DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Mansueto fails to provide for the limitations of claim 1 by asserting that the current claims recite the first thread being on the apical portion of the body and the second thread being on the coronal portion of the body by citing to the first and second threads of Mansueto being present on the whole body. This is not a persuasive reasoning for overcoming the current rejection as while the first thread of Mansueto is also present on the coronal portion of the body this does not remove the fact that Mansueto also discloses the first thread being on the apical portion of the body and similarly for the second thread. While they are present on additional areas this does not prevent the portion of the first thread of Mansueto that is extending along and from the apical part of the body from reading on the current claim language nor does it remove the teaching that the portion of the second thread which extends along and from the coronal side of the body also reads on the current claim language.
The cited threads of Mansueto also do each have oppositely angle thread surfaces that create undercuts with the claimed angles which provide for the threads to “hook bone in both directions”.
The prior art of Feng is no longer relied upon.
Applicant has argued that Mansueto in view of Lang does not provide for the limitations of claims 6 and 19, by asserting that “As clearly shown below in FIG. 1 of Lang, the crest along D11 to D9 and to D13 reduces rather than being substantially the same in the manner recited in claim 6.”, however the cited portions of the specification of Lang does disclose in paragraph [0025] “A middle segment 12 adjoins the crestal segment 10 and in this middle segment 12 the outer diameter D.sub.12 of the outer thread 9 and the outer diameter D.sub. 11 of the core 8 remains constant. The apparent reduction of the outer diameter in the middle segment is a result of the longitudinal grooves 14 shown in the section of FIG. 1 and described further below.” Which makes clear that while the figure may appear to show the reduction of the outer diameter, this is only the change in the groove 14 while the actual diameter of the core is the same/constant and the outer diameter of the thread 9 “remains constant” the same along section 12 which is cited in the final action to show the extend claimed. Applicant’s assertion that the “apparent reduction” is an actual reduction in the diameter of the threads or core is not correct as this is only how the threads would appear to the eye due to the addition of the groove 14 but does not actually reduce the diameter of either the central body diameter nor the threads. While the mapping to the figure may appear different this does not remove from the prior art what is taught in cited paragraph [0028] “in this middle segment 12 the outer diameter D.sub.12 of the outer thread 9 and the outer diameter D.sub. 11 of the core 8 remains constant” and for the motivation relied upon from Lang for the result in ideal initial anchoring and reduced healing time for an implant as taught by Lang (paragraph [0011] lines 1-7 and 15-16).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites in lines 14-22 that the second thread must have its coronal side to form the acute angle of between 45 and 85 degrees which means it must extend coronal laterally otherwise if the second thread extended apical-laterally it would mean the coronal side would have to form an obtuse angle, but then the new limitation of lines 23-25 recite that the situation of the second thread angling apical-laterally and thus would require the coronal side of the second thread to be an obtuse angle and not the acute angle from lines 14-22.
Claim 16 recites a similar issue to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mansueto et al. (US 2007/0037123 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mansueto discloses a dental implant (title and abstract) comprising:
a body (Fig. 1 element 10) having a coronal portion with a coronal end (fig. 8 coronal end of element 10 ), an intermediate portion (Fig. 8 middle of element 10) and an apical portion with an apical end (Fig. 8 bottom of element 10), the body having a longitudinal axis extending from the coronal end to the apical end (Fig. 1 element 11 being the longitudinal axis line passing through the screw 14, abutment 12 and implant body 10);
a first thread extending along and from the apical portion of the body (fig. 1 element 15 having a screw thread, Fig. 10D annotated below showing the first thread extending along the body and up from the apical end, the bottom of Fig. 10d being an apical end region), wherein the first thread includes:
a first side extending from the body (see annotated image below) ;
a crest connected to the first side at an outer extent of the first side (see annotated image below); and
a second side connected to the crest on an opposing side from the first side, wherein the second side extends from the crest to the body (see annotated image below),
wherein the second side forms an acute angle of between 45 and 85 degrees with respect to an outer surface of the body to create an undercut space adjacent thereto (see annotated image below which discloses that the angle of the second surface is negative 10 degrees from perpendicular thus 90°-10°= 80 degrees) that provides an interlocking engagement with bone or an extraction socket to resist a lateral force applied on the dental implant (paragraph [0031] lines 9-23 disclosing such undercuts and upward bias provide for shoring/bracing of the threads to the bone),
and a second thread extending along and from the coronal portion of the body (Fig. 10D, annotated below, showing a first and second thread, extending from the coronal region of the body with the top of the body in 10d being a coronal region), wherein the second thread includes:
a coronal side extending from the body (see annotated image below);
a second crest connected to the coronal side at an outer extent of the coronal side (see annotated image below); and
an apical side connected to the second crest on an opposing side from the coronal side, wherein the apical side extends from the second crest to body (see annotated image below);
wherein the coronal side forms a second acute angle of between 45 and 85 degrees with respect to the outer surface of the body to create a space with the crest and the body (See annotated image below that the coronal side has an angle from the perpendicular that is 10 degrees and thus 90°-10°= 80°) that provides a second interlocking engagement with the bone or the extraction socket (paragraph [0031] lines 9-23 disclosing such undercuts and upward bias provide for shoring/bracing of the threads to the bone), wherein if the first thread is angulated to extend apical-lateral, the second thread is angulated to extend coronal-lateral, and wherein if the first thread is angulated to extend coronal-lateral the second thread is angulated to extend apical-lateral (see image below where the currently labelled first thread is angulated apical laterally an the second thread is angulated coronal laterally, though if their labeling as first and second where reversed they would also reverse their apical/coronal laterality).
