DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Non-Provisional Patent Application filed on April 8, 2025. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Concerning claims 1-3 of the instant application, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, a surgical system comprising: a) a button inserter comprising: i) a shaft including a projection that defines a fulcrum at a distal end of the projection, wherein the projection extends beyond a distal tip of the shaft; ii) an inner rod within the shaft having a button mating surface extending from a distal tip of the inner rod; and iii) a handle including a handle switch that translates the inner rod between an extended position where the button mating surface of the inner rod extends beyond the distal tip of the shaft and a retracted position where the button mating surface of the inner rod is completely within the shaft; b) an oblong button including a congruent mating surface to the button mating surface of the inner rod of the button inserter, wherein the oblong button is constrained rotationally and translationally by (i) the projection of the shaft that defines the fulcrum and (ii) the button mating surface on the inner rod of the inserter when the inner rod of the button inserter is in the extended position; c) a second button configured to be removably coupled to the handle; and d) a suture strand passing through an opening of the oblong button passing over the projection and further passing through an opening of the second button, wherein when the inner rod translates relative to the shaft to the retracted position, the suture strand applies an off-axis force to rotate the oblong button about the fulcrum from an initial position to a deployed position.
Concerning claim 4 of the instant application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the button mating surface contacts the congruent mating surface of the oblong button in the initial position to thereby constrain translational and rotational motion of the oblong button, and wherein the button mating surface does not contact the oblong button in the deployed position.
Concerning claim 5 of the instant application, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the handle includes a groove and a pair of resilient arms, and the second button is located in the groove and removably coupled to the handle by the pair of resilient arms.
Concerning claim 6 of the instant application, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the oblong button is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the shaft in the initial position and the oblong button is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the shaft in the deployed position.
Concerning claim 7 of the instant application, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the suture strand imparts an off-axis tensile force between the oblong button and the second button.
Concerning claim 8 of the instant application, claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, The surgical system of claim 1, wherein the suture strand is coupled to the handle switch.
Concerning claim 9 of the instant application, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the opening of the oblong button comprises a proximal opening, and wherein the oblong button further comprises a distal opening.
Concerning claim 10 of the instant application, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 8, wherein the oblong button further comprises a channel positioned between the proximal opening and the distal opening.
Concerning claim 11, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, The surgical system of claim 8, wherein the suture strand is positioned only in the proximal opening.
Concerning claim 12, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the off-axis is non-parallel to a longitudinal axis of the shaft.
Concerning claim 13, claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the second button is a round button.
Concerning claim 14, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the second button is oblong or a dog bone shape.
Concerning claim 15, claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the second button is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the shaft when the second button is removably coupled to the handle.
Concerning claim 16, claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 1, further comprising: a cap positioned at a proximal end of the handle; a slide positioned inside of the handle and coupled to the inner rod; and a resilient member positioned between the cap and the slide, wherein the resilient member is configured to move the slide away from a distal end of the handle to thereby translate the inner rod through the shaft from the extended position to the retracted position.
Concerning claim 17, claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,319 claims, the surgical system of claim 15, wherein the handle switch is positioned in an opening in the slide when the inner rod is in the extended position to thereby prevent movement of the slide and the inner rod.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sorensen et al. (US 2015/0051621, hereinafter Sorensen).
Concerning claim 1, the Sorensen et al. prior art reference teaches a surgical system comprising: a) a button inserter (Figure 1; 5) comprising: i) a shaft (Figure 26; 195) including a projection that extends beyond a distal tip of the shaft (Figure 28; needle point of distal end 210 may be interpreted as a projection that extends beyond a distal tip of the shaft); ii) an inner rod positioned within the shaft (Figure 28; 300) and iii) a handle (Figure 26; 200) including a handle switch (Figure 27; 310) that translates the inner rod between a retracted position where a distal end of the inner rod is completely within the shaft (Figure 34) to an extended position where the distal end of the inner rod extends beyond the distal tip of the shaft (Figure 38); b) an oblong button that is constrained rotationally and translationally by the projection of the shaft in an initial position (Figure 3; 20); c) a second button configured to be removably coupled to the handle (Figure 3; 25); and d) a suture strand (Figure 3; 30) passing through an opening of the oblong button passing over the projection (suture strand passes over the proximal end of the projection defined by the slot of the projection) and further passing through an opening of the second button (Figures 28 & 31), wherein when the inner rod translates relative to the shaft, the suture strand applies an off-axis force to rotate the oblong button about the fulcrum from the initial position to a deployed position ([¶ 0110]).
Concerning claim 2, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the inner rod includes a button mating surface at a distal tip of the inner rod (Figure 28; 300), given the inner rod includes a surface that abuts, or mates, with the oblong button.
