DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,637,833 in view of Okazaki US Patent Application Publication 2024/0117606.
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,637,833 teaches all the limitations except a first communication device that is disposed on one side of the occupant unit in a width direction.
However, Okazaki teaches a first communication device (3 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0029) that is disposed on one side of the occupant unit in a width direction (side of 11R Fig. 2).
In this particular case, providing a first communication device that is disposed on one side of the occupant unit in a width direction is common and well known in the art as evident by Okazaki to operate the antenna and to easily attach it to the cabin / occupant unit (Par. 0007, 0028, 0058).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,637,833 with a first communication device that is disposed on one side of the occupant unit in a width direction based on the teachings of Okazaki in order to operate the antenna and to easily attach it to the cabin / occupant unit.
Regarding Claim 2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,637,833 as modified teaches wherein the first communication device is located below the first antenna (Okazaki Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,637,833 as modified teaches wherein the first antenna and the first communication device are located at a same corner portion of the occupant unit in plan view (Okazaki Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,637,833 as modified teaches wherein the first communication device is located in front of the first antenna (Okazaki when seen in the left to right direction indicated in Fig. 2, communication device 3 is in front of antenna 2a).
Instant Invention
U.S. Patent No. 12,637,833
1. A work machine comprising: a machine body that includes an occupant unit capable of accommodating an occupant; a first antenna that is disposed on the occupant unit; and a first communication device that is disposed on one side of the occupant unit in a width direction.
1. A work machine comprising: a machine body that includes an occupant unit capable of accommodating an occupant; a first antenna and a second antenna configured to identify a position of the machine body, disposed on the occupant unit to be separated from each other in plan view, and located at corner portions of the occupant unit that are diagonally opposite in plan view; a first bracket that is supported by the occupant unit and supports the first antenna; and a second bracket that is provided separately from the first bracket, is supported by the occupant unit, and supports the second antenna.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okazaki US Patent Application Publication 2024/0117606.
Regarding Claim 1, Okazaki teaches a work machine (100 Figs. 2, 3) comprising:
a machine body (10 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0026) that includes an occupant unit capable of accommodating an occupant (11 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0049);
a first antenna (2a/2b Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0028) that is disposed on the occupant unit (Figs. 2, 3); and
a first communication device (3 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0029) that is disposed on one side of the occupant unit in a width direction (side of 11R Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Okazaki teaches wherein the first communication device is located below the first antenna (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Okazaki teaches wherein the first antenna and the first communication device are located at a same corner portion of the occupant unit in plan view (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Okazaki teaches wherein the first communication device is located in front of the first antenna (when seen in the left to right direction indicated in Fig. 2, communication device 3 is in front of antenna 2a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki US Patent Application Publication 2024/0117606 and Koga US Patent Application Publication 2022/0205221.
Regarding Claim 5, Okazaki teaches the work machine according to claim 1 as shown in the rejection above.
Okazaki is silent on further comprising an alarm device that is located behind the first communication device.
However, Koga teaches an alarm device (“The audio output device 43 may also include an alarm such as a buzzer” Par. 0033 Fig. 1) that is located behind the first communication device (G1 Fig. 1 Par. 0028).
In this particular case, providing an alarm device is common and well known in the art as evident by Koga to alert the occupant / user.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the work machine of Okazaki with an alarm device located behind the first communication device based on the teachings of Koga as a result effect in order to provide alerts the occupant / user as needed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki US Patent Application Publication 2024/0117606 and Hoshino et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0230835.
Regarding Claim 6, Okazaki teaches further comprising a first bracket (13 Fig. 2 Par. 0055) that is supported by the occupant unit and supports the first antenna.
Okazaki is silent on wherein the first communication device is supported by the first bracket.
However, Hoshino et al. teaches wherein the first communication device (modem in box 36 Par. 0045) is supported by the first bracket (38 Fig. 2 Par. 0045-0048).
In this particular case, providing the first communication device to be supported by the first bracket is common and well known in the art as evident by Hoshino et al. to obtain an integrated structure (Par. 0048).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the first communication device of Okazaki to be supported by the first bracket based on the teachings of Hoshino et al. as a result effect in order to obtain an integrated structure and simplify installation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination, does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitation “a second support portion that supports the first communication device and faces a side surface of the occupant unit on the one side” in combination with the structure as recited in the claim. Claims 8-12 depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845