DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5, and 7 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 109291991 A to Zhou et al (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses [a steer-by-wire system for steering a motor vehicle, comprising
two or more steering actuators (11, 24)] (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0006, 0029, 0031) configured for adjusting [at least one steering angle of at least one wheel (21) and/or at least one rigid axle of the motor vehicle] (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0015, 0048), wherein
[the system is configured such that if one of the steering actuators fails, the motor vehicle can still be steered by another of the steering actuators] (paragraph 0017), and
[at least one control device (7) configured for processing steering signals and controlling the steering actuators on the basis of the steering signals] (Fig. 1; paragraph 0014), wherein
[at least one of the steering actuators is from a first category and at least one other of the steering actuators is from a second category, which differs from the first category] (paragraphs 0029 and 0031 disclose first and second categories of steering actuators being, e.g., electric and hydraulic categories).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses [at least one of the steering actuators is an electric steering actuator] (paragraphs 0029, 0031).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses [at least one of the steering actuators is a hydraulic steering actuator] (paragraphs 0029, 0031).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses [at least one of the steering actuators is a hydraulic steering actuator and at least one other of the steering actuators is an electric steering actuator] (paragraphs 0029, 0031).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses [at least one sensor (e.g., a “first rotational speed sensor”) configured for monitoring at least one of the steering actuators (e.g., “a first assist motor”) and/or an actuator system (e.g., a “steering decision unit”) allocated therewith and providing a resulting sensor signal (e.g., an “output command”] (Figs. 1; paragraphs 0016, 0017).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses [the at least one control device is configured to control the steering actuators in such a way that a ratio of a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the first category acts on the steering angle to a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the second category acts on the steering angle] (paragraph 0018 discloses the ratio as being, e.g., …the displacements applied to the steering tie rod by [the first category] and [the second category] are superimposed and output to the steering linkage and steering wheels, being converted into the front wheel steering angle…) [depends on a driving situation] (paragraphs 0032 and 0033).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses [the at least one control device is configured to control the steering actuators in such a way that a ratio of a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the first category acts on the steering angle to a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the second category acts on the steering angle] (paragraph 0051 discloses the ratio as being, e.g., …the displacements applied to the steering tie rod by [the first category] and [the second category] are superimposed and output to the steering linkage and steering wheels, being converted into the…steering angle…) [depends on the steering signals] (paragraph 0050 discloses steering signals as, e.g., first and second rotational speed signals).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses [at least one sensor configured for detecting at least one state parameter of the at least one steering actuator of the first category and/or of an actuator system allocated therewith] (paragraphs 0047 and 0048 disclose, e.g., a diagnostic unit which is interpreted as comprising the at least one sensor; paragraph 0050 discloses the at least one state parameter being, e.g., “system functionality”), wherein [the at least one control device is configured to control the steering actuators in such a way that a ratio of a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the first category acts on the steering angle to a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the second category acts on the steering angle] (paragraph 0051 discloses the ratio as being, e.g., …the displacements applied to the steering tie rod by [the first category] and [the second category] are superimposed and output to the steering linkage and steering wheels, being converted into the…steering angle…) [depends on a detected value of the at least one state parameter] (paragraph 0050, e.g., the detected value being “a fault” which affects which mode of operation is adopted).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses [at least one sensor (13, 23) configured for detecting at least one actual value of the at least one steering angle] (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0044, 0046), wherein [the at least one control device is configured so that a ratio of a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the first category acts on the steering angle to a proportion in which the at least one steering actuator of the second category acts on the steering angle] (paragraph 0051 discloses the ratio as being, e.g., …the displacements applied to the steering tie rod by [the first category] and [the second category] are superimposed and output to the steering linkage and steering wheels, being converted into the…steering angle…) [depends on a deviation of an actual value of the at least one steering angle from a corresponding target value] (paragraph 0052 discloses employing generalized minimum variance self-tuning control to adjust [the at least one control device] parameters in real-time; paragraph 0049 discloses “a steering database” which is interpreted as comprising the corresponding target value).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses [a control device (7) for a steer-by-wire system, which is configured to receive steering signals (V, T)] (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0047, 0050) and, [on the basis of these steering signals, to control at least one steering actuator (23, 24) of a first category and at least one steering actuator (10, 11) of a second category, wherein the second category differs from the first category (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0044, 0045; (paragraphs 0029 and 0031 disclose first and second categories of steering actuators being, e.g., electric and hydraulic categories, respectively).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses [a method (e.g., “an adaptive control method”) for adjusting at least one steering angle (e.g., “front-wheel steering angles”) of at least one wheel (21) of a motor vehicle by means of a steer-by-wire system (e.g., “a dual-motor steer-by-wire”)] (Figs. 1, 2; paragraph 0049), comprising the steps of:
[providing steering signals] (e.g., steps 2 and 3 of the method disclosed in paragraph 0049),
[controlling at least one steering actuator of a first category and at least one steering actuator of a second category on the basis of the steering signals, wherein the second category differs from the first category] (Fig. 2; step 4 of the method disclosed in paragraph 0049; paragraphs 0029 and 0031 disclose first and second categories of steering actuators being, e.g., electric and hydraulic categories).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of US 20220255473 A1 Tomizawa et al (hereinafter Tomizawa).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose a pneumatic actuator. Tomizawa discloses a steer-by-wire system comprising at least one electric steering actuator and at least one pneumatic steering actuator] (paragraphs 0092, 0098). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Zhou’s steering system such that at least one of the steering actuators is a pneumatic steering actuator because the results would have been predictable to one skilled in the art. One so skilled would appreciate the pneumatic steering actuators over a hydraulic actuator because pneumatic actuators are advantageously lighter and are comprised of simpler components.
Conclusion
/Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611