Regarding claim 2, Mansueto further discloses wherein the first side forms an obtuse angle with respect to the outer surface of the body (See image above, First side has an angle greater than 90° to the long axis 11 and thus is obtuse to the outer body).
Regarding claim 4, Mansueto further discloses wherein the first side is formed by substantially a single surface that is arranged at the obtuse angle (see annotated image above, the first side is a single surface that is all at the obtuse angle), and wherein the second side is formed by substantially a single surface that is arranged at the acute angle (See annotated image above showing the second side being a single surface of the thread that is all at the acute angle), whereby, the first thread is substantially completely angled on both the first side and the second side (See annotated image above, as the first and second surfaces are completely angled the first thread is thus completely angled).
Regarding claim 5, Mansueto further discloses wherein the first side is a coronal side (See Fig. 9a/10a showing the first side as the coronal facing side) and the second side is an apical side of the first thread. (see Fig. 9a/10a showing the acute angle second side as the apical facing side).
Regarding claim 12, Mansueto further discloses wherein the dental implant is configured to achieve contact with the bone for substantially an entirety of a surface area of the body and the first thread (Fig. 8 showing substantially the entirely of the surface area of the body 10 and thread in contact with the bone 29).
Regarding claim 13, Mansueto further discloses wherein the crest has a reduced thickness as compared with a base of the first thread that forms a connection with the body (see annotated images above where the crests are narrower/less thick than the thread near the body).
Regarding claim 15, Mansueto further discloses wherein the first side is formed by a substantially continuous radius that extends from the body to the crest (see annotated images above showing the first side being a continuous line/radius from the crest to the body).
Regarding claim 16, Mansueto discloses a dental implant (title and abstract) comprising:
a body (Fig. 1 element 10) having a coronal portion with a coronal end (Fig. 8 upper end of element 10),
an intermediate portion (Fig. 8 middle portion of element 10) and an apical portion with an apical end (Fig. 8 bottom of element 10), the body having a longitudinal axis extending from the coronal end to the apical end(Fig. 1 element 11 being the longitudinal axis line passing through the screw 14, abutment 12 and implant body 10);
a first thread extending along and from at least one of: part of the apical portion of the body or part of the coronal portion of the body (fig. 10a element 16, Fig. 10D annotated below), wherein the first thread has a first side formed by substantially a single surface that is arranged at an obtuse angle to an outer surface of the body (see annotated images below, the first side at an obtuse angle to the perpendicular of the long axis) and a second side formed by substantially a single surface that is arranged at an acute angle to the outer surface of the body (See annotated image below, the second side is at a negative angle to the perpendicular by 10 degrees and thus is acute), whereby, the first thread is substantially completely angled on both the first side and the second side thereof (See annotated image below showing both surfaces of the thread are substantially completely angled) such that the first thread forms an undercut space adjacent thereto that provides an interlocking engagement with a bone or an extraction socket to resist a lateral force applied on the dental implant (paragraph [0031] lines 9-23 disclosing such undercuts and upward bias provide for shoring/bracing of the threads to the bone),
a second thread extending along and from at least part of the coronal portion of the body (Fig. 10D, annotated below, showing a first and second thread, extending from the coronal region), wherein the second thread includes:
a coronal side extending from the body (see annotated image below);
a second crest connected to the coronal side at an outer extent of the coronal side (see annotated image below); and
an apical side connected to the second crest on an opposing side from the coronal side, wherein the apical side extends from the second crest to body (see annotated image below);
wherein the coronal side forms a second acute angle of between 45 and 85 degrees with respect to the outer surface of the body to create a space with the crest and the body (See annotated image below that the coronal side has an angle from the perpendicular that is 10 degrees and thus 90°-10°= 80°) that provides a second interlocking engagement with the bone or the extraction socket (paragraph [0031] lines 9-23 disclosing such undercuts and upward bias provide for shoring/bracing of the threads to the bone),
