the location data received from the location beacon system while the communication processor is in the location mode (See at least paragraph 29, 38 and 42 – 54; Location module 206 can include any suitable location technology using one or more wireless signals to determine a current location. In some embodiments, location module 206 includes a global positioning system (GPS) module. In some embodiments, location module 206 includes one or more of the following: WiFi location module, cellular location module, crowd-sourced WiFi location module, time of flight calculations (ToF) location module, and the like.), and
(iii) determine an error associated with the estimated location (See at least paragraph 72; the location-enabled device may change a mode of operation based on whether the error threshold is exceeded or not. In some embodiments, the location-enabled device may switch to an estimation mode when the error threshold for the primary location technology is exceeded. In some embodiments, the sampling interval of the primary location technology may be modified),
wherein the communication subsystem is configured to switch the communication processor from the data mode to the location mode in response to a determination that an error associated with the estimated location is greater than a threshold error amount (See at least paragraph 72; the location-enabled device may change a mode of operation based on whether the error threshold is exceeded or not. In some embodiments, the location-enabled device may switch to an estimation mode when the error threshold for the primary location technology is exceeded. In some embodiments, the sampling interval of the primary location technology may be modified).
Varoglu does not teach limitation of:
a location determination manager configured to (ii) determine a present location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode.
McBurney teaches limitation of:
a location determination manager configured to (ii) determine a present location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode (See at least paragraph 2 and 21 – 23; The present invention relates to vehicle navigation systems, and more particularly to road map correction feedback for tightly coupled combinations of global position system (GPS) receivers and dead-reckoning in vehicles … FIG. 1 represents a GPS and dead-reckoning (DR) combination embodiment of the present invention, referred to herein by the general reference numeral 100. The GPS and dead-reckoning combination 100 provides navigation information on a display 102 to a user. A road map disk and player 103 display the current user position in relation to the local roads. A GPS receiver 104 tunes in and tracks microwave satellite transmissions through an antenna 106, and is tightly coupled with calibrated "delta-heading" and "delta-range" information calculated by a dead-reckoning (DR) computer 108. The "delta" term signifies how the heading, or direction, of a vehicle 110 has changed over time, and how the range, or distance has changed over the same period. GPS receiver 104 provides data useful in calibrating the estimates propagated by DR computer 108. GPS receiver 104 provides absolute position and heading fixes, on which the DR computer 108 can add its calibrated delta-heading and delta-range computations to arrive at a dead-reckoning solution. DR computer 108 will provide highly accurate dead-reckoning solutions that will not drift significantly when the GPS receiver has not provided a fix for quite some time and has lost all satellite tracking. The dead-reckoning solutions are further very useful in quickly reinitiating the GPS receiver 104 when signal reception is restored as the position uncertainty growth great is greatly reduced when DR is available when compared).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify navigation system of Varoglu, to include a location determination manager configured to (ii) determine a present location of the telematics device based on a last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a dead reckoning algorithm while the communication processor is in the data mode as taught by McBurney in order to enhance accuracy of determining location using range of conditioned modes to prove more reliable navigation system (Paragraph 5).
As per claim 2, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of: wherein the plurality of inertial sensors include an accelerometer sensor and a gyroscope sensor (Varoglu, See at least abstract).
As per claim 3, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of: wherein to determine the estimated location of the telematics device comprises to determine the estimated location of the telematics device based on the last determined present location of the telematics device and the inertial sensor data using a Kalman filter while the communication processor is in the data mode, wherein to determine the estimated location using the Kalman filter includes to determine the error associated with the estimated location (McBurney, see at least paragraph 21 – 23 and 91).
As per claim 4, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of: a data communication manager configured to (i) cache messages to be transmitted to the remote computer system while the communication processor is in the location mode and (ii) transmit, via the communication subsystem, the cached messages in response to the communication processor being switched to the data mode (Varoglu, see at least paragraph 45, 78, 121 – 122 and 127) Varoglu does not explicitly disclose cache messages in location mode and transmit when being switched to the data mode. However, configuring operations of a multimode telematics device to transmit and receive data is well known in the art, for example Varoglu discloses controlling, via a user interface, operational modes of a location enabled device and communicating stored data with a remote system for location estimation (paragraph 78, 121 – 122 and 127), and the specifics of caching messages during a location made and transmitting messages during a data mode is a matter of mere manipulation of system parameters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the tart at the time of the invention to modify the navigation system of Varoglu by controlling communication operations of a multimodal telematics device for the purpose of enhancing system robustness by dynamically configuring a range of operational parameters that improve battery life and increase location accuracy (Varoglu, paragraph 67).