Concerning claim 3, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 2, wherein the oblong button includes a congruent mating surface to the button mating surface of the inner rod of the button inserter (Figure 28; the oblong button 20 additionally includes a corresponding surface that abuts, or mates, with the inner rod).
Concerning claim 4, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 3, wherein the button mating surface contacts the congruent mating surface of the oblong button in the initial position to thereby constrain translational and rotational motion of the oblong button (Figure 28; the abutment of the inner rod to the oblong button at its proximal end prevents the button from translation proximally and rotationally flipping), and wherein the button mating surface does not contact the oblong button in the deployed position (Figure 38; after button inserter is withdrawn).
Concerning claims 5, the Sorensen reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the handle includes a groove (Figure 27; 265) and a pair of resilient arms (button is held between the walls of the groove in the handle, wherein the walls may be interpreted as resilient arms on the sides of the groove), the second button being located in the groove and removably coupled to the handle by the pair of resilient arms.
Concerning claim 6, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the oblong button is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the shaft in the initial position (Figure 36) and the oblong button is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the shaft in the deployed position (Figure 38; oblong button is capable of rotating to a perpendicular position depending on the size of the space within which it is deployed).
Concerning claim 7, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the suture strand imparts an off-axis tensile force between the oblong button and the second button ([¶ 0110], pulling force is an off-axis tensile force given the suture strand is not along the axis of the shaft).
Concerning claim 8, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the suture strand is coupled to the handle switch ([¶ 0106]).
Concerning claim 9, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the opening of the oblong button comprises a proximal opening (Figure 10; 70), and wherein the oblong button further comprises a distal opening (Figure 10; 75).
Concerning claim 10, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 9, wherein the oblong button further comprises a channel positioned between the proximal opening and the distal opening (Figure 10).
Concerning claim 11, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 9, wherein the suture strand is capable of being positioned only in the proximal opening when the oblong button is in a perpendicular position.
Concerning claim 12, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the off-axis is non-parallel to a longitudinal axis of the shaft given there must be a lateral component to the tensile force given the suture’s positioning relative to the shaft.
Concerning claim 13, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the second button is a round button given the second button is cylindrical, therein defining a rounded outer surface (Figure 3; 25).
Concerning claim 14, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the second button is oblong (Figure 3; 25).
Concerning claim 15, the Sorenson reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, wherein the second button is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the shaft when the second button is removably coupled to the handle (Figure 31; second button will be perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the shaft when it enters passageway 270).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen et al. (US 2015/0051621, hereinafter Sorensen) in view of Michel et al. (US 2009/0043318, hereinafter Michel).
Concerning claims 16-17, the Sorensen reference teaches the surgical system of claim 1, but does not specifically teach a cap positioned at a proximal end of the handle a slide positioned inside the handle and coupled to the rod; and a resilient member positioned between the cap and the slide, wherein the resilient member is capable of moving the slide away from a distal end of the handle to thereby translate the inner rod through the shaft between the retracted position and the extended position.
However, the Michel prior art reference teaches a surgical system similar to that of the Sorenson reference, wherein the Michel reference teaches a button inserter (Figure 2) comprising: a shaft having a distal end and a proximal end opposite the distal end (Figure 2; 1); an inner rod within the shaft (Figure 3; 3), a handle (Figure 2; 2) including a handle switch (Figure 2; 4) that translates the inner rod between a retracted position to an extended position where the distal end of the inner rod extends beyond the distal tip of the shaft ([¶ 0030]), an oblong button (Figure 9; 71); a second button configured to be removably coupled to the handle (Figure 10; 82); and a suture strand passing through an opening of the oblong button (Figure 9; 88), further comprising a cap positioned at a proximal end of the handle (Figure 4(d); 7); a slide positioned inside the handle and coupled to the rod (Figure 4(d); 5); and a resilient member positioned between the cap and the slide (Figure 4(d); 6), wherein the resilient member is capable of moving the slide away from a distal end of the handle to thereby translate the inner rod through the shaft between the retracted position and the extended position, wherein the handle switch is positioned in an opening in the slide when the rod is in the extended position to thereby prevent movement of the slide and the rod (Figure 4(a); 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the handle of Sorensen reference include a cap, slide, and resilient member as in the Michel reference as a simple substitution of one known handle switch mechanism (the pusher rod and thumb button structure of the Sorensen reference) for another known handle switch mechanism (the slide, spring, and cap structure of the Michel reference) that would yield the predictable result of having a handle with an inner rod pusher mechanism that operates in a similar manner to that of the Michel reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Bonutti reference teaches a button inserter with a shaft, inner rod, and an oblong button that rotates (US 5,948,002); and the Schmidt et al. reference (US 2012/0203249) teaches a button inserter including a projection extending beyond a distal tip of a shaft.
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 6/6/2026