wherein the first thread is angulated to extend one of apical-lateral or coronal-lateral and the second thread is angulated to extend one of apical-lateral or coronal-lateral (See annotated image of Fig. 10d above showing the first thread angulated apical-laterally and the second thread is angulated coronal-laterally),
wherein if the first thread is angulated to extend apical-lateral the second thread is angulated to extend coronal-lateral, and wherein if the first thread is angulated to extend coronal-lateral the second thread is angulated to extend apical-lateral (See annotated image of Fig. 10d above showing the first thread angulated apical-laterally and the second thread is angulated coronal-laterally).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the body and first thread are configured to have a first portion of a circumference of the body and the first thread exposed from the bone or the extraction socket and the first thread is configured to provide sufficient fixation to resist the lateral force when engaging the bone or the extraction socket along only a second portion of the circumference of the body and the first thread (paragraph [0031] lines 9-23 disclosing such undercuts and upward bias provide for shoring/bracing of the threads to the bone, regarding the intended use of the implant to be inserted into particular type of bone arrangement or extraction socket site, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).)
Regarding claim 18, Mansueto further discloses wherein the second side forms an acute angle of between 45 and 85 degrees with respect to an outer surface of the body (see annotated image above which discloses that the angle of the second surface is negative 10 degrees from perpendicular thus 90°-10°= 80 degrees).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansueto et al. (US 2007/0037123 A1) in view of Reed et al. (US 9,782,209 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Mansueto discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose where the first side of the first thread is substantially parallel to the second side of the first thread.
However, Reed discloses a dental implant screw (title and abstract) that has a thread with a first side and second side that are both parallel to each other (Fig. 7 elements 21/22, column 8 lines 16-21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first side and the second side of the thread to be parallel to each other as taught by Reed into the first and second sides of the first thread as taught by Mansueto for the purpose of providing a dental implant thread which would have a thread angle between the parallel sides which did not create unwanted pressure points in cancellous bone as taught by Reed (column 8 lines 19-21).
Claims 6, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansueto et al. (US 2007/0037123 A1) in view of Lang et al. (US 2005/0250074 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mansueto discloses a dental implant (title and abstract) comprising:
a body (Fig. 1 element 10) having a coronal portion with a coronal end (fig. 8 coronal end of element 10 ), an intermediate portion (Fig. 8 middle of element 10) and an apical portion with an apical end (Fig. 8 bottom of element 10), the body having a longitudinal axis extending from the coronal end to the apical end (Fig. 1 element 11 being the longitudinal axis line passing through the screw 14, abutment 12 and implant body 10);
a first thread extending along and from the apical portion of the body (fig. 1 element 15 having a screw thread, Fig. 10D annotated below showing the first thread extending along the body and up from the apical end, the bottom of Fig. 10d being an apical end region), wherein the first thread includes:
a first side extending from the body (see annotated image below) ;
a crest connected to the first side at an outer extent of the first side (see annotated image below); and
a second side connected to the crest on an opposing side from the first side, wherein the second side extends from the crest to the body (see annotated image below),
wherein the second side forms an acute angle of between 45 and 85 degrees with respect to an outer surface of the body to create an undercut space adjacent thereto (see annotated image below which discloses that the angle of the second surface is negative 10 degrees from perpendicular thus 90°-10°= 80 degrees) that provides an interlocking engagement with bone or an extraction socket to resist a lateral force applied on the dental implant (paragraph [0031] lines 9-23 disclosing such undercuts and upward bias provide for shoring/bracing of the threads to the bone).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Mansueto discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the body has one of: a substantially uniform diameter for up to 85% of the apical portion or a taper resulting in a reducing diameter along the apical portion from coronal to apical, and wherein the first thread maintains substantially a same outer diameter for the crest between at least 50% to 85% of a longitudinal extent of the apical portion before reducing in diameter toward the apical end.