As per claim 5, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of:
wherein the communication subsystem is further configured to store, in response to the mode of operation of the communication processor being switched to the data mode, the determined present location of the telematics device as the last determined present location (Varoglu, see at least paragraph 17 – 18, 43 and 51).
As per claim 6, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of:
wherein the communication subsystem is configured to switch the communication processor to the location mode in response to receipt of a request for the location mode from an application executed on the telematics device and to switch the communication processor to the data mode in response to receipt of a request for the data mode from the application (Varoglu, see at least paragraph 49, 54, 78, 121 – 122 and 127).
As per claim 7, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of:
wherein to control the switching of the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode comprises to:
determine a switching cycle between the location mode and the data mode of the communication processor; and switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode based on the switching duty cycle (Varoglu, see at least abstract and paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73 and 86 – 88), yet Varoglu is silent regarding explicit term of a switching duty cycle. However, configuring operational periods for switching modes is a practice well known in the art, for example, Varoglu discloses configuring a switching periodically for enabling switching from a location mode to estimation made (see at least paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73, and 86 – 88) and the specifics of operating switching of modes based on a duty cycle is a matter of mere manipulation of system parameters. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the navigation system of Varoglu by incorporating desired timing of a mode switching for the purpose of enhancing system robustness by dynamically configuring a range of operational parameters that improve battery life and increase location accuracy (paragraph 67).
As per claim 8, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney does not teaches limitation of: wherein the duty cycle comprises a greater than 50% duty cycle for the location mode.
However, configuring operational periods for switching modes is a practice well known in the art, for example, Varoglu discloses configuring a switching period for enabling switching from a location made to estimation mode (paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73 and 86 – 88), and the specifics of operating switching of modes based on a desired percentage of a duty cycle is a matter of mere manipulation of system parameters. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the | navigation system of Varoglu by incorporating desired timing of mode switching for the purpose of enhancing system robustness by dynamically configuring a range of operational parameters that improve battery fife and increase location accuracy (paragraph 67).
As per claim 9, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of: wherein to switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode comprises to:
set a timer for the location mode based on the switching cycle;
switch the communication processor to the location mode;
determine whether the timer for the location mode has expired; and
in response to a determination that the timer for the location mode has expired, (i) set the timer for the data mode based on the switching cycle and (ii) switch the communication processor to the data mode (Varoglu, see at least abstract and paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73 and 86 – 88), yet Varoglu is silent regarding explicit term of a switching duty cycle. However, configuring operational periods for switching modes is a practice well known in the art, for example, Varoglu discloses configuring a switching periodically for enabling switching from a location mode to estimation made (see at least paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73, and 86 – 88) and the specifics of operating switching of modes based on a duty cycle is a matter of mere manipulation of system parameters. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the navigation system of Varoglu by incorporating desired timing of a mode switching for the purpose of enhancing system robustness by dynamically configuring a range of operational parameters that improve battery life and increase location accuracy (paragraph 67).
As per claim 10, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of: wherein to switch the communication processor between the location mode and the data mode further comprises to:
determine whether the timer for the data mode has expired; and in response to a determination that the timer for the data mode has expired, (i) set the timer for the location mode based on the switching cycle and (ii) switch the communication processor to the location mode (Varoglu, see at least abstract and paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73 and 86 – 88), yet Varoglu is silent regarding explicit term of a switching duty cycle. However, configuring operational periods for switching modes is a practice well known in the art, for example, Varoglu discloses configuring a switching periodically for enabling switching from a location mode to estimation made (see at least paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73, and 86 – 88) and the specifics of operating switching of modes based on a duty cycle is a matter of mere manipulation of system parameters. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the navigation system of Varoglu by incorporating desired timing of a mode switching for the purpose of enhancing system robustness by dynamically configuring a range of operational parameters that improve battery life and increase location accuracy (paragraph 67).
As per claim 11, the combination of Varoglu and McBurney teaches limitation of:
a message bus manager configured to receive a request for the data mode from an application executed by the telematics device (Varoglu, see at least paragraph 49,54,78, 121 – 122 and 127), wherein the request includes a requested duration of the data mode, and wherein the communication subsystem is further configured to set, in response to the request, the timer for the data mode to the requested duration (Varoglu, see at least paragraph 49, 54, 72 – 73, and 86 – 88).
Regarding claims 12 – 20:
Claims 12 – 20 are rejected using the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to claims 1 – 11 above, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zeng et al. (US 2010/0036613 A1) discloses methods and systems for implementing an iterated extended Kalman filter within a navigation system.
Coffee et al. (US 6611755 B1) disclsoes vehicle tracking, communication and fleet management system.
IG T AN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/IG T AN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662