35 USC 112(b) rejections
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-8 are rejected because the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained because of the following reasons.
1) Several claimed elements in claims 3-8 are multiple inclusion of the same claimed elements because “said” or “the” is not used after the first occurrence. Note the phrases “two elongated pillars” on lines 1-2 of claim 3, “a relative front wheel” on line 3 of claim 3, “each side exhaust duct” on line 1 of claims 4, 5, 7, 8.
2) in claim 5, line 3, and in claim 7, line 3, the phrase “in particular” is vague/indefinite and should not be used in claim language.
For examination purposes the offending limitations above will be interpreted to be
1) Those claimed elements in claims 3-8 will be treated as “said” or “the” is used.
2) The element after “in particular” is treated as not part of the claim.
35 USC 102 rejections
Claim(s) 1, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by DE 102009008799 (Friedrich).
Regarding claim 1, Friedrich discloses a road car 100 comprising a support frame 102 defining at least part of a lower floor of the road car; a passenger compartment projecting upwards from the lower floor; a front engine mounted in front of the passenger compartment; two under-door side members, which define part of the support frame and are each mounted under a relative access door of the passenger compartment (e.g. figure 1); a front axle (all cars have front axle) provided with a pair of front wheels; and an exhaust system 140 to let out the exhaust gases produced by the engine; and characterized in that the exhaust system comprises a pair of side exhaust ducts, each at least partly extending between a relative under-door side member and a relative front wheel, being at least partly aligned with the relative front wheel parallel to a travel direction of the road car and being configured to at least limit the movement of the relative front wheel following a front crash of the road car (figures 1, 11).
Regarding claim 5, wherein each side exhaust duct comprises an inlet segment, which has an inlet mouth (near 130) connected to the engine and projects between the relative front wheel and the relative under-door side member, in particular the relative elongated pillar .
Regarding claim 6, wherein the inlet segment extends (near 118) in a substantially horizontal containing plane.
Regarding claim 7, wherein each side exhaust duct further comprises an intermediate segment (near 128) extending upwards from the inlet segment between the relative front wheel and the relative under-door side member, in particular the relative elongated pillar.
Regarding claim 8, wherein each side exhaust duct further comprises an outlet segment (near 114), which is connected to the intermediate segment and extends downwards starting from the intermediate segment.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the outlet segment (note exhaust pipe 140) has an outlet mouth located under a containing plane of the lower floor.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 5,388,408 (Lawrence).
Regarding claim 1, Lawrence discloses a road car 12 comprising a support frame defining at least part of a lower floor of the road car; a passenger compartment projecting upwards from the lower floor; a front engine mounted in front of the passenger compartment; two under-door side members, which define part of the support frame and are each mounted under a relative access door of the passenger compartment (e.g. figure 1); a front axle (all cars have front axle) provided with a pair of front wheels (figure 1); and an exhaust system 10 to let out the exhaust gases produced by the engine; and characterized in that the exhaust system comprises a pair of side exhaust ducts (22a, 22b), each at least partly extending between a relative under-door side member and a relative front wheel (figure 1), being at least partly aligned with the relative front wheel parallel to a travel direction of the road car and being configured to at least limit the movement of the relative front wheel following a front crash of the road car (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the engine is mounted in a longitudinal symmetry plane of the road car (the engine should be vertical to the ground and meets the claim language).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the support frame comprises two elongated pillars (figure 1 shows the two support pillars of the windshield which are equivalent with the claimed pillars), which extend upwards from the lower floor and are each mounted between a relative under- door side member and a relative front wheel.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the outlet segment (note exhaust pipes 22a, 22b) has an outlet mouth located under a containing plane of the lower floor.
35 USC 103 rejections
Claims 3-4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over DE 102009008799 (Friedrich). Friedrich discloses all the claimed subject matter as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the elongate pillars in claims 3-4, and two front struts in claim 10. However, according to MPEP 2144.05, II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, A) Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation, note In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art."). The concept of using “elongate pillars” and “front struts” in these claims involves only using combination with well-known elements in the art, or the result of “routine optimization”. It would have been a “routine optimization” to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to provide elongate pillars and front struts as claimed in Friedrich for the purpose of providing better support for the frame.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kato, Laimboeck, Nakano, Shimanaka, and Poulin disclose exhaust system having a pair of exhaust ducts.
Conclusions
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HOANG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
HOANG NGUYEN
PRIMARY EXAMINER
ART UNIT 3746
Hoang Minh Nguyen
1/27/2026