DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 33-52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12295756. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the present claims are found in the claims of the subject patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 48 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 48 there is no antecedent basis for the terms “the contact face of the release member” and “the planar contact face of the base member”. It appears that claim 48 should depend from claim 45 where these terms are introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33,35-37,44-49 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MCS Medical Concept Solutions GMBH(DE102017110001A1)(hereinafter MCS).
[claim 33] MCS teaches a support system(1) for supporting equipment(ABS), the support system being releasably connected to a patient transport system(paragraph [0003]), the support system comprising; a back support(5); at least one support face(upper face of 4) extending from the back support, the at least one support face arranged to support a given unit of equipment; and a release member(15) connected to one of an outer side of the back support, a lower end of the support system(fig 1), or an upper end of the support system, the release member being configured to releasably connect to the patient transport system for releasably connecting the support system to the patient transport system, as seen in figures 1 and 2.
[claim 35] further comprising: a bottom plate(4) connected to a lower end of the back support; and wherein the release member is connected to the bottom plate(fig 2).
[claim 36] wherein the release member has a first side(bottom side of 4) defining a planar contact face configured to contact a base member(3) connected to the patient transport system.
[claim 37] wherein the planar contact face defines an opening(10) configured to selectively receive a stop member(9) of the base member.
[claim 44] further comprising: a base member(3) releasably connected to the release member, the base member being configured to releasably connect to the patient transport system.
[claim 45] wherein the base member comprises a front face(top face with stop member 9) having a planar contact portion for contacting a contact face(lower face of 4) of the release member.
[claim 46] wherein the base member comprises a shoulder(11) extending around at least a portion of a periphery of the planar contact portion to define a pocket for receiving the release member(fig 2).
[claim 47] wherein the base member comprises an open access end(fig 2) through which the release member can be slidingly inserted and removed from the pocket(fig 1,2).
[claim 48] wherein: the contact face(bottom face of 4) of the release member defines an opening(10); the planar contact portion of the base member defines a recess(receiving 9 in fig 2); and the base member comprises a stop member(9) positioned in the recess, the stop member being moveable such that the stop member is received in the opening and retracted from the opening.
[claim 49] wherein the base member comprises an actuator(16) operatively connected to the stop member for moving the stop member.
[claim 52] wherein the patient transport system is one of a stretcher, a wheelchair, a portable bed(see paragraph[0003]), an ambulance, a plane, or a helicopter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34,41,42,50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MCS as applied to claim 33 above.
[claim 34] MCS teaches a support system as detailed above, with a bottom plate(4) connected to a lower end of the back support and wherein the release member is connected to the bottom plate. However MCS may not teach a back plate connected to the outer side of the back support(5) and wherein the release member is connected to the back plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use a back plate connected to the outer side of the back support to connect the release member, in place of the bottom plate, as a matter of simple design choice, as this would merely be changing the location of parts essential to the practice of the invention.
[claim 41,42] MCS teaches a support system as detailed above wherein the release member has a first side(bottom side of 4) defining a planar contact face configured to contact a base member(3) connected to the patient transport system. MCS however may not teach the use of an anti-friction layer disposed on the planar contact face. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use any known anti-friction material to provide an anti-friction layer on the contact face, as this would have the predictable result of reducing friction between the sliding contacting parts and would merely be using known elements for their known functions.
[claim 50] MCS teaches a system as detailed above, wherein the given unit of equipment is a medical device, such as a defibrillator(see paragraph [0005]). MCS however may not specifically teach that the given unit of equipment is an infusion pump. Given that infusion pumps are known medical devices, and MCS specifically says the support system is for medical devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the support system with an infusion pump as the unit of equipment, as this would provide a means for supporting an infusion pump on a patient transport system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38-40,43,51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as upon the filing of a Terminal Disclaimer as detailed above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With regards to claims 38-40, the prior art teaches a support system as defined by claim 36, as detailed above, however the prior art does not teach a support system of claim 36 with the release member having a collar extending from a second side as recited in claim 38.
With regards to claim 43 the prior art renders obvious a support system as defined by claim 41 as detailed above, however the prior art does not teach a disc connectable to the release member, with the anti-friction layer being an anti-friction coating applied to the disc as recited in claim 43.
With regards to claim 51 the prior art teaches a system as defined in claim 33, however the prior art does not teach the system wherein the release member is rotatable relative to the patient transport system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US12637880, US12310901, US12295756, US7884735.
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632