However, Lang discloses a dental implant (title and abstract) including a body (Fig. 1 elements L10/L12/L13) having a first thread extending along and from at least one of an apical, intermediate, and coronal part (Fig. 1 element 9) the thread having a first side, second side and crest connected to the first and second sides (Fig. 1 element 9 in cross-section showing the coronal first side, apical second side, and crest where the first and second sides meet) and discloses that the body has one of: a substantially uniform diameter for up to 85% of the apical portion (Fig. 1 section L12 having a constant/uniform diameter D11 for a length of 50 %, paragraph [0032] all disclosing the body of L10=1.8mm/L12=3.6mm/L13=1.8mm the length of L12 being 3.6mm and thus 3.6/(1.8+1.8+3.6)*100= 50%) or a taper resulting in a reducing diameter along the apical portion from coronal to apical (Fig. 1 element 13 tapers along D13), and wherein the first thread maintains substantially a same outer diameter for the crest between at least 50% to 85% of a longitudinal extent of the apical portion before reducing in diameter toward the apical end (Fig. 1 element 9 having the same outer diameter for the 50% of the body length in section L12 with paragraph [0028] all disclosing that “the outer thread 9…remains constant, the apparent reduction of the outer diameter in the middle segment is a resulting of the longitudinal grooves 14 shown in the section of fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the apical portion to have either the uniform diameter for up to 85% of the apical portion or a taper and the first thread which maintains substantially a same outer diameter for the crest between at least 50% to 85% of a longitudinal extent of the apical portion before reducing in diameter toward the apical end as taught by Lang into the body, apical portion and thread as taught by Mansueto for the purpose of providing a dental implant with diameters which would result in ideal initial anchoring and reduced healing time for an implant as taught by Lang (paragraph [0011] lines 1-7 and 15-16).
Regarding claim 7, Mansueto/Lang as combined further discloses wherein the body is configured to insert into an osteotomy having a same geometry whether the body has the substantially uniform diameter or the taper resulting in the reducing diameter (as the cited structure of the body is disclosed in claim 6 above it would thus be configured to insert into an osteotomy that would accept the structure of the implant).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansueto et al. (US 2007/0037123 A1) in view of Karmon et al. (US 2013/0224687 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Mansueto discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first thread is a macro-thread and the second thread is a micro-thread, wherein first thread is configured to form a plurality of self-cutting features and the second thread forms one or more self-cutting features wherein the plurality of self-cutting features and the one or more self-cutting features are from a flute that extends continuously from the apical portion to the coronal portion.
However, Karmon discloses a dental implant (title and abstract) including a body (Fig. 7 showing implant body with threads) having a first macro-thread extending along and from at least one of an apical, intermediate, and coronal part (Fig. 7 element 30/31) and a second micro-thread (Fig. 7 element 70), wherein first thread is configured to form a plurality of self-cutting features (fig. 7 where element 66 extends from the apical end to the coronal end and intersects multiple turns of 30) and the second thread forms one or more self- cutting features (fig. 7 where element 66 extends form the apical end to the coronal end and intersects multiple turns of micro-threads 70) wherein the plurality of self-cutting features and the one or more self-cutting features are from a flute that extends continuously from the apical portion to the coronal portion (Fig. 7 element 66 extends continually from an apical end to a coronal end).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first thread being a macro-thread and the second thread being a micro-thread with the first thread configured to form a plurality of self-cutting features and the second thread forming one or more self- cutting features wherein the plurality of self-cutting features and the one or more self-cutting features are from a flute that extends continuously from the apical portion to the coronal portion as taught by Karmon into the first and second threads as taught by Mansueto for the purpose of providing a dental implant which would increase the penetrability and stability of the implant and also that would facilitate insertion that is a lower resistance as taught by Lang (paragraphs [0142] lines 8-11, [0148] lines 1-7).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansueto et al. (US 2007/0037123 A1) in view of Hurson et al. (US 2010/0009316 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Mansueto discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the undercut space is at least partially formed by a groove extending into the body adjacent the second side.
However, Hurson discloses a dental implant (title and abstract) with a body (Fig. 1d element 26) having a first thread having a first side (Fig. 1e element 54) and a second side (Fig. 1e element 56) with and undercut space formed partially by a groove extending into the body adjacent (fig. 1e/f element 50).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the a groove extending into a body adjacent a second side as part as taught by Hurson into the undercut of the first side and the body by Mansueto for the purpose of providing a threading arrangement with a groove that would provide for promotion of osseointegration as taught by Hurson (paragraphs [0036] lines 19-21 and [0050] lines 1-13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.P.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 10/13/2026
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772